But its cold outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Finally getting around to posting this, great report. Nicely done with that pacing and great to see you had such a positive experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Plan for the Week
    Easy running whenever I feel like It!!
    3 x kettlebells classees

Monday 18th April
    Back to the grindstone

1hr Kettlebells/cardio & core - hamstrings still a bit tight but the exercise loosened them out. Good to be back doing this.

Tuesday 19th April
    Easy run with the dog, legs still tight at the start, loosened out again once i got going. Nice easy run, no looking at the watch!!

4.10m in 40:54 @ 9.58
    followed by a sports massage where he said my legs are in great nick after running a marathon. Its more my abductor stemming from tight groin than my hamstring thats giving me issue so will keep an eye on it. Out of 5 of his clients who were running Rotterdam I was the only one with a PB!!He was like a "proud daddy":D

Wasn't sure i'd fit in a run on Wednesday as tied up at a conference all morning and wasn't back to office until well after lunch and GAA training Wednesday night. Wasn't too bothered as i had walked about 3 miles that morning to & from conference in my boots & had sore legs as a result...shinsplint type pain and ended up with cramping feet from the cold after the GAA training, had difficulty driving!!!

Thursday 21st April
    Another easy run same as Tuesday, just me, Bonnie the dog & all the country sounds!! Shins & feet still sore but eased out during the run. Kettlebells again tonight, after my daughters "Learn to cycle" course where i will spend the hour running after her as she cycles(because she mastered the skill in week 2)!!

4.11 in 40:59 @ 9.59

WTD: 8.21m
    MTD: 78.02m
    YTD: 567.67m

Rest of last week looks a bit like this:

Thursday evening Kettlebells class was a bit of a slog as feet were still sore & i was falling over them:o

Saturday 23rd April
    Got back to full clean eating by Friday and woke up Sat morning full of the joys of Spring. Kettlebells class was brill and was more cardio that bell with only 1 k'bell station but i was feeling great.
    Eveningtime by the time I got out for my run but it felt effortless and i really enjoyed it. Ended up going a bit further than planned...
    5.33m @ 9.41 in 51:37

Sunday 24th April
    Just a short one before i headed off to a Soccer tournament with the young fella that lasted all day. It was freezing cold and we didn't get home until near 6, knackered standing around all day and legs started tightening up after yesterdays class & run!!!
    4.46 @ 9.43 in 42:16

I was doing great with the weight loss before Rotterdam(-20lbs) but week after i put up 3 lbs. Back to healthy eating and I dropped 2lbs this week so going in the right direction again. Only a few more lbs to go to final target of 150lbs.
    Currently 156lbs

WTD: 18.00m
    MTD : 87.81m
    YTD: 577.46m

No kettle bells class Monday as my girls football match was rescheduled, so I missed class.

Tuesday 26th April

Easy run after work, glad I didn't go out at lunchtime. Beautiful evening but very cold, gloves never came off. Feeling really good and only the one little niggle in groin area, which has annoyed me on & off over the last few weeks, so will keep an eye on it!

Total 4.31 in 42:23 @ 9.50[

Wednesday 27th April

I Had to brave the hail earlier as I've girls footy training tonight so won't fit in a run as well. Hail was coming down when i was heading out so grabbed a jacket & gloves from car and away i went. Then the sun came out and it was beautiful, until the hail came again. If i could run faster i would have been back quicker :rolleyes:
    When the watch beeped for mile 1, i threw in a 25 sec sprint to loosen out the legs, same again on mile 2 & mile 3 and then did 2 more after 60 sec jogging recovery. enjoyed giving the legs a shake out!! Not a peep out of the legs so happy days!!

9.53, 9.58, 9.47, 9.51, 9.52(.50)
    Sprints:6.51, 6.22, 6.38, 5.59, 5.45

Total 5.04m in 48:33 @ 9.38(including 5 x 25 sec sprint

WTD: 9.35m
    MTD : 97.16m
    YTD: 586.81m

Thursday 28th April
    I was working from home so I was in my gear from early morning but the weather had me shrinking away from the run. Eventually at 12.30 there was a gap in the showers so made a run for it :rolleyes: The rain stayed away for the first half hour with sun even peeping out for all of 2 mins, then half a mile from home the hail came and gave me a beating!!! Cleared when I reached home and the sun came out for the next hour! Legs feeling great but still tired after the hills and i'm not recovering the pace as fast as before, but sure whats the hurry. I did think of a few flat runs, but when running at home i've to stick to the back roads (which are all hilly) as the dog is afraid of the cars & trucks moving a speed on the main road and her roadside manner needs a bit of work, shes use to running over and back on the small country road.

Kettlebells class was great and i was feeling really good.

9.56, 10.08, 9.49, 9.47, 9.43(.35)

Total 4.35m @ 9.54 in 43:02

Saturday 30th April
    Great kettlebells class to start off the day. Didn't lose any weight this week but stayed the same. was expecting this as I've to cut the amount of bread im still eating.

Managed to strain/pull muscle in my ass and its giving me a bit of jip.
    Did a 2m recovery run last night to see if it got any better and although it felt better after the run, today Sunday its no better. At football match this morning and now it is now radiating down into my leg, so The Boyne 10k i was suppose to do today has been cancelled and i'll rest it instead. I'm disappointed as this was my comeback race last year where i decided I wanted to get back running and was looking forward to seeing the improvements. Anyway there'll be plenty more races..

11.07, 11.07
    Total 2.01M @ 11.07 in 22:23

So April closed out with lower mileage due to marathon recovery but a great month overall, with my Rotterdam marathon PB.:D

WTD:15.71m
    MTD: 103.52m
    YTD: 593.17m

Spent yesterday sitting on my ass with a bag of peas & did some foam rolling and it was much improved today.

Monday 2nd May

Decided to warm it up by doing my Home Program for Kettlebells.
    Its suppose to be 3 rounds of 20 secs on, 10 sec off, but seeing as i wasn't doing it regularly i went with 20 secs on 15 off x 2 rounds.

Jumping Jack| K'bell 2 arm swing
    Air Squat| K'bell Shoulder Press
    Glute Bridge|2 arm overhead Swing
    Side to side heel touch|2 arm Face pull
    Box Squat(with Chair)|K'bell Curl up
    Push ups| 2 arm swing
    Mountain climbers|K'bell Goblet Squat
    Leg lunges| K'bell around the body
    Controlled Bicycle|K'bll sit back
    On the spot running| Deadlift to upright row

15 secs off was too much for some of them and just enough when having to get up from the floor

Followed this up with the Core Program
    Curl Ups x 10
    Revers Curl x 10
    Double leg heel touch x 10
    Glute Bridge x 10
    Side to side heel touch x 10 each side
    Plank to shoulder touch x 10
    Oblique crunch x 10 each side
    Roll back x 10

Felt great after this and No issues with the glute. I did think about adding in the 3rd round but best not to push it, body still sore after Saturdays class and class again Tue evening.

Decided to do 20 min Recovery run to see if Glute was still ok and headed out with the dog into beautiful sunshine. Not a peek out of glute or legs so soon enough i was at my easy pace. At the start of mile 2 I decided to push it up the hill( instead of struggling)and the when the heavens opened and the hail started i never dropped the pace. Hands were falling off me with the cold and could have done with my gloves. 2nd mile ended up being steady pace so i decide to do last one faster again. I didn't look at the watch but felt great. Rain stopped when i reached the house and the sun came out again. I would have loved to keep going but hubby was waiting to go to work.

9.49, 9.20, 8.58, 8.41(.20)

Total 3.2m in 29:50 @ 9.20

Entered the London Ballot today, but surely i wouldn't get in on the international ballot again!!

WTD: 3.20m
    MTD: 3.20m
    YTD: 596.37m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

He he, I think we all entered that ballot today!!! may the best boardsises win!!! glad to hear the glute is no longer a pain in the ass :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Me too with the ballot. I reckon the statistical chances of running the GFA are better though!

Murph_D wrote: »
    Me too with the ballot. I reckon the statistical chances of running the GFA are better though!

ya for you maybe :cool: for me that' be sub 3:50!!!! its never happening.. although in another 5 years I'll *just* need a sub 4 :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Firedance wrote: »
    ya for you maybe :cool: for me that' be sub 3:50!!!! its never happening.. although in another 5 years I'll *just* need a sub 4 :p

Won't happen with a defeatist attitude like that!! Course your capable of sub 4 in 5 years!!

Of course its possible, anything is possible. Believe to achieve.

I got in on the International ballot in 2013, but would hope to get in GFA for next years entry for 2018 marathon.
    Aim for Dublin this year is sub 3.50 for me, that would be both London GFA & a Boston Qualifier.

None of my Smilies are working!! its not the same without the rollyeys, big grins etc!!!

Younganne wrote: »
    Of course its possible, anything is possible. Believe to achieve.

I got in on the International ballot in 2013, but would hope to get in GFA for next years entry for 2018 marathon.
    Aim for Dublin this year is sub 3.50 for me, that would be both London GFA & a Boston Qualifier.

None of my Smilies are working!! its not the same without the rollyeys, big grins etc!!!

what's the craic with the new boards? thankfully I"m still on the old one so my smilies are working fine :D why would we want a boards with no emoticons...

You'll get that sub 3:50 not a bother Anne, I need a 4:10 first, then a sub 4, then we'll talk GFA :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

I was quiet disheartened to realise my DCM time could be used for London if I'm aged 65 to 69 !!!!!

tang1 wrote: »
    Won't happen with a defeatist attitude like that!! Course your capable of sub 4 in 5 years!!

eh yeah, thanks B, I certainly hope long before 5 years!!! its the 3:50 I won't get any time soon though...

Again anything is possible

In DCM I went from 4.41(2010) to 4.27(2011) to 3.57(2012).

When you get the health issues sorted you'll be flying and there'll be no stopping you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

When you get the health issues sorted you'll be flying and there'll be no stopping you.

Wow that's some pb ! There's hope for us novices so :)

Tuesday 3rd May
    Plan Rest day
    Actual: Kettlebells class

Due to the bank holiday the class moved to Tuesday. It was a fantastic class and by the end I was a puddle of sweat. We were working in pairs, one doing k'bell exercise while other doing mat exercise. we did 14/12/10/10 reps of k'bell exercise and mat exercise continued until k'beller was finished. I was working with my sister and I had a 12kg bell but for all the swing exercises I grabbed her bell and worked away. It was only after i discovered that hers was a 16kg and not a 14kg as I though. Delighted i was able to use it, so will move up to 14kg for all exercises for Thursday class.

Wednesday 4th May
    Plan: 4m easy with strides
    Actual 4m easy

Body was tired after class yesterday, straight after work, fitted in the run with the mutt and before going to football training. I completely forgot about the strides.

9.48, 9.55, 9.34, 9.43, 9.52(.10)

Total 4.10m @ 9.45 in 39:59

Very much later when i should have been in bed, i did my home program. Body felt great after it.

This time i did the full 3 rounds 20 sec on, 10 sec rest

Jumping Jack| K'bell 2 arm swing
    Air Squat| K'bell Shoulder Press
    Glute Bridge|2 arm overhead Swing
    Side to side heel touch|2 arm Face pull
    Box Squat(with Chair)|K'bell Curl up
    Push ups| 2 arm swing
    Mountain climbers|K'bell Goblet Squat
    Leg lunges| K'bell around the body
    Controlled Bicycle|K'bll sit back
    On the spot running| Deadlift to upright row

Followed this up with the Core Program
    Curl Ups x 10
    Revers Curl x 10
    Double leg heel touch x 10
    Glute Bridge x 10
    Side to side heel touch x 10 each side
    Plank to shoulder touch x 10
    Oblique crunch x 10 each side
    Roll back x 10

Felt great after this and No issues with the glute.

Thursday 5th May
    Plan 3m Easy
    Actual 3m easy with strides

Working from home today so once the kids were gone to school i headed out for this with my faithful side kick. Such a fabulous morning i did consider doing my Longer run for the week, but decided to stick to the plan. so kept it slow to enjoy the heat inthe sunshine and listen to the wonderful country sounds!!
    At 1.6m, there's a flat part so did 6 x 20 sec strides here with walk back recovery of 60 sec. The dog loved them, every time i got back to the start, i say "ready" and off she would go flying!!! last one i was being pursued by a tractor so looks like he pushed me along a bit!!!.

10.04, 9.57(.60)
    6.54, 6.44, 6.59, 6.51, 6.35, 6.19,
    9.59, 9.57(.53)

Total 3.88m in 39.50 @ 10.17

WTD: 11.18m
    MTD: 11.18mm
    YTD: 604.35

Thursday evenings K'bell class was very tough i only managed the heavier bell for a few exercises.:o

Saturday 7th May,
    Plan:4m easy, last @ HMP
    Actual: 4m easy with last @ HMP

I had the alarm set for early to get this done before i had to head with the eldest at 9am but when i heard the rain at 6 and then still at 7, i rolled over and stayed snuggled in!!

Headed out after football and managed to avoid most of the showers, just a light one starting as i was finishing. Had HM pace worked out to be 8.20 ish so though if i could manage 8.30 i'd be happy enough for now, as legs haven't gone above MP in so long except for a few strides earlier in the week.

I tried not to let mile 2 & 3 get too much faster that easy. very happ with the result considering there are a nice few hills, mothing major but enough to keep me working, in the last mile.

9.48, 9.45, 9.34, 8.19, 9.39(.13)

Total 4.13 in 38.49

Looking forward to the Board Canal run tomorrow, hope the weather is all its promised to be. Definitely no 20 degrees and sunshine in North Meath today, rain, rain, more rain and cold day.

WTD: 15.29m
    MTD: 15.29m
    YTD: 608.46m

Looking forward to the Board Canal run tomorrow, hope the weather is all its promised to be. Definitely no 20 degrees and sunshine in North Meath today, rain, rain, more rain and cold day.

It's not looking as promising as it was mid week!!! Hopefully my raincoat dries out from this morning in time to be used again tomorrow :rolleyes:

yep, my youngest had her shorts & t-shirt lined out for this morning:eek:, I lit the fire for the kids before i went for my run earlier!!!!

Sure the raincoat will only get wet again!!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Great improvement from 2011 to 2012... Maybe you can share your secret along the canal tomorrow :)

annapr wrote: »
    Great improvement from 2011 to 2012... Maybe you can share your secret along the canal tomorrow :)

Annapr, there's no secret, I just followed the plan by the Coach (Myles Splitz A.K.A Ecoli back in the day!!)

There was a thread the same as the Graduates, a follow on plan from DCM 2011 and i used it throughout the Winter and up to the start of marathon training, then as i was the only person left following it from the Graduates thread, Coach took on to train me and it just went brilliant. Also I was the Mentor for the Novice thread that year so i felt like i had a few extra pairs of eyes on me ;)

EDIT: Looking back at a post or 2 from that time, i see i was doing Kettlebells at the time too, really feel this helps with body strength and the ability to keep going when body gets tired.

Sunday 8th May
    Plan 8m easy
    Actual 8.86 easy

Headed over to the other side of the County to meet up with a few others for the Inaugural Boards Royal Canal Run

It was great to see a great turnout and new people for me to meet. Lovely to meet jake1970, annapr, spaceylou, aero2k, Singer, Adrian522, MuppetMan, MurphD and great to catch up with tang1, martyboy, davemcmahon, Firedance.

I ran the first 3 miles in the company of the 2 lovely ladies Annapr and spaceylou and then i went on a recce of the local roads and turned my canal run into a non canal run!!! What can i say i like to explore!!!:o:o

Missed the turnoff back to the canal(well it did look like the driveway to a house) and therefor I ran slightly more than the planned 8m. When i caught up with the walkers, i walk the last bit back with them, if i was alone I'd have rounded up to 9m!! ;)
    Lovely grub in the very lovely & busy cafe and a great chat all round. Looking forward to the next one already..;);)

Total 8.86m in 1:28:26 @ 9.58

Followed this up when i got home with my kettlebells program

Exercise | Kettlebell Exercise| 20 sec on, 10 sec rec|
    Jumping Jack| K'bell 2 arm swing| x 3 rounds|
    Air Squat| K'bell Shoulder Press| x 3 rounds|
    Glute Bridge| 2 arm overhead Swing | x 3 rounds|
    Side to side heel touch | 2 arm Face pull| x 3 rounds|
    Box Squat(with Chair)| K'bell Curl up| x 3 rounds|
    Push ups| 2 arm swing| x 3 rounds|
    Mountain climbers| K'bell Goblet Squat| x 3 rounds|
    Leg lunges |K'bell around the body| x 3 rounds|
    Controlled Bicycle| K'bll sit back| x 3 rounds|
    On the spot running | Deadlift to upright row| x 3 rounds

That was tough in the heat.

And then followed up with a few nice cool drinks with dinner in the garden!!;);)

WTD: 24.17
    MTD: 24.17m
    YTD:617.34m

Plan for the week

Mon| Tue| Wed| Thur| Fri| Sat| Sun
    K'Bells| 4m easy| 4m easy with strides| 20 mins Recovery| Race|4m easy| 9m Easy

Monday 9th May
    Plan
    : k'bell class, no run
    Actual: K'bells no run

Class was absolutely mighty and i really enjoyed it, the sweat was running off me!!I'm loving these classes. . can ya tell :rolleyes:

Tuesday 10th May
    Plan: 4m easy
    Actual: Sport rub followed by a yucky 4m easy.

Didn't plan things too well today and ended up not having my run done before heading for Sports massage. My legs are in sh!te:eek: Left leg IT band, quad and calf all very tight and the beginnings of shin splints!! right leg not as bad but tight calf and beginnings of shin splints here too. I was shocked as no issues when running except slight tightness in calves after a run!! thankfully caught it in time. Beginning to think its the runners again!!!

Anyway checked it was ok to run and told yet no bother, so when i got home i headed out the door for 4m easy!! Hindsight: 3m would have been enough!! legs were tired on mile 4. Wet & extremely windy, didn't help. . .bed early as i was kaaa-nackered

10.00, 10.07, 9.55, 9.54

4m @ 9.59 in 39:59 felt a lot slower!!

Wednesday 11th May
    Plan: 4m easy with strides
    Actual: 4m easy inc strides

Another busy day and almost 9 oclock last night when heading out for this one. Had the dog and was planning same as last weeks spot for the strides, however when i rounded the bend, crossed the bridge and was heading for my hill there was a BIG black dog on the hill, not sure of breed as it was dark on hill and dog was facing away but i think its a Rottweiler from a local farm that has started to wander out on to the road. He was out a few Sundays back and i was left stranded on the wrong side of the gateway for a short while waiting for him to stop barking and go home so i could pass and get home!!!:eek:
    Anyway last night i turned the minute i saw him and headed back, but now i was in a quandary, only just over a mile done and turning for home, so i ran over and back for a bit until i got to 1.5m and then did a few strides on the flattest art of the road, but every time we got back near to the bend, my little scrap of a dog pulled back or sat done and refused to go on. Guess she didn't like the look of the other dog either.

Finished the strides and decided to go over a different road, also hilly, that I don't usually run, to make up the distance, but when i was crossing the bridge i got talking to a man who had just finished fishing. Stopped the watch or so i though:( and chatted for a bit, decided then it was too late so just turned for home, restarted the watch and headed up the hill for home. about 1 min later i glanced at the watch and it was stopped, started it and continued up the hill. Happened to look at watch when i reached top of the hill and my lap pace was 35:xx mins. Couldn't figure it out. Half a mile from home i did an about turn and headed back over the road for a bit and finally made it home with the 4m completed!! Such a evening!!Finally worked out that i had lapped the watch instead of stopping it and had stopped it when though i was starting it etc.....:o

Lovely evening and a lot brighter than evening before, no rain and wind was light enough!!!
    Anyway
    9.49, 10.07(.50m)
    7.46, 6.29, 6.36, 6.47, 6.44,
    9.51(.17m) 17.17(moving time was 9.48)9.47(.79) all very confusing!!

Total 4.05m in 48:40 (40.19 moving time)

Going to give K'bells class a miss tonight as i have ear ache and sinus headache so will just do 20mins recovery later..

WTD: 8.05m
    MTD: 32.22m
    YTD:625.39m

Best of luck tomorrow evening Anne, run well.

Nice going this evening, you happy with it?

Thursday 12th May
    Plan :20 mins Recovery
    Actual: 2.10m Recovery

Kids asked me earlier in the week if they could join the running club and of course i was delighted to allow them too, so seeing as i wasn't doing K'bells i brought them over to Rathkenny AC, small enough club but only 15 mins drive away and my sons friends had joined hence his interest. They had been there doing the community games over the past few years so no bother to them.
    While they were training i went off for my recovery run on grass around the soccer pitches and out to the local football club next door. First mile was a little too fast as i was chatting with a lady so let her off and slowed it down a bit. Legs felt great on the grass. followed up with plenty of stretching and the Myrthl program to get hips strong again

10.36, 10.57, 10.46(.10m)

2.10m @10.46 in 22:35

Friday 13th May
    Simon Cumbers Navan AC 6k Race

I ran with Navan AC as a child and knew Simon Cumbers so I've tried to do this race whenever I can. My 6k PB was from this race in 2012 of 29.20 so tonights aim was to get under this. A quick look at McMillian using Trim 10m as a guide had me hoping for 28.36.

I was a bit nervous going for this in case i crashed and burned, the legs are in a bit of a mess and i hadn't done any speed training for SO long but i decided to just go out and see what happened.

There was a much bigger crowd than expected, last year they had 200 people, this year there was up near 600 so there was a bit of a delay getting in for parking and there were big queues for number collection. This was done alphabetically so as always I was last on the list, so get to go the the last table where there's never a queue, so in and out fairly quickly, joined the queue for the ladies and then headed back to the car to drop off the tee shirt. I missed out on the goody bags:( I met my Mam outside who decided to come and support me, seeing as my crew were all gone to the young lads Soccer presentation!!!

I managed a very short warm up before they called for everyone to move to the road because we had a bit of a distance to go to the start. The start was a bit of a mess as there was a large crowd squashed into a narrow road. The starter was talking but no-one could hear him as he had no microphone and everyone was talking. Next thing gun went and we were off and it was lucky there was no accident as it was fairly squashed. Delayed reaction to the gun meant i missed a few seconds before starting the watch. Felt comfortable straight away and after about half a mile i glanced at the watch and it was at 7.35, oops i though to myself, i may be going too fast but decided to stick with it and see how long i could last!! Mile 1 clocked in at 7.34

Pace slowed a bit here but i pushed on and tried to keep relaxed. Its a lovely route with only a slight drag here along a country road, not worth talking about, we turned out from the country road onto the main road and i ran along the road as traffic was stopped and I was passing a good few who were running on the path. Remember thinking it could be embarrassing when they pass me back further up, just keep going for now!!! Mile 2 7.39

I know the route so knew how far we had left and mile 3 i felt very strong and was a bit surprised i was feelign so strong. Still passing people here mile 3 7.28.
    I continued passing people for the remainder of the route and no one has passed me since the start of mile 2. Things are start to hurt a little but i just keep pumping the arms and telling my self 3 or 4 more mins, you can do this. The last 100m coming in the track and I hear people cheering for somone coming behind me, ive no idea how close they are but they are not passing me so pushed on right to the line. .74m in 5.15 @7.06 pace.

Delighted and really surprised with how this went and excited with what i might be able to do to my 10k PB of 49.58!! that needs to go!!!

Watch time 3.74 in 27:56
    Chip time 27:56 new PB!!!:D:
    F40 13/73

Great spread afterwards and boxes and boxes of fruit. I had a coffee and couple of sandwiches and an orange, and then eventually at 9.20 when i was heading home i decided to do a few laps of track for a cool down!!

total for day including wu & Cd 5.63m

WTD: 14.79m
    MTD: 39.99m
    YTD:633.13m

tang1 wrote: »
    Nice going this evening, you happy with it?

PB was 29.20
    new PB 27.56. . . ya could say Im Happy with that!!:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Well done Anne - congrats on the pb :)