Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda hits man with baton NAMA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭_davidsmith_

http://www.joe.ie/news/video-garda-produces-baton-and-strikes-elderly-man-at-nama-protest-in-gorey/519357

This shows a garda extending his baton and hitting a man in the neck with some amount of force. The man is clearly seen with his hands by his sides.

Im not a garda hater, far from it, but this at least looks disgraceful. Im sure there is a full story, but on the face of it it is textbook assualt with a weapon.

So post is asking

What do you make of the video?

Will there be ramifications?

What could possibly happen to the guard if he is found to be offside here?

Will it be swept under the carpet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,413 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

What does this have to do with NAMA? Although in fairness a bit more tough love like that in Dublin on a given night might sort some issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Where's my NAMA?

Remember that line?

NAMAs posterboy

These videos tend to only show one side of the story and are often uploaded to fuel a specific belief. You don't know what happened before the filming began.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Vietnama.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

Popcorn out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

Would have to see the whole video to properly judge but I don't think the gardas actions could be anything but disproportionate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Hate all that freeman nonsense its utter tosh.

And the guard was doing well to keep the cool, However the batton thing at the end looked like he lost the cool. Silly as the situation looked like it has fizzled out.

Also the female Garda should have her hair tied up, Dangerous certainly in a crowd situation.

Looking at it there now jesus no need for that at all. That could have killed that chap outright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Etnies wrote: »
    http://giphy.com/gifs/garda-batons-man-at-nama-protest-wexford-ireland-xTiTnoXOnTe2KSz9As

I'm not a protestor but turning around and smashing a middle age behind the ear with a baton, he needs to be prosecuted.

There is also a longer video.

Seemed like quite a hostile crowd and I can see of people pushing , shoving the Garda.

If it was a rugby match the ref would call in the TMO before making a decision . As the TMO can view different angles of the event.

With the limited footage available opinions can't be formed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Karsini wrote: »
    These videos tend to only show one side of the story and are often uploaded to fuel a specific belief. You don't know what happened before the filming began.
    Would have to see the whole video to properly judge but I don't think the gardas actions could be anything but disproportionate.

Why don't you watch the full video then?

I don't agree with the use of a baton, but the Gardai were being crowded and pushed around. Just because people shout "peaceful protest" it doesn't make it so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Some Gardaí are ássholes.
    Some protestors are ássholes.

If you get either or both shenanigans will ensue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭sparrowcar

You're at a protest and trying to stop an arrest by members of AGS.. What do you expect?

Nothing to see here, I'm heading out for a cycle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Them NAMA batons hurt like **** so I hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,413 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

listermint wrote: »
    Hate all that freeman nonsense its utter tosh.

And the guard was doing well to keep the cool, However the batton thing at the end looked like he lost the cool. Silly as the situation looked like it has fizzled out.

Also the female Garda should have her hair tied up, Dangerous certainly in a crowd situation.

In fairness on the garda, he shouldn't have used the baton, but he is having to deal with the same bunch of w!nkers you see at every protest. It's the same faces just looking for trouble. I'd bet not one of them could articulate properly why they are even protesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Superhorse wrote: »
    Looking at it there now jesus no need for that at all. That could have killed that chap outright.

Would you calm down. 'Killed him outright', it was a slap on the leg.

That's all these boyos want is a few slaps and to get it on camera and show the Garda in a bad light. Like these Irish Water protests and NAMA protests the Garda are now the focal point not the real issue at hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

smash wrote: »
    Why don't you watch the full video then?

I don't agree with the use of a baton, but the Gardai were being crowded and pushed around. Just because people shout "peaceful protest" it doesn't make it so.

I will after work. Pushing still doesn't justify a blow directed towards the head though.

From reports the Gardaí is the only one who used violence. You can't just go around bashing people on the head with a baton because they are resisting arrest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Erhmagerd, pulise brutalitee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

Another freeman wannabee who makes the mistake of believers the bull**** being sprouted around him and is arrested.

Did you watch the full video OP? The man being arrested is about 20 odd years old, he resists and when it becomes a struggle about 5 or 6 people intervene to prevent the arrest. A second person with a stick is pinned down, we dont know why the video doesnt show us anything.

After a second Garda assists his colleague a crowd of 20 plus people surround the Garda in what most normal people would see as a threatening manner. The Garda produces his baton and hits a man who is grabbing at him from behind.

IN such close quarters spray not the best option and theres either spray, punch or baton, Gardai re authorised to use their batons to protect themselves and disperse unruly crowds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

In fairness on the garda, he shouldn't have used the baton, but he is having to deal with the same bunch of w!nkers you see at every protest. It's the same faces just looking for trouble. I'd bet not one of them could articulate properly why they are even protesting.

Oh i agree,

but he should have kept that holstered, it was a silly reaction when you could see the situation had just evolved to sit downs and stupid chants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

What does this have to do with NAMA? Although in fairness a bit more tough love like that in Dublin on a given night might sort some issues.

Believe it or not tough loving is given out regularly in Dublin usually with the full force brunt of a baton across the legs leaving you unable to walk properly for days however a strike to head is vicious and a bit OTT in this regards.

The only thing that annoys me about these videos is the situations are created by the person being questioned by the garda not cooperating with simple questions. I dont condone the Guard on what he did pure scumbag thing to do by a man employed by the state to protect but another situation that couldve been avoided.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

The dope on the left with his Section talk. There's always one of these fools present babbling on like c@&t, like they're putting one over the fuzz with their legal expertise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

It seems to me that oul' fella with the beard wasn't in great shape at that point, and that big Garda spun around suddenly and landed a couple of good flakes to the collarbone area without much in the way of provocation at that particular moment. I have no doubt many of those protesters were there looking for someone to get exactly that, but I think there was no need for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Aaah huuun, dare was no need for dat. Gorey people are quare peaceful.

TallGlass wrote: »

That's all these boyos want is a few slaps and to get it on camera and show the Garda in a bad light. Like these Irish Water protests and NAMA protests the Garda are now the focal point not the real issue at hand.

I couldnt give a hoot about the water protest tbh. People have a 100% right to protest that's called democracy. Maybe you need to watch the video again the baton hit him in the head.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Karsini wrote: »

But you get three minutes before the incident in this case. The older man seems to be doing very little in the lead up. He actually has his hands on his knees with his head down when the cop rounds on him and hits him!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

Another freeman wannabee who makes the mistake of believers the bull**** being sprouted around him and is arrested.

Did you watch the full video OP? The man being arrested is about 20 odd years old, he resists and when it becomes a struggle about 5 or 6 people intervene to prevent the arrest. A second person with a stick is pinned down, we dont know why the video doesnt show us anything.

After a second Garda assists his colleague a crowd of 20 plus people surround the Garda in what most normal people would see as a threatening manner. The Garda produces his baton and hits a man who is grabbing at him from behind. He hits him in the leg, the leg not the head. People obviously in such a rush to condemn they couldnt spare a few minutes to actually watch the video.

IN such close quarters spray not the best option and theres either spray, punch or baton, Gardai are authorised to use their batons to protect themselves and disperse unruly crowds and being seperated and surrounded in this manner constitutes a threat. Just because hes a Garda doesnt mean he isnt entitled to protect himself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Watching the whole video, you see the outright wankery that the guards have to cope with when dealing with these wasters.

Absolutely no excuse for the baton though, I'd hope there would be severe repercussions for that.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

You can clearly see that the guy who was hit is trying to take the Gardas notebook out of his hand and pushing the Garda prior to that. The Garda is in the middle of making an arrest.

The reaction with the baton is quite strong though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Of course the video doesn't show what was being said to the Garda by the guy or whether he was pushing and shoving before the Garda turned around and smacked the guy across the arm.

Edit: as Boom_Bap astutely points out, the guy was assaulting the Garda before he got the smack. He should be happy he walked away with a sore arm and not a criminal record.

He was attempting to conduct an arrest and was being impeded and attacked by a bunch of idiots. That much is clear from the video. It seems pretty inevitable that a baton is going to come out, especially when they're so heavily outnumbered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,410 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Absolutely no excuse for the baton though.
    The guard was providing a valuable public service, knocking the stupid off a 'freeman'. I'd say it was more than justified. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

The Garda totally lost the plot. You can even see it in his nod and facial expression at 3.42 where his mind snaps.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,585 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Went looking for trouble and found it. I couldn't give a toss to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

That's a Garda losing his cool. There's no defending it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

endacl wrote: »
    The guard was providing a valuable public service, knocking the stupid off a 'freeman'. I'd say it was more than justified. :D

Na, it's like beating a goat for stealing clothes off a washing line, no need for it, the dumb animal can't help doing what comes naturally to it.

lertsnim wrote: »
    That's a Garda person losing his cool. There's no defending it. It happens.

I'd say he'd been very patient to that point.

Na, it's like beating a goat for stealing clothes off a washing line, no need for it, the dumb animal can't help doing what comes naturally to it.

You'd get more sense out of a goat...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

He hit him in the head, though it could have been anywhere as he just swung without even looking or thinking by the looks of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Superhorse wrote: »
    I couldnt give a hoot about the water protest tbh. People have a 100% right to protest that's called democracy. Maybe you need to watch the video again the baton hit him in the head.

People have a right to protest but there's a time/place and a bit of self control, was this protest allowed? Looks like private property, did the owner want this in there premises.

If the baton did hit him in the head then that was wrong on the Garda, but to be honest Mr Superhorse, why didn't the nice young man just give his name to the Garda? As the Garda requested, now his friend has gotten a smack of a batton.

Regardless of the batton, you seem to think its perfectly acceptable to group around one Garda like that because this is a 'protest' and part of our 'democracy'. I'm sure your going to throw out the defense sure the Garda is trained. These protests are getting a bit tiring, and lets be honest there not protests there just excuses used to wind the Garda up.

The Garda mentioned someone else was assaulted where is the clip of that assault?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

endacl wrote: »
    I'd say he'd been very patient to that point.

Part of his job to remain calm unless he feels his life was in danger. Not a garda basher but this guy has gone OTT.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

There is another angle here, you can see them all pulling out of him (skip to 10 minutes in)

The baton was definitely an over-reaction but jesus christ the protesters are infuriating, they go out of their way to try and wind the Garda up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭_davidsmith_

esforum wrote: »

After a second Garda assists his colleague a crowd of 20 plus people surround the Garda in what most normal people would see as a threatening manner. The Garda produces his baton and hits a man who is grabbing at him from behind. He hits him in the leg, the leg not the head. People obviously in such a rush to condemn they couldnt spare a few minutes to actually watch the video.

IN such close quarters spray not the best option and theres either spray, punch or baton, Gardai are authorised to use their batons to protect themselves and disperse unruly crowds and being seperated and surrounded in this manner constitutes a threat. Just because hes a Garda doesnt mean he isnt entitled to protect himself

Did you watch the video?! do you have legs growing out of your shoulders? because the guy didnt.

Garda loses it, spins around to the guy and strikes the second strike clearly hits him in the collarbone area!

EDIT

These people were 100% being idiots and disruptive and the situation needed to be dealt with, but not with that level of over reaction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

You leave little goats out of this with their clippy-cloppy bandy old legs! It's an insult to goats to compare them to these knuckle-draggers:)

People have a right to protest but there's a time/place and a bit of self control, was this protest allowed? Looks like private property, did the owner want this in there premises.

If the baton did hit him in the head then that was wrong on the Garda, but to be honest Mr Superhorse, why didn't the nice young man just give his name to the Garda? As the Garda requested, now his friend has gotten a smack of a batton.

Regardless of the batton, you seem to think its perfectly acceptable to group around one Garda like that because this is a 'protest' and part of our 'democracy'. I'm sure your going to throw out the defense sure the Garda is trained. These protests are getting a bit tiring, and lets be honest there not protests there just excuses used to wind the Garda up.

The Garda mentioned someone else was assaulted where is the clip of that assault?

So you admit the baton to the head was wrong. Thanks for clearing that up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

When did legs get repositioned between a head and shoulder:confused:

You actually watched the video I presume?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Gulliver

I watched the full video and the crowd was very antagonistic towards the Gardai. I would have flipped the lid a lot quicker than he did.

At around the 2:02 mark there was a kerfuffle and a guy with what looked like a stick in his hands.

Also, is it true about having to quote the entire section of the law as a Garda is arresting/cautioning someone? That seems needlessly complicated and designed for a loophole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Probably a slight overreaction by the Garda but to be perfectly honest, having witnessed too many of these so called 'Peaceful Protests' I can understand why he did it and feel only sympathy for him.

Despite what many posters here seem to want to believe it is obvious that the protester involved wasn't just standing there minding his own business when this occurred. By all accounts the Garda was attempting to make an arrest and the group became violent and intimating toward him in an attempt to impede the arrest.

These protesters look for trouble and can't handle it when they get it so they try to turn it around with cries of policy brutality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

When did legs get repositioned between a head and shoulder:confused:

You actually watched the video I presume?

Didn't one poster already claim he was hit behind the ear