If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

How Bout Dem Bears?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,729 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Assuming the number isn't too crazy, I am happy Porter was re-signed. Pace probably picked the phone up and called his agent once the Jenkins numbers came out. Bloody Giants inflated the value of everyone making the 2nd tier CBs like Porter a more attractive option to other teams.

I assume that is why the deal was done right now on the first day of FA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭SameOleJay

3 years for Porter and Massey (16.5 mill for Porter) so shouldn't be anything too detrimental.

4 for Trevathan which is obviously fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,725 ✭✭✭kennyb3

Oat23 wrote: »
    Assuming the number isn't too crazy, I am happy Porter was re-signed. Pace probably picked the phone up and called his agent once the Jenkins numbers came out. Bloody Giants inflated the value of everyone making the 2nd tier CBs like Porter a more attractive option to other teams.

I assume that is why the deal was done right now on the first day of FA.

Will all depend on the guarantees rather than the the headline number as his problem has been injury and IR.

Still I think with in house FA's you need to slap a contract in front of them, say sign it or we'll find someone else.

Letting your in house FA's hit the market to be bid up is crazy.

The more I read about Massie the more I realise we fixed the RG issue as Long is going back but are still going to have RT issues and inconsistent play.

I really want to see the Massie numbers - I hope they ain't high.

I'd much rather have tried to draft a RT tbh.

I think Long could have still made it at RT too. I'd have left him there (unless he really didn't want to be there) and signed Boone or Allen.

I really think with an offseason he could be a quality right tackle.

3 years at 6 per for Massie, no detail on guarantees.

I'm sorry but if there was a better deal yesterday than Danny Trevathan at 6 mill per (12 guaranteed) I'll eat a pane of glass.

SameOleJay wrote: »
    3 years at 6 per for Massie, no detail on guarantees.

I'd rather have spent the extra dollars on Mitchell Schwartz. (or as i say leave Long at RT and sign a quality guard/draft one at top of 2nd round)

I think we'll be looking for a long term RT in 1/1.5years when we realise Massie is poor in pass protection.
    I'm sorry but if there was a better deal yesterday than Danny Trevathan at 6 mill per (12 guaranteed) I'll eat a pane of glass.

Is it not $28/4 years? ($7m per year)

Either way it's an excellent signing and value too given the sums being paid this year.

But to get the best from him we need to beef up our Dline and find a bigger LB'er to put next to him.

I'd like to see a Jaye Howard or Akiem hicks next.

Schefter revised the initial number later.
    Adam SchefterVerified account
    @AdamSchefter
    LB Danny Trevathan’s deal with Bears totals $24.5M over four years and includes $12M guaranteed.

Yeah I'm happy Kyle is pushing inside but am not chuffed at the mixed reviews of Massey.

If they get a starter on the D-line and in the secondary then it'll be a successful few days. Howard is gone sadly (A steal for Kansas at 12 mill for 2 years) so Hicks seems obvious. Slim pickings on the other end... Casey Hayward may be the best of a limited bunch.

. Howard is gone sadly (A steal for Kansas at 12 mill for 2 years)

Just seen that - I'd have thrown more and a longer contract at him.

$6m per year for 2 years when Jackson got $15m over 5 years. Crazy difference.

We should have been all over him at $21m/3 years.

Only 6.5 mill guaranteed for Massie which is cool.

Forte's deal is 3 years 12 mill with 8 guaranteed.

Only 6.5 mill guaranteed for Massie which is cool.

That makes me feel better.

https://twitter.com/ChrisHaganIndy/status/708282169450504193?s=09

I hope this happens, he is not young, but he i thumper and tackling machine to put next to Trevathan. ILB becomes a strength if it does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭letowski

kennyb3 wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/ChrisHaganIndy/status/708282169450504193?s=09

I hope this happens, he is not young, but he i thumper and tackling machine to put next to Trevathan. ILB becomes a strength if it does.

From a Colts fan perspective, biggest asset is his covering ability as an ILB, he is very good here. That would make a good pairing with Trevathan, but hopefully he stays with us as were really tight on D. I think he is looking for about 8mil pa.

letowski wrote: »
    From a Colts fan perspective, biggest asset is his covering ability as an ILB, he is very good here. That would make a good pairing with Trevathan, but hopefully he stays with us as were really tight on D. I think he is looking for about 8mil pa.

Fair play for dropping in and giving us your thoughts. Sounds like he's better in coverage than I realised which is a plus. Pff had him the 2nd ranked LBer against the run last season.

8m seems excessive but I'd give him 7 a season for 2 seasons to have him. He'd do wonders for our defence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭letowski

kennyb3 wrote:
    Fair play for dropping in and giving us your thoughts. Sounds like he's better in coverage than I realised which is a plus. Pff had him the 2nd ranked LBer against the run last season.

8m seems excessive but I'd give him 7 a season for 2 seasons to have him. He'd do wonders for our defence

Yeah I think 2 seasons would be about right as he is 30. He relies more on his athletic ability to make plays, as he isnt that big of a guy, so I think by his mid 30s he might not be as effective.
    To be honest I think were resigned to losing him, the Colts only have about 20mil in cap space, and everyone knows the dire straights our oline is, aswell as having holes right across our defense. We got Jerrell out of the CFL so this would his oppertunity to get paid.

Very annoyed to lose Jenkins to such a cheap deal. I was actually watching the Denver tape last couple of nights and he played very well. He has a lot of upside and would be better again with less snaps (was gassed at times).

Mad that jets sign him for depth yet we are wafer thin and let him go.

Won't matter what linebackers we have if our dlineman don't hold up. At the moment we've Goldman and no one else I'd wanna count on.

I really really really hope they get Hicks signed. Even then we need another lineman and a reasonably high pick too. Ego and Sutton are back ups only imo.

Freeman signed - brilliant! Now get hicks or a decent lineman and it's been good so far.

3 years, 12m it seems. Pace seems a bit stingy but is getting away with it, hopefully it won't cost us hicks

We've gone from having the worst inside linebackers in football to being right up there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,263 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Freeman signed - brilliant! Now get hicks or a decent lineman and it's been good so far.

3 years, 12m it seems. Pace seems a bit stingy but is getting away with it, hopefully it won't cost us hicks

Wouldn't say stingy, credit where it's due he's getting good deals done this year. Not a fan of big splashes in free agency anyway (not saying you're looking for big spending, I know you've been as vocal as anyone on that), has landed us in big trouble in the recent past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,729 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Reading the Freeman news before I head offline for a few hours an I'm delighted. We have legit linebackers now.

If I come back to news that Hicks signed I may cry.

Wouldn't say stingy, credit where it's due he's getting good deals done this year. Not a fan of big splashes in free agency anyway (not saying you're looking for big spending, I know you've been as vocal as anyone on that), has landed us in big trouble in the recent past.

Yeah totally. I'm just amazed at the value. Freeman, Trevathan and porter for same per year as malik Jackson.

I only mean stingy compared to other teams spending and the fact I thought they'd get more elsewhere esp Trevathan. That's the beauty of having fox and fangio.

I still totally think it's down to our drafts and that's how I wanna go but good value signings a must given all the gaps we have. Pace has to be seen to make progress this year after all

I'm glad it's these low to mid range deals rather than a Vernon, Jackson, Jenkins etc.

I'm also psyched that they are the players I actually wanted.

If I could pick 3 free agents at mid price before FA that we signed it would be our 2 new linebackers and Jaye Howard. 2 out of 3 is fine with me.

I do want one d lineman as it's silly to rely on rookies and we've nothing bar goldman. I wouldn't have been overly fussed if we'd resigned Jenkins but a

Serviceable lineman with actual nfl experience is required (Fergus on, gas ton, unrein and Sutton have feck all really).

Sorry about broken posts, stupid phone

A starting calibre lineman and a defensive back in the coming days and it's BPA for the draft (on D obviously).

Pace is getting it done.

Akiem Hicks signed. Nice one.

Allows us to target BPA defensively now (although at this rate we are going to need a TE at some point in the draft. Any word on whether Miller is gone? He was going to the rams today. With the Bennett situation, I would have expected them to lock him up, the cupboard is bare of he goes)

Very happy with these FA so far - 4 starters added and no stupid contracts. Porter re-signed too. I'm to be convinced on the Massie signing but I particularly like the 3 others.

I didn't like losing Jenkins. I don't rate Unrein. I'd like to see Montgomery re-signed. All of those things are minor issues compared to the good business we've done.

I'm honestly not worried about TE, we can't be set at ever position and I'd call it a luxury/premium position. It will probably work out anyway I just won't be worrying at all. I'd rather sort out or defence, which we seem to do. We'll have Jeffrey, White, Mariani, Royal and Wilson at WR - so I think we can get away with a blocking TE who can make some basic catches.

Now to use our 9 draft picks well. We also have last years 1st rounder coming back.

If we pick up a safety in the meantime (Jefferson/Bruton), great if not so be it.

Oat23 wrote: »
    Reading the Freeman news before I head offline for a few hours an I'm delighted. We have legit linebackers now.

If I come back to news that Hicks signed I may cry.

Well it happened!

Left tackle, DE and a starting defensive back the 3 hopes for me in the draft but as we've said Pace has given himself room to manoeuvre with a nice few days.

Chuffed with the free agency and love the profile of the signings.

Left tackle, DE and a starting defensive back the 3 hopes for me in the draft but as we've said Pace has given himself room to manoeuvre with a nice few days.

Chuffed with the free agency and love the profile of the signings.

+1, I pray Stanley falls!

Leno and Massie could end up being the worst pass protection tackles in the NFL otherwise.

But I am torn - I would ideally give Fangio as many picks as possible to work with!

The 5tech draft is loaded though so a quality one could be got at our 2nd round pick. Stanley/5tech in 2nd my ideal draft right now.

+1, I pray Stanley falls!

Leno and Massie could end up being the worst pass protection tackles in the NFL otherwise.

But I am torn - I would ideally give Fangio as many picks as possible to work with!

The 5tech draft is loaded though so a quality one could be got at our 2nd round pick. Stanley/5tech in 2nd my ideal draft right now.
    As Dan pompei noted on the massie signing, it does get us one of the best guards in the game right now. Which is a nice way to think about that.

Totally get that and it will help Grasu too but I think I'd have preferred someone who will definitely be solid (like Schwartz) given Leno still has it all to prove too. I'd just prefer one tackle you could hang your hat on, so you can give the other help if needs be. Cutler might be doing a lot of stepping up into the pocket!