Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,355 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Stinicker wrote: »
    Is Micheal Martin the Cork Football Goalkeeper the son of Micheal Martin, the leader of Fianna Fail? I heard a lot of lads commenting about it over the weekend.

yes he is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

hard to see improvement between now and 2020. whenever we decide to root out incompetence from the board, delegates right down through to the clubs the ten year plan to get back to the top can begin. Don't hold your breath

You're spot on. But have no doubt the starting point is the board. And An Runai should obviously be the first to go. How he continues in his position as Cork GAA slides further into oblivion is an absolute disgrace. At this stage he should have the good grace to accept responsibility for this debacle and step aside. Too much to hope for I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Corcaigh Abu1

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Those first six words may come back to you in the future!

Dillon, Trollier, is perhaps not yet a great hurler, but he has the makings of one. He has great pace and a nose for goal and is thriving under GC whereas he was as you correctly say, a bit player up to now (although his goal in Wexford off the bench in 2013 saved Dublin the year they won Leinster!). You can be certain he will be starter in the Summer.

I was going on what I've seen of Dillon to date. Not being good enough to start for the dubs. I'm not taking from his performance on Sat which I praised. I do expect an experienced corner back and captain for cork to deal with him tho. If Dillon goes on to become a great player in the future fair play to the lad. He would of clearly improved on last seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭It makes sense

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Just watching it again. We went from 0-04 v 0-02 up to 0-04 v 3-08 down. Shocking.

Watched the highlights tonight was astonished by our defence display, first goal our captain made no attempt to stop the man no hands out hold up the fellow could have fouled him taken the yellow nothing, second goal with our sweeper system Joyce was out of position not manning the square, third goal six cork defenders 4 Dublin attackers still a goal, 4th goal I counted 7 cork players to 4 Dublin players inside 45 still a goal no positional sense first thing we need to do is work on our shape keep tight make it hard for teams to beat us this looked so easy for Dublin a team I think we scored 35 points against last year. I really hope this is the lowest of the low and we make some effort against Kilkenny next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

In fairness, while the hurlers played bad, their first field session was last Thursday down in Pairc Ui Rinn.

Regarding the footballers. Colm O'Neill is starting to turn into Colin Corkery. He needs to lose at least a half a stone. Peadar Healy told him as much a few weeks ago.

DuffleBag wrote: »
    In fairness, while the hurlers played bad, their first field session was last Thursday down in Pairc Ui Rinn.

where did u hear this? i find it hard to believe that going into the 3rd league game after under performing in the previous two that last thurs was their first field session.

Yes, they had a hurling session in PUR last week. But they have been having hurling sessions in Mallow for several weeks now so we can't offer that one up as an excuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭etoughguy

Clearly the hurlers are pulling the wool over everyone's eyes and getting themselves written off for the all Ireland deliberately. We'll walk through Munster and destroy KK in the All Ireland final.Everyone thinks were having a nightmare in the league but its all part of the masterplan.

At least that what Im telling myself!

Ellis broke his arm v the dubs. Out for the remainder of league maybe the tip game. Another blow to an already struggling team. Let's hope he recovers quickly. You'd feel for Kingston he's had no luck so far.

Who sits in the CB position now? They will prob put Egan there and he will be roasted. Walsh maybe when he recovers from the broken nose. I say the confidence going into the kk game wl be at an all-time low.

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/1922807/1922807/

Cashman and Brosnan added to the panel. Id love to see Cashman prove he's worth a place on the team. Solid for his club and was good on the Munster league and was one of the better players in the u21 v Waterford last year.
    Connor o Sullivan has also recovered so he should be given a chance.

The Cork U-21 Football team to play Clare has been announced as follows

1. Anthony Casey (Kiskeam)

2. Dylan Quinn (St Finbarrs)

3. John Mullins (Eire Og)

4. Michael McSweeney (Newcestown)

5. Kevin Flahive (Douglas)

6. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers) Captain

7. Kieran Histon (Cobh)

8, Sean White (Clonakilty)

9. Ronan O Toole (Eire Og)

10. Don O Driscoll (Clann na Gael)

11. Sean O Donoghue (Inniscarra)

12. Ryan Harkin (Mallow)

13. Brian Coakley (Carrigaline)

14. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael)

15. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven)

16. Ross Donovan (Nemo Rangers)

17. Kevin Cremin (Boherbue)

18. Eoin Lavers (Dohenys)

19. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig)

20. Sean O Leary (Bantry Blues)

21. Stephen Sherlock (St Finbarrs)

22. Mick Dineen (Naomh Aban)

23. Sean O Donovan (Ilen Rovers)

24. Cian Dorgan (Ballincollig)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭malascoile

Any truth to the rumor Niall Mac is back on the panel?

where did u hear this? i find it hard to believe that going into the 3rd league game after under performing in the previous two that last thurs was their first field session.

Players father. First field session of the year.

Sounds like a father defending his sons' poor team performance. They have been training on field for sure. Wasn't there an interview with Cooper after the Waterford game and he said they've only started training on the field. That was a few weeks ago.

It's becoming a national topic now. The state of Cork hurling. Matt Cooper discussing it on today FM and Newstalk did a piece on it too. John Myler however thinks things will be grand come championship. If only I had his optimmisum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Pos087

malascoile wrote: »
    Any truth to the rumor Niall Mac is back on the panel?

We need players of nialls quality as non of the current panel are good enough to carry his medals. This will be viewed as a step backwards but I think his passion and drive could wear off on the group we have. I hope they bring through some young players with him. It's time to weed out some of the current lot.

Niall Mac will be 35 in September. Much and all as I admire what he achieved with Cork (in his prime he was one of the key drivers on that team) I don't think bringing him back is the answer. And I couldn't see mgmt going down that road.

And just to clarify again, Cork have even been training in Mallow on grass since January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Niall McC. will be 36 this year I don't think the lion hearted player will be asked back at all....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

According to the Echo:

-> Dean Brosnan and Niall Cashman added to the squad.

-> Ellis, Walsh, Cian Mac out injured and Cadogan suspended for KK game.

-> Conor O'Sullivan back from injury.

-> Stephen Murphy likely to start.

Blue jersey for the weekend. I'm told these will be for sale to the public as well.

God forbid the county board would have a proper presentation with Sportsfile invited down, instead of a dark training pitch at night

BillCooperStephenMcDonnellandShaneONeilllaunchingspecialCorkBluejerseysMar16_large.jpg?width=648&s=ie-386384

Blue jersey for the weekend. I'm told these will be for sale to the public as well.

God forbid the county board would have a proper presentation with Sportsfile invited down, instead of a dark training pitch at night

BillCooperStephenMcDonnellandShaneONeilllaunchingspecialCorkBluejerseysMar16_large.jpg?width=648&s=ie-386384

Sometimes I think Cork look like they're still playing with those old hurleys!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Sometimes I think Cork look like they're still playing with those old hurleys!!

Suppose they couldn't do too much worse with them at the moment...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭N20

Best of luck to 21 footballers tonight !

Interesting to see coaches comments where a lack of a center of excellence ie no pitch proved a stumbling block in preparations

Training mostly on artificial surfaces

and the board think 1 pitch down the marina will cater for all grades in both codes:rolleyes:

u21s lead 0-10 to 0-5 at halftime. Kerry 0-6 Tipp1-3 also at halftime

N20 wrote:
    Best of luck to 21 footballers tonight !

Interesting to see coaches comments where a lack of a center of excellence ie no pitch proved a stumbling block in preparations

Training mostly on artificial surfaces

and the board think 1 pitch down the marina will cater for all grades in both codes

So that's the senior footballers, U21 footballers and senior hurlers that have been scratching around looking for pitches to train on at various stages this year already. The hurlers had to go to Tractor a few weeks back for a session apparently.

A sad state of affairs really. And the really sad part is there is no light at the end of the tunnel. A proper centre of excellence isn't even a pipe dream given that the monument must be built.

Cork 0-23 Clare 0-8 result. Kerry beat Tipp 0-11 to 1-7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Lads,

A Monaghan mate of mine is heading to the match on Sunday. He's travelling by train and wanted to know what is the best way to get to ground. I was saying taxi as I think it would be to far to walk (he's elderly enough) what do ye think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭etoughguy

DellyBelly wrote: »
    Lads,

A Monaghan mate of mine is heading to the match on Sunday. He's travelling by train and wanted to know what is the best way to get to ground. I was saying taxi as I think it would be to far to walk (he's elderly enough) what do ye think?

A tenner in a taxi will get him there
    The 202 bus from the quays can drop him near there too (get off near crab lane)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭clerk

DellyBelly wrote: »
    Lads,

Definitely would have to be a taxi.

Fyi - I doubt he'll be able to get a taxi after the match. The best bet would be to walk to the Silver Quay (it's the nearest pub) and ask for a taxi there, I'm thinking.

To get to the Silver Quay pub you walk away from the City as you come out of the stadium, past Cork Con, keep going straight past Cork Con (across a road) and he'll come to it. There will be a good few heading that way if he needs directions as it's the way back to Blackrock and Douglas for people that walked to the match.

Enjoy and don't beat us by too much. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

Thanks for all that lads.