Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Was in the new civic a few weeks back, lovely interior. Was a 1.6 120 brake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I drove one back when they came out and really liked it. But having owned the previous one now I can't help feeling it's like a bad cover version. As a design it's not nearly as cohesive as the original. The side skirts/door sills are ridiculous looking, it sits too high, the boot lip is way higher, you wallop your knee off the corner of the dash when you're getting in, even though it's got lovely plastics the dash has no character, I didn't notice any of this till I went looking at one a few months ago.
    It's a car I'd recommend but would probably never buy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

This week has started off wonderfully :(
    Big fecking rock on the road!

368711.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Ooooooh, scheisse! Nothing more annoying than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

YbFocus wrote: »
    This week has started off wonderfully :(
    Big fecking rock on the road!
    Oh FFS those are only on the car a fee weeks aren't they? :(
    Are they soft wheels or was it just a big impact?

Yep i got 8 weeks out of them!

They are a very strong genuine wheel but the impact was bad and it just caught the rim so hadnt the tyre to protect it!

The disappointment levels are high!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Aww balls that poor wheel :(

Weld it up and use as a spare ?

Aww balls that poor wheel :(

Weld it up and use as a spare ?

I only have 4 :( it's a 10j wide borbet so finding someone selling one will be impossible I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I only have 4 :( it's a 10j wide borbet so finding someone selling one will be impossible I'd say.

I'd try Wheel Wizards, if anyone can sort it, it's them.

Or atleast get their opinion. Alot of powercoating/refurb places wont spray a badly welded wheel.

That's sickening :(

Hope someone can sort if for you!

Thanks FN I'll take a look tonight and give them a bell with details tomorrow.
    If it's not repairable i don't know what I'll do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Or atleast get their opinion. Alot of powercoating/refurb places wont spray a badly welded wheel.

Wheel Wizards do all the welding and repairs themselves.

You know the world is mad when you get a €60 refund swapping insurance from a 169bhp 520i to a 340bhp S4.

Not complaining mind

You know the world is mad when you get a €60 refund swapping insurance from a 169bhp 520i to a 340bhp S4.

Not complaining mind
    It will cover fuel for about 10 miles :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

The amount of gob****es that went out in front of me this morning was mental! Out of side roads, petrol stations etc. Like they stop, wait for a few seconds and then decide to move out infront of you at the last second. Don't know how I managed not to hit into the back of one car. So frustrating!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

The amount of gob****es that went out in front of me this morning was mental! Out of side roads, petrol stations etc. Like they stop, wait for a few seconds and then decide to move out infront of you at the last second. Don't know how I managed not to hit into the back of one car. So frustrating!

I've had 2 days of that,yesterday a moron looked me straight in the eye while I was on a roundabout,slowed up and then drove out in front of me.

This morning another who was on the phone drove through a stop sign and out in front of me.Enniscorthy has all kinds of special drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

To cheer me up after the usual Enniscorthy driving lottery here's a couple of funny pics.
    Should the first one be in the detailing threads?

stupid-or-genius-14.jpg

stupid-or-genius-17.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

What do people think of the seat exeo just curious. I have to say they are one of my favourite saloon cars of that era 2010 ish. You never see them though. I know they are basically a b7 a4 but that's not necessarily a bad thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,552 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

On paper they're great. Newer CR engines, good handy size. Nice interior, Loads of them have good spec. In reality though the bits they've changed on the body are a dogs dinner. The lights and bumpers are a big mess. As much as you'll tell yourself it's an A4, it's still wonky looking.
    The estate isn't as bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

France here we come :)

colm_mcm wrote: »
    On paper they're great. Newer CR engines, good handy size. Nice interior, Loads of them have good spec. In reality though the bits they've changed on the body are a dogs dinner. The lights and bumpers are a big mess. As much as you'll tell yourself it's an A4, it's still wonky looking.
    The estate isn't as bad.

Ye I think the back looks well I like the lights and the interior is good seems well built again basically a4 interior. Front is love or hate I suppose I like it but can see why you wouldn't. Still if you went to find a clean Irish one in the morning you'd struggle but with a 143 bhp engine with a decent spec would be a nice car I'd imagine you'd pick them up handy in the uk ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Going to ring around and see if anyone wants to take on the 520i on a classic policy, looking forward to getting laughed down the phone :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,303 ✭✭✭kirving

bear1 wrote: »

I'm thinking an old Renault Espace. 7 of us in it, 3-400 each, and only care that it lasts the couple of weeks. Ridiculous plan??

Provided one of your friends that your bringing is an auto Electricien and an other is a mechanic I can't see an issue :)

I'm literally slagging myself with that one :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

You're spending too much money on it! In my experience of buying cars like that it's more fun to set your expectations lower.:D

More eventful and that makes all the fun:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

bear1 wrote: »

ole ole ole ole :D:D:D:D fubbing delighted :D

So apparently my car has DRLs fitted, wired up, etc. but as they're not mandatory in Ireland they're sold as an optional extra.

I rang Citroen about getting them activated, expecting a nonsense price, and instead was told that 'it should be a straight-forward activation' and would cost, at most, about €50, but perhaps less if it's as quick and easy as they think it'll be (yer man said he hadn't done it before, but googled around and read up on it before ringing me back about it).

My only issue is.. I can't tell if my DRLs have bulbs fitted or not :confused: It's a bit tough to see through the glass!? and apparently they're a whole unit, so it they activate them, but there's no bulbs.. i'm either after throwing cash down the drain, or im in for a much heftier bill to get the DLR units changed?

However, i know that a something people on here tend to do (I think?) is swap out 'normal' DRLs for LED versions. Does anyone know if this is easy or difficult, or expensive? Mine's a Citroen C5 2009, but i presume the process is similar on most cars (could well be wrong)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

So apparently my car has DRLs fitted, wired up, etc. but as they're not mandatory in Ireland they're sold as an optional extra.

I rang Citroen about getting them activated, expecting a nonsense price, and instead was told that 'it should be a straight-forward activation' and would cost, at most, about €50, but perhaps less if it's as quick and easy as they think it'll be (yer man said he hadn't done it before, but googled around and read up on it before ringing me back about it).

My only issue is.. I can't tell if my DRLs have bulbs fitted or not :confused: It's a bit tough to see through the glass!? and apparently they're a whole unit, so it they activate them, but there's no bulbs.. i'm either after throwing cash down the drain, or im in for a much heftier bill to get the DLR units changed?

However, i know that a something people on here tend to do (I think?) is swap out 'normal' DRLs for LED versions. Does anyone know if this is easy or difficult, or expensive? Mine's a Citroen C5 2009, but i presume the process is similar on most cars (could well be wrong)?

If there are DRLs there will be a marking as part of the approval mark that will be like this:

K

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    If there are DRLs there will be a marking as part of the approval mark that will be like this:

K

Where do you reckon this will be? (on the plastic on the lights?)

The space for them is definitely there (its just part of the cars design), and I can see a hole where the bulb would be fitted through, but I just can't tell if there's actually a bulb there or not.

Here's my car:

http://s24.postimg.org/muh1ut4l1/IMG_3208_2small.jpg

and here's one on Donedeal with the DRLs turned on:

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/citroen-c5-sat-nav/9241396

(incidentally, i test drove that one on donedeal; and it was in great shape, but the mileage is a horrible lie, it's actually about 280km I think? Delighted to see he hasn't been able to sell it!)