Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Milked out wrote: »
    If you want to keep them and maintain or grow numbers id bull the heifers to calve in autumn, rolling a heifer over will have no milk sales and still the cost of feeding her whereas if you have enough in heifers and a number of cows rolling excess autumn cow over will still give you milk sales as it's only a few months not a year. You could sell heifers calved down too in autumn or if you don't have the space sell as calves

I'd be inclined to agree with you, father is the opposite, give her a bit longer to grow bull her for spring!! The way I see it is even bull her to calve in Autumn and then if she rolls over to spring as a second calver it's no big issue, have a massive problem of to many cows calving in Autumn here. Trying to tighten up calving spread and reduce Autumn at the same time. The joys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,752 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

C0N0R wrote: »
    Grass silage and fed to yield in the parlour. Don't think I've ever seen bf of 4.2.....! Don't get milk urea tests either. What's your percentage of Autumn Calvers?
    At the minute theres 50% autumn and 50 % spring, spring ones are only milked once a day at the minute

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

whelan2 wrote: »
    What are you using on the mats? I am using actisan

We lime cubicles twice per week, no disinfectant whatsoever. Cows can be housed in 40* heat with no problems. Scc is usually around the 100k mark. Cubicles are brushed every day with a tractor mounted brush.

Edit. I see your milk urea is off the charts...I'd lay off the protein if you want them to go/stay in calf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Left 2 loads if 804 last night at top of our yard entrance. Thought they would be okay until the morning. Not a chance. Had to spread 40t to get lorry in PIA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Only 2 out of the top 12 ads on the dairycattle section on donedeal are actually for dairycattle at the second! Anyone else find this a pain in the arse? Pitty donedeal can't ban people who are clearly putting ads in the wrong sections.

The view this morning turning out cows...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Have a few young cows with Mortellaro, what's the best procedure? Never had problems before

Anyone have pbm maiden heifers or incalf heifers?
    Have a few here and don't like them. As big as houses. Too much of a frame imo. Will see what there like when they calve

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Have a few here and don't like them. As big as houses. Too much of a frame imo. Will see what there like when they calve

Yep have them ,look like smashers ,big frame ,not extreme .great looking poteintal ,then again I wouldn't like small butty yokes!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Have a few young cows with Mortellaro, what's the best procedure? Never had problems before

Good hoof care guy to lift foot and poultice. Foot bath all cows as it spreads like a sti.

200 litres water with 7% forma and 1% Perecetic acid. 160 cows through bath max before remix. Bath weekly drys aswell. Reduce concentration of form to 3% after a few baths.

Note: only add Perecetic to waster and form solution

Bandage up the sores with plenty tetracycline and footbath the herd frequently.
    If you never had it before you have it now...forever!

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Yep have them ,look like smashers ,big frame ,not extreme .great looking poteintal ,then again I wouldn't like small butty yokes!!!!!

Just served one of them to Lwr. There just miles to big the type of cow I want tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,707 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Just served one of them to Lwr. There just miles to big the type of cow I want tbh

Why not go jex on her ,lwr of pbm will be a long way off compared to rest of your herd I think .only used pbm for one year and all biggish calves so didn't use again ,I like the look of what I have though in appearance and on geno figures

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Yeah, have a nice few of them here as well, and yes they're on the big side, but real good square heifers with nice square udders showing as well. Should be perfect to bull with a jersey again nxt yr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

A few cans of Alamycin spray will help too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,752 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

A few cans of Alamycin spray will help too
    dont think the alamycin alone will work.

whelan2 wrote: »
    dont think the alamycin alone will work.

Not on its own but I find if spotted early it helps halt it in that animal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

can you cull the couple straight away? it can be controlled but can it be fully treated?

visited a farm few weeks ago and most of the herd has it not very nice to see, place was spot less, he puts them in foot bath for cows to go through after every milking

told me he bought in a lot of stock as he doesnt breed and it came with a few and spread like wildfire, he spends quite a bit on foot baths and he has a system from the north where the bath cleans itself out so full herd arnt running through same bath but still has issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

can you cull the couple straight away? it can be controlled but can it be fully treated?

visited a farm few weeks ago and most of the herd has it not very nice to see, place was spot less, he puts them in foot bath for cows to go through after every milking

told me he bought in a lot of stock as he doesnt breed and it came with a few and spread like wildfire, he spends quite a bit on foot baths and he has a system from the north where the bath cleans itself out so full herd arnt running through same bath but still has issues

I have a small bit of it and it comes from hoof pairers not disinfecting their tools if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Feck may set up footbath, injected first 2 and started scraping joining to another shed. Penstr worked well with first 2 but gona segregate and foot bath, I lifted one cow all year before 2 weeks ago, bloody hassle now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

Feck may set up footbath, injected first 2 and started scraping joining to another shed. Penstr worked well with first 2 but gona segregate and foot bath, I lifted one cow all year before 2 weeks ago, bloody hassle now!

Lincocin powder in a footbath with wash up liquid to help it stick.....then keep a small amount of stronger solution in a sprayer and do the effected ones for a few days...great result.
    Ffs don't let someone teat spray with that sprayer....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭visatorro

Dawggone wrote:
    Bandage up the sores with plenty tetracycline and footbath the herd frequently. If you never had it before you have it now...forever!

bought cows in from Holland in the nineties, reckon that's where it comes from. one or two every year will get it. we found the formiline hardened the hoof and kept it away. footpaths and time in a paddock are what we found worked. HR bull I bought last year has it now. first bull I seen with it. hopefully he'll be better come may.

probably not a bad point made about the hoof care lad not disinfecting his gear.

alps wrote: »
    Lincocin powder in a footbath with wash up liquid to help it stick.....then keep a small amount of stronger solution in a sprayer and do the effected ones for a few days...great result.
    Ffs don't let someone teat spray with that sprayer....

I wouldn't record in the medicines ledger that you're using Lincomycin like that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

Dawggone wrote: »
    I wouldn't record in the medicines ledger that you're using Lincomycin like that...

Ohh Lord I didn't day to use it....just said it works....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Have a few bloody autumn born PBMs coming into the parlour in the spring! They are huge ugh, and like you GG, not the sorta cow I want to breed. They'll be getting some sorta JE or NZ straw definitely.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Have a few bloody autumn born PBMs coming into the parlour in the spring! They are huge ugh, and like you GG, not the sorta cow I want to breed. They'll be getting some sorta JE or NZ straw definitely.

What difference does size make, once they go back in calf and throw out enuv ms? Are they that big they dont fit in parlour or cubicles ? Give em a chance they could be grand. Have a couple of wuh cows here, all off heifers as he was easy calving and they are biggest cows in place, fed the same as rest and have given me no reason to get rid of most of em yet anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭johnny122

Not on its own but I find if spotted early it helps halt it in that animal

Use a strong iodine solution also as iodine will kill it and it can be absorbed deep into hoof .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,125 ✭✭✭jaymla627

What difference does size make, once they go back in calf and throw out enuv ms? Are they that big they dont fit in parlour or cubicles ? Give em a chance they could be grand. Have a couple of wuh cows here, all off heifers as he was easy calving and they are biggest cows in place, fed the same as rest and have given me no reason to get rid of most of em yet anyways

Cant beat a bit of power in your heifers, notin worse then when a small one turns around in the parlour facing you in the pit haha....
    grouped early calving heifers/cows the other day and incalf heifers where towering over alot of the cows, hard to beat shottle sons for putting height into your cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Yeah, have a nice few of them here as well, and yes they're on the big side, but real good square heifers with nice square udders showing as well. Should be perfect to bull with a jersey again nxt yr

If you look at his type figures on ICBF, they are small ,shallow and rounded with terrible udders.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,895 ✭✭✭White Clover

Good hoofcare guy that knows what he's at. Can be controlled fairly well nowadays. He will also advise on footbathing