Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A different sort of immigration topic

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

One Irish grandparent, assuming that person was born in Ireland, entitled to an Irish passport, does not have to compete with EU citizens to obtain a visa, just has to compete with them the way any other EU citizen does.

I missed that apologies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭Mark Tapley

Tigger wrote: »
    Obviously

I can't remember who said it and about who but it reminds me of you. "They are the kind of person who if you were playing tennis with them would pick up the ball and put it in their pocket."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

I can't remember who said it and about who but it reminds me of you. "They are the kind of person who if you were playing tennis with them would pick up the ball and put it in their pocket."

ok I don't know who said it about who but it reminds me of you
    "That bloke is a gob****e "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

you put yourself forward as an intellectual

Your reading comprehension isn't serving you well. OP did not claim to be an intellectual.

OP says he is qualified for intellectual jobs which leads me to surmise that he considers himself an intellectual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

PittIsIt wrote: »
    Thanks for that.

The hardest part is going to be that I am qualified for intellectual jobs, but not too the point that companies would fight to have me work there. I was talking with a recruiter, he said the biggest thing is that companies see hiring an expat as a huge risk, especially since there is s price to pay the government and a price to pay for relocation. I think my best bet is going to be networking, but not being in the actual country really hampers networking ability.

Irish companies also tend to have a strange fetish almost for foreign experience, so that will help.

All should be grand, but if you've got a noticeable accent you can expect the urine to be extracted on a couple of occasions. :D

ok I don't know who said it about who but it reminds me of you
    "That bloke is a gob****e "

Ah Tigger are you "like" upset?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 PittIsIt

Stheno wrote: »
    This will be your biggest challenge, are you active on linkedin?

Also what truly specialist skills do you have that no one out of 320 million people in the EU Have?

As someone in their mid forties, I can go to Australia as I have very specialist It related skills, do you have the same?

I'm getting more active. LinkedIn is tough for young people, since it mostly connects people with lots of professional experience, but it's getting better. I do see your point about super specialized skills, but by the same token there are not just a few jobs either. Lots of engineers are needed to keep the country on the direction it's going. The flip side of this is to wait the 15 years until I have a deep understanding (so to speak) of specialized skills, which isn't the most appealing. If I'm in my mid forties before being judged worthy of Irish alien status, then it'll probably be too bad

OP says he is qualified for intellectual jobs which leads me to surmise that he considers himself an intellectual.

I take it that means no apology for your erroneous comment.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'm getting more active. LinkedIn is tough for young people, since it mostly connects people with lots of professional experience, but it's getting better. I do see your point about super specialized skills, but by the same token there are not just a few jobs either. Lots of engineers are needed to keep the country on the direction it's going. The flip side of this is to wait the 15 years until I have a deep understanding (so to speak) of specialized skills, which isn't the most appealing. If I'm in my mid forties before being judged worthy of Irish alien status, then it'll probably be too bad

If you are young that suggests you don't have the specilised skills and experience,

Engineers are easy to come by in the Eu, coming from the US you'd need more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭Azalea

When the OP says "intellectual" they probably just mean "highly-skilled".

OP, just as a point of interest, if you're of Scotch-Irish (or Ulster-Scots) stock, you'd trace your roots to Northern Ireland/Scotland. As far as I know, the latter gravitated more towards the north-east of the US, whereas the former gravitated towards further south-east. That's actually quite a different heritage to Irish catholic.

Azalea wrote: »
    When the OP says "intellectual" they probably just mean "highly-skilled".

OP, just as a point of interest, if you're of Scotch-Irish (or Ulster-Scots) stock, you'd trace your roots to Northern Ireland/Scotland. As far as I know, the latter gravitated more towards the north-east of the US, whereas the former gravitated towards further south-east. That's actually quite a different heritage to Irish catholic.

Yup yup

I trace back to Co. Cork originally, the yinzer in me was picked up once I moved to Pittsburgh, and not original.

As regards your spelling and sentence construction ,I mention it as you put yourself forward as an intellectual and frequently people misrepresent themselves on boards.
    Engineering is not English; the forms of intellect used in each are very different.

Billy86 wrote: »
    Engineering is not English; the forms of intellect used in each are very different.

The point is the OP indicates a high level of education but this does not seem to be borne out by the evidence of his posts.
    Wouldn't be the first Walter Mitty to sign up on boards.

The point is the OP indicates a high level of education but this does not seem to be borne out by the evidence of his posts.
    The fact is English classes are not part of an engineering curriculum (any engineers reading, feel free to correct me on this!).

Maybe there is a logical disconnect here. The "intellectual" tag getting thrown around seems to have a really distinct meaning (philosopher, professor, research professional maybe) but I guess I'm taking it to be someone with a background in a technical field. This standing in stark contrast to your typical grunt with little to his name except a high school education, or a journeyman who has applied himself to learn a trade.

Although I really didn't think my language is would be enough to judge that on. I might not be speaking Latin or King James' English but it sure beats 99% of the world.

... this is a forum after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭Isaiah

The Irish get on fantastically well with Americans. You will be treated as well as any Irish or British person. You certainly won't be considered an immigrant in the negative sense of the word. Irish companies of repute certainly do not give preference to Irish workers, in fact it is illegal to do so here.

There is a minority who may spout hate about immigrants on internet forums, but in Real life in Ireland you will not experience anything of the sort and those idiots tend to direct their hate towards people from non-English speaking nations. You wouldn't be considered very foreign.

Americans, Canadians, Australians, Kiwi's, White South Africans and British would be the least likely immigrants to experience discrimination here because they were all at some stage British colonies (Except Britain of course) and are therefore familiar. In Ireland we are a welcoming friendly helpful bunch. As an American you will be considered almost one of our own by many.

Even people who come from more diverse backgrounds will rarely if ever experience discrimination. Ireland is not a racist or unwelcoming country in any way. For example; we are probably the only country in Europe who doesn't have a right wing in politics.

What you might find however is that the US governments foreign policy is rather unpopular by and large. Particularly its actions in the Middle East. With that in mind as long as your not going around telling people " We saved your asses in WW2" you will be fine.

The OP is considering a life changing move and is getting a lot of "sure be grand" if that makes me the bad guy so be it.

He's gonna have to get used to things being 'grand' if he is moving to Ireland.:)

Maybe there is a logical disconnect here. The "intellectual" tag getting thrown around seems to have a really distinct meaning (philosopher, professor, research professional maybe) but I guess I'm taking it to be someone with a background in na technical

I've a chemistry degree and I don't talk so good either so just ignore the begrudgers
    Actually that's rule number one if you move here
    Ignore the begrudgers
    Rule number two is get a hat it rains a lot

Isaiah wrote: »
    He's gonna have to get used to things being 'grand' if he is moving to Ireland.:)

Sure it'll be grand like

What are people saying that's "sure be grand"? I genuinely can't see what obstacles he would encounter. Chemical engineer - lots of pharma companies, no issue with Americans here... what's the issue?

I've a chemistry degree and I don't talk so good either so just ignore the begrudgers
    Actually that's rule number one if you move here
    Ignore the begrudgers
    Rule number two is get a hat it rains a lot

What exactly do you feel is being begrudged "like" ?
    Congratulations on making it to a second sentence.

Sure it'll be grand like

Once you get a tae and hang sandwich into ya you'll be grand.

Azalea wrote: »
    What are people saying that's "sure be grand"? I genuinely can't see what obstacles he would encounter. Chemical engineer - lots of pharma companies, no issue with Americans here... what's the issue?

Okay, I'm convinced everything will be grand. YUP! YUP! . I'm glad that's sorted.

begrudgery (bɪˈɡrʌdʒərɪ )
    Definitions
    noun
    (Irish, informal) resentment of any person who has achieved success or wealth

You seem to want to take the guy down a peg with regards to his written English, and it very much points at you begrudging the fact that he works in what is an intellectual field. But given that the word itself is identified as Irish, congratulations on teaching him a little bit more about our culture.

Are you really this desperate for human contact ?

Okay, I'm convinced everything will be grand. YUP! YUP! . I'm glad that's sorted.
    You appear to be strangely annoyed by this thread but I have been civil to you so there's not real cause for the snideness above. I simply asked what is there to be concerned about? All I'm requesting is an answer. It's not an attack on you.
    Not having great writing skills and working in a field that doesn't particularly require great writing skills - I don't believe that's a massive issue. It doesn't seem to be for all those already living here whom it applies to.

Other than that, what are the major concerns for the OP?

The thread should be renamed 'Mark Tapeworm defaces a thread'.