Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

UFC 196: McGregor vs Diaz***READ POST #1 BEFORE POSTING***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Lady lou

All of you that support Conor have a look at the Thread I started about showing support for him. I can't post a link as I don't have enough posts!

All the expensive suits in the world won't change the fact that McGregor is just another bum fighter who went into panic wrestler mode like a gazelle infront of the lion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

All the expensive suits in the world won't change the fact that McGregor is just another bum fighter who went into panic wrestler mode like a gazelle infront of the lion

Who beat a 10 year unbeaten champion.

Bum alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Posted this over on the MMA forum but no harm sharing my thoughts here too I guess:

Firstly, as a fan I'll say well done to Nate Diaz. If you were to pick one fighter in the UFC who deserves a big night like that then it would be hard to look past him (or his brother Nick for that matter).

Secondly, while it's obviously gutting for those of us who are McGregor fans, it's probably worth taking stock. Conor's style of promotion etc means it's fair game after the defeat to have a go at him (and I'm sure he's more than expecting it himself and obviously well able to handle it) but there has been people on here, in the real world, media, fellow fighters and more who have been lining up since 2013 to fire their bullets so it has been a long time coming for them.

Thirdly, if you want to be a great in this sport you're going to taste defeat at some point. It's just a fact. You will lose at least once in the UFC if you become known as a great. Anderson Silva has 3 UFC losses on his record and will go down as the greatest ever. Demetrious Johnson has a loss on his record but has since won 9 on the bounce and is arguably the P4P #1 at the moment. GSP lost his belt to Matt Serra and subsequently won 12 on the bounce, while he also tasted defeat to Matt Hughes previous to the Serra bout. The record books will also show that Jon Jones has an L on his record however ridiculous, but he has bounced back and won 12 on the spin. Jose Aldo was obviously put away by Conor in 13 seconds. All absolute, undeniable legends of the sport. The list goes on and there's one common denominator - they all have at least 1 UFC loss on their records.

I've been guilty of it myself in the past (especially when it came to Rousey v Holm), but there really is no such thing as a certainty in this sport and that's why it's one of the best in the world.

IMO Conor should be applauded for having the balls to take a fight 2 weight classes above his own and against a new opponent on a week's notice. It didn't end well but it's refreshing. There's very, very few other fighters in the organisation that would do the same.

The most interesting thing is how McGregor comes back from this adversity. Lets not forget he has already tasted defeated in his career and bounced back so this is nothing new to him (albeit on a lesser scale). All I know for sure is that I'm proud to have him representing our country in this sport and will be aiming to be there to support him the next time he makes that walk.

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Who beat a 10 year unbeaten champion.

Bum alright.
    And lost to a bum (his words) in an exhibition bout ;) People used to always go on about Fedor fighting cans but at least he never lost to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

Torricelli wrote: »
    Great to see him beaten to a pulp, watching Diaz raining down punches on him was a joy to behold. Hopefully now his fanboys will park up their bandwagon for a while.

The way he talks about money is disgusting when so many in this country are struggling.

He also talks about how he likes to make all his money over in America and convert it into Euro and spend it over here.

Good to see you take joy in a proud Irishman who has shown nothing but love for the country who made it to the very top of his sport through dedication and hard work being beaten.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Torricelli

stephenl15 wrote: »
    He also talks about how he likes to make all his money over in America and convert it into Euro and spend it over here.

Good to see you take joy in a proud Irishman who has shown nothing but love for the country who made it to the very top of his sport through dedication and hard work being beaten.
    I love this "support him, he's Irish" crap.

I'd hardy call being beaten by a journeyman bum (McGregor's own words) being at the very top of his sport. Over-hyped crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

I'd hardy call being beaten by a journeyman bum (McGregor's own words) being at the very top of his sport. Over-hyped crap.

What about beating a 10 year undefeated champion in 13 seconds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

You clearly watch the sport a lot„. MMA is not boxing, everyone and anyone can lose a fight irrespective of their record. But of course, don't let that stop you on your pathetic hate parade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭The_fever

Mcgregor the poppy wearing mouth piece. Happy Days,

The_fever wrote: »
    Mcgregor the poppy wearing mouth piece. Happy Days,

At least he talks through his mouth, rather than his ringpiece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

We need to stop feeding these trolls lads, I know it's hard not to bite, they've been waiting on this for a long time after all.

Agreed. It's seldom that so many casuals jump into a sport not for the sport itself but to get their digs in on an individual they dislike while there's a tailwind. What's more alarming is a lot of these individuals that engage in this crap are grown adults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,108 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Hopefully this defeat ends the bandwagoners on Facebook creaming themselves over each comment he makes as if he's the second coming of Christ, especially when they didn't even know what MMA was 3 years ago.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

I have only saw a few ufc fights before and didn't manage to stay up to watch mcgregor live as it was on too late.... Or too early however you look at it.

I also can say that as im from Northern Ireland I'm pretty neutral on mcgregor. His waving the Irish flag about certainly wouldn't make me support him but it doesn't make me dislike him either.

I can see how his trash talking could put some off and I'm not a big fan of it myself from him or anyone else. (Same with boxers).However theatrics and build up are a big part of ufc and boxing for that matter to sell tickets and Ppv etc.

After watching the fight earlier and seeing mcgregor fight for the first time (aside from that 13 second knockout) I say fair plays to him. Going up 2 weights isn't easy and he is undoubtedly a wee Irish warrior. It is a very tough sport and irrespective of the wwf style antics outside the octagon sometimes, there is no doubt that it would take some balls to actually participate in it.

I do think it's a brutal sport, and at times tough to watch because of the brutality. But I can see the numerous skills involved in it, and I can see the attraction for those that follow it.

There is certainly no shame in losing a fight in such a sport. I know that in ufc it is practically unheard of to be undefeated due to the nature of the fighting, and the fact that the best fighters actually fight each other quite often. (Boxing, please take note)

I have no doubt that mcgregor will bounce back quickly. He seems a very marmite type of person so I can also see why a lot of people will revel in his defeat. Either way I'm sure the big fat pay cheques he has earned through trash talk and actual fighting skills will weather him through the storm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

People are jizzing themselves at him losing in a fight of where he had nothing to lose.

He is still the champion. He is still the number 1 draw in the UFC. He is still Ireland's most famous sports person.

People are jizzing themselves at him losing in a fight of where he had nothing to lose.

He is still the champion. He is still the number 1 draw in the UFC. He is still Ireland's most famous sports person.

Sheamus in the WWE might object!

Or the guys in really big sports, like Robbie Keane or Shane Lowry...

I suppose on the plus side, the British media will now start calling McGregor Irish (at least until he next wins).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Torricelli

WOW. Just WOW.

I'm embarrassed for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,849 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

ted1 wrote: »
    It was a good fight to lose.Conors ground game was always questionable. He really needs to focus on that and I'm sure he will.

His ground game is weak, but
    it wasn't his ground game that lost him this fight, he was done as soon as he went to the ground, which he did as act of desperation. If he had stayed on his feet any longer he would have been knocked clean out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭TallGlass

I say well done to him, he's a good sportsman. I have also no doubt he will bounce back. It was a transition over and he now knows what level he needs to be at.

PaddyPower gave 12/1 for the winner last night, if I was a betting man that would have gotten 10€.

He lost against a journeyman, not a champion - that's a major blot on his cv. Especially when people were talking of "McGregor's legacy" etc.
    It will affect his earning power and "pull" within the UFC undoubtedly.

He's made a lot of cash - well done on that.

The next couple of fights will be interesting - especially when his opponents have plenty of ammunition to get back to him and his chat after this defeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,849 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Try to seperate your personal dislike of him, with an objective analysis, this is his first loss against a fighter he jumped two weight divisions to fight. It comes off the back of him beating a fighter who had not lost in 10 years.
    It's his first loss in the ufc. I notice no one called Diaz bum in the lead up to this fight, do you know how many losses he has? MMA, is not like boxing, often the best fighters in mma can have several losses on their record, yet still are considered all time greats. I really detest the usage of the word bum to describe any fighter, some boxing fans are fond of its usage as well. it's extremely disrespectful to men and woman who spend countless hours training to compete inside a ring. A bum to me is someone who is very lazy and doesn't want to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,984 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Did mcgregor die or something. People on facebook saying 'my condolences to Connor on his loss'

He lost he is very much alive and is not short of a few quid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭deadybai

Disappointed with the result this morning. Thought Mcgregor dominated the fight and it looked too easy for him but at the same time Diaz looked capable of pulling something from the bag which he did. That punch really rocked Mcgregor and it was really the punch that won Diaz the fight because everything Mcgregor did thereafter was purely desperation.

Fairplay to Diaz for hanging in there but a more cautious Mcgregor would have won this fight. He literally walked around the ring with a extremely low guard and that cockyness cost Mcgregor.

Hard to know what the UFC will do with Mcgregor now. They are great a building up a fighter but once he/she loses they are terrible of repairing the image for the fighter. A rematch with Aldo will probably be soon but I dont think after a loss that Mcgregor will want to have another one so I suspect that he will fight someone who he will probably find easy (Rematch with Max Holloway?) . If Mcgregor loses his next fight I can see him just fading out with is unfortunate cause I'm a fan of his.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

He had nothing to lose apart from the fight he lost.

Reminds me of a great piece of commentary from years ago:"And they have lost nothing in defeat today.Except the Connacht Final of course"

• Site Banned Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭BMMachine

That_Guy wrote: »
    ??? What?

"the fight game" - sounds like you're trying to emulate him or something. and for the record ive been watching MMA for years, right back to the late 90s / early 2000's so I'm not here to laugh at McGergor... oh no, actually I am :D choked right the f*ck out! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,381 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Great to see him beaten to a pulp, watching Diaz raining down punches on him was a joy to behold. Hopefully now his fanboys will park up their bandwagon for a while.

The way he talks about money is disgusting when so many in this country are struggling.
    Ah jaysus,
    Seriously?
    He was struggling himself a few years ago and has worked his socks off to get to where he is.

You need to stop posting on threads like this as you are adding to the hype - whether you like it or not.

Paully D wrote: »
    Posted this over on the MMA forum but no harm sharing my thoughts here too I guess:

Firstly, as a fan I'll say well done to Nate Diaz. If you were to pick one fighter in the UFC who deserves a big night like that then it would be hard to look past him (or his brother Nick for that matter).

Secondly, while it's obviously gutting for those of us who are McGregor fans, it's probably worth taking stock. Conor's style of promotion etc means it's fair game after the defeat to have a go at him (and I'm sure he's more than expecting it himself and obviously well able to handle it) but there has been people on here, in the real world, media, fellow fighters and more who have been lining up since 2013 to fire their bullets so it has been a long time coming for them.

Thirdly, if you want to be a great in this sport you're going to taste defeat at some point. It's just a fact. You will lose at least once in the UFC if you become known as a great. Anderson Silva has 3 UFC losses on his record and will go down as the greatest ever. Demetrious Johnson has a loss on his record but has since won 9 on the bounce and is arguably the P4P #1 at the moment. GSP lost his belt to Matt Serra and subsequently won 12 on the bounce, while he also tasted defeat to Matt Hughes previous to the Serra bout. The record books will also show that Jon Jones has an L on his record however ridiculous, but he has bounced back and won 12 on the spin. Jose Aldo was obviously put away by Conor in 13 seconds. All absolute, undeniable legends of the sport. The list goes on and there's one common denominator - they all have at least 1 UFC loss on their records.

I've been guilty of it myself in the past (especially when it came to Rousey v Holm), but there really is no such thing as a certainty in this sport and that's why it's one of the best in the world.

IMO Conor should be applauded for having the balls to take a fight 2 weight classes above his own and against a new opponent on a week's notice. It didn't end well but it's refreshing. There's very, very few other fighters in the organisation that would do the same.

The most interesting thing is how McGregor comes back from this adversity. Lets not forget he has already tasted defeated in his career and bounced back so this is nothing new to him (albeit on a lesser scale). All I know for sure is that I'm proud to have him representing our country in this sport and will be aiming to be there to support him the next time he makes that walk.
    Best post I've read on this thread.