But its cold outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Nice consistent paces on those MP miles :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Nice consistent paces on those MP miles :D

Yeah + 1 to that, great session!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Thursday 18th Feb
    Plan 5m Easy
    Actual 6m Easy

Swapped Tue & Thur around. Was in Navan first thing with my eldest for her first Orthondontist appointment, might have to get another job!!:eek::eek: She's missing 2 of her adult front teeth, they're just not there, so eventually she will have to get implants but in the mean time braces, etc €€€€€. She's on mid term week off and missed last week from school as she was sick so I let her stay in Navan with a few of her friends and went off to Mam's house to get ready for my run. I've discovered that its exactly 2 miles from Mams house to the gates of the Blackwater park, so 2 laps (they are just shy of 1m each) and back the way I came Lovely simple run.

Back at my dentist in the afternoon, My tooth infection is back for the 3rd time and I have discovered there is a crack in my tooth, so Crown has to come off and tooth has to go!!!:eek:

9.41, 9.49, 9.45, 9.43, 9.40, 9.39
    Total 6.01 in 58:21 @ 9.43

Sat 20th Feb
    Plan 7m Steady
    Actual 7m Steady

First thing this morning I started in a local gym doing Kettlebells & TRX for 6 weeks, couldn't pass it @ €25 for the 6 weeks!! It was the last week of the one I was doing and I have achieved 15lbs weight loss and 27inches so I'm very happy with that. I will continue with at least 1 class per week and then will revisit after Rotterdam.

Run ended up as a treadmill run as hubby was working and I brought the kids to the cinema in the afternoon... I love the Chipmunks:D

I really enjoyed this treadmill run as I felt like I was running as opposed to jogging. I missed my favourite TV program but hey I'm training for a marathon:eek: kids can in 3 times to tell me Casualty was on!!

Had my first few alcoholic drinks in 6 weeks and I really enjoyed them and didn't go mad...have a Long run tomorrow

9.30, 9.25, 9.21, 9.20, 9.21, 9.22, 9.21
    Total 7.03 in 1:06 @ 9.23

Sunday 21 Feb - 7 weeks to Rotterdam:eek:
    Plan 16m Easy
    Actual 16m Easy

The ladies I have been running with were going very early this morning (@7.30) and this didn't suit as I had a late run last night and the kids wanted to go visit Nanny, so set off on my own and left my brother minding the kids as Mam was only available for an hour. Delighted he gave up his chance to watch the football to stay at home with them!! :eek:
    I left Mams house and did the 2 mile track to the park where I did 3 miles anticlockwise followed by 3 miles clockwise and contemplated doing the rest of the run here but decided to head out down the town. I was wet from the first mile as there was horrible sleety rain falling into my face,. I found it hard to settle in the first mile as the rain was straight into my face, but it settled then and was grand. I had a few dry miles and otherwise this was fine.

Mile 13 was the toughest, I needed some water so stopped into a pub and got a glass of water. Drank half a pint, got brain freeze as he put ice into glass. I felt fine after that and away home with me!! I had a gel in my pocked but didn't bother with it. I should really be practicing the gel strategy but to be honest I wanted to try do this without them as I think in the long run this is more beneficial. (I hope:o)

Paces are all over the place but I was really trying to run on feel so don't think they are too bad considering!! Happy with the run as I felt like I could keep going!!

9.37, 9.46, 9.41, 9.45, 9.44, 9.41, 9.43, 9.47, 9.44, 9.46, 9.40, 9.45, 9.48, 9.34, 9.42, 9.44
    Total 16.04m in 2:35:48 @ 9.43

WTD: 45.10m
    MTD: 117.81m
    YTD: 269.56m

Younganne wrote: »
    I should really be practicing the gel strategy but to be honest I wanted to try do this without them as I think in the long run this is more beneficial. (I hope:o)

Yep, according to meno, aero2k and IIRC Euduro, am doing the same, no gels on long runs, as long as you already know the one's that your taking on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

. I should really be practicing the gel strategy but to be honest I wanted to try do this without them as I think in the long run this is more beneficial.
    Firedance wrote: »
    Yep, according to meno, aero2k and IIRC Euduro, am doing the same, no gels on long runs, as long as you already know the one's that your taking on the day.

I's agree with the 'training low' concept and not taking gels, but as the mileage increases you need to see if you can (1) Open and consume a gel while running race pace & breathing heavy (2) Does the gel agree with you as you are running race pace. I think you need to train your system to accept all this sugar while the body is in a state of shock.

Doing this a couple of times maybe towards the end of runs should hit the need to train without gels, but also get some practice in.

I's agree with the 'training low' concept and not taking gels, but as the mileage increases you need to see if you can (1) Open and consume a gel while running race pace & breathing heavy (2) Does the gel agree with you as you are running race pace. I think you need to train your system to accept all this sugar while the body is in a state of shock.

Doing this a couple of times maybe towards the end of runs should hit the need to train without gels, but also get some practice in.

Yes, good points, I'm planning to practice that in the Kinvara Half. Personally my body doesn't seem to ever get into that 'state of shock' on a LSR so for me the race environment will be a better test.

Thanks AMK, I agree and I know i can do the gel while running as I've used them in all previous marathons, but i am using a different brand of gel now so will introduce them for my 15m Progression run this week and will continue for the next few weeks,

7 weeks to Rotterdam

Plan for this week

| Mon |Tue |Wed |Thur |Fri |Sat | Sun
    |Rest | 6m Easy |10m Steady | 5m easy |Rest | 6m Easy + 6 x 100m Strides | 15m Progression (6m easy, 5m Steady, 4m @ MP)

Tuesday 23rd Feb
    Plan 6m Easy
    Actual 6m easy

My body was in ribbons yesterday after the new gym session & the long run, so took a complete rest day on Monday. Last Friday at the gym in work (I've been a member for 17 yrs but don't use it:eek:) they did a foam rolling tutorial and I was the only one who turned up so I had half an hour with gym instructor to myself:rolleyes:....oh my the body is sore everywhere so I really need to get foam rolling!! Anyway did some foam rolling over the weekend and am booked in for Sports massage this evening to take the worst out of the legs before I get going myself with the roller!!!

So aim of this run was to keep it slower than 10min miles and I completely surprised myself by managing this and actually enjoying the run. It was freezing cold setting off as im in shelter for first half mile, but once I got into the sun I started to warm up a bit and after 4 miles I took off the gloves!!! Lovely run!!
    Later at Sport therapist , my legs weren't too bad(foam rolling obviously helped;)) but my hips are very tight and it was sore treatment. I could feel the bruising straight away. Started the Arnica tabs when I got home.

10.19, 10.06, 10.02, 10.03, 10.06, 10.00
    Total 6.03m in 1:00:55 @ 10.06 Avg H/R 152

Wednesday 24th Feb
    Plan 10m Steady
    Actual 10m steady

I didn't get out during the day to do this so worked through lunch and headed home a bit earlier. Stopped off in Navan and did the 10m steady around the town. Felt the bruising in my back for the first 2 miles and contemplated switching the run out until tomorrow but knew id be stuck for time to do it so just continued. It was fine from mile 3 on and I felt good throughout this run.

Meet NeilC in a world of his own or else listening to some really good music!! If he was a bit slower and I was a good bit faster, we could have some of them running dates all you guys have!!! :D:D Wednesday evening we both seem to run in Navan!!!

This was in the top end of my Steady zone but it felt very comfortable and I concentrated on trying to keep the pace even and not looking at the watch but just going on feel. My light isn't working on my watch so couldn't see it in the dark anyhoo!! Delight with the even enough splits.

9.19, 9.29, 9.21, 9.22, 9.23, 9.21, 9.22, 9.24, 9.21, 9.21 10.19(.17)
    Total 10.17 in 1:35:24 @ 9.23 avg HR 161

Thursday 25th February
    Plan 5m easy
    Actual 5m Easy!!

Dropped the eldest into Navan to school and back home. After the younger 2 left for school with the child-minder I headed out to do this before I could change my mind. Dental appointment at 11am and I had a feeling I wouldn't be allowed to run later.(correct & right, no exercise for rest of the day) I had my porcelain crown removed and my tooth extracted.:eek: The infection is still there but it will get a chance to heal now!! I must send the crown & tooth to The Bitter Lemon to add to his collection of body parts he is amalgamating!!;)

Enjoyed the run, I haven't been out on my hills for a couple of weeks.
    9.53, 9.50, 9.47, 9.44, 9.42 9.02(.16)oops!!

Total 5.16m in 50:21 @ 9.46

WTD: 21.36m
    MTD: 139.17m
    YTD: 290.92

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

Yeah was away in a world of my own at that stage, would have totally missed you only for you said hello! Do my Wednesday runs mostly in Navan these days alright, they're a bit long for my normal lunch run. See ya next Wednesday;)

Saturday 27th Feb
    Plan 6m Easy & 6 x 100m strides
    Actual 6.3m Easy & 7 x 100m(ish) strides

Headed out for this after the U14 girls getting hammered in the first game of the season:eek:!! After reading a bit during the week, my paces are very much in my mind and my easy pace has been creeping into my steady pace so this was to be kept nearer to 10min miles, just like Tuesday, Thursday I was in a world of my own so forget to keep it slow. Its a rolling route so with 1.5 m to go I have a lovely long straight flat section so strides were done on this. They were grand. I wasn't sure what recover to take so just went with 90 seconds. I lost track of how many I had done and wasn't sure if I had the 5/6 done so did another just to be sure!!!

https://connect.garmin.com/activity/1065806245
    10.22, 10.19, 10.04, 10.10, 10.10(.77)
    Strides: 6.54, 6.20, 5.53(I had an audience:eek:), 6.41, 6.05, 6.19, 6.43
    10.19, 10.06(.53)

Total 7.31 miles (including strides) in 1:17

Sunday 28th Feb
    Plan: 15m Progression - 6@ Easy, 5@ stdy, 4@ MP
    Actual: 15m Progression - 6@ Easy, 5@ stdy, 4@ MP

Other half away at football in the morning/afternoon, me at young lads game in the afternoon meant it was after 5 when I set off from my Mams house for this run. Not ideal but nothing I could do. What I could do was be better at the paces than last weeks long run which i think was too fast.[/COLOR]

Plan was easy mile to be around 10, steady 9.30 & MP 9.00. I set off and headed to Blackwater park (2m) and managed 4 laps before i had to leave as there are no lights and headed down into the town.

On lap 2 in the park(mile4) on a downhill section, my right runner felt like it was tied too tight and i stopped to loosen it and it was fine until i got to the same spot on the next lap and the one after that and the same thing happened. I kept going and thankfully there was no more issue with it for the rest of the run.

The second steady mile was tough and i started to worry but then I realised it was a gradual uphill for most of the mile. When i got into the next mile i was going way too fast and had to dial back.

I stopped off into the Supervalu in Johnstown for a toilet break and to take a stone out of my shoe. I took a gel at mile 10 and finished off my water. I drank a total of 500ml water. The gel had no impact at the time but lets just say i had a reaction 10mins after i finished running. :eek::eek: Might go back to my old brand...

Mile 13, the 3rd MP mile was probably too fast as this was an uphill for the last half mile and i was going too fast. Overall very happy with the run and hit my planned paces throughout. https://connect.garmin.com/activity/1067619430

10.03, 10.03, 9.59, 9.58, 10.00, 9.50,
    9.29, 9.30, 9.24, 9.30, 9.24,
    8.59, 8.59, 8.56, 8.57

Total 15.01m in 2:23:05 @ 9.32

WTD: 43.68m
    MTD: 161.56m
    YTD: 313.24m

Very consistent paces there Anne :) and getting it done in the dark too, extra kudos for that!

6 weeks to Rotterdam (well its 5 tomorrow:eek:)

Plan for this week

|Rest | 6m Easy |2m wu, 1m @ MP, 1m @ steady x 3, 2m cd) | 6m easy |Rest | 7m Steady | 18m easy
    Tuesday 1st March
    Plan 6m Easy
    Actual 0m
    Sick Mon & Tue, and think the problem after my run on Sunday was nothing to do with the gel but this bug starting. :eek: My young lad was home Mon & Tue too with this. No run.

Wednesday 2nd March
    Plan 10m - 2m WU, 1m @ MP, 1m @ steady, 2m cd.
    Actual 10m - 2m WU, 1m @ MP, 1m @ steady, 2m cd

too busy in work to take an extended lunch break so stopped off in Navan on way home for this. The rain and hail was lashing down when I got to Navan and my Mam tried to persuade me to skip it for one night!!!:eek: by the time I was ready to head out, the rain had stopped and it didn't rain for my run but the wind never stopped!!

The first mile ws way too fast and the watch was showing 8.50 but I didn't feel like I was going anywhere near this so assumed the watch wasn't working properly so at half a mile I reset it, turns out I was just going too fast and the wind was probably carrying me along so didn't realise it. Pulled it back to a proper pace and on to the park to get a lap or 2 before darkness, managed 3 laps but the last one it was quite dark but still plenty of people in the park.
    9.14(.51), 9.47, 10.05(.52),
    8.59, 9.26, 8.57, 9.26, 8.52, 9.24,
    9.52, 9.57
    Total 10.04 in 1:34:45

Thursday 3rd March
    Plan 6m easy
    Actual 6m Easy!!

Funeral in the morning, and parent teacher meetings all evening meant this was a treadmill run and I had no wish at all to do this but after missing Tuesdays I knew I had to get it done. just put it at 6mph and ran until the last mile where I upped it a bit to get in under the 60 mins before the treadmill stopped.

Total 6m in 60 mins

I was half thinking of doing Tuesdays missed run on Friday but decided it was more important to get to the Run Hub for new runners, when I discovered there's well over 600m on my current pair. Unfortunately they didn't have my size in the pair I have to get so hope to have them next Wednesday. I picked up a few gels of the ones I originally used and I will use the on Sundays run. Finally decided a missed 6m run will not make or break my marathon and a rest day was probably more beneficial as I was tried and had a headache all day!!!

Saturday 5th March
    Plan 7m Steady
    Actual 7m Steady

Evening time before I got our for this and although the sun was shining it was cold with a chill in the wind. The low lying sun was also right in my face for the out part of the run and it was difficult to see where I was going at times. Thankfully I managed to miss all the potholes and enjoyed the run. Headed out on my hills for this and kept the pace in the lower end of the steady range. felt good during this run.
    9.35, 9.35, 9.29, 9.24, 9.32, 9.33, 9.33, 9.35(.15)

Total: 7.15m in 1:08:08 @ 9.32

WTD: 23.19m
    MTD: 23.19m
    YTD: 336.43

Sunday 6th March
    Plan: 18m easy
    Actual 18m Easy
    I had hoped to do this at 10am same start time as the marathon but my U14 girls had a game with a 10am kickoff in Dunsany so that wasn't going to happen today. For a minute I did think of running to Dunsany but its not far enough from Navan and too far from my house so I scrapped that idea and just decided to run when the game was over. So sent the youngone home with her Uncle and headed to my Mams. Had a quick cup of coffee to warm myself up, took a gel and headed off just before 12.30. My plan was to aim for 10min per mile pace. Took it nice easy and got into a good rhythm, headed with the usual 2m to the local park and did 4 laps before heading down the town.

I took another gel at 7m and another at 14m. No stomach issues thankfully and I was really enjoying the run and the nice slow pace and felt like I could run forever.....until I got to mile 17 and the body got tired. Nothing serious, just tired. So mile 17 & 18 were the toughest of the run but I would have been able to keep going if I had to. I brought 750ml of water and sipped at it throughout the run along with the 3 gels.
    I was wearing my EVB legging and I really think the extra support for my back was great. Must wear them more often;)

Delighted overall with the run. I have a blister on the inside of my left big toe and thankfully it didn't give me any issues during the run, but its taking it time healing. Second week with it there now!!
    https://connect.garmin.com/activity/1075410444

10.02, 10.06, 10.04, 10.04, 9.58, 9.57, 10.03, 9.59, 10.00, 10.00, 9.59, 10.01, 9.58, 9.54, 9.57, 10.01, 10.04, 9.56

Total 18.00m in 3:00:04 @ 10.00 ;)spot on!!!

WTD: 41.19m
    MTD: 41.19m
    YTD: 354.43m

5 weeks to Rotterdam

Plan for this week

|Rest | 6m Easy |11m steady | 6m easy |Rest | 7m easy| Bohermeen 1/2 Marathon @ MP with 1m wu & 1m CD

Tuesday 8th March
    Plan 6m Easy
    Actual 6m easy

Out on the hills for this and took it nice & easy. A few little niggles in the legs but will foam roll them out later. Very cold when I headed out and was drizzling rain but once I turned at 3 m it felt a lot warmer and the hat had to come off!!

9.59, 9.56, 9.40, 9.47, 9.48, 9.47
    Total 6.07m in 59:50 @ 9.49

WTD: 6.07m
    MTD: 47.26m
    YTD: 360.50m

Wednesday 9th March
    Plan 11m Steady
    Actual 11m Steady

Started off this too fast, pulled it back to a more "steady" pace. Hit the park and wasn't sure what I was going to do, ended up doing 4 laps and then headed down the town. At mile 7, I ended up having to take a toilet break and headed to the shopping centre and then returned through the town, and then did the smaller loop of my usual run.

Felt great at the start and the pace felt really slow but by the end the pace felt steady and the run was good. Little niggle in my hip but nothing to worry about.. However the blister is not healing and is very sore when I'm running, I've a blister plaster on it so hopefully it will start healing soon. Its been a while since I've had blister problems.....

9.15, 9.25, 9.21, 9.22, 9.21, 9.22, 9.37(town a bit congested), 9.23, 9.28, 9.26, 9.26

Total 11.10 in 1:44:23 @ 9.24

WTD: 17.17m
    MTD: 58.36m
    YTD: 371.60m

Thursday 10th March
    Plan 6m easy
    Actual 6m easy (Treadmill run)

Bad morning with headache and headed back to bed for a couple of hours, it had been there since Wednesday and I think after a bad nights sleep on Wednesday night my system was just so tired I couldn't shake it. Had the young one at a learn to cycle course in Navan on Thur evening and had planned to run after but was just so cold after standing outside for 1.5 hrs, I headed home to the warmth of the treadmill. Comfortable run and head had finally cleared.
    tTtal 6m in 58:38 @ 9.46

Saturday 12th March
    Plan 7m easy
    Actual 7m easy

Horrrrray, got my new runner(Saucony Echelon) at last (700 odd on the old ones:eek::eek:) so headed out in these with the plan of doing a few miles, head home change and head back out again. A beautiful sunny morning but with a nip in the air, did my usual hills and just before 2 miles the right foot was feeling a little numb and I wasn't sure what to think, so I turned at 2 miles and was heading home, foot was fine, turned to head a little further and then decided better safe than sorry so turned and headed home again.:mad:

No more issues with the runners but decided to change anyway, back out onto the hills and finished the run in the old ones. Definitely felt the difference in the new and the old but by next week I'll be fully transferred into the new ones. I'm still using my orthotics and so I follow the make & model I'm told to wear.

Anyway lovely run but by the time I was finished I noticed that I was in 1 layer instead of 3 and the little bit of heat had gone from the sun!! Might have something to do with stopping twice to chat with neighbours, but I couldn't just keep going.....

9.59, 10.00, 9.46, 9.47, 9.44, 9.53, 9.43,

Total 7.03 in 1:09:10 @ 9.50/159

WTD: 30.30
    MTD: 71.39m
    YTD: 384.63m

Sunday 13th March
    Plan: 15.1m - 1m easy 13.1 Meath Spring Half Marathon @ MP, 1m easy
    Actual:16.41m - 1.65 easy 12m @ MP, 1,1m @ oops pace, 1.63m Easy

Meath Spring Half Marathon, Bohermeen
    Got there in plenty of time which is unusual for last minute me, I parked and walked up to the Community centre, chatted with a few, used the toilets and then jogged back to the car, changed into my running gear and headed back to the community centre and did a couple of laps on the track. Used the toiles again, just because there was no que and then jogged some of the way to the start, walked the rest. Race started and we headed off and I had the 2 ladies I run with on Sundays with me, and they wanted to go sub 2 so were planning on running with me but they were well capable of more so after 2m I sent them on and fought the urge to go with them STICK TO THE PLAN was in my head.
    They gradually moved ahead but never were no too far but I tried to settle into my own pace. IT just kept getting too fast and then id pull it back a bit and get close enough to 9min pace.

I was Surprised that from mile 2 on only 1 person passed me and I was constantly passing people. I found that there was never anyone running my pace with me so made it that bit more difficult for me.
    I took a gel at mile 8, just for the sake of it and overall drank 400m of water through out the race.
    When we hit mile 12, I found I was speeding up and it felt good so I decided to go with it for the last mile and had loads left for a sprint finish.

great course and I thoroughly enjoyed it although I would have loved to race it but am happy with the way it went. I definitely think I will get very close to my PB in Rotterdam if I can hold on for the second half of the race, and possible a new PB if everything goes well on the day...
    Cup of soup, a couple of sambos and a cup of coffee, a chat with a few friends and them I jogged back tot he car, changed the gear and then did 1.2m cool don run. No bother on the legs and could have kept running.
    Official time 1:55:57

8.59, 9.04, 8.54, 8.55, 9.00, 8.49, 8.51, 9.00, 8.56, 8.54, 8.51, 8.43, 8.06, 6.54(.13)

WU & CD 3.28m
    Total for the day 16.41m

WTD: 46.61m
    MTD: 87.80m
    YTD: 401.04m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Nice, Anne. Why not race it though? Good to have the race practice a few weeks out and plenty of time for recovery?

Nice work :) sorry I missed you though :( great to get that confidence boost 4 weeks out, here's hoping for a pb on the day!

Murph_D wrote: »
    Nice, Anne. Why not race it though? Good to have the race practice a few weeks out and plenty of time for recovery?

I know I had enough time to do it as a race but after a chat with coach, I had 2 choices,
    1. race it, but lose 2 weeks training with taper and recovery, or
    2. run it as a training run.

I decided that the training run was my best option as coming from a low enough base I didn't want to sacrifice 2 weeks at this stage. For me Trim was my litmus test as to where the fitness is and I was happy with that.

Firedance wrote: »
    Nice work :) sorry I missed you though :( great to get that confidence boost 4 weeks out, here's hoping for a pb on the day!

Not too worry, big enough crowd. If all goes to plan on the day, a slight(for me) PB should be achievable, for us all!!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

I know I had enough time to do it as a race but after a chat with coach, I had 2 choices,
    1. race it, but lose 2 weeks training with taper and recovery, or
    2. run it as a training run.

I decided that the training run was my best option as coming from a low enough base I didn't want to sacrifice 2 weeks at this stage. For me Trim was my litmus test as to where the fitness is and I was happy with that.

good choice - keep the main thing the main thing.

4 weeks to Rotterdam

Plan for this week

|Rest | 6m Easy |10m (5 @ E, 3 @ St, 2 @ MP)| 6m easy |Rest | 7m easy| 15m Steady

Tuesday 15th March
    Plan 6m Easy
    Actual 6m easy

Out on the hills for this and took it nice & easy. Body was fine. Cant remember anything wlse about it :o

10.03, 9.56, 9.42, 9.53, 9.53, 9.50, 9.47(.10)
    Total 6.10m in 1:00:16 @ 9.53

Wednesday 16th March
    Plan 10m - 5 @ E, 3 @ St 2 @ MP
    Actual 0m

Our 11yr old family Dog "Lady" was taken to the vet with what we though might be a kidney infection as she just seemed to get sick the day before. Unfortunately it was discovered that she had a tumor in her stomach and she was put to sleep straight away as there was nothing that could be done for her. We had her for 7 years and had "rescued" her from a dog pound. She was the most adorable, quite, chocolate lab/collie cross and we were devastated at this turn in events. Our 3yr old dog "Bonnie" is lost without her now too.
    When i got home from work, i just spent it with the kids and didn't run.

Thursday 17th March
    Plan 6m Easy
    Actual 10m - 5 @ e, 3 @ st, 2 @ MP

My 2 youngest kids have hidden disabilities and don't deal well with noise or crowds but when the youngest wanted to go to a parade I decided I would bring her to Slane - its close by and i knew we could get a place that wasn't too crowded. All over and done with and back home within 2 hours so set off for my run!!
    Had to change the routine of the our younger dog and its been a while since i brough her running with me, so took her our and we did the 5m easy, no bother to her!! I dropped her home and repeated the route again. Lovely day but chilly in the evening!!

10.02, 10.11, 10.01, 9.58, 9.58,
    9.27, 9.28, 9.19,
    9.00, 8.59

Total 10.10 in 1:37:18 @ 9.38

Friday
    Had planned to do my missed 6m run at lunch but busy in work , dentists with eldest, 2 x football matches & Football Presentation for the Kids meant not a minute to spare!! Rest day!!

Saturday 19th March
    Plan 7m Easy
    Actual: 7m Easy

Another busy day meant it was 8.30pm when I hit the treadmill for this. It was a lovely run and bar having to stop * restart the treadmill as it automatically cuts out after 60 mins, i could have kept going all evening!!!

Total 7m in 1:08:50 @ 9.50

Sunday 20th March
    Plan 15m Steady
    Actual 15m Steady

I had to get this done first thing as OH was away for the day, so set off locally to do this. I had no route planned in my head and was going to do out and back, collect the dog and repeat, but when i got to 4m I headed the long way round to our village and added a few roads that I though would bring me close to the required distance. I had to pick the shorter loop home for the last 4 miles and it was a lovely route with a few testing hill, but I had a good run. The first few miles were a little uneven with the hills and trying to settle into a steady pace but the next 11 iles felt great. The body felt a bit tired for the last 2 miles but it didn't affect the pace and I didn't have to up the effort so a gel probably would have kicked in here. I drank 500ml of water during this run but didn't bring any gels.

9.34, 9.38, 9.19, 9.25, 9.26, 9.23, 9.21, 9.24, 9.24, 9.22, 9.27, 9.20, 9.24, 9.24, 9.23, 9.52(.15)

Total 15.15 in 2:22:39 @ 9.25

WTD: 38.35m
    MTD: 126.15
    YTD: 439.39

That's a super weeks work :) so sorry again about poor Lady, our dogs are part of our family, if anything happened to woody I'd be inconsolable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Yes sorry to hear about Lady but she was a lucky dog to end up with such a loving family and it sounds like she wasn't suffering for a long time with the tumour. RIP

3 weeks to Rotterdam

Plan for this week

|Rest | 5m Easy |1m easy, 3 x 3m @ MP with 3 mins rec, 1m easy)| 5m easy |Rest | 7m easy| 13m easy, last 3m x MP

Tuesday 22nd March
    Plan 5m Easy
    Actual 0

I was mad to get out for a run on Monday but decided to stick to the plan but then on Tuesday I wasn't feeling well. Hangover like headache, stuffed & running nose and no energy, ended up taking a rest day. My sinuses always play up during marathon training and I picked up abit of a head cold last week when I ditched the base layer and it hasn't cleared.

Wednesday 23rd March
    Plan 1m easy, 3 x 3m @ MP with 3 mins rec, 1m easy
    Actual 5m easy

I was still feeling a bit under the weather but when I got home, I grabbed the dog and headed for the usual route. I found this a bit tough, unable to breath through my nose and didn't have much energy. Mile 2 starts with a decent hill and I usually make the mile split back up by the end of the mile, but just didn't have the energy today, but I felt great afterwards.

9.47, 10.03, 9.52, 9.51, 9.59

Total 5.08 in 50:16 @ 9.54.

Thursday 24th March
    Plan 5m easy
    Actual 0m

I obviously got run over by a bus during the night. Wasn't feeling great all day. Put on my running gear after lunch time but when the head started spinning I copped on - another rest day. Medication had kicked in by evening time, but I was tied up with girls football match so no run.

Friday 25th March
    Plan restday
    Actual: 1m easy, 3 x 3m @ MP with 3mins rec, 1m easy

I really felt like I had to do this session as there was 9m @ MP pace in it. I felt great this morning so headed off well bundled up. But after half a mile the sun came out and the hat was off, another half mile, the jacket was off and left on the side of the road for collection on the way back, gloves off next and then I was motoring in the beautiful sunshine.
    The first 3 x 3m @ MP passed without any problems (as it should at this stage), next 3 were a little too fast as I obviously pushed a little too much on the rolling hills up near Ardee and the last 3 were into a head wind so had to work a little harder here. OVerall a lovely run and really enjoyed it. Feeling great since. If I can get near this pace and hold it for Rotterdam I'd be delighted!!

Afternoon spend on the Hill of Tara, did a few hill repeats with the young one :)

9.29, 8.57, 8.55, 8.57, 3 mins @ 9.44
    8.58, 8.53, 8.55, 3mins @ 9.50,
    8.55, 8.53, 8.53, 3 mins @ 9.21,
    9.33, 9.45(.21)

Total 12.15 in 1:50:26 @ 9.05

WTD: 17.23m
    MTD: 143.38m
    YTD: 456.62 m

Saturday 26th March
    Plan 7m Easy
    Actual 7m easy

Grabbed the dog an headed off to our usual route for this but changed it a bit. had planned on 5m with the dog and back out for 2, but ended up doing the 7m on the first outing with a few add ons and over and back on the flat sections.
    Last mile was very tough into a headwind and body starting to feel tired. Got back just before the heavy showers came again..

9.56, 9.58, 9.48, 9.49, 9.52, 9.45, 9.48

Total 7.03m in 1:09 @9.51

I have to work tomorrow as my rest day was cancelled so will be in Phoenix Park doing 13m (10m @ 10.00 min/m and 3m x 9.00min/m) if anyone is doing similar paces and fancy's joining me. I'm flexible on time, any time after 8am..

WTD: 24.26m
    MTD: 150.41m
    YTD: 463.65 m

Sunday 27th March
    Plan 13m 10 easy, 3 @ MP
    Actual 0m

I didn't get a chance to get our for a run in the park on Sunday afterall, too much going on in work. By the time i got home i was shattered, a combination of an earlier start, longer shift and the lost hour in bed due to clock changeover meant i was in no condition to do this run, with Monday being a Bank holiday i decided to push it out until then. Which was no harm as my whole week was running a day or two late.

Monday 28th March
    Plan Rest Day
    Actual 13.5m - 10m Easy, 3 @ MP, 1/2m easy

Headed out for this just after lunchtime and wore the gel belt, carrying 4 gels for the first time!! Headed off over the usual hills trying to decide the route as i went. When i got to the 4m marker, i turned right and headed towards Nobber and when i got just outside Nobbber village i turned right for Drumconrath village realising this would bring me close enough to the 13m marker. Turned out to be a beautiful day with the sun shining down on me and i was sweating at times.

At 4.5m my stomach was in a hoop and i though i was going to be sick, this was from a banana i'd had about an hour before i ran. It confirmed i would not be having any bananas before the marathon. I hesitantly took a gel at 5m and it seemed to settle my stomach. I had a 750ml bottle of water with me which i drank from every couple of miles.

I found it difficult to keep the pace slow and it seems to keep drifting to the top end of my easy pace range while i wanted to keep it nearer to 10min miles. But i tried not to stress about it.
    Another gel just before the 10m mark and no issues with the stomach thankfully.

The 3 m @ MP felt like i was running too fast but it didn't help that the first mile started at the bottom of a hill and it was up, down, up and down again for over half a mile, then i settled into the pace. 3 miles passed quickly with the last 2m into the wind back up the main road to home. MP miles finished Half a mile from home and i was going to push on with another MP section but decided as it was all uphill, I'd do it easy pace for cool down.

Got home and within 15 mins the day changed completely with hail showers and rain for most of the evening so delighted to get it done in the sun. i had really bad heart burn for the rest of the evening so had to dig out my medication again, its been a good few weeks since I've had to use them but my diet has been slipping int he past few weeks so time to clean it up again.

9.56, 10.01, 9.50, 9.58, 9.47, 9.56, 9.51, 9.49, 9.52, 9.51, 8.58, 8.56, 8.55, 9.46(.50)

Total 13.50m in 2:10:35 @ 9.40

I have sports massage booked for this evening to get a few little niggles rubbed out and again for next Tuesday evening for final rub out!!

Plan for this week

2 weeks to Rotterdam

Plan for this week

Mon| Tue| Wed| Thur |Fri| Sat| Sun|
    Rest| 4m Easy| 1m easy, 5 x 1m @ MP with 2 mins rec, 1m easy| 4m easy| Rest| 5m easy| 9m easy

WTD: 37.76m
    MTD: 163.91m
    YTD: 471.15 m

Tuesday 29th March
    Plan 4m easy
    Actual 4.40m easy

A lovely easy trot around the park at lunchtime today.

Typical Irish weather.
    Mile 1 up the North Road and into beautiful sunshine and I'm thinking to myself i'll have to take off the jacket.
    Mile 2 hail stones coming at an angle and belting me in the face, wishing i had a long sleeve top under the said jacket, a pair of gloves and a cap/hat.
    Mile 3 I turn into Chesterfield ave and beautiful sunshine back again.
    Mile 4 i'm seriously thinking of taking of jacket but there's a nip in the wind so decided to leave it. :rolleyes:

Beautiful day(when its not raining) Phoenix Park is full of families , runners & walkers.

Left Quad a little tight and a slight niggle in my back on right hand side. Will have these dealt with this evening

9.59, 9.58, 9.58, 9.55, 9.58 (.40)
    Total 4.40 in 0:43:51 @ 9.58

WTD: 4.40m(Leaving yesterday run as last weeks mileage)
    MTD: 168.31m
    YTD: 475.55 m

Phoenix Park is full of runners

not just the PP, they're bloody everywhere!!! :D

12 days... getting excited yet??!