Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,752 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

any idea when the dairy payments will be made?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

whelan2 wrote: »
    any idea when the dairy payments will be made?

soon i hope :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

keep going wrote: »
    are you saying the quota that was transfered to me in 96 can be allowed against capital gains made this year.it would be perfect timing as i made a nice killing on a small investment this year and could do with some losses to balance
    It will be valued at the transferred value to you and some 30%(?) can be allowed as a loss against future capital gains.

Unfortunately, afaik, the capital loss can only be allowed against future capital gains, not past ones. You had best check with your accountant on that though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,752 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

soon i hope :)

Read in some place December and somewhere else said January. Would like to know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Just a quick piece of info for anyone who has bought quota pre-2000.

Get the volume bought from your processor as you can have a big (or very big:D) capital loss available from the abolition of quotas. It can reduce any CGT due by you in the next few years.

thanks for the tip,looks like its worth something tome alright,id send on a check but i dont know where to send it:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Concreting this shed tomorrow. Going to use it for calves.
    White wash walls or plaster?
    Shame to cover them up. Especially as I have ideas of building onto the back of the whole thing in future for a house for myself (another stone built piece on it aswell)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Shame to cover them up. Especially as I have ideas of building onto the back of the whole thing in future for a house for myself (another stone built piece on it aswell)

Smashing stone work. Would stock-board work. Or would it be a haven for bacteria between wall and board. Shame to plaster it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

What about a very limey lime plaster?

Should be bacteria proof, and easy to get rid of if you ever do surrender and plaster / stokboard it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Shame to plaster nice stone like that but if calves going in I'd def plaster it .cleanliness and smooth surfaces are key

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Shame to plaster nice stone like that but if calves going in I'd def plaster it .cleanliness and smooth surfaces are key

And if any amount of dung builds up at the bottom, it will affect the binding between the stones and lead to an unstable wall in a few years.

keep going wrote: »
    thanks for the tip,looks like its worth something tome alright,id send on a check but i dont know where to send it:D
    Have one on me, I'm off the stuff for a while yet;)

mahoney_j wrote: »

Definitely want to make it a house for myself in the future. Unless I just plaster up 4ft high

If you're going to live in it yourself then use stokboard.

Easier to clean when you have the Macra lot round for the housewarming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Hit it a belt of a digger and make a cow road out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

mf240 wrote: »
    Hit it a belt of a digger and make a cow road out of it.

Harsh, but could save a lot of hardship in the long run ha. You'd be amazing what you'd sink into trying to convert that into a house, and stay within modern building control regulations! Generally cheaper to start afresh, and wayyy less stress/hassle. Plus how idea a calf rearing shed will it make?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Timmaay wrote: »
    Harsh, but could save a lot of hardship in the long run ha. You'd be amazing what you'd sink into trying to convert that into a house, and stay within modern building control regulations! Generally cheaper to start afresh, and wayyy less stress/hassle. Plus how idea a calf rearing shed will it make?

How ideal an any type of house will it make? Gg you're talking about incorporating it into a dwelling house in the future. Min spend now for calf house though you'll probably be sorry due to the awkwardness of any old building like this for any modern use. When the time comes build a new house out near the road for your parents and do a complete overhaul on the old farm house for yourself.

Home house is 3 storeys high with another lump on the back of it. I don't like it tbh. That house is just at side of yard already has a proper roof on it it's just a matter of how you tie a new building into it but definitely where I want to live in future

I'm with GG on this, give me a beautiful old building to make a house out of any day of the week.

People keep asking me to knock an old stone granary which is in the way of everything in the yard here (and more or less falling down on its own).. I have to gently remind them that that Granary is the reason I bought the place, and about the only decent looking building within five miles.

Plaster it as little as possible, preferably with lime, then mix up some dump bucket milk with more lime once a year and wash it on with a roller.

Whats the proximity of it to the rest of the yard? I'd be a lot more inclined to do it up as a farm office alongside having bathroom/kitchen etc, it's not a private dwelling, only a farm office (one which you might decide to store a bed or so in ha), no crazy building control regulations, it's a farm office so offset against tax.

But down the line you should 100% build yourself a nice house, you live and work on the farm so are entitled to build your own house (athlo I'm sure the council will throw afew speed bumps in the way, once off housing and all that), from an economic point of view it's a no brainer, ya already got the site, once you do your homework and price around etc you'll be able to build a nice big house that originally could cost ya 3/4/500k to buy for 1/2 that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

philisteins or how ever you spell it,lovely building with the granite pillars.if you cant decide right now but need the house throw in wood chip and divisions and whitewash the walls if you like and see how it, goes no big expense and you re kicking any pernament decision down the line

kowtow wrote: »
    I'm with GG on this, give me a beautiful old building to make a house out of any day of the week.

People keep asking me to knock an old stone granary which is in the way of everything in the yard here (and more or less falling down on its own).. I have to gently remind them that that Granary is the reason I bought the place, and about the only decent looking building within five miles.

Plaster it as little as possible, preferably with lime, then mix up some dump bucket milk with more lime once a year and wash it on with a roller.

Not a bother in a country with more relaxed building regulations, but Ireland is just utterly utterly insane for red tape, the builders themselves find it hard to understand the current legislation. Turning the above into a dwelling will probably require extensive reworking of the foundations unless GG is very lucky, and you can imagine the challenges to redoing the foundations while you keep the walls in place! That's assuming the walls themselves don't need to be redone. I'd say it would be a lot cheaper to knock the whole lot, and start afresh from the ground up, and incorporate the stonework from the old walls into the new dwelling.

A neighbour of mine in the UK years ago went in for a spot of self-building, ended up building himself (with his wife's help) the place in the picture below. I can remember his extraordinary discussions on building regulations - particularly where the gutters (he didn't use any) ought to drain (the moat).

It can be done!

0608mew-01.jpg

Whats the proximity of it to the rest of the yard? I'd be a lot more inclined to do it up as a farm office alongside having bathroom/kitchen etc, it's not a private dwelling, only a farm office (one which you might decide to store a bed or so in ha), no crazy building control regulations, it's a farm office so offset against tax.

But down the line you should 100% build yourself a nice house, you live and work on the farm so are entitled to build your own house (athlo I'm sure the council will throw afew speed bumps in the way, once off housing and all that), from an economic point of view it's a no brainer, ya already got the site, once you do your homework and price around etc you'll be able to build a nice big house that originally could cost ya 3/4/500k to buy for 1/2 that.

She's about 50ft from the shed in the yard. Yard entrance is in between and shed it's near will become a calving shed once we get cubicles sorted.

You'll see it when your down in jan in sure 😉

This is a better look at the whole thing. Top part is there the grant pillars are and bottom piece is somewhat like a dormer bungalow. Theres a loft in it atm.
    Stone work is 100% in it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

She's about 50ft from the shed in the yard. Yard entrance is in between and shed it's near will become a calving shed once we get cubicles sorted.

You'll see it when your down in jan in sure 😉

This is a better look at the whole thing. Top part is there the grant pillars are and bottom piece is somewhat like a dormer bungalow. Theres a loft in it atm.
    Stone work is 100% in it

Must say GG it's a nice building. Grand for calves. When you plan on converting it to a dwelling. ........ drive the bucket of a 20 tonner right threw the gable wall. And keep going.

PS. I'm not the most refined character. I did architecture in college and my lecturer said I was an abomination to architecture

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

It's a lovely building GG, definitely try and keep it. Wonder if you could work it some way that the bare stone could be a focal point in some rooms.
    Did up a place here that was in just as bad a condition but foundation-wise it was correct - tore it all back to bare stone walls and started from scratch. It's quite funny telling people staying there that I remember a cow calving in the area where the kitchen is now. :D
    Was that a calving shed at some point? I vaguely remember a photo you posted of a 3/4 black cow with a white star and a gate separating her from another in a very similar area if not that one. I think.

Kovu wrote: »
    It's a lovely building GG, definitely try and keep it. Wonder if you could work it some way that the bare stone could be a focal point in some rooms.
    Did up a place here that was in just as bad a condition but foundation-wise it was correct - tore it all back to bare stone walls and started from scratch. It's quite funny telling people staying there that I remember a cow calving in the area where the kitchen is now. :D
    Was that a calving shed at some point? I vaguely remember a photo you posted of a 3/4 black cow with a white star and a gate separating her from another in a very similar area if not that one. I think.

I've too many cows with white stars here to distinguish between them 😂
    Yep was calving pens last yr - too small for coming spring with 5/6 due some days, so going to hold the bull calves till there sold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Must say GG it's a nice building. Grand for calves. When you plan on converting it to a dwelling. ........ drive the bucket of a 20 tonner right threw the gable wall. And keep going.

I developed an old building into apartments in '04. Nightmare.
    I think they must have been the most expensive 52 apartments outside of Dublin.
    If I were to do it again I'd be hiring your 20 tonner!

Kovu wrote: »
    I remember my father telling us that the kitchen table used be turned sideways after the dinner to keep the sow away from the spuds being prepared for the supper and again after the supper to keep her away from the dinner spuds when he was a young lad.

There are chew marks, or what look like chew marks on the table, where the sow used try to get out, or so he told us anyway:o

main_900.jpg?1445542779

It's his stool for hand milking his cows, not for some practices that RTC apparently knows about :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

main_900.jpg?1445542779

I've seen some apparatus' like that on some questionable websites. But I have to say, I've never seen them worn that way. Interrrrresting