Garda hits man with baton NAMA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,487 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Surprised no one else touched on this,there was even two TD's in attendance hoping to pick up a bargain...fattening themselves on others misery

Who were the TDs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Who were the TDs?

Correction two councillors,Fianna fails Joe Sullivan and labours Robert ireton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

LorMal wrote: »
    I resent the accusation - I have no need to lie. Please try to argue your point while remaining civil. She is a single parent who had an interest only aggreement with her previous bank due to inability to pay the full mortgage. Her loan has since been taken on by another bank. She missed a payment in Sept and received a letter from the banks solicitor threanening eviction. I advised her to meet with the bank and they are refusing to meet.

So please hop off your high horse like a good man.

See youre story has changed.

I challenged you on the description you originally gave and I was right it was a lie.

Now maybe you didn't lie on purpose but the information you provided initially was inaccurate and thus a lie.

As I said no bank will evict someone for missing one payment.

I'm quite comfortable up here thank you very much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,532 ✭✭✭seanin4711

Did you see the part where the Garda was impeded when trying to arrest the bloke over an alleged assault and then the jailhouse lawyers hopped up on their soapboxes talking bollix.

arrest on what grounds?
    none i understand.
    Garda making it up as he went along a la water meter gardai.
    thats where the confusion started .
    and no i am not in eirigi and live in galway.
    just dont want thugs htting innocent people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,352 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

So who exactly are you attacking here?

Initially it was a dig at TDs. Then you found out your info was wrong.

Now its 2 local councillors. Its hardly as if they are the rich elite which you are obviously trying to have a dig at.

And from 2 different parties too, so you aren't having a dig at a certain party?

Do you think no-one should be allowed to buy these properties?
    Do you think banks should not be allowed to try to recoup some of the outstanding debts on these?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,487 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

So not TD's then. Yet another piece of misinformation being put about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

NIMAN wrote: »
    So who exactly are you attacking here?

Initially it was a dig at TDs. Then you found out your info was wrong.

Now its 2 local councillors. Its hardly as if they are the rich elite which you are obviously trying to have a dig at.

And from 2 different parties too, so you aren't having a dig at a certain party?

Do you think no-one should be allowed to buy these properties?
    Do you think banks should not be allowed to try to recoup some of the outstanding debts on these?

Ah just exposing vultures for the vultures they are..arrrck arrrck

What ever about the Fianna fail fella but so much for labour being the peoples party...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

seanin4711 wrote: »
    arrest on what grounds?
    none i understand.

An allegation of assault , dunno myself wasn't there either.

Nor do I live in Galway and nor am I in eirigi .

I can't see any connection between water meters and yesterdays performance unless you know something yourself. I thought it was about a distressed property auction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭easygoing1982

3m38sec until 3m46sec (a full 8 seconds) we see the man now hunched BEHIND the Garda, looking at the ground and not touching anyone. The Garda then removes his baton, turns around and starts to beat the man about the head and shoulders for having the audacity to try try and prevent himself from falling after being shoved by that Garda.

It was unprovoked

I was talking to someone who was there this morning.
    This man was needling and pushing the garda with his elbows, shoulder and even his arse for a sustained period of time. It cant be seen in the footage there, but there is apparently other footage of it from another angle.

Just a point there to nachobusiness whilst the man was hunching behind the guard you dont state where his right hand was.

His right hand was seemly groping or attempting to grope his groin area.Now i wasnt there but jaketherake also states he was told by a witness that the old man was at his arse.

If either of these were the case this is classed as sexual assault and the guard was well within his rights to defend himself.No money pays you to put up with that sort of abuse.

Secondly he did not lash out around his head and shoulder,it was once to the knee and once to the shoulder only.Nowhere else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I love the thread title.

It's like the op was so outraged he/she just wanted to get to the point as quickly as possible.

You should a have went with 'NAMA Garda Assault Rabble'

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

It's very simple, Dennis O'Brien made the Garda do it.

seanin4711 wrote: »
    arrest on what grounds?
    none i understand.

He said he was requiring his name under section 2 of the non fatal offences against the person act.
    The person then failed to give his name so he then arrested or attemped to arrest the person but was pulled in to the crowd by the thugs shouting peaceful protest.

I'm not sure why you dont understand that or what water meters have to do with it

Quote:
    Originally Posted by Busted Flat. View Post
    It's the plain close Garda's hand that is on the man's arm before he was hit and the detective reacted angrily to his colleague's actions.

Let me correct the post. The tall detective (plain clothes) on the right side of the Garda with the baton has his right hand on the arm of the old man that is about to be struck with the baton. Look at the detective's (plain clothes) reaction to his colleagues actions. He pushes the baton-wielding Garda back with his right hand, look at his facial expression.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/3O3JK7BmXexnyI_P15ERbeVAtHXOi8GbxmCPs28hfladqQPXlnWoNV91nrCDAxj7aB3L=s160

how does anyone know this person is a detective or plain clothes guard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

He said he was requiring his name under section 2 of the non fatal offences against the person act.
    The person then failed to give his name so he then arrested or attemped to arrest the person but was pulled in to the crowd by the thugs shouting peaceful protest.

I'm not sure why you dont understand that or what water meters have to do with it

I can't figure out what Galway or eirigi has to do with it either .

The baton was drawn against the wrong guy.

The fellow who was arrested and resisted was the one asking for a good few thumps. Clowns yahooing their ignorance of the law, and nonsense like "quote the section" when of course he wasn't being arrested for Section 2 of the Offences against the Person Act, that was only the section relevant to the allegation that was made.

This sort of nonsense is getting tiresome, with rent a crowds spouting gibberish law as they follow Gardai and others such as members of the Courts Service with mobiles. They up the ante and then shriek when things spill over.

The baton was drawn against the wrong guy.

I dont believe so.I believe the man in question whilst bending forward as seen in the video tried to or did grab him in the groin area.Thats tantamount to sexual assault.
    The fellow who was arrested and resisted was the one asking for a good few thumps.

Agreed
    he wasn't being arrested for Section 2 of the Offences against the Person Act, that was only the section relevant to the allegation that was made.

A member of the auctioneer team made an allegation to the guard that he was assaulted by that person.
    The guard believed that the person may have committed an offence under section 2 of the non fatal offences against the person act.Under this act he is entitled to ask for your details.The person refused and he arrested him.Fair enough he may have arrested him under a different act but that was the reason
    This sort of nonsense is getting tiresome, with rent a crowds spouting gibberish law as they follow Gardai and others such as members of the Courts Service with mobiles.
    agreed
    They up the ante and then shriek when things spill over.
    Thats because their objective was accomplished.They want to cause as much mayhem as possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

I dont believe so.I believe the man in question whilst bending forward as seen in the video tried to or did grab him in the groin area.Thats tantamount to sexual assault.

Agreed

A member of the auctioneer team made an allegation to the guard that he was assaulted by that person.
    The guard believed that the person may have committed an offence under section 2 of the non fatal offences against the person act.Under this act he is entitled to ask for your details.The person refused and he arrested him.Fair enough he may have arrested him under a different act but that was the reason

agreed

Thats because their objective was accomplished.They want to cause as much mayhem as possible

Interesting to see what charges will be laid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

CatFromHue wrote: »
    It's very simple, Dennis O'Brien made the Garda do it.

I knew it! And hechas bought boards and will sue us all for everything**

** this part has no bearing on reality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I knew it! And hechas bought boards and will sue us all for everything**

** this part has no bearing on reality.

You mean like anarchy in the streets in jobstown ? :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,352 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Hang around for a while, I'm sure if he is his name and address will be up on Facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,070 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I just watched this video.

The majority of people were just there to make life hard for And obstruct the Garda. The Garda took an exceptional amount if ****e and physical josteling before he drew his batton.

To any Garda reading this remember that the majority of irish citizens have respect for the job done and appreciate all the hard work done.

To Anyone critisizing the Garda. FFS get a life and leave hard working
    People alone !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

JustTheOne wrote: »
    See youre story has changed.

I challenged you on the description you originally gave and I was right it was a lie.

Now maybe you didn't lie on purpose but the information you provided initially was inaccurate and thus a lie.

As I said no bank will evict someone for missing one payment.

I'm quite comfortable up here thank you very much.

Your ego is getting in the way of the issue. It's not about you.
    My point is that it is frankly sinister that the state is complicit in some morally suspect property transactions and can bring out the police to supress protest.
    The state should not be involved in the market in this way especially while propping up a corrupt banking system which has proven to be central to our economic collapse leading to the highest per capita debt in the world.
    I worry when I see policemen beating up protesters anywhere ..something is rotten in the state of Denmark.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

_Brian wrote: »
    I just watched this video.

The majority of people were just there to make life hard for And obstruct the Garda. The Garda took an exceptional amount if ****e and physical josteling before he drew his batton.

To any Garda reading this remember that the majority of irish citizens have respect for the job done and appreciate all the hard work done.

To Anyone critisizing the Garda. FFS get a life and leave hard working
    People alone !!

GSOC would not be investigating for nothing would they now.

Of course they would.Key word is investigate.

I could walk in to a guard station and tell a guard that darkpagandeath boxed the head off me even though you didnt.

The guard will still investigate to see if you did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Garda made a complete bollocks of this situation and did exactly what the crowd wanted him to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭Avada

They are legally oblidged to investigate any complaints made by a member of the public to them.

My point is that it is frankly sinister that the state is complicit in some morally suspect property transactions and can bring out the police to supress protest.
    The state should not be involved in the market in this way especially while propping up a corrupt banking system which has proven to be central to oureconomic collapse leading to the highest per capita debt in the world.
    I worry when I see policemen beating up protesters anywhere ..something is rotten in the state of Denmark.

Oh would you give over. You just want a rant about the government.

Were talking about the actions of the protestors and the gards here.

The gards were needed as once again these peaceful protestors disrupted a legal gathering with shoving shouting and all their other tripe.

If you want a government rant there is threads in the politics cafe.

The state should not be involved in the market in this way especially while propping up a corrupt banking system which has proven to be central to oureconomic collapse leading to the highest per capita debt in the world.

Oh would you give over. You just want a rant about the government.

Were talking about the actions of the protestors and the gards here.

The gards were needed as once again these peaceful protestors disrupted a legal gathering with shoving shouting and all their other tripe.

If you want a government rant there is threads in the politics cafe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 The Diamond Sea

Cienciano wrote: »
    Garda made a complete bollocks of this situation and did exactly what the crowd wanted him to do.

yep lost the plot and creamed someone . He was totally wrong with what he did . The person he really whacked was not going to cause him harm . Do not agree with all the other muppets spouting law sections, they have no clue abou,t and just there to cause a fight . How many of these law knowing students/oaps work or are they all in Trinity studying law ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

how does anyone know this person is a detective or plain clothes guard

Well, I wasn't sure myself about that actually and so that's why I didn't refer to him as such. However, at 3m15s (right after he appears to step up from dealing with the man that was being arrested on the ground) he can be seemingly be seen having a go at those recording, and also, if he wasn't a Garda, surely he would have been arrested himself for daring to interfere and push the Garda away. Not saying he is or isn't, but a lot points to him being one than doesn't.
    Just a point there to nachobusiness whilst the man was hunching behind the guard you dont state where his right hand was.

I didn't think I needed to. As quite clearly, his right hand is constantly in the air while he is behind the Garda.