Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

General Arcade and Retro Chat - Insert Coin -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Shapey Fiend

Oh right I've watched The Gaming Historian. His videos have excellent production values but I find them a little dry.

My favourites are probably Lazy Game Reviews, Generation 16 and Kim Justice.

I was starting to get a little bored of Classic Game Room but his reviews have improved a lot in the last month or so. Now that he's crowdfunded I think he's just covering what he's interested in reviewing himself rather than what would garner the most views.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

For any projects, Retropie etc.. The Pi Hut have stock of the Raspberry Pi Zero, at the moment.

http://thepihut.com/collections/raspberry-pi-zero/products/raspberry-pi-zero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Touch Fuzzy Get Dizzy

If anyone remembers or saw even my photo of my penguin plushes in the Something New thread. Anyway - someone on MSX.org is trying to get some of own and contacted a seller, he's currently doing them for 35€/pcs from AniPopGam (AFAIK not including delivery by UPS) and is trying to do some kinda group order I think and hoping to get the price down a bit.
    You can contact that user through my Facebook page too.
    Might be no good but you never know who'd like these things.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,752 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Bring on the weekend!!
    pjesuttwquccjuhuol1r.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭eddhorse

SegaSonic the Hedgehog arcade prototype supposedly uncovered – presenting SegaSonic Bros.

http://segabits.com/blog/2016/02/04/segasonic-the-hedgehog-arcade-prototype-supposedly-uncovered-presenting-segasonic-bros/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Saw this on Pat and Ian's podcast. I'm not into these consoles all that much and I know a good few here are but apparently some sort of PC Engine late 'prototype' of sorts turned up on eBay and it seems quite different.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Nec-Pc-Engine-Duo-Pc-Duo-Japanese-Turbo-Grafx-Cd-Rom-/252255385713?hash=item3abb97b871%3Ag%3AKWIAAOSwFqJWnEST&nma=true&si=sOhEp9sTlSD8loJ2W5VS1qcljfA%253D&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557

Pat and Ian taking about it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wJtkplmJtE8&feature=youtu.be&a

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Saw this on Pat and Ian's podcast. I'm not into these consoles all that much and I know a good few here are but apparently some sort of PC Engine late 'prototype' of sorts turned up on eBay and it seems quite different.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Nec-Pc-Engine-Duo-Pc-Duo-Japanese-Turbo-Grafx-Cd-Rom-/252255385713?hash=item3abb97b871%3Ag%3AKWIAAOSwFqJWnEST&nma=true&si=sOhEp9sTlSD8loJ2W5VS1qcljfA%253D&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557

Pat and Ian taking about it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wJtkplmJtE8&feature=youtu.be&a

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭Nerdkiller1991

Look who's birthday is today.

tumblr_n0l0w2WQhq1rc4fbro1_400.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭airmax87

I just remembered, who was looking for that PAL SNES mobo off me ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

Lads in ****in locked and in coppers. Maniac 2000 is on and shapes are being thrown pls hall.

Luv yis mad scones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭eddhorse

Lads in ****in locked and in coppers. Maniac 2000 is on and shapes are being thrown pls hall.

Luv yis mad scones

You are a sexy lady, you have to get your thrill....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,405 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Luv yis mad scones

Posted 7 hours ago..either Atavan got lucky or he's in A&E :eek:

In ribbons this morning. If anyone reads this Please send a care package full of McDonald's, water and Panadol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭CosmicSmash

o1s1n wrote: »
    Posted 7 hours ago..either Atavan got lucky or he's in A&E :eek:

There's always the possibility he got lucky in A&E.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,752 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

There's always the possibility he got lucky in A&E.

Triage Nurses aren't known for seeking relationships with people who fall in the door looking for a stomach pump, it's just not that kind of scene I'm afraid.

CiDeRmAn wrote: »
    Triage Nurses aren't known for seeking relationships with people who fall in the door looking for a stomach pump, it's just not that kind of scene I'm afraid.

I though getting your stomach pumped was a real turn on for the ladies. I've been doing it wrong all these years!

I just saw Pulseman sell for just over two hundred and fifty euro in a matter of seconds.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

Anyone find out how much Rage were selling their copy of Rule of Rose?

Ebay prices seem a bit crazy for PAL at the moment... there's was NTSC though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33,733 ✭✭✭✭Myrddin

I just saw Pulseman sell for just over two hundred and fifty euro in a matter of seconds.:eek:

We'll look back at this post and wince in a few years, as no doubt it'll continue to rise. Collecting games has taken a very difficult turn, prices have gotten to the point where you have to start asking yourself if it's worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,405 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

And to think I baulked at prices when it was 50-60!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,260 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

DinoRex wrote: »
    Anyone find out how much Rage were selling their copy of Rule of Rose?

Ebay prices seem a bit crazy for PAL at the moment... there's was NTSC though.

NTSC version is apparently way rarer than the European release which got decent distribution on the continent. The US release was very limited. You usually find the EU version for reasonable prices on amazon fr and de or even ebay.de and fr
    o1s1n wrote: »
    And to think I baulked at prices when it was 50-60!

We can blame pokemon for that. It was silly prices in Japan as well, about 150 boxed.

I got my Rule of Rose for reasonable money via Amazon afaik.
    I then sold it a couple of unplayed years later for an obscene amount of money, on ebay... he he he....
    Must buy it again :(

Myrddin wrote: »
    We'll look back at this post and wince in a few years, as no doubt it'll continue to rise. Collecting games has taken a very difficult turn, prices have gotten to the point where you have to start asking yourself if it's worth it.

It's gone crazy over the last few years, the last expensive game I bought was Harmful Park, that was a couple of years ago, it's now about one hundred euro more than it cost me.

I managed to trade neo pocket games with a guy I met on fb, I haven't played the pocket stuff in years and he was looking to unload Saturn and SFC games. The rarer neo geo pocket games sell for silly money. I was happy with what I got and so was he. I don't think I ever posted what Saturn games the pocket stuff added to my collection, some nice titles. I'll have a look later and post some pictures.

I got my Rule of Rose for reasonable money via Amazon afaik.
    I then sold it a couple of unplayed years later for an obscene amount of money, on ebay... he he he....
    Must buy it again :(

I thought I was finally going to own a copy but the plug was pulled before the reissue a while back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭BGOllie

Anyone else seen this ?? :eek:
    http://oddtales.net/

tln_screen_taxi.png

The animation vids on the front (and only so far) page look amazing
    giphy.gif

It looks like a full version of "The Last night" very short flash game made in this universe. It's pretty quick and linear but the atmosphere is so blade runner it's not even funny
    http://timsoret.itch.io/the-last-night

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,913 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Thought it was some sort of Flashback sequel for a sec.

Andrew76 wrote: »
    Thought it was some sort of Flashback sequel for a sec.

Fade to Black?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

Fade to Black?!

There was also the unreleased Flashback Legends on the GBA:

6bv6Vng.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,260 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I loved Fade to Black. There's an awful negative opinion of the game these days due to the late PS1 port. It has aged terribly and had done so by the time the PS1 game was released but at the time of release on PC the 3D environment was quite novel and it reviewed in the 90's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,120 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

That's a beautiful looking game.
    Retr0gamer wrote: »
    I loved Fade to Black. There's an awful negative opinion of the game these days due to the late PS1 port. It has aged terribly and had done so by the time the PS1 game was released but at the time of release on PC the 3D environment was quite novel and it reviewed in the 90's.
    Never got my hands on that, but loved AW and Flashback. Must look out for it.