Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Milked out wrote: »
    No not going, seems to be a good number of dairy stock on done deal dunno if that's normal for time of year or if milk price has lads changing tack a bit? I spose it Could be that lads may have had planned to have stock for sale with quota gone, would be a way of using outside blocks and that.
    You buying a few replacements or upping numbers legwax? How.d your first year back in milk go?

going up in numbers bringing in 24 new heifers if the price is right i have 10 bought so far, it went great all bills cleared and spent a few euro, i could not do it out of suckling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

leg wax wrote: »
    going up in numbers bringing in 24 new heifers if the price is right i have 10 bought so far, it went great all bills cleared and spent a few euro, i could not do it out of suckling.

Great to here. Even with last yr being a good mp yr we still carried bills into this yr.
    All cleared now.

Amazing what a few extra cows can do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

ellewood wrote: »
    You must have needed it as well tho when ya went looking for it!!!

Ha the exact same here have loan of 1 (could have done with 2 but didn't want to be too cheeky so bockety ring feeder as well) will be finished building work by weekend so will wash it and drop it back to him Tbf he didn't need it and there's never any bother with him - it will actually go back to him better than I got it cause there was a bar rotten out of it and I cut it out and put a whole new 1 back in...

I've some Santy stuff left in his shed and no doubt in the way. It's there since September, I'd be more worried about him returning that than the feeders tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

BG2.0 wrote: »

Pretty much the same as Allan Savory's message in his Ted talk.

http://youtu.be/vpTHi7O66pI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Much the same, how to match the theory to suit us is the question(arable but leading towards grassland in my case). Have just under 20% of farm atm let for grazing, but when you literally have one of the worlds largest tractors(have extra contracting work on ad maize ground to pay for it over winter when otherwise would be parked up) struggling in places on the heavy clay that's been tilled since the war years struggling with the same equipment something a machine with 1/3 less power 10 years ago could use(all the support machinery like combine trailers etc were much lighter) you wonder do you need rehab.

I saw a pic you posted lately...joined the quaddy crew? :)
    I fall victim to the same complaint...more hp, diesel and steel!

A few years back, when I came here, I was parachuted into the middle of cover cropping and feeding the soil as a living organism. Frederic Thomas was mentioned in the video you posted...I have to say he is changing my outlook completely on soil.
    For me the whole research can be broken into two.
    A. Use of cover crops to enrich the soil.
    B. Soil structure and organic matter.

I won't go into more detail because most good grassland farmers are very aware of the importance of OM and soil structure. However it will take some tightening of nitrates before they embrace multi- cropping in swards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 950 ✭✭✭ellewood

I've some Santy stuff left in his shed and no doubt in the way. It's there since September, I'd be more worried about him returning that than the feeders tbh

Ahh he can save ya a job on christmas eve and load up the 2 feeders with the santy stuff and bring the whole lot back over together:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,797 ✭✭✭stanflt

Put too much baled silage in the auld hi spec mixer this am- I'm fairly warm and awake now

stanflt wrote: »
    Put too much baled silage in the auld hi spec mixer this am- I'm fairly warm and awake now

Lol.
    Is a paddle jobby like the Keenan?

In fairness to my yoke you can fire in bales any way you like, not a bother once you have enough ponies up front.

Dawggone wrote: »
    Lol.
    Is a paddle jobby like the Keenan?

In fairness to my yoke you can fire in bales any way you like, not a bother once you have enough ponies up front.

Yeah she's a paddle- great machine but if I got me hands on the nut behind the wheel!!!!!!

Lmao!!

That all important 'nut' behind the wheel wouldn't be yourself by any chance? :)

Lmao!!

That all important 'nut' behind the wheel wouldn't be yourself by any chance? :)

Unfortunately it was😀

Lmao!!

Last summer it was over 35* and a pebble got stuck in the unloading chain, the lad that was operating had about 8 or 9 ton forked out by hand when I came along. I gave it one belt of a hammer and off it went!
    The look on his face was priceless.

Lmao!!

Last summer it was over 35* and a pebble got stuck in the unloading chain, the lad that was operating had about 8 or 9 ton forked out by hand when I came along. I gave it one belt of a hammer and off it went!

I was that lazy this morning and I didn't want to fork so I just went through 4 shear bolts

The relief when she takes off

I was that lazy this morning and I didn't want to fork so I just went through 4 shear bolts

Might be worth having some 12.9 shear bolts in stock...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Pretty much the same as Allan Savory's message in his Ted talk.

http://youtu.be/vpTHi7O66pI

This lads Nuffield looks interesting too
    https://andyhowardnuffield15.wordpress.com/

Might be worth having some 12.9 shear bolts in stock...

I value my chains too much!!

God above...chains. Chains don't belong on a feeder!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Lmao!!

Brilliant

You are some bollix, could you not have rooted with a few spammers first and not make a complete tool out of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

Stick pto in ground drive and reverse up a bit slackening off the chain .give yourself a run at it anyway:)

How big mixer and how many high dm bales do you fit.

Futile excercise putting even 2 in our keenan 100 .
    Poor mix and painfully slow emptying

Brilliant

You are some bollix, could you not have rooted with a few spammers first and not make a complete tool out of him.

It never crossed my mind!
    I have huge respect for this lad as he would never ring me when in bother. That was one time that he should have rang me though...the state of him in that heat.

Stick pto in ground drive and reverse up a bit slackening off the chain .give yourself a run at it anyway:)

How big mixer and how many high dm bales do you fit.

Futile excercise putting even 2 in our keenan 100 .
    Poor mix and painfully slow emptying

Never thought of the ground drive pto
    It's a mix max 10 holds about 5.5ton when really really full

Put 3 bales in it this am- around 3 ton of silage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭visatorro

stanflt wrote:

as long as the cards didn't go too late last night!!!
    young ones here have flu so had a difficult night, am so tired I'm afraid to put on the feeder after reading that!

visatorro wrote: »
    as long as the cards didn't go too late last night!!!
    young ones here have flu so had a difficult night, am so tired I'm afraid to put on the feeder after reading that!

Wasn't home till 2 but at least I wasn't drinking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭BG2.0

I saw a pic you posted lately...joined the quaddy crew? :)
    I fall victim to the same complaint...more hp, diesel and steel!

A few years back, when I came here, I was parachuted into the middle of cover cropping and feeding the soil as a living organism. Frederic Thomas was mentioned in the video you posted...I have to say he is changing my outlook completely on soil.
    For me the whole research can be broken into two.
    A. Use of cover crops to enrich the soil.
    B. Soil structure and organic matter.

I won't go into more detail because most good grassland farmers are very aware of the importance of OM and soil structure. However it will take some tightening of nitrates before they embrace multi- cropping in swards.
    Just before i get ran out with SPRONGS and Hay FORKS, just to reply to above. Always been in that club jut looked for a way to extend the membership until 2025 when the target is to send them away. Half the farm is/ going to DD so splitting into 2 complete seperate units but as its mostly off farm have put in holding sheds on farm where in future 1 trailer maybe 2 in wheat can keep 2 combines bus and just use trucks to do the road work as at present need atleast 4 50k machines to keep combine rolling when cutting there. As cant find anything to work on heavy clays, will have over 20% in grass getting to 25% in time, but its a sticky plaster for BG also as much as anything but not a longterm cure. That might be a wide strip til with mostly spring cropping and the issues that brings.
    Have a weaving bigdisc bought secondhand for not much money but have lots of modding and refurb work, asked for quotes on some machines as not as hung up on the drill as some DDers. The kiwi one in 6m was literally 10x times the price and will increase yield buy 20%! apparently. Just working in how to get a fert delivery system to work with a larger rear drawn seed/fert/applicator cart if to go soid blends easier but more expensive vs home melting more time consuming/risky/less logistics friendly but much cheaper. I think thats been answered. some guys go mad on these things, pimp my drill to the max!.
    Have work with local contractor essentially to by the second quad, he didnt want to spend money on machinery he'd need for short time. Have little done but 2 weeks in Jan would see all done with both going, have about 40% of area subsoiled post harvest. Got the old plough out for headlands work as big one is useless at them, bit of power harrowing be it him or us doing that. For Ad maize btw.
    Some from FB/others are about 5 years old.!
    It is maddness on the surface still to have them but as going running the farm split in half, i remember from time working in college with guy with alot of sheep and sucklers on high ground you just get dragged in so many directions everything becomes a compromise when time pressure is there bit like with dairy cows for you in July/August and the harvest, but i don't like to compromise. Where as one of the lads nipped off with the 7530 and over a week had drilled the outside block of wheat and my friends in exchange for his overly pimped drill(4m 750a) which we did a refurb on vs payment/hire so everyone was happy as used it to do drilling on that ground until get our baby sorted + he lets us use his carrier-cross cutter on the same agreement.
    (Power harrowing out a 'ropey' pollen mix the drill didnt like to replant earlier in year btw)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

leg wax wrote: »
    ah shusssh,you re ment to keep it secret :P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Great to here. Even with last yr being a good mp yr we still carried bills into this yr.
    All cleared now.

Amazing what a few extra cows can do

I was thinking about this post gg and not knowing your exact situation but believing it is similar enough to where I was back in the day. I'd be advising you to make sure the next twenty are yours. Life is moving on and you need to ensure you're getting a decent salary. You don't need the average ind wage esp while you're still living at home but you need to be able to put some of your own cash aside. Probably my only regret from my time at home before I moved out.

Just before i get ran out with SPRONGS and Hay FORKS, just to reply to above. Always been in that club jut looked for a way to extend the membership until 2025 when the target is to send them away. Half the farm is/ going to DD so splitting into 2 complete seperate units but as its mostly off farm have put in holding sheds on farm where in future 1 trailer maybe 2 in wheat can keep 2 combines bus and just use trucks to do the road work as at present need atleast 4 50k machines to keep combine rolling when cutting there. As cant find anything to work on heavy clays, will have over 20% in grass getting to 25% in time, but its a sticky plaster for BG also as much as anything but not a longterm cure. That might be a wide strip til with mostly spring cropping and the issues that brings.
    Have a weaving bigdisc bought secondhand for not much money but have lots of modding and refurb work, asked for quotes on some machines as not as hung up on the drill as some DDers. The kiwi one in 6m was literally 10x times the price and will increase yield buy 20%! apparently. Just working in how to get a fert delivery system to work with a larger rear drawn seed/fert/applicator cart if to go soid blends easier but more expensive vs home melting more time consuming/risky/less logistics friendly but much cheaper. I think thats been answered. some guys go mad on these things, pimp my drill to the max!.
    Have work with local contractor essentially to by the second quad, he didnt want to spend money on machinery he'd need for short time. Have little done but 2 weeks in Jan would see all done with both going, have about 40% of area subsoiled post harvest. Got the old plough out for headlands work as big one is useless at them, bit of power harrowing be it him or us doing that. For Ad maize btw.
    Some from FB/others are about 5 years old.!
    It is maddness on the surface still to have them but as going running the farm split in half, i remember from time working in college with guy with alot of sheep and sucklers on high ground you just get dragged in so many directions everything becomes a compromise when time pressure is there bit like with dairy cows for you in July/August and the harvest, but i don't like to compromise. Where as one of the lads nipped off with the 7530 and over a week had drilled the outside block of wheat and my friends in exchange for his overly pimped drill(4m 750a) which we did a refurb on vs payment/hire so everyone was happy as used it to do drilling on that ground until get our baby sorted + he lets us use his carrier-cross cutter on the same agreement.
    (Power harrowing out a 'ropey' pollen mix the drill didnt like to replant earlier in year btw)

@Mods. Any chance of making a separate thread with this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

@Mods. Any chance of making a separate thread with this?

Wha....on Sprongs and Hay Forks? :D

Kovu wrote: »
    Wha....on Sprongs and Hay Forks? :D

Lol!

BG2.0 may be ahead of the curve but it's well worth a thread of its own...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Lol!

BG2.0 may be ahead of the curve but it's well worth a thread of its own...

I've no problem copying it to a new thread of it's own. I just don't know what to call it......BG2.0's Ramblings? BG2.0's DD's? :D

Give me a title BG!