Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭ronjo

I hope Wenger has spent the last few days watching how Pulis plays against us when we are away to him :pac:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Hate to say it but I wish we didn't have this tie now.

Only because the position of are in the league and finally getting back injured players, can see a few injuries happening tonight and next week.

These are the games that we all should look forward to as football and Arsenal supporters. You'd hardly prefer to be watching us play Stoke tonight?

As much as the attacking force that Barca have is documented, they still only have 11 players on the pitch. The more attacking players they have the less they have in other areas of the pitch, we just need to make sure that the forward 3 don't get the service they need to hurt us.

It's a tough, tough ask but on our day we have a chance against any team. All we really want from tonight is to be still in the tie, a lead if we can manage it but something that we can fight for when we are over there.

Some of you guys are depressing.

I really wish the attitude towards this game is we absolutely go for it. If we get a win, great. If we get hammered, focus on the league. The worst possible thing would be a cautious match that we lose 1-0 or 2-1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Hyzepher wrote: »
    These are the games that we all should look forward to as football and Arsenal supporters. You'd hardly prefer to be watching us play Stoke tonight?

As much as the attacking force that Barca have is documented, they still only have 11 players on the pitch. The more attacking players they have the less they have in other areas of the pitch, we just need to make sure that the forward 3 don't get the service they need to hurt us.

It's a tough, tough ask but on our day we have a chance against any team. All we really want from tonight is to be still in the tie, a lead if we can manage it but something that we can fight for when we are over there.

Ah i know I sound ridiculous.

But I just think we don't have a stub capable of winning both.

League seems the best option in years.

Ah I dunno.

Maybe the last few weeks are the reason people are being "negative". We're not going to have 20+ shots to waste as we've been doing lately so objectively it doesn't look great without a big change to recent patterns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,960 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

You beat Bayern at the Emirates, Barca's only win away in the group stages was over Bate Borisov.

Going on home and away form in the Champion's league this season Arsenal should be slight favourites tonight.

I don't get how anybody would think that Arsenal have no hope tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭5star02707

Giroud and Ozil are 1 yellow card away for missing the 2nd leg tie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

eagle eye wrote: »
    I don't get how anybody would think that Arsenal have no hope tonight.

The 90+ goals the Barcelona front 3 have scored this season has me very worried.

On another note I think if we get hammered and I mean completely destroyed then we will collapse in the league.

Season depends on a strong showing in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

5star02707 wrote: »
    Giroud and Ozil are 1 yellow card away for missing the 2nd leg tie.

Dirty b*stards!

The 90+ goals the Barcelona front 3 have scored this season has me very worried.

On another note I think if we get hammered and I mean completely destroyed then we will collapse in the league.

Not at all.

Season depends on beating Spurs in a few weeks. These lads are too experienced to act the bollocks cos they got bet by Barcelona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,960 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Those stats are for home and away fixtures. You should really be concentrating on away fixtures as that is what Barcelona have tonight. They have a +10 goal nett haul over 12 away games in La Liga, that is winning by just under 1 goal per game on average. In the Champion's league they are +2 goals over 3 games so far this season.

It's the second leg in two weeks time that you need to worry about. Tonight's game is against a team who have only one win against Bate Borisov through three away games this season in the Champion's league. Tonight's game is against a team who have 8 wins, 2 draws and 2 losses away from home in La Liga.

Roma and Bayer Leverkusen both held Barcelona to draws at home this season in the Champion's league. I think Arsenal are a little bit ahead of both those teams.

Meanwhile, i really don't like these Barcelona chaps.

All the more than a club stuff is nauseating. The carve up of the Spanish league's tv money is a disgrace. The business of unsettling players at other clubs is head wrecking. And that bollocks of "We're to good for shirt sponsors - oh, well okay, we'll break tradition to do it for Unicef - ah sure we've done it now, might as well take all this Qatar foundation cash" is horse sh*t too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

I normally get a few hours sleep before the late games but im already too pumped for this one.

ive no idea how to kill time till kick off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Buzzing for tonight. I honestly think it will be a close game. First 20 minutes are the most important, if we can keep it tight we have every chance later on in the game.

These are the ties you want to be involved in. Lets enjoy it, we have nothing to lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭Awesomeness

Im surprised we havent heard more about bellerins barca dna. Cnuts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭wonga77

Cant wait for tonight, Its that nervy feeling where we will either produce an epic performance but theres always the chance we will get a hiding. I hope the crowd are buzzing for this and get well behind the team. Nights like this at the emirates are what is all about and hopefully we are in with a great shout going to the Nou camp for the second leg
    Time to start putting away a few of the oodles of chances we are creating...

How in the name of jaysus am I meant to concentrate on work today? Jesus.

Ah crap, Juve v Bayern is on too. Guess I picked the wrong day to be in feckin Germany.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Im surprised we havent heard more about bellerins barca dna. Cnuts
    We'll be hearing all about it after he smashes one in from 150 yards tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

I'm not sure what team I want Wenger to play. There's a case for both Walcott or Giroud up front, Walcott because there'll be space to run into, Giroud as an outlet for the team. Definitely don't want to see Walcott or Chamberlain on the right though, I think Welbeck would be a better option there.

Rest of the team picks itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Nemeses2050

Hyzepher wrote: »

I'm actually looking forward to the game, but if we only had a ball player in the middle I would have been so confident. I can see none of our players wanting to get the ball/holding the ball and concede the possession straight away...I would be tempted to play Elneny alongside Ramsey in the middle ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,343 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Always enjoy us playing barca regardless of the result. It's great to see the whole team being put to the ultimate test.

Woke up this morning feeling a lot more hopeful about tonight, if we could sneak a 1-0 win we'll be laughing. If we get hammered then we're out and that's one less competition to worry about. As the majority of you have been saying, we've nothing to lose so just enjoy the game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭5star02707

Its this feeling again! Gut feeling that we will win ;) i just hope we don't concede to many away goals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

Honest opinion, we're going to get raped 3-4 nil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

I'm not sure what team I want Wenger to play. There's a case for both Walcott or Giroud up front, Walcott because there'll be space to run into, Giroud as an outlet for the team. Definitely don't want to see Walcott or Chamberlain on the right though, I think Welbeck would be a better option there.

Rest of the team picks itself.

i really think Barca fear Walcott and his pace so for once I'd rather he was picked over Giroud tonight.

Honest opinion, we're going to get raped 3-4 nil

And your dishonest opinion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

Basil3 wrote: »
    And your dishonest opinion?

We'll tough It out weather the storm and grab a late winner

greendom wrote: »
    i really think Barca fear Walcott and his pace so for once I'd rather he was picked over Giroud tonight.
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/teams/arsenal/8323992/Arsenal-v-Barcelona-Lionel-Messi-admits-Spaniards-are-scared-of-Theo-Walcotts-pace-in-Champions-League.html

Messi on Walcott. Sadly Walcott seems to have regressed since then.

greendom wrote: »
    5 years ago!! Where does the time go

Cracking performance by theo too

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    Cracking performance by theo too

He was just 21 then. I know he's been unfortunate with injuries but it's a shame he hasn't fully reached his potential. Wonder if he ever will?