Single life as a guy...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Sleepy wrote: »
    I think a large part of it is that men, in general, seem to be better at accepting reality than women.

In my experience, the vast majority of those who believe in homoeopathy, healing crystals, fortune tellers, vaccinations being harmful etc. are women. The Catholic Church in Ireland would fall apart without the army of women inexplicably giving their time to an organisation that treats them as second class citizens. It's rare and refreshing for a woman to recognise and refer to herself as fat, whereas many lads (myself included) will readily admit they've gotten fat. Even our attitudes to it seem to be different, men are more likely to take the simple (and correct approach) of cutting down on the food and hitting the gym whereas a large subset of women will attempt miracle crash diets, faddy fitness trends, body wraps, slimming pills etc. that eventually just cripple their metabolism.

It'd be interesting to see where this comes from tbh. Why are women the more gullible gender?

Seems this is a basic stereotype which actually leads to women being lied to more often than men.

https://businesssocialimpact.wordpress.com/2014/08/11/perception-and-reality-why-women-are-more-at-risk-of-being-duped-in-business/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭jon1981

Certainly not blessed with the height gene here (5ft 7ish) but can't say I ever felt or was made feel insecure about it. In my 30s now (married) and perhaps it's all different now with women and height being a significant factor for them more so than it used to be.

Can't say it ever troubled me when it came to the wimmin :) when I was single 7+ yrs ago. That being said I would always gravitate to women my height or smaller but was never rejected over height, many other reasons but not height lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

I'm 5'8" and I'd probably get 2 replies for every 100 messages I send, and I'd be good looking from the neck up.

Apt username :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,328 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

smash wrote: »
    Apt username :D

Did I mention my chiseled abs?

I'm 5'8" and I'd probably get 2 replies for every 100 messages I send, and I'd be good looking from the neck up.

Isn't the ratio of most dating sites like 15:1 men to women? It's probably more to do with that. Or am I making this up :)

jon1981 wrote: »
    Isn't the ratio of most dating sites like 15:1 men to women? It's probably more to do with that.

Ahh probably yeah. The height thing was never really an issue in real life TBH. I only became self conscious about it after I started online dating.

As an experiment, put down 6ft 11 lol

jon1981 wrote: »
    As an experiment, put down 6ft 11 lol

The last line is priceless.

08fc1a1b48dd7046f856233143640bdbbeaac0453fc8aa261e738fe517a53a73_large

For everything else there's Mastercard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,720 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Right but at the same time the Catholic church is 100% made up of men who believe in really crazy sh*t.
    Who'd be nowhere without the army of lay women doing the cleaning, flower arranging, organising of fund-raisers, the rearing of those priests (it seems to have been more a mother's ambition to raise a bishop than a father's ime) and that's before you even mention the nuns.

I'm not saying there aren't gullible men, there just seem to be fewer that believe in "magic".
    B0jangles wrote: »
    Seems this is a basic stereotype which actually leads to women being lied to more often than men.

https://businesssocialimpact.wordpress.com/2014/08/11/perception-and-reality-why-women-are-more-at-risk-of-being-duped-in-business/
    It seems a natural enough consequence of being perceived as being gullible tbh. Though, often ime, the ones doing the selling are just as deluded as their customers.

It's an interesting read but as with most social "science" studies, it would seem like a large dose of salt is required. Of course women are more likely to be duped in car sales: as a group they're far less likely to be car enthusiasts or to have an interest in maintaining a car, therefore will be seen as an easier "mark" until they demonstrate otherwise (e.g. by showing a knowledge of the model or cars in general)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Who'd be nowhere without the army of lay women doing the cleaning, flower arranging, organising of fund-raisers, the rearing of those priests (it seems to have been more a mother's ambition to raise a bishop than a father's ime) and that's before you even mention the nuns.

I'm not saying there aren't gullible men, there just seem to be fewer that believe in "magic".

It seems a natural enough consequence of being perceived as being gullible tbh. Though, often ime, the ones doing the selling are just as deluded as their customers.

It's an interesting read but as with most social "science" studies, it would seem like a large dose of salt is required. Of course women are more likely to be duped in car sales: as a group they're far less likely to be car enthusiasts or to have an interest in maintaining a car, therefore will be seen as an easier "mark" until they demonstrate otherwise (e.g. by showing a knowledge of the model or cars in general)

My point is that your position seems to be based on stereotypes and confirmation-bias rather than any factual evidence. For example you never mention the huge number of men who believe in all kinds of conspiracy theories. But this is a guy chat thread so I'm gonna leave it there.

Women are more into their appearance and looking good so maybe they're naturally more inclined to believe in "magic." Women's magazines aren't helping either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,720 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

It's a fair point regarding men being more likely to get into conspiracy theories but it's hardly as large a subset of men as the various (interlinked?) subsets of women that believe in "alternative" healing, "miracle" diets etc. is it?

Now, it would certainly seem to be true that women are more targeted with nonsense than men if you look at the covers of womens magazines (half of which should be banned imo, or at least prevented from dispensing dietary advice).

You may well be right and it's just the circles I move in that I see more gullible women than men (I can think of one mate in particular who'd swallow anything if it was presented sincerely enough but he's an outlier) It would certainly be interesting to see if there's any "scientific" basis for the stereotype though I can only imagine the outrage one would face when trying to obtain funding for such a study!

Now, it would certainly seem to be true that women are more targeted with nonsense than men if you look at the covers of womens magazines (half of which should be banned imo, or at least prevented from dispensing dietary advice).

Or just advice in general. "How to teach your boyfriend to be a better love maker!" ffs like, I wish they'd just stop the nonsense. It's magazines like these who invented myths like men can't find the clitoris, as if it's not right fcuking there...

Yeah some of the women's magazines fecking comical. "10 ways to please your man." Ehh I think 3 would suffice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

It's a fair point regarding men being more likely to get into conspiracy theories but it's hardly as large a subset of men as the various (interlinked?) subsets of women that believe in "alternative" healing, "miracle" diets etc. is it?

You may well be right and it's just the circles I move in that I see more gullible women than men (I can think of one mate in particular who'd swallow anything if it was presented sincerely enough but he's an outlier) It would certainly be interesting to see if there's any "scientific" basis for the stereotype though I can only imagine the outrage one would face when trying to obtain funding for such a study!

I wouldn't say guillible but they are definitely more likely to make emotion based decisions and maybe even to take people at face value.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

Yeah some of the women's magazines fecking comical. "10 ways to please your man." Ehh I think 3 would suffice.
    Some women's magazines are dreadful. I look at the covers and think "Only MEN get blamed for putting pressure on women?" :confused:

Azalea wrote: »
    Some women's magazines are dreadful. I look at the covers and think "Only MEN get blamed for putting pressure on women?" :confused:
    Front cover splash with page 1 article "These plus size models are redefining the face of modelling!"

Pages 2-100 "This size 6 celebrity is so fat, she should go on a juice diet!"

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,343 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

B0jangles wrote: »
    My point is that your position seems to be based on stereotypes and confirmation-bias rather than any factual evidence. For example you never mention the huge number of men who believe in all kinds of conspiracy theories.
    Conspiracy theories are very male in tendency alright.

Though in general terms(of course) women do seem more prone to magical thinking. They're more likely to be religious(and he posits a few theories why). Horoscopes, tarot, crystals and all that stuff is far more consumed by women than men. In romance itself they're more likely to couch things in magical thinking terms; love at first sight, the One(™), fate and all that.

It seems to hold a stronger appeal for women. A perceived lack of agency could certainly explain it, or explain it in the past, so women looked to outside agencies and that included magical thinking ones.

Women(™) I have found tend to be more self involved than men. I don't mean selfish BTW, I mean they tend more to filter the outside world through themselves first and personalise it more. EG it can sometimes be harder to debate because an attack on their argument can be seen as an attack on them. There's that Me filter going on. This would leave such a mind(and some men have similar) more open to magical thinking. Women are more likely to run off/trust their "gut" and feelings. IE the subconscious works stuff out and then presents it to the conscious fully formed as a "gut feeling" and solution. IMH it's actually a valuable way of thinking when applied to the right situations(certainly better and much faster than the often extreme male near autistic processing of incoming info) and I've tried to learn to do it more. However again that can leave the mind open to magical thinking, because answers appear to come from nowhere, so the idea that there's another layer to reality is easier to swallow.
    But this is a guy chat thread so I'm gonna leave it there.
    Not at all the more the merrier :)

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,407 ✭✭✭✭fits

I think its probably more useful to think in terms of personality type than gender when looking at things like superstitious tendencies. Although thing like Myers Briggs tests have their limitations too.

Also many vacuous 'female' pursuits (eg fashion, horoscopes) are ridiculed where vacuous 'male' pursuits eg gambling on poker, horses, car magazines are not at all to the same degree.

https://subscriptions.boards.ie

Subscribe and save boards.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

fits wrote: »
    I think its probably more useful to think in terms of personality type than gender when looking at things like superstitious tendencies. Although thing like Myers Briggs tests have their limitations too.

Also many vacuous 'female' pursuits (eg fashion, horoscopes) are ridiculed where vacuous 'male' pursuits eg gambling on poker, horses, car magazines are not at all to the same degree.

Nerdiness was considered a very male trait for years and was completely ridiculed. Hobbies like gaming or comic book collecting and pursuits like airsoft would be still considered very male pursuits and they're laughed at on a pretty regular basis. I don't think women are alone in being slagged off for their interests. Personally, I think anyone that gambles is a dope just like anyone that follows horoscopes is a dispstick. I tend not to think about it along gender lines tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

fits wrote: »

I do find it a little bemusing that things I see put forward as holding back women (being poor at salary negotiation,making definitive commitments with very partial information) apply totally to me.

I hate sexism but there are certain trends more commonly found among specific genders for sure - can't be denied.

With regard to the height thing: how do any guys here feel about a woman being taller than them?

By the way, I can't understand why 5 ft 7/5ft 8 are deemed short for men - surely they're average height? For a woman they're tall. I'm 5 ft 5 and never wear high heels and I'd be considered slightly taller than average in medium heels!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,325 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I hate sexism but there are certain trends more commonly found among specific genders for sure - can't be denied.

With regard to the height thing: how do any guys here feel about a woman being taller than them?

By the way, I can't understand why 5 ft 7/5ft 8 are deemed short for men - surely they're average height? For a woman they're tall. I'm 5 ft 5 and never wear high heels and I'd be considered slightly taller than average in medium heels!

I'm 5ft 9. Went out with a girl that was 5 ft 8. When she wore heels she was taller than me. She always would say even without heels that she thought she was taller than me but I didn't give it a second thought until just now after reading your post. It doesn't bother me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭Mourinho

Wouldn't bother me tbh and it's only online really I've noticed the height thing.

What I find more amusing with the Irish women that make 6 foot plus height a must have, is the average Irish male height is like 5,9 look at all the potential partners that are being left out, I'm 6 foot but you really wouldn't notice it too much if you put someone 5,10/5,11 beside me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭GFT

Big fan of long legs. I've went out with two tall girls. Only slightly taller than me but in heels they were sometimes taller.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 418 ✭✭Confucius say

Tall girls yes turn me to jelly. One gf was 5'9'' that's the talliest but a 6ft bird would be fantasy for me!

Mourinho wrote: »
    it's only online really I've noticed the height thing.
    Same here. Never hear women going on about it among my friends. Some friends have fallen head over heels for men shorter than them.
    What I find more amusing with the Irish women that make 6 foot plus height a must have, is the average Irish male height is like 5,9 look at all the potential partners that are being left out
    Do women really say "Must be 6 ft or over" on dating sites?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,884 ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Regularly.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 418 ✭✭Confucius say

Same here. Never hear women going on about it among my friends. Some friends have fallen head over heels for men shorter than them.

Any girl over 5'8'' or so seems to say it pretty much every time. And why wouldn't they? There are probably tonnes of guys over 6 that respond and it filters out what they're not looking for.

The worst I find is, I've no particular type but if you have a beard and you're covered in tattoos get in touch! Or something like that. That seems common too lol.