The Weird, Wacky and Awesome World of the NFL - General Banter thread V2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

True, but the Raiders have a history in not putting enough emphasis on the 'dirty work' spots and instead going big on 'playmakers' so I doubt there was any chance of them going with him. I was going to leave off Revis and Willis too, but they did take Asomugha and McClain in the first round over that last completely-lost-his-marbles decade of Al Davis' time.

Dwayne Bowe was quality his first 3-4 years to be fair, people blame injuries and that but I think he just didn't have the dedication personally to keep it going. I remember only 2-3 years ago on another forum some claiming he was better than Jordy Nelson and it wasn't really that close :p . Then again, they had about 20-25 other names on that list too, because Jordy's one of the most underrated players in the game, full stop (maybe less so now after breaking out so much last season, and being missed so much this season). Didn't mean to go on a tangent, but I've got a Jordy Nelson fetish. :o :pac:

True, but the Raiders have a history in not putting enough emphasis on the 'dirty work' spots and instead going big on 'playmakers' so I doubt there was any chance of them going with him. I was going to leave off Revis and Willis too, but they did take Asomugha and McClain in the first round over that last completely-lost-his-marbles decade of Al Davis' time.

Dwayne Bowe was quality his first 3-4 years to be fair, people blame injuries and that but I think he just didn't have the dedication personally to keep it going. I remember only 2-3 years ago on another forum some claiming he was better than Jordy Nelson and it wasn't really that close :p . Then again, they had about 20-25 other names on that list too, because Jordy's one of the most underrated players in the game, full stop (maybe less so now after breaking out so much last season, and being missed so much this season). Didn't mean to go on a tangent, but I've got a Jordy Nelson fetish. :o :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,780 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

https://twitter.com/jasonrmcintyre/status/695641819904761856

Ah jaysus lads this is getting worse. Football should be the last thing on his mind for the foreseeable future and maybe ever.

The NFL is going back to Mexico with the raiders playing the Texans in what I think translates the Azteca stadium on Monday November 21 2016.

Yeah I've heard of the Azteca from USA/Mexico sawkerball matches. Just shy of 100,000 capacity and it's supposed to create a great atmosphere.

Billy86 wrote: »
    Yeah I've heard of the Azteca from USA/Mexico sawkerball matches. Just shy of 100,000 capacity and it's supposed to create a great atmosphere.

I've heard of the Azteca stadium but wasn't sure if it was the same as its a huge stadium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,285 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    I've heard of the Azteca stadium but wasn't sure if it was the same as its a huge stadium.

They'd need a huge stadium for a game there. NFL is absolutely massive in Mexico.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

https://twitter.com/jasonrmcintyre/status/695641819904761856

Ah jaysus lads this is getting worse. Football should be the last thing on his mind for the foreseeable future and maybe ever.

They? Eh, you're his father FFS. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭poldebruin

Really enjoying some of the programs from NFL Films and the Americas Game series currently showing on Sky 3.
    So some thoughts I had while watching some of the old games - or interesting things that were mentioned in passing which gave me pause.

1. In the Raiders/Dolphins divisional game - Sea of Hands, it was mentioned that there were 12 future hall of famers playing in that game. Which made me think, I just couldn't fathom how some of them had gotten into the HOF. Obviously easier to look at offensive players, as we have statistics to look at....

Fred Biletnikoff, 14 years averaging: 42 receptions, 635 yards 5td. Best season, 61/1037/6

Paul Warfield, years averaging: 32/658/7, best year 50/1067/12

Larry Csonka, 11 years averaging: 171/727/6, best year, 213/1117/6

2. How different the NFL might have been if they had not realligned the Indianapolis Colts out of the AFC East after the 2001 season. The Colts had just won a divisional title followed by a Wild Card, and the way was cleared in the division for the Patriots to dominate right through to today. We would have seen Manning and Brady in the same division go head to head twice a year, each hurtinbg each others chances at winning the Superbowl every single year for 15-odd years.

3. Also, looking back at some of the great teams over the years, I was wondering which is more impressive, to dominate in a landscape where there were 4 or 5 extremely strong teams, with 23 also-rans as in the 70's and 80's (You have to assume each of the strongest teams ended in the playoffs every year and had to be knocked off to win a Superbowl) or today's NFL, where you may have a situation with not much between 10 teams on any given year, and a strong "middle pack" of teams, but no outright monster teams, with the picture genrally changing every couple of years. While a dominante team does not get to retain their roster, they also probably face a better average level of competition every year, but not run into juggernauts in the playoffs.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,627 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

I don't know if you guys follow Barstool sports at all but they've done some hilarious interviews in the run up to the Super Bowl....the 2 best are:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,416 ✭✭✭Guffy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Marshawn Lynch likely to retire, per Schefter.

The awards were given out last night too.

MVP: Cam
    OPOTY: Cam
    DPOTY: Watt
    OROTY: Gurley
    DROTY: Peters
    CPOTY: Berry
    COTY: Rivera
    WPMOTY: Boldin

Paully D wrote: »
    Marshawn Lynch likely to retire, per Schefter.

The awards were given out last night too.

MVP: Cam
    OPOTY: Cam
    DPOTY: Watt
    OROTY: Gurley
    DROTY: Peters
    CPOTY: Berry
    COTY: Rivera
    WPMOTY: Boldin

Todd Gurley's reaction to winning made him go up a ton in the respect column. It actually looked like her cared.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,829 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

on the rte news there they had an interview with the NFL performance director.. his and his Irish accent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Knex. wrote: »

Pretty cool way to call it a day, so Marshawn

Favourite Beast Mode moments:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,645 ✭✭✭phatkev

Only he could get away with retiring in the 4th quarter of the Superbowl!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

phatkev wrote: »

The standard of offense in the game probably drove him to do it there and then.

And lesean McCoy has been involve in an altercation that has left two cops hospitalised the offseason has started with a bang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

Hazys wrote: »
    Pretty cool way to call it a day, so Marshawn

Favourite Beast Mode moments:

Great fun.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,627 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Check out LT Michael Oher on this play. Nice job getting the field ready for the superbowl.

https://vine.co/v/i1lg0wgpZQe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Can't remember where exactly I saw it but coming up to the game I watched a 10 minute or so video about them getting the field ready for the game and all the steps they went through to make sure it was immaculate. Yer man was in his 80's and had done the grass at all the Superbowls (outdoor ones anyway) for donkey's years now. Might be time to retire!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

phatkev wrote: »

Apparently he did it at around the time that the Seahawks (game time I guess) elected to throw a pick to Butler rather than let him bash his way into the end zone in superbowl 49.

He is never letting that one go!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭gstack166

Can't remember where exactly I saw it but coming up to the game I watched a 10 minute or so video about them getting the field ready for the game and all the steps they went through to make sure it was immaculate. Yer man was in his 80's and had done the grass at all the Superbowls (outdoor ones anyway) for donkey's years now. Might be time to retire!

Don't think it's the film you're talking about for ESPN's 30for30 - The Streak, mentions that man you're talking about at the end. The film is about 4 photographers that have covered every single Super Bowl for Sports Illustrated.

Highly recommended.

Insert your own Plaxico jokes here

Josh Morgan accidentally shoots himself; fine, but charged with misdemeanor,

http://www.tmz.com/2016/02/10/ex-49ers-wr-accidentally-shoots-himself-hospitalized/#ixzz3zoJCKv6z

A very interesting article on espn about the timeline of the LA move and the behind the scenes ****e that went on.ive not read it all but the bit I have read it looks good.
    http://espn.go.com/espn/feature/story/_/id/14752649/the-real-story-nfl-owners-battle-bring-football-back-los-angeles?ex_cid=espntw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭poldebruin

A very interesting article on espn about the timeline of the LA move and the behind the scenes ****e that went on.ive not read it all but the bit I have read it looks good.
    http://espn.go.com/espn/feature/story/_/id/14752649/the-real-story-nfl-owners-battle-bring-football-back-los-angeles?ex_cid=espntw

Good long form article. I have to admit though, while interesting, I find myself disliking the NFL for all the politics and back room manouevering that seems to go on. I think I will stick my head in the sand a bit this year, as it is affecting my enjoyment of the games a bit.

Loved the line about Bidwell (Arizona) who was about to stand up and pontificate about franchises owing more to the cities etc. and that it shouldn't all be about money. Jerry Jones reminded him about the Cardinals leaving St Louis in the not too distant past.

Forgot that St Louis has, of course, now lost two teams in the 30 years I've watched the NFL. Loved those Neil Lomax-led Cardinals.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,829 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Looks like JJ Watt is in dublin again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Forte hitting FA. Wonder where he will end up. Top 3 in cap space right now are Raiders, Jags, and Giants.

Himself, Doug Martin, and Lamar Miller will be highly sought after, you'd think, even if Forte has mileage.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BBsN17qp4Xl/
    Despite my wishes, my days as a member of the Chicago Bears have sadly come to an end. I was informed earlier this week from the GM that they will not be attempting to re-sign me in free agency. I will remain forever grateful for my time spent in Chicago and being able to play for an organization with such a rich history. My only regret is not being able to win a Lombardi trophy for the best fans in all of sports. I'm excited about the next chapter of my NFL career. But, Chicago will always be home. God Bless and Bear Down!