Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Lads, I've heard rumours of two amalgamations that are to happen, one in East Cork, one in West Cork. Anyone know if it's true or not? Don't want to mention the clubs in case it isn't true.
    would it make sense if i said one club to go hurling only and the other to go football only

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Frank Flannery new coach to the senior hurlers is a native of Carrigtwohill is this correct ?? is just today Paudie Palmer said on radio that he is a Tipperary man ?? can someone clarify please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭big_drive

Ya Frank is Carrigtwohill. Was playing when they won the intermediate county few years back. His brother Sean was one of the main players when they won the senior

big_drive wrote: »
    Ya Frank is Carrigtwohill. Was playing when they won the intermediate county few years back. His brother Sean was one of the main players when they won the senior

Thanks don't know what Paudie Palmer is on about ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    Thanks don't know what Paudie Palmer is on about ...

neither does paidi so don't worry about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

didn't he play underage on the Niall Mc/Mickey Da sides that won premier minor way back?

He did, around corner back I'd say. Was out around midfield in the intermediate county final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭N20

Frank Flannery new coach to the senior hurlers is a native of Carrigtwohill is this correct ?? is just today Paudie Palmer said on radio that he is a Tipperary man ?? can someone clarify please.

There is def a tipp connection - if he wasnt born there he has tipp parent/s

I doubt if Paidi would have said it otherwise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭Blue Magic

We need to have higher standards. Relegation forces teams to buck up or **** off basically & that's only right. Now my own club, for example, has been relegated from Senior twice in recent years so therefore when the two words (as Daly said) "no relegation" were mentioned what else were we gonna do?? It's a cop out! Newcestown won the county & obv they went with it. Who would blame them? Wonder did The Glen, Sars, Midleton, Erin's Own vote for this? It should be published on CCB website who voted for & who against... People have a right to know!

Again, my club could very well benefit in these new measures with our 2nd team being promoted to Intermediate lower level. Super for us & again delighted on personal selfish level. However, for the betterment of Cork Hurling this ain't going to do any good whatsoever. Our 2nd team is going to produce the next Seamus Harnedy, that is for certain!

What needs to happen is an independent committee of non-club reps & non-top table men be appointed & look at measures which will help the development of talent and Hurling & not keeping the mediocrity of the bottom half of Senior Hurling safe! Whether such an approach is realistic in the not too distant future is another story. I ain't holding my breath

Blue Magic wrote: »
    We need to have higher standards. Relegation forces teams to buck up or **** off basically & that's only right. Now my own club, for example, has been relegated from Senior twice in recent years so therefore when the two words (as Daly said) "no relegation" were mentioned what else were we gonna do?? It's a cop out! Newcestown won the county & obv they went with it. Who would blame them? Wonder did The Glen, Sars, Midleton, Erin's Own vote for this? It should be published on CCB website who voted for & who against... People have a right to know!

If you need to know who voted then ask your county board rep, if it was a show of hands he should be aware who voted.

Personally I think its a matter for each club to decide. I certainly don't see why it needs to be published on the CCB website.
    You said people have a right to know, well I don't think so. All people need to know is the final result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭Ogie16

Blue Magic wrote: »

It was published on the County Board website. The vote finished 101 to 22

I presume you don't actually mean a list of which clubs voted what way?

Since when is any type of vote published in that manner. Crazy suggestion!

A number of this years minors named in the Cork hurling development squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

A number of this years minors named in the Cork hurling development squad.

In principle I think this is a good idea IF the training/coaching is of the required standard for intercounty hurling and IF there is a structure and IF the players involved see some sort of benefit. However what does this say about our u21 set up? what impact does it have on the players training for this level?
    Additionally while we all know anecdotally that the funding for cork inter county squads is not of the same level of our rivals one would hope that this is done right, not like cuthberts farce of a 'development' squad in which some of the palyers listed never trained ONCE with the cork footballers..........another qst lads where is sean o Donoghue from inniscarra? played a few times with jbm, same as dayne lee is he listed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

So whats the deal with Midleton after today's result? Straight winner takes all with DLS?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

Orizio wrote: »
    So whats the deal with Midleton after today's result? Straight winner takes all with DLS?

Unless de la salle beat Ard Scoil
    Or unless de la sale draw a game
    I think

Good results for CBC Rochestown and colemans today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

Midleton falling for their own hype yet again. Do they ever learn down there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

Middleton look in big trouble. 1 pt behind Dls with game more played.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

But I can't see DLS beating ASR tomorrow. Which means the Midleton/DLS game will decide second in the group.
    I still expect Midleton to make the q/final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Think we can be pretty sure DLS will beat Midleton, who you can't rely on in high pressure situation. DLS beat Blackwater by 7 points as well.

But I can't see DLS beating ASR tomorrow. Which means the Midleton/DLS game will decide second in the group.
    I still expect Midleton to make the q/final.

ASR beat DLS handy

Leaves door open for Midleton if they turn up

According to match report they were down to 13 men for a finish against blackwater and O Leary Hayes out the next day (straight red ) I assume and he will be a loss. Should be a good game against DLS lets hope for better conditions than today.

Saw the Rochestown / Charleville game which was competitive first half Jack Barry impressing with 1-3 - a well worked goal - but free taker O Loughlin will rue those missed frees as they could have had a bigger margin at HT
    O Sullivan from Blackrock was very effective and Turnbull very clinical with Rochestown frees. They hit a bit of a purple patch second half anf Charleville heads dropped as they clocked up the scores - they let Charleville back into it last 5/10 mins, conceding a silly goal and in fairness to Charleville they fought to the end.

Seems to be a feature of Rochestowns game - slow starters and they drift a bit in games - need higher intensity and workrate if they are to progress.

CBC obviously have a lot of work done and must be gaining confidence every game- the O Callaghan Cup loss to AG clearly spurred them on further which is a sign of a good team. clearly last years campaign in B competition will have provided good experince for those eligible again this year and the new recruits have blended well and are contributing handsomely. Themselves and ASR only 2 unbeaten teams to date.

Colmans were fortunate to benefit from Kildangans ban on their players for Nenagh but again they stepped it up against Doon so worthy of their place and great to see them back competitive in Harty. Nenagh must be a serious proposition given they were able to turn it on and see off Thurles.

So with Rochestown Colmans and CBC, there are 3 Cork teams through, and hopefully a late run from midleton might make it 4, albeit with 3 teams second placed. Unfortunately CBC will draw another Cork team in q/f (assuming Midleton progress) but a local derby will stir up some good local rivalry and generate interest around this fantastic competition.

Midleton falling for their own hype yet again. Do they ever learn down there.

Hugely frustrating their level,of underachievement but hope springs eternal.

Have to say it cant be hype, at this stage the blame must rest firmly with the management of the recent Harty teams.

Its difficult to criticise volunteers but writing so clearly on wall last few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

N20 wrote: »

Colmans were fortunate to benefit from Kildangans ban on their players for Nenagh but again they stepped it up against Doon so worthy of their place and great to see them back competitive in Harty. Nenagh must be a serious proposition given they were able to turn it on and see off Thurles

Just to clarify, despite some inaccurate media reports Kildangan at no stage put a ban on their players playing against Colemans, the decision was left entirely up to the players themselves the goalkeeper made himself available and three others togged but weren't started under the circumstances.

The very fact that James Quigley, a county Minor this year, made a substitute appearance in the 2nd half should tell people that there was no ban, his older brother was the Kildangan minor manager!! Lazy journalism and idle gossip is all it was.

Interesting to see the Waterford Crystal cup has been replaced with a munster senior hurling league so Cork will have 4 games

tr">
    Interesting to see the Waterford Crystal cup has been replaced with a munster senior hurling league so Cork will have 4 games

I think that's a good move and no Colleges in the competition or the McGrath Cup ...those college players have enough on there plates with the Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cups
    Cork Intermidate hurling team to be an under 25 development squad very good news.

danganabu wrote: »
    Just to clarify, despite some inaccurate media reports Kildangan at no stage put a ban on their players playing against Colemans, the decision was left entirely up to the players themselves the goalkeeper made himself available and three others togged but weren't started under the circumstances.

The very fact that James Quigley, a county Minor this year, made a substitute appearance in the 2nd half should tell people that there was no ban, his older brother was the Kildangan minor manager!! Lazy journalism and idle gossip is all it was.

Apologies if I phrased that badly - that was my understanding

Difficult situation for all concerned but especially the lads themselves

Fair play to them for such a successful return

How do you rate their chances ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

N20 wrote: »
    Apologies if I phrased that badly - that was my understanding

Difficult situation for all concerned but especially the lads themselves

Fair play to them for such a successful return

How do you rate their chances ?

No probs Im a bit touchy on the subject, a lot of mud being thrown at our club by people with other agendas or lack of info!

Some of the lads were gutted especially the ones in their last year Harty, the 9 players themselves met the night before the Colmans game, without either management team and came to their decision.

There are 9 Kildangan lads on the panel, 8 were involved against Thurles so I would be most familiar with them, Jake Morris from Nenagh is a real star as well, both Jerome Cahill and Ruadhan Mulrooney are very strong as well. 4 of ours are part of the Tipp minor panel, 1 is over age and 3 are on the county u-16, its a pretty strong team.

A lot of people thought because its so heavy loaded with Kildangan players it cant be that strong, but in a way it seems to help that they are so familiar with each other and it has certainly helped the team spirit.

Today in Dublin 20 young GAA players were up for AFL trails they include Pat Spillanes son Pat and Ciaran Cormack I think its the dual Blackrock/Rochestown player.

tr">

I think that's a good move and no Colleges in the competition or the McGrath Cup ...those college players have enough on there plates with the Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cups
    Cork Intermidate hurling team to be an under 25 development squad very good news.

I agree good post

Today in Dublin 20 young GAA players were up for AFL trails they include Pat Spillanes son Pat and Ciaran Cormack I think its the dual Blackrock/Rochestown player.

Suprised at that
    Cormack more of a hurler than-footballe
    Big lad tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Bantry beaten in the Junior ladies football All Ireland final

best of luck to Mourneabbey tomorrow, deferred coverage on TG4.