Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 194: McGregor vs Aldo ***READ POST #1 BEFORE POSTING***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭DrGreenthumb

Hey guys looking for a bit of advice here, how is the quality of streaming if you purchase the event,

i read reports about poor quality before, also i saw some of the stream of the last mcgregor fight from ufc.com and it was a bit jittery especially on the fast movements, would it be better to watch through the xbox app or pc, opinions please,

also i see youtube are also selling it but only SD from what the rep told me but would their servers be better for viewing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,629 ✭✭✭magma69

Aldo via Submission
    Anyone else think Ido Portal is a spoofer? When exactly is McGregor going effectively use them sideways rolls to his advantage? Can only see him getting hit trying to pull off that stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,219 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

moneyman wrote: »
    He's inevitably going to lose at some point, whether that be tonight or in the future. His trash talk has increased his earnings ten fold. He won't care about the huge backlash he'll receive when he does lose.

I'll be staying well away from here if he loses. The amount of begrudgers coming out of the woodwork will be incredible, as well as the usual Daves here, Darced, Subcomodante Marcos etc. who have been waiting years for him to lose.

Conor has achieved the impossible...He's a legend regardless of tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Exactly what he has achieved in 2 and a half years is unbelievable.

Aldo via Submission

What do you mean by him achieving the impossible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭Klopp

Aldo via Decision
    Anyone else think this will got the distance tonight?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭ComfortKid

Any one else having trouble with BT and Setanta? Says no Satellite signal yet every other channel is working. Same happened for 189

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Aldo via Decision
    jimmii wrote: »
    Yeah you had to lol at all the guys getting a picture as he came out yesterday with the haircut and beard! Bet they have the McGregor Reebok gear at home.

Sure McGregor's look isn't even original.

CaiC3eF.jpg

7t9y3iB.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

Aldo via Submission

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Aldo via Decision
    magma69 wrote: »
    Anyone else think Ido Portal is a spoofer? When exactly is McGregor going effectively use them sideways rolls to his advantage? Can only see him getting hit trying to pull off that stuff.

It's about loosening up targeting different muscles. That guerilla walk he does low down to the ground is actually hard you feel it, ditto for hand stands, L-sits, any kind of holds or balancing you are training the muscles and stretching. I don't know why lots of ye don't get that this is supplementary and also an element of what Ido is doing is used by personal trainers and cross fit trainers. Next thing people will say GSP is silly for doing back flips and gymnastics, sure what does that have to do with the body ffs :rolleyes:

Aldo via Submission
    cloudatlas wrote: »
    It's about loosening up targeting different muscles. That guerilla walk he does low down to the ground is actually hard you feel it, ditto for hand stands, L-sits, any kind of holds or balancing you are training the muscles and stretching. I don't know why lots of ye don't get that this is supplementary and also an element of what Ido is doing is used by personal trainers and cross fit trainers. Next thing people will say GSP is silly for doing back flips and gymnastics, sure what does that have to do with the body ffs :rolleyes:

So all is he is strength and fitness coach is essentially what you're saying. This 'movement' lark, I'm not convinced by it being any way effectively applicable in a fight.

Aldo via Decision
    Klopp wrote: »
    Anyone else think this will got the distance tonight?

Doubt it, I can really see both going for the KO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

McGregor via Decision
    I see an early TKO or even KO for Aldo in the first round maybe early in second.

I am no expert and can be rather pessimistic so prob talking through my arse. Would like to see Conor win but....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

McGregor via Decision
    I often do this, its silly but have a go:

Close your eyes and visualise looking at pics of the fight tomorrow morning. Try to visualise Aldo celebrating as the ref ends it and then try to visualise the same with Conor.

Also visualise the belt being placed around each player.

Which feels right, which do you feel will happen (not want to happen)

*yep, I'm hung over and only just outta bed so bare with me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭rottie 11

McGregor via Decision
    I just subscribed to bt online. How long should it take before my channels start working does anyone kno ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭ComfortKid

rottie 11 wrote:
    I just subscribed to bt online. How long should it take before my channels start working does anyone kno ?

Instantly

Aldo via Decision
    py2006 wrote: »
    I see an early TKO or even KO for Aldo in the first round maybe early in second.

I am no expert and can be rather pessimistic so prob taken through my arse. Would like to see Conor win but....

Could easily happen if Conor lets his guard down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Aldo via Submission
    ComfortKid wrote: »
    Instantly

This pretty much. Give it 15 minutes and then restart the box and it should be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Aldo via Decision
    magma69 wrote: »
    So all is he is strength and fitness coach is essentially what you're saying. This 'movement' lark, I'm not convinced by it being any way effectively applicable in a fight.

They seemed to be doing a lot of hand eye coordination as well. Balance is important obv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

McGregor via Decision
    Come'ere lads what's the story if it goes 12 rounds and is called a draw, Does Conor get to keep his WBC belt and Aldo keeps the IBF and WBA belts...?

Oh and one last question, What corner is Conor sent to if Aldo gets a standing count:D

PS,

I think Conor's movement and angles will be to much for Aldo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,610 ✭✭✭shocksy

McGregor via Decision
    Hey guys looking for a bit of advice here, how is the quality of streaming if you purchase the event,

i read reports about poor quality before, also i saw some of the stream of the last mcgregor fight from ufc.com and it was a bit jittery especially on the fast movements, would it be better to watch through the xbox app or pc, opinions please,

also i see youtube are also selling it but only SD from what the rep told me but would their servers be better for viewing?

Nonsense, the UFC stream is always perfect, never a problem with it, a lot of the lads on here watch it that way including myself and there's never a lag or dodgy moments, they even have different picture quality streaming if your internet can't manage a full HD stream, if there's a problem with the stream it will be at your end due to your ISP, not the UFC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

McGregor via Decision
    I just think McGregor is too damn big for anyone in this division, add to the fact he most definitely hits harder has the better range and arguably has the better all round technique.....a good biggun beats a good littleun hands down....be more interesting when he moves up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

Aldo via Submission
    not yet wrote: »
    Come'ere lads what's the story if it goes 12 rounds and is called a draw, Does Conor get to keep his WBC belt and Aldo keeps the IBF and WBA belts...?

Oh and one last question, What corner is Conor sent to if Aldo gets a standing count:D

PS,

I think Conor's movement and angles will be to much for Aldo.

This is an elimination chamber tables and ladders match, please keep up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

Aldo via Submission
    sonofenoch wrote: »
    I just think McGregor is too damn big for anyone in this division, add to the fact he most definitely hits harder has the better range and arguably has the better all round technique.....a good biggun beats a good littleun hands down....be more interesting when he moves up

Since when is Aldo just a "good littleun"? Aldo is the best current active fighter yet he's only a "good littleun"? And Aldo is only 2 inches smaller, not a massive amount at all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭fuzzydunlop85

Hi lads sorry if this is in wrong thread , just bought the fight on ufc TV (18e) do I get the prelims on that ? I would have assumed so but when I'm back on main page it says something about ufc 194 prelims for 7.99 or something.

Aldo via Submission
    Hi lads sorry if this is in wrong thread , just bought the fight on ufc TV (18e) do I get the prelims on that ? I would have assumed so but when I'm back on main page it says something about ufc 194 prelims for 7.99 or something.

You get the prelims but the first 3 fights (early prelims) are fightpass exclusive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭kev1234

Aldo via Decision
    You get the prelims but the first 3 fights (early prelims) are fightpass exclusive.

I don't think you do get the prelims! I think PPV is just the main card. The prelims are on fight pass. You can sign up for a 7 day free trial fight pass.

Aldo via Submission
    kev1234 wrote: »
    I don't think you do get the prelims! I think PPV is just the main card. The prelims are on fight pass. You can sign up for a 7 day free trial fight pass.

Ah, my mistake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,857 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

McGregor via Decision
    Where'd you buy it?

Bt Sports 2 has the Prelims from 1am-3am.

The early prelims from 12-1am are fight pass exclusive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭fuzzydunlop85

MiskyBoyy wrote: »
    Where'd you buy it?

Bt Sports 2 has the Prelims from 1am-3am.

The early prelims from 12-1am are fight pass exclusive.
    Ufc TV , so if I just sign up for fight pass can I get the prelims is that it ?