Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

UFC 196: McGregor vs Diaz***READ POST #1 BEFORE POSTING***

14567810»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Sheamus in the WWE might object!

Or the guys in really big sports, like Robbie Keane or Shane Lowry...

Shane Lowry??? He could probably walk down O'Connell Street and only a handful of people may recognise him at a second glance.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭BMMachine

oh and I loved seeing a few responses of "oh why don't you say that to McGregors face!"
    it just sums up the mentality of that large section of his fans. "hitting things is how you deal with things." the truth is this. If McGregor, a trained fighting world champion, hits some guy hes going to get put through the courts and dealt with severely. I don't think for a second that Connor is stupid enough to do that, but hey - those same kind of fans just might be...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 263 ✭✭Rattser

Torricelli wrote: »
    WOW. Just WOW.

I'm embarrassed for you.

Who would be a bigger Irish sportsperson at present? I honestly can't think of one. Rory Mac, perhaps? Keane wouldn't be anymore, he's on his swansong.

Rattser wrote: »
    Who would be a bigger Irish sportsperson at present? I honestly can't think of one. Rory Mac, perhaps? Keane wouldn't be anymore, he's on his swansong.

Ah seriously folks.

For starters, McGregor is in a niche sport.

Ah seriously folks.

For starters, McGregor is in a niche sport.

I'm well aware he's in a niche sport. You're the chap who claimed a WWF wrestler is more well known. Niche, indeed.

What Irish sportsperson is as well known internationally? If you asked a foreigner to name an Irish sportsperson I think the majority would name Conor McGregor.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 28 The Wandering Jew

He said in a different time he would invade Aldo's favela on horseback and kill anyone not fit enough to work.

It was about as racist as one could get because it directly referenced the subjugation of South Americans at the hands of colonial powers.

He has done it before other fights, he called one fighter a Nazi because he was German. That's not racist mind you, merely disgraceful.

Not even a McGregor fan but that is hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,518 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

If you asked a foreigner to name an Irish sportsperson I think the majority would name Conor McGregor.

The majority, really like?

How many Irish people could name a foreign MMA fighter if you asked them on the street?

I doubt it'd be anywhere near a majority!

There are plenty of better known Irish sportspeople. Literally any golfer that regularly plays in Majors would be better known than McGregor simply because golf has a far bigger following.

Same goes for soccer, rugby, boxing. Cricket even.

People are seriously deluding themselves if they think he'd be better known around the globe than every other Irish sportsperson.

Not that it fcuking matters anyway. The whole 'who is more famous' argument is like that schoolyard 'my daddy would beat up your daddy' one.

How many Irish people could name a foreign MMA fighter if you asked them on the street?

I doubt it'd be anywhere near a majority!

There are plenty of better known Irish sportspeople. Literally any golfer that regularly plays in Majors would be better known than McGregor simply because golf has a far bigger following.

Same goes for soccer, rugby, boxing. Cricket even.

People are seriously deluding themselves if they think he'd be better known around the globe than every other Irish sportsperson.

Not that it fcuking matters anyway. The whole 'who is more famous' argument is like that schoolyard 'my daddy would beat up your daddy' one.

He's been in the media constantly for a while now, I'd say he is way more famous than other Irish sportsmen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

He's been in the media constantly for a while now, I'd say he is way more famous than other Irish sportsmen.

I would have thought Robbie Keane would be the highest scoring answer if this was pointless.

jimmii wrote: »
    I would have thought Robbie Keane would be the highest scoring answer if this was pointless.

How many people in America know who Robbie Keane is? Whereas McGregor would be fairly well known now.

Try to seperate your personal dislike of him, with an objective analysis, this is his first loss against a fighter he jumped two weight divisions to fight. It comes off the back of him beating a fighter who had not lost in 10 years.
    It's his first loss in the ufc. I notice no one called Diaz bum in the lead up to this fight, do you know how many losses he has? MMA, is not like boxing, often the best fighters in mma can have several losses on their record, yet still are considered all time greats. I really detest the usage of the word bum to describe any fighter, some boxing fans are fond of its usage as well. it's extremely disrespectful to men and woman who spend countless hours training to compete inside a ring. A bum to me is someone who is very lazy and doesn't want to work.
    Those are all McGregor quotes ;) He's the one who introduced the phrase bum into the mma lexicon, most recently referring to Nate as one, so I think it's only fitting that now he gets to be referred to as one

How many people in America know who Robbie Keane is? Whereas McGregor would be fairly well known now.

Robbie Keane the captain of LA Galaxy? I am guessing quite a few.

He's still plays I don't believe Robbie Keane has anywhere near the awareness that McGregor has simply because he's been in the media so much recently.

He's still plays? I don't believe Robbie Keane has anywhere near the awareness that McGregor has simply because he's been in the media so much recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Danger Fourpence

kippy wrote: »
    Ah jaysus,
    Seriously?
    He was struggling himself a few years ago and has worked his socks off to get to where he is.

You'd think he'd be a bit less arrogant about Diaz's financial position then.

Wouldn't say I'm glad he was beaten, but I'm glad the opportunity has arisen to inject a little humility into his makeup. It might forge a better champion out of him. As horrible as he finds the weight cut I think he might be fighting at 145 for a while yet. He isn't anywhere close to being ready for 170 and 155, or Dos Anjos at least, is a step too far also.

He tapped quickly. He went to ground with Nate Diaz because he was sick of getting punched. He simply does not enjoy being on the receiving end of any of this. I wonder if he's able to take a beating at all and come from behind to win.

Yeah, he's been on prime time US television regularly, Canadian/Australian TV etc. If you're in NY or other big major cities, you will see posters or billboards of him around. Very few Irish sportspeople get that level of international exposure.

Abroad, especially outside of the anglosphere, it's unusual enough for foreigners to be able to name any Irish sportspeople unless they are into football. It's rare that we produce top tier sportspeople in their field. Rory Mac and Harrington in the golf, O'Driscoll in rugby and Keane in soccer being recent exceptions.

He's extremely well known globally. Same with Ronda Rousey, a lot of people with no interest in MMA would know about her too.

So, yeah. I'd say that he is he most well known current Irish sportsperson.

He's still plays I don't believe Robbie Keane has anywhere near the awareness that McGregor has simply because he's been in the media so much recently.

Who knows and it doesn't really matter anyway! Would be interesting to find out McGregor would certainly be pretty high up the list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Liberosis

What "media" are you referring to? In Ireland he gets comprehensive coverage, but if you turn on foreign news like the UK or further afield, I for one have rarely heard him mentioned. Not that it really matters how "well known" he is anyway.

You'd think he'd be a bit less arrogant about Diaz's financial position then.

That was disgusting, tbh. I know some claim it's a persona, but there are still lines you don't cross. He made fun of Nate for teaching a BJJ Sunday class for kids in his home town. This from the guy who's always talking about his people, how he had it tough and winning for his country. Then he slags off a lad for helping kids in a very deprived part of the US? Poor form, lad.

Called him a 'little cholo gangster' too. An American born fighter would get hauled over the coals for that sort of thing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Torricelli

"I'm humble in victory and defeat"

Had to laugh at that one.

That was disgusting, tbh. I know some claim it's a persona, but there are still lines you don't cross. He made fun of Nate for teaching a BJJ Sunday class for kids in his home town. This from the guy who's always talking about his people, how he had it tough and winning for his country. Then he slags off a lad for helping kids in a very deprived part of the US? Poor form, lad.

Called him a 'little cholo gangster' too. An American born fighter would get hauled over the coals for that sort of thing.

He also said his socks cost more than Nate's suit. Great, you've got money. So what?

Torricelli wrote: »
    "I'm humble in victory and defeat"

Had to laugh at that one.

That was a good one, yeah. And every moron on social media quoting it like it was true. It's easy be humble when your head has been bounced off the canvas. Wasn't he jumping the railings and giving people the finger not so long ago?

Liberosis wrote: »
    What "media" are you referring to? In Ireland he gets comprehensive coverage, but if you turn on foreign news like the UK or further afield, I for one have rarely heard him mentioned. Not that it really matters how "well known" he is anyway.

BBC have jumped on now and was listening to TalkSport earlier and last night came up a couple of times which I was surprised by. BT obviously ran a lot about it but other than that it was only a whisper really. I think in Ireland there is definitely a case of over estimating how well known he is everywhere else. When training in Ireland there was always McGregor chatter but now I am in the UK only one person has mentioned him in the gym I am at now was pretty surprised by that.

You lads realise you're not supposed to take the thrash talking seriously right?

No? Really?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

The event is over and discussion has steered way away from it so we'll leave it at that. Still plenty of discussion to be had in the MMA forum, please read their charter before posting.