If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

UFC 196: McGregor vs Diaz***READ POST #1 BEFORE POSTING***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,971 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Woke up to see he'd lost.

Disappointed to see any Irish champion lose in any sport, but find it hard to have sympathy for the guy. I know people say the braggadocio is all an act, but he still comes across as pretty unlikeable as a result of it. I don't really buy the 'it's part of the game' line either.

He said all the right things in defeat though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,569 ✭✭✭✭kippy

NIMAN wrote: »
    A bandwagoner?

Someone who becomes a fan of something simply because its popular and gives them the opportunity to pretend they are experts on it.

Like all those people who are big into rugby over the last decade or so, yet don't know the rules.

Like all these people who are suddenly into UFC/MMA, funnily enough just as McGregor appeared on the scene.

Like the thousands of Irish footy fans who will be 'on the lash' in France, yet never go to any Ireland games at home.

You get the jist.

Ah ok,
    but isn't that how popularity of a team/person or sports grow?
    Ultimately sports need people to follow and participate.

I'd add myself as a band wagoner.
    In that MMA isn't something I had heard of up until the past few years but then I seen an interview with this lad on some new years eve thing and I started watching out for him as he seemed like a bit of craic with a good story.
    I've watched a few fights since and generally followed him. I would't be into MMA/UFC in general.

I don't think there's anything wrong with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,569 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Those that don't see its part of the game don't know what the game actually is.

It's an entertainment industry and the UFC are very open about that, as is McGregor.
    You can be the best fighter in the world but if people aren't paying in large numbers to watch you fight you are going to spend a long time trying to earn the money McGregor is earning.
    In a game where serious injury is never far away and you have to support yourself and pay for all your support structure, the more you earn, the faster you earn it and in the least minutes in the octagon the better for your health etc.

The main reason McGregors fights are as popular as they are is because he divides opinion, and he's a hell of a lot more entertaining/interesting that a lot of fighters out there.

His fighting ability is secondary to that however he's an excellent fighter as far as I am concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭c montgomery

lawlolawl wrote: »
    No, just no.

Plenty of other guys at the top of the pile for years that don't feel the need to talk **** who just get the job done inside the octagon.

And yet he's the only one to make millions per fight!
    Go figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Diaz was 4/1 with some bookies when the fight was announced. Great bet to jump on.

I did as I knew the Mcgregor hype train had to end, and thought a wrestler type would do it, thought Mendes manhandled him and that was a good omen from me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭ted1

And we thought politicians could spin!

He has been bad mouthing everyone in the game, saying how much he is going to whip people, and the guy handed his ass to him. Rub it up him.

Up two weights , no title. He will find it easier to get fight ms now as less people will run scared.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭12gauge dave

Making gang signs with the left hand and choking me out with the right hand -conor mcgregor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Blackie Grey

Did hulk hogan run in and give him a chair shot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭Letree

Diaz was 4/1 with some bookies when the fight was announced. Great bet to jump on.

I did as I knew the Mcgregor hype train had to end, and thought a wrestler type would do it, thought Mendes manhandled him and that was a good omen from me.

I only put one bet on this fight and that was for a Nate sub in the 3rd. I didn't think it would finish in the 2nd.

FTA69 wrote: »
    Look, anyone who thinks that McGregor is actually like that in real life hasn't a clue. It's clear that most of those commenting on the man have little understanding of combat sports and least of all the reality behind professional fighting.

One example is people saying "he doesn't respect his opponents". Of course he does, the man is training like a dog and putting his body through unbelievable hardship to compete at this level. He knows if you get into a cage with an opponent at the elite level then it's very serious business. Literally nobody in boxing, MMA or whatever goes into a ring without respecting what your opponent is capable of; you'd soon become undone if you did.

Professional fighting is a business based on entertainment and the sale and marketing of personas. In that you have white hats and black hats; black hats are people who are deliberately obnoxious in order to hype fights - it isn't real. If the whole thing was just about the fighting you wouldn't have flashy ring entrances and massive promotions and face offs and press conferences.

Again, it's a charade, don't take it too seriously.

Ah come on now, making well reasoned valid points denying your fellow country folk the long awaited opportunity to sneer and begrudge.

You begrudger of begrudgery! :p

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,441 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

kippy wrote: »
    Those that don't see its part of the game don't know what the game actually is.

It's an entertainment industry and the UFC are very open about that, as is McGregor.

It's all about the money in the end and if name-calling and posturing and throwing dummy punches at press conferences and weigh ins gets more bums on seats (and more importantly, more pay per views), then that's what they'll do. Even Nate Diaz had a laugh about the fat beach boy dig. It's almost like the old wrestling stuff, the difference being these guys actually make contact with each other and make contact hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

Going up the extra weight class so quickly on top of the planned one was just too much.
    I had a feeling the fight was gonna end the way it did.
    At least the begrudger brigade can have a good day out today I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

A bandwagoner?

Someone who becomes a fan of something simply because its popular and gives them the opportunity to pretend they are experts on it.

Like all those people who are big into rugby over the last decade or so, yet don't know the rules.

Like all these people who are suddenly into UFC/MMA, funnily enough just as McGregor appeared on the scene.

Like the thousands of Irish footy fans who will be 'on the lash' in France, yet never go to any Ireland games at home.

You get the jist.

So what!!!

People enjoying life and sport?

Oh no what will we do, will the earth still spin, how dare they enjoy life?

The fun police are out in force I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

a few guys were guessing hed lose based on the fact that he lashed out at the weigh in, the other guy got in his head. So he has had on Ronda Rousey moment

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,260 ✭✭✭✭cena

Way over Hyped fighter.

cena wrote: »
    Way over Hyped fighter.

Ah hold on now. No expert here but did he not beat a man who was world champion for 10 years previous?

He beat another tough fighter in chad mendes too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

I think Mcgregor summed it up well

He said Diaz went into auto pilot and he himself just panicked,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,363 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

You saying that those who didn't get all into McGregor and the hype aren't enjoying life?

There will now be a massive dropoff in UFC interest in Ireland.

You saying that those who didn't get all into McGregor and the hype aren't enjoying life?

If you're enjoying life so much why can't you wait to get onto the Internet and delight in an Irish person loosing a fight, which is all about money at the end of the day?

Life will go on.

You have come onto the McGregor thread to air your opinion so your as much part of the hyperbole as the supporters. Your not really indifferent.

Really can't understand how people delight in others failure?! :confused:

That's sadder then the lads jumping on the bandwagon

FTA69 wrote: »
    You don't know what you're talking about, I'm not trying to be condescending or smarmy but there's no point in critiquing stuff that by your own admission you aren't clued up on.

MMA isn't like boxing, the win-loss ration tends to be more evenly split. The likes of Anderson Silva has 7 losses and is still regarded as one of the best of all time.

Exactly. Look at Tate-Rousey-Holm for example too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭Clique

I'm no big MMA fan but do watch the odd card or fight and that would be down to Conor and what he has done to the sport and bringing it to a wider audience in this country.

The people mouthing off and giving him abuse though are probably the ones that if they seen him in the street, they would be the ones running over looking for a selfie or an autograph and bending over backwards for the man.

One thing I've noticed by his demeanour and determination from the little I've seen from him is this won't hinder him at all. He just will drop back down in weight and the bandwagon we be back in full flow once again. He won't be going anywhere like some seem to think! Neither will that bandwagon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,610 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Can't say I'm disappointed that he lost after that dick move at hitting out at Diaz during the presser

Maybe this will have knocked some of the undue arrogance out of him and brought him back down to earth

Can't say I'm disappointed that he lost after that dick move at hitting out at Diaz during the presser

Maybe this will have knocked some of the undue arrogance out of him and brought him back down to earth

That's what its all about sure :rolleyes: good man yourself

Poor nate's hand, jesus Christ, they train to punch the head off eachother.

Didn't seem to effect him last night.

That's what its all about sure :rolleyes: good man yourself

It was a dick move, and you lot defending it are just showing yourselves up tbh

And yes, he has been even more cocky than usual, and his complacency showed last night
    JustTheOne wrote: »
    Poor nate's hand, jesus Christ, they train to punch the head off eachother.

Didn't seem to effect him last night.

They train to punch the heads off each other during bouts, not during press events. He lost the head and hit out and could have easily caused an injury to Diaz, which would have meant the fight was called off.

Maybe that was his plan all along? It didn't pay off for him in any case.

I don't give a **** about being called a begrudger or whatever else, McGregor needed to be taken down a peg. He was becoming a caricature of himself.

It was a dick move, and you lot defending it are just showing yourselves up tbh

And yes, he has been even more cocky than usual, and his complacency showed last night

They train to punch the heads off each other during bouts, not during press events. He lost the head and hit out and could have easily caused an injury to Diaz, which would have meant the fight was called off.

Maybe that was his plan all along? It didn't pay off for him in any case.

I don't give a **** about being called a begrudger or whatever else, McGregor needed to be taken down a peg. He was becoming a caricature of himself.

Who called you a begrudger?:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Torricelli

Great to see him beaten to a pulp, watching Diaz raining down punches on him was a joy to behold. Hopefully now his fanboys will park up their bandwagon for a while.

The way he talks about money is disgusting when so many in this country are struggling.

Torricelli wrote: »
    Great to see him beaten to a pulp, watching Diaz raining down punches on him was a joy to behold. Hopefully now his fanboys will park up their bandwagon for a while.

The way he talks about money is disgusting when so many in this country are struggling.

Haha I might not go into work tomorrow and make some money because people are struggling.

One of the most ridiculous comments I have ever read:)

Torricelli wrote: »

^^^

Now that's begrudgery!