Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭rughug

Suprised at that
    Cormack more of a hurler than-footballe
    Big lad tho

Spillane's son is like a cat flap on a submarine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,466 ✭✭✭big_drive

Double header in the Munster junior finals in mallow tomorrow. Be doing well to take 2 games in this weather!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭It makes sense

Fantastic win for Dungourney running out 12 point winners in the end great for Cork that at least one team goes on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,382 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Bantry beaten in the Junior ladies football All Ireland final

best of luck to Mourneabbey tomorrow, deferred coverage on TG4.

Hard luck to Mourneabbey, beaten again in a final.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,122 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Tough on them, their keeper made a great save early on, a nice lead then could have made all the difference.

Fantastic win for Dungourney running out 12 point winners in the end great for Cork that at least one team goes on.

Looked like a good side the couple of times I've seen them this year. Think they have the Leinster champions in the semi final which you'd expect would be the harder side of the draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭Producer Ben

keep going wrote: »
    would it make sense if i said one club to go hurling only and the other to go football only

Yep I've heard that too. The club more synonymous with hurling will be the hurling club and the other will be football only. Both clubs discontinuing with the other code.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Ogie16

Yep I've heard that too. The club more synonymous with hurling will be the hurling club and the other will be football only. Both clubs discontinuing with the other code.

Didn't Whitechurch and Whites Cross do something similar a few years ago?

Don't think it lasted though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

Midleton falling for their own hype yet again. Do they ever learn down there.
    Smith614 wrote: »
    Middleton look in big trouble. 1 pt behind Dls with game more played.

So the final q/final spot in Harty will come down to winner of Midleton/DLS.
    I still go for Midleton to make it 4 Cork schools in the quartes as follows:
    ASR, Templemore, Christians, Nenagh (as 4 group winners) and Midleton, Roco, Castletroy, Colemans (as group runners up).
    Therefore will have an all Cork q/final (assuming Midleton beat DLS).
    The draw will obviously be crucial for all teams.
    ASR and Templemore are probably favourites at this stage but nobody will fancy playing Roco if they can replicate their second half performance vs Charleville.
    Christians are in bonus territory in their first year back in Harty and can afford to have a right cut no matter who they draw.
    Midleton still could have a big say in how things pan out. Assuming they beat DLS and draw either Christians or Nenagh in q/final that will certainly fancy their chances of making semi (lots of 'ifs' I know, but I think there's more in them).
    Nenagh obviously have to be respected after the demolition job they did on Thurles.
    And Colemans while still not the force of old are not to be dismissed given the level of consistency they've shown the last 2 years.
    Castletroy possibly the weakest of what's left.
    All to play for as they say - the draw will be interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

they were pulling out the same area anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Sounds like Cunningham is ****ed.

Not a good sign if Sutcliffe is quitting panel at 23

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

Cunningham seems to be digging a big hole for himself. The dubs might be better off with out him and his Cork entourage. An overrated coach according to a lot of lads who played under him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

When are Midleton playing DLS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭N20

Orizio wrote: »

Last round of Harty down for Wed 16th but who knows what weather will be like

Keep an eye on

http://munster.gaa.ie/fixtures/post-primary-schools/

Orizio wrote:

Roco beat Midleton today 1 11 to 0 11 in O'Callaghan Cup (1 5 to 0 7 at h/t).
    Good game in very difficult conditions and fair play to both teams for going at it in the manner they did - very competitive and well contested all through.
    Roco deserving winners but was very tight all the way and level with about 5 mins left. Roco got the last 3 points to see it out.
    Mid obviously unhappy to lose but seemed happy enough with the performance in light of next week's crucial Harty game.

Roco beat Midleton today 1 11 to 0 11 in O'Callaghan Cup (1 5 to 0 7 at h/t).
    Good game in very difficult conditions and fair play to both teams for going at it in the manner they did - very competitive and well contested all through.
    Roco deserving winners but was very tight all the way and level with about 5 mins left. Roco got the last 3 points to see it out.
    Mid obviously unhappy to lose but seemed happy enough with the performance in light of next week's crucial Harty game.

Very competitive game I heard and as you say poor conditions with strong wind and rain

Midleton workrate was very good and in particular Harrington who caught some great ball - he was unlucky I feel not to be closer to minors last year
    beausang showed some lovely touches as well, along with Looney

Goal just before half time gave Rochestown the edge but against the wind Midleton came right back into it and it was nip and tuck with Rochestown finishing stronger

Midleton although they lost put in a strong performance and will be heartened by it for Harty game next week
    On basis of what I heard, if they repeat intensity V DLS they should beat them
    iF so they avoid ASR in quarter final and can take their chances

AG V Blarney tomorrow in Mallow

Why isnt CIT being used for these games? It would be ideal venue for Final. Failing that Mallow again ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

The following teams have applied and been approved for entry into the IHC next year:

Blackrock
    Ballymartle
    Carrigaline
    Ballinhassig
    St Finbarrs
    Glen Rovers
    Na Piarsaigh
    Midleton
    Inniscara

Even being from one of those clubs, I have to say I'm dubious as to what it's going to achieve for Cork hurling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Figsy32 wrote: »
    The following teams have applied and been approved for entry into the IHC next year:

Blackrock
    Ballymartle
    Carrigaline
    Ballinhassig
    St Finbarrs
    Glen Rovers
    Na Piarsaigh
    Midleton
    Inniscara

Even being from one of those clubs, I have to say I'm dubious as to what it's going to achieve for Cork hurling.

This is a joke back to the dark ages with **** like this ...this and doing away with relegation ...backward steps big time will help nobody ...and its a pity because the other changes are good ...

Blackrock
    Ballymartle
    Carrigaline
    Ballinhassig
    St Finbarrs
    Glen Rovers
    Na Piarsaigh
    Midleton
    Inniscara

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    This is a joke back to the dark ages with **** like this ...this and doing away with relegation ...backward steps big time will help nobody ...and its a pity because the other changes are good ...

Agree 100% with both of ye here.
    Will be of NO benefit to clubs.
    Clubs shouldn't be allowed to play at a level unless they qualify through winning.

And the no relegation thing is just bollox. It exists in every sport at every level. Look at the mess Tipp are in trying to sort out the number of senior hurling teams. And Kerry had to take radical measures to regulate the number of senior football teams.
    Relegation should be decided by results, end of.

Can any sane person explain to me how Clonakiltys second team who were relegated to the Carbery Junior B football championship For 2016 ...but will now be playing in the county Intermedate A championship ! How do Bandon feel about this ? the won the Carbery and County junior championships to rightly get promoted to the Intermedate A level .....this week in politics we had " Halls Pictorial Weekly " ....Now its the Cork county boards turn ....we will be the laughing stock of the country again....

Blackrock
    Ballymartle
    Carrigaline
    Ballinhassig
    St Finbarrs
    Glen Rovers
    Na Piarsaigh
    Midleton
    Inniscara

I'm from one of the clubs too and it's first I've heard about it
    I'm shocked if true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭aster99

When I first heard about bringing up second teams I thought it was crazy.
    But for some reason I'm starting to come around to the idea. I'd be open to trying it out at least.
    I think some changes are good to the championship and maybe some more are not but possibly over time a balance will be found that works well.

For once I'm actually happy that the county board are getting more open to trying change. I agree that sometimes change isn't needed but we had years of the board changing nothing. Think some of the newer officers have a bit of modern vision so I'd let them try something and wait a bit longer to see the results good or bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

big_drive wrote: »
    I'm from one of the clubs too and it's first I've heard about it
    I'm shocked if true

That's the list I saw anyway that came from our (now) intermediate coach. I was surprised by a couple of them!

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    Can any sane person explain to me how Clonakiltys second team who were relegated to the Carbery Junior B football championship For 2016 ...but will now be playing in the county Intermedate A championship ! How do Bandon feel about this ? the won the Carbery and County junior championships to rightly get promoted to the Intermedate A level .....this week in politics we had " Halls Pictorial Weekly " ....Now its the Cork county boards turn ....we will be the laughing stock of the country again....

It's only for hurling IIRC.

Football too ...

didn't realise that, presume the likes of Ballincollig will take up the offer too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Rebel norrie

Blarney beat De AG today 1-18 to 0-19 in O Callaghan Cup.

Thats a surpise RN

Were they chasing the game or caught with a late goal.

i dont expect they will be happy about that although Blarney do have Coleman and McCarthy ! and a few other handy hurlers too - There was a Cremin Lad and Philpott ? are they still in school or gone?

Fair play to Blarney but yiunwould have to say AG woukd have been expected to win that one

I've seen it advertised that the county board convention wil be broadcast tomorrow on periscope. I've downloaded the app on my phone but not sure how to set it up to see the convention. Any help?