Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

For the Harty, wouldn't surprise me if Templemore won. Colmans and Midleton were both close to beating ASR with weaker teams than Templemore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭zetecescort

CIT 3-11 UL 2-19. disappointing for CIT given they are hosting the semis and final this year

The Cork team to play Waterford on Saturday night in the Allianz Hurling League in Pairc Ui Rinn @ 7pm has been announced as follows.

1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)
    2. Shane O'Neill (Bishopstown)
    3. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
    4. Stephen McDonnell (Glen Rovers) (Capt)
    5. Damian Cahalane (St Finbarrs)
    6. William Egan (Kilbrin)
    7. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons)
    8. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfield)
    9. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
    10. Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)
    11. Bill Cooper (Youghal)
    12. Lorcan McLoughlin (Kanturk)
    13. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
    14. William Leahy (Aghada)
    15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

Subs:
    16. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
    17. Stephen Murphy (Blackrock)
    18. Mark Ellis (Millstreet)
    19. Patrick Cronin (Bishopstown)
    20. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
    21. Paudie O' Sullivan (Cloyne)
    22. Cian McCarthy (Sarsfield)
    23. Stephen Moylan (Douglas)
    24. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)
    25. Luke O'Farrell (Midleton)
    26. Killian Burke (Midleton)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Corcaigh Abu1

Changes to the forward line. Great to see Spillane get the chance wing back. Hopefully he makes it through the game injury free and takes this opportunity to show he can hurl.
    Both lorcan and Lawton have been used as sweepers by JBM, does this mean we will see them both drop back deep and play Waterford with their own style.

O Neill and McDonnell can count themselves lucky after last weeks display to get the nod again. Walsh back to midfield. An area that Waterford will crowd out so he better through his weight around and prevent them from securing possession from the rucks that will inevitably develop. Waterford were very good at this last week.

Cooper scored two nice points from the wing last week. Let's hope he can drive at the heart of their defence. We can't let Gleeson get on as much ball as he did v kk. If his shooting boots are on we could be in for a long night.

This is a big game for Kingston. One of only 2 games at home and Waterford will be on a high after beating the cats. They won't fear this cork team at all. So it's really up to our lads to take the game to them. Rebels Abu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Mehapoy

Changes to the forward line. Great to see Spillane get the chance wing back. Hopefully he makes it through the game injury free and takes this opportunity to show he can hurl.
    Both lorcan and Lawton have been used as sweepers by JBM, does this mean we will see them both drop back deep and play Waterford with their own style.

O Neill and McDonnell can count themselves lucky after last weeks display to get the nod again. Walsh back to midfield. An area that Waterford will crowd out so he better through his weight around and prevent them from securing possession from the rucks that will inevitably develop. Waterford were very good at this last week.

Cooper scored two nice points from the wing last week. Let's hope he can drive at the heart of their defence. We can't let Gleeson get on as much ball as he did v kk. If his shooting boots are on we could be in for a long night.

This is a big game for Kingston. One of only 2 games at home and Waterford will be on a high after beating the cats. They won't fear this cork team at all. So it's really up to our lads to take the game to them. Rebels Abu

Its a horrible league format really, there is way too much pressure for this game so early in the year, lose and you'll probably be in a relegation play off. Doesn't give any time to experiment or give a guy a few games to settle in...
    Anyway the league seems to be heavily in favour of the home teams at the moment, wouldn't be suprised if cork came out on top...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Corcaigh Abu1

Waterford keeping the faith with the 15 from last week. They be targeting a win here. Let's hope Cork can show a greater hunger today to win at home. Tighten up at the back and force Waterford to hit hopeful balls to an area where we should have a sweeper ready to gather and set up our own attacks.
    It would be great to get a win here

Would be justice if we got a point after that Coughlan dive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Is it normal for a selector to spend so much time running around the pitch as the Rock does? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭paddy no 11

Orizio wrote: »

Where's the game going when douchebags like daly say all ios fair in love and war in commentery. Diving needs to be a straight red, how do I go about raising this at congress?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Rega

Is it normal for a selector to spend so much time running around the pitch as the Rock does? :confused:

Ask Dan Shanahan

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,981 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Rega wrote: »
    Ask Dan Shanahan

Lol. I was going to say the exact same!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,562 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Dive maybe but still a strike and deserved red, Maurice's red was for much the same thing, two deserved sending offs.

No comparison between the two, maurice shouldered a guy late and struck him as he hit the ground. Cadogan pushed coughlan away there was no strike - am a neutral here so dont bother going down that route

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

No comparison between the two, maurice shouldered a guy late and struck him as he hit the ground. Cadogan pushed coughlan away there was no strike - am a neutral here so dont bother going down that route

He threw the butt of the hurley into him. I wouldn't have sent him off but he was always getting a red after Maurice was sent off. And I don't agree at all about this strike on the ground business.

Cooper could have broken an opponents ankle today. That is what we should be talking about and how he only got a yellow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,979 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Fun game to go to as a neutral, abysmal by the ref giving that Waterford point after the strike to the head.

Maurice bonking his head off the dugout after being sent off was hilarious!

He threw the butt of the hurley into him. I wouldn't have sent him off but he was always getting a red after Maurice was sent off. And I don't agree at all about this strike on the ground business.

Cooper could have broken an opponents ankle today. That is what we should be talking about and how he only got a yellow.

Seriously judge the cooper incident on its own - dont justify coughlans dive with it. Simply put cadogan wouldnt have been sent off only for coughlan throwing himself down

Not interested in anything else only having this pox eliminated from the game

Seriously judge the cooper incident on its own - dont justify coughlans dive with it. Simply put cadogan wouldnt have been sent off only for coughlan throwing himself down

Not interested in anything else only having this pox eliminated from the game

Where Am I justifying anything Coughlan did? I don't think you saw the incident given you said something about a push (how do you push someone who's behind you?) but not saying he didn't make a meal out of it.

What did you make of Cooper's foul?

Where Am I justifying anything Coughlan did? I don't think you saw the incident given you said something about a push (how do you push someone who's behind you?) but not saying he didn't make a meal out of it.

What did you make of Cooper's foul?

Clearly cadogan half turned and pushed off with his elbow/forearm

Honestly I missed the cooper, who'd he hit?

Clearly cadogan half turned and pushed off with his elbow/forearm

Honestly I missed the cooper, who'd he hit?

Dunford or Curran. Pulled on his ankle with no attempt at the ball around the middle of the field second half.

Just saw the Cadogan one., he clearly dug his hurley back. If Maurice hadn't been sent off, don't think he would have been. But to me Cooper's was blatant and shocking.

Dunford or Curran. Pulled on his ankle with no attempt at the ball around the middle of the field second half.

Just saw the Cadogan one., he clearly dug his hurley back. If Maurice hadn't been sent off, don't think he would have been. But to me Cooper's was blatant and shocking.

I did see it, it was a borderline red for me, would like to see it again to be honest

He dug not struck and coughlan was digging cadogan in the back too and think you'd agree on that - was a shocker to throw himself down like that no getting away from it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭zetecescort

we are so far off the pace its depressing. only got going in the last 10-15 minutes when Waterford eased up a bit.

second to breaking ball, poor first touch, soloing into trouble, short hospital passes to men already marked, the list goes on and on. how are we one of the softest teams in the country yet we have gotten a large amount of cards the last 2 games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭carter10

He didn't dive, Cork supporters are bitter about losing and about their teams form. He got the butt of the hurl in the ribs nd went down. Anyone who says he dived is just looking for an excuse to have a go.
    Cork corner back broke his hurl off Bennets arm with a wild pull in the first half I notice none of ye chose to highlight that. Selective

In no way whatsoever was it a strike.

He threw the butt of the hurley into him. I wouldn't have sent him off but he was always getting a red after Maurice was sent off. And I don't agree at all about on .

It wasn't a strike. He didn't make any contact besides shouldering him.

The Cooper incident was the worst of the three.

carter10 wrote: »
    He didn't dive, Cork supporters are bitter about losing and about their teams form. He got the butt of the hurl in the ribs nd went down.

And the three second delayed reaction was for what? Why did he go down holding his face crying if he got hit in the ribs (which he didn't)? Why would any inter-county full back ever go down like that from a weak shoulder dig? Listen to Daly, jamesie o'connor and Kelly's reaction - they said everything bar 'he cheated.'

Cork's performance was utter ****, it's a ****e team in general and we should've lost by a lot more than three points. Does that change the fact that Coughlan cheated? No.

He dived, pure and simple and the sooner lads starting pointing out this cheating the better it will be for the game. And yes Cahalane also made the most of the Shanahan challenge.

So Coughlan cheated, and Cahalane 'made the most' of the Shanahan challenge? Anything to be said for me saying Coughlan 'made the most' of the cadogan tackle.

By the way lads, what he did was technically a strike and we saw Seanie Tobin sent off for it last year. I wouldnt issue a red myself as itll happen numerous times all over the pitch and we'll have no players left it keeps on happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 419 ✭✭JesusRef

Times have changed, fellas will be sent of for the fault in the ribs now, that's the new reality.

Cadogan was dumb and coughlan was cute end of.

With Waterford vs Cork is was long enough the other way around

Can someone clarify for me, did Nash get a yellow card earlier in the game before he got one for the incident with Brick?

Thought he might have myself and seems to be a shared view. Anyone remember?

Can someone clarify for me, did Nash get a yellow card earlier in the game before he got one for the incident with Brick?

Thought he might have myself and seems to be a shared view. Anyone remember?

Thought it was a ticking myself but couldnt be sure