Garda hits man with baton NAMA

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

doolox wrote: »
    Violence has been tried by our State since its foundation and has not worked with any of the groups it has been tried out on. This incident could have ended up with riots on the streets more guards kicked and beaten etc all for the actions of one man.

100 percent agree.

If the bloke had just given the guard his name then this probably could have been avoided.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Might be an idea if you watch it again, keeping an eye on the man that was hit. After he fell, he was up to something behind the Garda, leading to the Garda to use his baton.

Yeah, he was trying to regain his balance after being pushed not once, but twice by the same Garda and as he was doing so, then appeared to have said something to the man / detective holding him, as he also starts looking at the ground. Neither have their attention on the Garda at all. That is quite clear. First the man was a notebook thief and now he has a penchant for molesting Gardai from behind. Ye have some imagination :P

Cienciano wrote: »
    Garda made a complete bollocks of this situation and did exactly what the crowd wanted him to do.

That's pretty much it. Or at least as much as can be gauged from the video. The crowd wanted a reaction, they got one, we don't know if the person who was struck did anything wrong, it looks like he laid into the wrong guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Hemerodrome

Avada wrote: »
    They are legally oblidged to investigate any complaints made by a member of the public to them.

No they're not, many complaints are made that are never investigated and not all investigations come from complaints, they can be opened in the public interest without a complaint or they can be opened on foot of a Garda referral.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Yeah, he was trying to regain his balance after being pushed not once, but twice by the same Garda and as he was doing so, then appeared to have said something to the man / detective holding him, as he also starts looking at the ground. Neither have their attention on the Garda at all. That is quite clear. First the man was a notebook thief and now he has a penchant for molesting Gardai from behind. Ye have some imagination :P

I've noticed you've mentioned that the chap who was hit didn't try to take the notebook from the Garda. He did.
    In the video, before the Garda stands up straight and puts the notebook away and takes out the baton, what prompted this was the attempt to take the notebook.
    You can see a tangle of arms the notebook moving from the lads hand back to the Gard's hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

JustTheOne wrote: »
    Oh would you give over. You just want a rant about the government.

Were talking about the actions of the protestors and the gards here.

The gards were needed as once again these peaceful protestors disrupted a legal gathering with shoving shouting and all their other tripe.

If you want a government rant there is threads in the politics cafe.

Leave the moderating to the moderators, thanks.
    While I also have little time for some of these protestors (troublemakers obviously looking to create a scene), I do have an issue with our police force being used in this way.
    We don't protest enough in this country. That's partly why we have such a poor health service, an inefficient public service, awful public transport, corrupt banks and a useless political system.
    We are far too passive. Ah sure, it'll be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I've noticed you've mentioned that the chap who was hit didn't try to take the notebook from the Garda. He did.
    In the video, before the Garda stands up straight and puts the notebook away and takes out the baton, what prompted this was the attempt to take the notebook.

Sorry Boom, but that is just not true. Not even remotely.
    You can see a tangle of arms the notebook moving from the lads hand back to the Gard's hand.

First of all, the tangle of arms is because the Garda (at 3m27secs into the video below) decides to push the woman and man away from him (which I can understand and somewhat feel was justified) which results in the woman falling backwards onto the floor. As she is falling she grabs the man's left arm to try and prevent herself falling and he in turn grabs the Garda's left arm. All instinctive stuff which couldn't possibly have any forethought of malice. You claim, as do others, that at this point the man has somehow managed to get hold of the notebook and it is then removed from the man's hand by the Garda.. and that, with all due respect, is total and utter rubbish.

Here's the video again. Watch it from 3m27secs at 720p if you can:

As some people clearly are not watching this video in the manner in which it should be watched (ie: closely) I have screencapped it point by point so this nonsense can be put to rest.

What you will see is that the Garda is initially holding his notebook in his right hand. He then pushes the man and woman with his left hand / arm resulting in the old man interlocking it to prevent himself from falling. The Garda then briefly places the notebook in his left hand, steadies himself and then pushes the man again with that arm. At this point you can see that other man (Garda?) seems to tell him to stop pushing. The Garda then takes the notebook back out of HIS OWN LEFT HAND and places it back in his right hand and yet again shoves him. The other man (/Garda) can then be seen listening to the old man and both of them turn their attention towards the ground. The rest we know. Here are those screencaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭johann johannson

I can tell you exactly what happened.

The first guy at the start was arrested. As he was doing so, he was dragged to the ground by the gardai.

This is where the elderly man comes in. He was trying to help the arrested person to his feet. In doing so, garda wx152 calmly placed his pen and notepad into his pocket, slyly removed and extended his baton, striking the man across his left leg, just above his knee. The man was holding his knee, crouched over when the second blow came in across the back of his neck and shoulders, knocking him out.

I can personally verify the injuries, the strikes and this man's personality because he is my father.

For those in any doubt, check the other video going around, the one from the other angle, that shows exactly what I described. He could have very easily killed him with that second blow.

For anyone that was there, can you please get in touch with me, I need all the photos and videos I can get, not to mention statements.

Thanks. And please don't be like the rest of the mindless morons on social media saying that a cops are like this or my father wasn't hit hard enough. It's simply one elderly man, viciously assaulted by one thug who unfortunately will drag down and damage the reputation of an garda siochana. He's not fit to wear the uniform.

WX152, Ronan, I hope you're on this, and I hope you read my words. My words cannot justify the anger, sadness and deep overwhelming rage I feel everytime I see a replay of what you done to my father. I only hope GSOC does the honorable and right thing and expels you from the force. You are a thug, a bully and a coward, an embarrassment to your family and an garda siochana. I hope you're proud.

Em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

You can tell us exactly what you say happened.

endacl wrote: »

I'm not forcing my view on anyone. I've seen the videos, I've seen the injuries and I know the person involved.

Stop speculating and just watch both videos.

I won't be commenting anymore.

If anyone here was there, please get in touch with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

Sorry Boom, but that is just not true. Not even remotely.

First of all, the tangle of arms is because the Garda (at 3m27secs into the video below) decides to push the woman and man away from him (which I can understand and somewhat feel was justified) which results in the woman falling backwards onto the floor. As she is falling she grabs the man's left arm to try and prevent herself falling and he in turn grabs the Garda's left arm. All instinctive stuff which couldn't possibly have any forethought of malice. You claim, as do others, that at this point the man has somehow managed to get hold of the notebook and it is then removed from the man's hand by the Garda.. and that, with all due respect, is total and utter rubbish.

Here's the video again. Watch it from 3m27secs at 720p if you can:

As some people clearly are not watching this video in the manner in which it should be watched (ie: closely) I have screencapped it point by point so this nonsense can be put to rest.

What you will see is that the Garda is initially holding his notebook in his right hand. He then pushes the man and woman with his left hand / arm resulting in the old man interlocking it to prevent himself from falling. The Garda then briefly places the notebook in his left hand, steadies himself and then pushes the man again with that arm. At this point you can see that other man (Garda?) seems to tell him to stop pushing. The Garda then takes the notebook back out of HIS OWN LEFT HAND and places it back in his right hand and yet again shoves hi again. The other man (Garda?) can then be seen listening to the old man and both of them turn their attention towards the ground. The rest we know. Here are those screencaps.

Excellent to have some people looking at the video and making senses and not making up stories to suit their adgenda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

LorMal wrote: »
    Leave the moderating to the moderators, thanks.

Irony

The first guy at the start was arrested. As he was doing so, he was dragged to the ground by the gardai.

This is where the elderly man comes in. He was trying to help the arrested person to his feet. In doing so, garda wx152 calmly placed his pen and notepad into his pocket, slyly removed and extended his baton, striking the man across his left leg, just above his knee. The man was holding his knee, crouched over when the second blow came in across the back of his neck and shoulders, knocking him out.

I can personally verify the injuries, the strikes and this man's personality because he is my father.

For those in any doubt, check the other video going around, the one from the other angle, that shows exactly what I described. He could have very easily killed him with that second blow.

For anyone that was there, can you please get in touch with me, I need all the photos and videos I can get, not to mention statements.

Thanks. And please don't be like the rest of the mindless morons on social media saying that a cops are like this or my father wasn't hit hard enough. It's simply one elderly man, viciously assaulted by one thug who unfortunately will drag down and damage the reputation of an garda siochana. He's not fit to wear the uniform.

WX152, Ronan, I hope you're on this, and I hope you read my words. My words cannot justify the anger, sadness and deep overwhelming rage I feel everytime I see a replay of what you done to my father. I only hope GSOC does the honorable and right thing and expels you from the force. You are a thug, a bully and a coward, an embarrassment to your family and an garda siochana. I hope you're proud.

Em.

So he was trying to interfere with the arrested person. Thanks for clarifying. That justifies the use of force.

EDIT: Also, I'd be fairly certain that the only people that will be prosecuted out of this event will be the guy who was arrested and the people posting death threats and personal info about the Garda online.

endacl wrote: »

I'm not forcing my view on anyone. I've seen the videos, I've seen the injuries and I know the person involved.

Stop speculating and just watch both videos.

I won't be commenting anymore.

If anyone here was there, please get in touch with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

smash wrote: »
    Why don't you watch the full video then?

I don't agree with the use of a baton, but the Gardai were being crowded and pushed around. Just because people shout "peaceful protest" it doesn't make it so.

OK then. So if a garda pushes you ............ you are allowed to hit him with impunity?
    This cop acted in a bully-boy manner. Let's see if he gets promoted like Corcoran did after the Dame St debacle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Sun King

Em.

Why was he trying to help anyone to their feet? Was he chanting peaceful protest while he was obstructing Gardai?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

Gardai have a very difficult job. My thanks and sympathies to them, I couldn't do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Dam masons got knocked the fcuk down!

Em.

Um, I can see a Garda somewhere taking this, the references to "anger", "deep rage" being labelled a "thug"...and using it in his defence.

Don't think this was clever, if you are the son of the party who was struck. A judge may well wonder why you felt the need to try and score points on anonymous forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

Em.

i suppose HE COULD HAVE TOLD you thats what happened allright
    if my father had gone around behaving like that i would be having a serious word with him about copping the fcuk 0n and i certainly would not be on her or anywhere else gloating about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

Did yer oul fella have a few drinks before getting involved?
    You often see it in town when the Garai are trying to make an arrest and everyone and their brother has to stick their oar in (especially if there's been drink taken )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

i suppose HE COULD HAVE TOLD you thats what happened allright
    if my father had gone around behaving like that i would be having a serious word with him about copping the fcuk 0n and i certainly would not be on her or anywhere else gloating about it

I'm not sure why people are disbelieving the story but believing the relationship. He's admitted his father tried to interfere with an arrest and got struck as a result. He's angry that his father was hit but who wouldn't be?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Busted Flat. View Post
    It's the plain close Garda's hand that is on the man's arm before he was hit and the detective reacted angrily to his colleague's actions.

Let me correct the post. The tall detective (plain clothes) on the right side of the Garda with the baton has his right hand on the arm of the old man that is about to be struck with the baton. Look at the detective's (plain clothes) reaction to his colleagues actions. He pushes the baton-wielding Garda back with his right hand, look at his facial expression.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/3O3JK7BmXexnyI_P15ERbeVAtHXOi8GbxmCPs28hfladqQPXlnWoNV91nrCDAxj7aB3L=s160

you misunderstand

why do you thing that the person beside the fella who tries to seal the gardas notebook is a plainclothes garda ?

Em.

why dont you go down to gorey garda station then (dont forget your camera btw )instead of trying to terrorize the gardas wife and children ?

id say your a real fathers son , im sure you can work out what that means

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

mynamejeff wrote: »
    why dont you go down to gorey garda station then (dont forget your Samara btw )instead of trying to terrorize the gardas wife and children ?

How is he trying to terrorise the garda's wife and children?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

I'm not sure why people are disbelieving the story but believing the relationship. He's admitted his father tried to interfere with an arrest and got struck as a result. He's angry that his father was hit but who wouldn't be?

im not questioning his relationship with his father at all , i stated what i would have done if i saw that video and it was my father , also i have no doubt either he is annoyed his father got a clatter but he is blaming the wrong person

pablo128 wrote: »
    How is he trying to terrorise the garda's wife and children?

not sure if mods want me to post the various requests for the mans address of his family , or the threats to shoot him or kill his family

Like i said im sure that man is easy to find theres only a few gardai in gorey why not go there if he thinks he has an issue .....

why dont you go down to gorey garda station then (dont forget your Samara btw )instead of trying to terrorize the gardas wife and children ?

Terrorize? How the hell have I tried to terrorize the family? I have looked for justice for what happened. I did not, will not or would not request harm to anyone. And as far as I am concerned, the only way justice will be done is through the courts.

I hope all of you would climb down from your high horses and try have some perspective from my and my family's point of view. Our father was assaulted. Irregardless of the situation, he was assaulted. If any of you bother to examine both videos, still by still, you can clearly see there was 3 strikes of the baton. How can anyone say that is justified?

You all make assumptions, 'he was taking his notepad', 'he was interfering with him' etc etc all that because the majority of the crowd were shouting and jostling. I could very easily say the same that all gardai are like this, They are not. It was one individual who struck out at my father, not the force.

wexandproud, I fail to see how am I blaming the wrong person? From what I see, Garda WX152 turned around, cool and calm, and struck my father 3 times with the baton, after putting the magical stolen notepad (that exchanged hands 17 times was it? ) into his top pocket. He didn't even warn that the baton was going to be used. This was after shoving and pushing him around. Where else can blame be attributed here? For him standing up for his beliefs? For him protesting against NAMA? For protesting against the quick fire, cheap sale of Wexford homes?

Little CuChulainn, don't put words in my mouth. I watched the videos, numerous times, still by still, analysed them and then provided my feedback, of which I'm allowed to do, I haven't admitted anything.

And, to add further, just because I know person involved, doesn't mean I don't have a right to have an opinion on the matter. In my opinion, that man is a thug for what he done, which is far less worse than what some of you on here have called my father.

Again, if anyone was there, please make contact with me.

not sure if mods want me to post the various requests for the mans address of his family , or the threats to shoot him or kill his family

Like i said im sure that man is easy to find theres only a few gardai in gorey why not go there if he thinks he has an issue .....

Good for you. I never once requested the man's address. I never requested harm be done to him. And I certainly never requested his family be brought into this.

I don't condone violence or threats in any way, shape or form.

So please, don't associate me with what other people have posted.Only I can speak for myself.

Could you put up a link to the second video? Might help clarify things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Terrorize? How the hell have I tried to terrorize the family? I have looked for justice for what happened. I did not, will not or would not request harm to anyone. And as far as I am concerned, the only way justice will be done is through the courts.

I hope all of you would climb down from your high horses and try have some perspective from my and my family's point of view. Our father was assaulted. Irregardless of the situation, he was assaulted. If any of you bother to examine both videos, still by still, you can clearly see there was 3 strikes of the baton. How can anyone say that is justified?

You all make assumptions, 'he was taking his notepad', 'he was interfering with him' etc etc all that because the majority of the crowd were shouting and jostling. I could very easily say the same that all gardai are like this, They are not. It was one individual who struck out at my father, not the force.

wexandproud, I fail to see how am I blaming the wrong person? From what I see, Garda WX152 turned around, cool and calm, and struck my father 3 times with the baton, after putting the magical stolen notepad (that exchanged hands 17 times was it? ) into his top pocket. He didn't even warn that the baton was going to be used. This was after shoving and pushing him around. Where else can blame be attributed here? For him standing up for his beliefs? For him protesting against NAMA? For protesting against the quick fire, cheap sale of Wexford homes?

Little CuChulainn, don't put words in my mouth. I watched the videos, numerous times, still by still, analysed them and then provided my feedback, of which I'm allowed to do, I haven't admitted anything.

And, to add further, just because I know person involved, doesn't mean I don't have a right to have an opinion on the matter. In my opinion, that man is a thug for what he done, which is far less worse than what some of you on here have called my father.

Again, if anyone was there, please make contact with me.

Thought you said 6 hours ago you wouldn't be posting here again?