Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Speaking of renting vehicles...

Just wondering... if I was to rent a car here for approx 2 weeks, would they let me take it overseas, and how much would that cost (would take the cheapest car there is)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

davycc wrote: »
    i approve this dastardly plan :cool:
    as for the daily driver maybe use your old astra ?
    at least you know all its strengths and weaknesses

It's in great nick, the timing belt snapped before i took it off and we rebuilt it.
    Fresh as a daisy it is :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

166man wrote: »
    You should have gotten her a set of nightbreakers and shown her how you can both brighten up her life by over 100% ya big playa....!

I liked that a lot :pac: very good :) Ye I think I really out did myself with the socket set 50 pieces and all every girls dream. I knew she wouldn't have one :). Some of the lads that are semi into cars said they would have loved it. Her face though was absolutely priceless while everyone else fell around the place laughing.
    YbFocus wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with it at all, it just was parked when i bought the e36.
    No test and stuff now but it wouldn't need much.

166man, yeah i think he missed a chance with that line :)

That one seems like your obvious choice so even if you have to do a few bits to it to pass the test it would still be a very cost effective way of getting around which is what you want at the moment :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Hate Kris kindle but in work this year it was quite decent for a tenner
    I got a hot wheels db5
    A 5 Euro scratch card, won nothing, an elf t-shirt for Xmas eve in work, 4 crunchies and a pack of viscount biscuits.

In return one of the girls got a tub of peanut butter and jelly (she kept singing that bloody spread it like song in work) and Polly the parrot which went down a treat.

I put the Punto on Adverts.ie
    http://www.adverts.ie/9503550

GvidoR wrote: »
    I put the Punto on Adverts.ie
    http://www.adverts.ie/9503550

I love how subtle you were about mentioning it in the post :)

Ah no best of luck seems like a great car other than the rust which if someone was handy at welding or it could be bought to just use on private land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I woke up a bit hungover today and went out and bought a Renault Espace for some unknown reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

ba_barabus wrote: »
    I woke up a bit hungover today and went out and bought a Renault Espace for some unknown reason.

congrats a rare beauty :cool: which year engine etc ?:confused::confused:

My dad has a 2004 Espace, 2.2 engine with automatic box and panoramic sunroof. He's thinking of selling it. He used to have a 2004 1.9 dci with 6 speed manual before

davycc wrote: »
    congrats a rare beauty :cool: which year engine etc ?:confused::confused:

A 2001 Espace 2L Manual. Can't remember the spec level. Very clean, needs a little work but I'm pretty happy with it tbh

I want to know how did this happen. Did you want to buy it? :P

GvidoR wrote: »
    I want to know how did this happen. Did you want to buy it? :P

Not what I thought I'd buy today that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Whens the V10 F1 engine going in the back seats ?

I was merging onto the M9 only to drive up behind my old golf on the slip road. Stayed behind it for a while and then passed it on the motorway. Same lad has it and he seems to be keeping it very well took of the tow bar other than that it looks the same. Must be alot more km on it now as the guy that bought it is commuting in it 300km a day 6-7 days a week every week and that's just his work commute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

CIP4 wrote:
    I was merging onto the M9 only to drive up behind my old on the slip road. Stayed behind it for a while and then passed it on the motorway. Same lad has it and he seems to be keeping it very well took of the tow bar other than that it looks the same. Must be alot more km on it now as the guy that bought it is commuting in it 300km a day 6-7 days a week every week and that's just his work commute.

Golf is it?

Golf is it?

Ye sorry edited it in there thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,398 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

I watched someone approach a roundabout in front of me yesterday, indicate right and noticed that their approach looked like they were actually going to turn right, as in go around it the wrong way. This is a big round about the cars go around a speed, and you cant see over it. Sure enough that's what they did, me and another car blasting our horns didn't stop them, they got around a little before nearly heading straight into a 4x4. Very close to a big enough tip, but everyone stopped in time. Next up was a 6 point turn on the roundabout before heading on their way again.

I know, cool story.:cool:

Friend was telling me how lastnight he met an oncoming car who didn't dip their lights. He gave a quick flash to remind them. They dipped their lights, but also as they passed by each other it turned out that it was a garda car. They gave one flash of the blues as they passed him and continued on!

Imagine if it was you and you played your blind them with heads trick ;)

Augeo wrote:
    Imagine if it was you and you played your blind them with heads trick

Imagine ;) Would have worked too I bet ;)

A car passed me a while ago with two working parking lights and one headlight on I could tell as it was a somewhat well lit area and we were going slow. So in other words 2 blown dipped lights and a blown headlight and he presumably wasnt going to dip because he wouldn't then be able to see anything.

I mean there is being cheap and lazy when it comes to changing blown bulbs then there is being a stupid idiot whos presence on the roads is causing a real danger to others. The above person being in the latter category.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭lafors

Just saw this (new landrover discovery in camo) on the M50 passing finglas heading south. UK reg but LHD. Looked very tall but seemed very thin at the back though this may have been because of the camo and the rear window being the only thing uncovered on the back.
    Wonder where it's off to test??

Here's some pics of it, think it's the same one as this...

http://www.carscoops.com/2015/10/scoop-this-is-land-rovers-next-gen-2017.html?m=1

Paid up for all the work done on the focus. Very reasonable considering all the work that was done!

Anybody interested in a yaris? Genuine car. Fairly cheap too.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2014-toyota-yaris-1-0-5dr-terra/11110460?sv=true

That's just like the one I was driving. :P

No mention of AC or heated seats in the description though. I assume you know the seller?

Aye, have it since new, owner died this time last year, and it's been sitting up since, parked in the same spot for a long time. Used to get one every second year or so(boggo spec)Often wondered why they were holding onto it, probably sentimental value more than anything.

Paid up for all the work done on the focus. Very reasonable considering all the work that was done!

Hopefully you will have some trouble free motoring with it now and it won't cost you anything for the next while.

For some reason I found the bit about it being an ideal Christmas present very funny. I just have this image of a person going out to buy someone a Yaris for Christmas. Im sure it happened in the boom with parents buying kids new and newish car probably not as much now though.

CIP4 wrote:
    Hopefully you will have some trouble free motoring with it now and it won't cost you anything for the next while.

Nope, power steering pump is on the way out again, I can hear it groaning!!
    CIP4 wrote:
    For some reason I found the bit about it being an ideal Christmas present very funny. I just have this image of a person going out to buy someone a Yaris for Christmas. Im sure it happened in the boom with parents buying kids new and newish car probably not as much now though.

I know of a fella who bought his wife a new car back in 2008 for valentines. He died shortly afterwards suddenly. She kept the car to this day (they'd usually change every few years)

Nope, power steering pump is on the way out again, I can hear it groaning!!

I remember you changed that with a secondhand one how unlucky to have two fail is it a common issue on them ?
    I know of a fella who bought his wife a new car back in 2008 for valentines. He died shortly afterwards suddenly. She kept the car to this day (they'd usually change every few years)

Sad story she will probably never get rid of that car now. But Ye I'm sure it happens with husbands and wives a lot alright buying new cars maybe not as a surprise. Would be a fairly cool surprise present to get even if it was off your husband. I'll keep that one in mind if I ever get married :pac: