UFC Fight Night: dos Anjos vs Cerrone

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,573 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

A bit of a no show from Cerrone there

I'd say he could get alot of a sports psychiatrist and learning about emotional triggers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭TimRiggins

Deadst4r wrote: »
    post fight presser -

Fair enough that RDA isn't begging for the McGregor payday.

But come on, he is already proving already to be a boring build up.

Would consist of

"He like to talk alot, promote fights, is normal
    It will be very bad night for him."

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Fight and shít, ninja shít, american ninja, ninja gaiden, american ninja vs irish ninja...yeah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,135 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

dos Anjos via Decision
    Gamebred wrote: »

Id like to see Diaz v Ferguson now.

that would be some craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,698 ✭✭✭xtal191

Cerrone via KO/TKO
    Was it just me or did anyone else find Rogan unbelievably biased and annoying during the Diaz Johnson fight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

dos Anjos via Decision
    Axwell wrote: »
    Fight and shít, ninja shít, american ninja, ninja gaiden, american ninja vs irish ninja...yeah!

:D I was still up when this was on live filmed by Nick Diaz and the whole time he was trolling the media surrounding Nate and Ariel, doing close ups of the cameramen with one guy even giving him the finger lol--all in good fun though, but man the Diaz bro's are a riot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

dos Anjos via Submission
    I wouldn't be too harsh on Cowboy. I don't like him personally, but for one dos Anjos is excellent and second of all as has been mentioned Cowboy's grandmother who raised him doesn't have long left to live.

Not great preparation for a fight. Some things are more important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,734 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Cerrone via Decision
    Jds v reem was a horrible fight. JDS looked like a shell of himself. Nate was gas as usual. Very interesting how the ref told him to stop talking during the fight. That was some barage by RDA, I think that will definitely be the next fight for McGregor. Although, Oliveira does make a good case. ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

dos Anjos via Submission
    "Nate Diaz pulled off a surprise victory against Michael Johnson....and claimed that he was the ‘money fight’ for the Irishman. Unfortunately for Diaz however, the prospect of McGregor wanting to fight the Brazilian in the near future seems extremely unlikely"

http://www.punditarena.com/mmaufc/jmurphy/conor-mcgregor-brilliantly-responds-to-diaz-dos-anjos-callouts/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭JJayoo

dos Anjos via Decision
    I think a lot of the criticism is a bit harsh on Cowboy. He got blasted by a kick to the body and he was done, body just shut down.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,573 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,796 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Cerrone via Decision
    Just downloaded that and had a watch not knowing the result, good win for RDA but not much of a contest, do we reckon Conor could take RDA, lightweight looks a different ballgame, not saying its not possible but Conor's stature means he is always the bigger man at FW, obv that edge goes away up a weight class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

dos Anjos via Submission
    Inquitus wrote: »
    Just downloaded that and had a watch not knowing the result, good win for RDA but not much of a contest, do we reckon Conor could take RDA, Middleweight looks a different ballgame, not saying its not possible but Conor's stature means he is always the bigger man at FW, obv that edge goes away up a weight class.

I have a feeling McGregor would struggle at middleweight tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

It's 4.5kgs of a jump. The way some people are going on it's like it's 30kgs. Poirier moved up and has been ko'ing people in the first round no problem. Admittedly no one of note so far but still.

Put on a bit more muscle, have a bit of easier cut, grand job.

I'd rather see McGregor Diaz than McGregor RDA.

dos Anjos via Submission
    mdwexford wrote: »
    It's 4.5kgs of a jump. The way some people are going on it's like it's 30kgs. Poirier moved up and has been ko'ing people in the first round no problem. Admittedly no one of note so far but still.

Put on a bit more muscle, have a bit of easier cut, grand job.

He said middleweight though, which I assume was a mistake, I was just having a joke about it.

Cerrone via Decision
    mdwexford wrote: »

I would too, and it would probably be a good way into lightweight, but one has to assume if he goes up its for a title shot right away no given the noise we have been hearing from Dana?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

martyos121 wrote: »
    He said middleweight though, which I assume was a mistake, I was just having a joke about it.

Yeah I wasn't even directing it at you even though it's under your post. Between here and Facebook some people are going on like he's going to be fighting behemoths if he moves up instead of the tiddlers he's currently knocking out.
    I would too, and it would probably be a good way into lightweight, but one has to assume if he goes up its for a title shot right away no given the noise we have been hearing from Dana?

I guess it's all about what will sell.
    The trash talk between Conor and Nate would be gold.
    Pity Nate isn't on a run of a few wins and it would be even easier to sell.

Cerrone via Decision
    martyos121 wrote: »

Aye my bad :) that would be a step or three too far

dos Anjos via Submission
    Aye my bad :) that would be a step or three too far

He would knock out every single middleweight!

*hides behind couch and grabs popcorn*

surprised nobody's mentioned ( or maybe I'm wrong) the stark difference in both Junior and overeems bodies. they looked shocking compared to a year or two ago. these lads that are reliant on juicing are getting blitzed.

I personally think RDA's energizer bunny performance against petis was suspect too... It never sat right me me as someone said before compared to his past performances,

good enough for them, I hope all the juicers are found out and drop down the ranks in 13 seconds too ha ha ha ha ha .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭JJayoo

dos Anjos via Decision
    Diaz vs Conor would be the fight to break records. The Diaz brothers have huge support and both wud be involved in the building up, but I honestly think Conor would give both of them a mental break down with all the trash talk. No way you could have them both in a studio with Conor giving Nate the Aldo treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,782 ✭✭✭ASOT

Cerrone via Decision
    JJayoo wrote: »
    Diaz vs Conor would be the fight to break records. The Diaz brothers have huge support and both wud be involved in the building up, but I honestly think Conor would give both of them a mental break down with all the trash talk. No way you could have them both in a studio with Conor giving Nate the Aldo treatment.

It would end in a brawl but it would be amazing. It will sell way way way better than RDA, bar the weird ninja **** he was spot on in his interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

rusty cole wrote: »
    surprised nobody's mentioned ( or maybe I'm wrong) the stark difference in both Junior and overeems bodies. they looked shocking compared to a year or two ago. these lads that are reliant on juicing are getting blitzed.

I personally think RDA's energizer bunny performance against petis was suspect too... It never sat right me me as someone said before compared to his past performances,

good enough for them, I hope all the juicers are found out and drop down the ranks in 13 seconds too ha ha ha ha ha .

JDS was clearly on some special juices and its disappointing because I liked him, it was very visible in his physical appearance and performance.

RDA was a shifty case seeing he rose out of the blue but he was in epic shape again vs Cerrone and finished it nice and quickly finished it. He went with a new S&C coach which I'd say has helped a lot.

What scares me for Conor is that RDA could do what he did against Pettis to Conor. Conor boxes much better though, which was another weakness for Pettis in that fight.

dos Anjos via Decision
    if i had two wishes it would be (fight picks of course)

mc gregor v ferguson
    mc gregor v diaz just for the smack talk

the former would be a little more competitive though imo
    diaz would get the same hiding thomson gave him
    ferguson must be made of steel...he's a nightmare fight for anyone

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

dos Anjos via Decision
    Ferguson and Diaz is a very good fight to make,not a hope of him subbing diaz or even attempting to take it near the ground,Diaz gets into a boxing match with anybody hes lighting them up in the form hes in now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

Ferguson deserves a title shot if Conor doesn't move up and get it.

dos Anjos via Decision
    Ferguson deserves a title shot if Conor doesn't move up and get it.

fair point

ranked 5 but hes better than cerrone and alvarez imo
    could beat pettis also
    that leaves khabib...nobody beats khabib :pac:
    rda might be a bit too quick but over 5 who knows what might happen

dos Anjos via Decision
    Gamebred wrote: »
    Ferguson and Diaz is a very good fight to make,not a hope of him subbing diaz or even attempting to take it near the ground,Diaz gets into a boxing match with anybody hes lighting them up in the form hes in now.

foty there imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,140 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

dos Anjos via Decision
    CatFromHue wrote: »
    A bit of a no show from Cerrone there

Yup complete no show. Nothing to do with getting blasted in the ribs twice in quick succession

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,140 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

dos Anjos via Decision
    Also, Cat Zigano.....whoosh!!

https://twitter.com/CatZingano/status/678412385627992064