Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Lads whats stopping anyone from leaving glanbia? ok the msa, so what who cares? what are glanbia going to do, sue us for money we dont have?

Id be more worried about the gentlemens agreement amoung co ops, glanbia wont tame farmers to court (enough bad press already!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

Wages
    Dawggone wrote: »
    LOL!!
    Good man Frazzled!

I couldn't argue with one word in your post. In fact I endorse everything you say.
    I think that any dairy farmer not utilizing grass in IRE/UK is bound to fold sooner or later. There may be exceptions to the above, but not many....

The point I was trying to make was, when French farmers were marching on Paris and Bruxelles the tone on this thread was that the cheaper grass based systems would fill the gap as the european farmers folded. Things have changed of late on this thread as the Irish dairy industry was explored a little more in depth...
    I will be doing my accounts in Jan and I will post my CoP on here. Last year my CoP was 27cpl without any wages being paid. That equates favourably with Irish farmers...
    The difference between Irish systems and French is nought. Whether you grow 16t/ha of grass or 22t/ha of maize is very little, if any.

Thanks.

F f s wages are a cop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

milkprofit wrote: »
    Wages

F f s wages are a cop.

Dawg must be one of the farmers Kowtow's constantly referring to, working for free ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,865 ✭✭✭visatorro

whelan2 wrote: »
    going to a meeting tonight and will consider my options

I know theres plenty of good folk here imvolved with meetings and stuff but I cant see anything coming out of that meeting tonight. heap of angry among farmers and arrogance among the top table. we'll be told to ride it out.

saying that I wouldn't mind goin but doubt ill make it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Id be more worried about the gentlemens agreement amoung co ops, glanbia wont tame farmers to court (enough bad press already!)

It isn't even a gentlemans agreement anymore, it's an ICOS formal arrangement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,732 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Lads, ye're raving. The last thing any coop wants is more milk ATM. It's huff and puff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,817 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

visatorro wrote: »
    I know theres plenty of good folk here imvolved with meetings and stuff but I cant see anything coming out of that meeting tonight. heap of angry among farmers and arrogance among the top table. we'll be told to ride it out.

saying that I wouldn't mind goin but doubt ill make it
    if the country squires and those who owe glanbia loads of money start talking about how great glanbia are, I will be out of there fairly smart:)

whelan2 wrote: »
    if the country squires and those who owe glanbia loads of money start talking about how great glanbia are, I will be out of there fairly smart:)

So instead of challenging them you'll walk out. If you do that you're failing yourself. Stand up make your point and demand an explanation.

Better in the tent pissing out than outside pissing in ;)

Milked out wrote: »
    Base 25.5c/l received 31.149c/l including vat net.
    3.9p 4.27 bf. Dairygold. 55 points on scorecard for month

Top 10% received 33.12 @ 4.04p and 4.70 bf
    Bottom 10% received 27.98 @ 3.52p and 3.98 bf
    Could be a big difference within those top and bottom 10 % as well as the neighbour was over 9 % solids last month which would put him further ahead again

It's a shame the coops can't get cow numbers through the likes of ICBF, so the reports could give kgms/cow instead of percentages.
    ( out for a few pints last weekend, local nubie (herd of heifers) blowing about his solids last week. 4.5protein and 5.?fat, and not a bag of nuts all year. When asked what litres they were doing... 8 ltrs.
    Great percentages but less than 1kgms

Lads, ye're raving. The last thing any coop wants is more milk ATM. It's huff and puff

Who's raving. I didn't say anyone was or wasn't looking for milk. There's an agreement drawn up as of a month ago between any coop that's a member of ICOS, that covers any movement of suppliers from one coop to another.
    Settle.

Edit.
    Also, I've been in contact with 2 coops since this agreement, that are more than happy to take new suppliers that don't have MSAs.

It's a shame the coops can't get cow numbers through the likes of ICBF, so the reports could give kgms/cow instead of percentages.
    ( out for a few pints last weekend, local nubie (herd of heifers) blowing about his solids last week. 4.5protein and 5.?fat, and not a bag of nuts all year. When asked what litres they were doing... 8 ltrs.

Pratically dry ,litres and solids combined is what's needed not an excess of one or another although high solids is always wanted .plenty of them lads around here as well ,was told I was mad feeding 3 kg of nuts last week by someone considering all grass I had ,I gave him my yield and solids ,he gave me his solids no yield ,when asked I was told that dosnt matter........

I beg to differ .i know of a coop offering a 2 cent bonus if x amount of milk is supplied each month for December ,Jan and Feb .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

I agree what the hell would they want milk for.
    Sure they probably wouldn't know what to do with it.
    Sure the workers would probably let it go sour anyway.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

milkprofit wrote: »
    Wages

F f s wages are a cop.

Totally agree Milkprofit. But there are three different enterprises here, so how would I allocate the wage cost?

If I include 6 wages including my own (and not including OH and lady in the office) my CoP is 42cpl...but that's a pointless figure.

Dawg must be one of the farmers Kowtow's constantly referring to, working for free ;)

LOL.
    I pay myself well...:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Agree they only do it with performance report really. On the neighbour it was when I was talking to him a week or two ago and he said his solids were high but yield low at 14l. Has high % of 1st and 2nd calvers tho. Like that he is wondering if he went the right direction but he has cut his cloth now and will drive on. He was looking for hardier fertile cows and seems to be achieving it but once his herd matures id say he'll be happy enough. Rome wasn't built in a day and all that

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    I agree what the hell would they want milk for.
    Sure they probably wouldn't know what to do with it.
    Sure the workers would probably let it go sour anyway.:p

Ye're easy risen :):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

mahoney_j wrote: »
    I beg to differ .i know of a coop offering a 2 cent bonus if x amount of milk is supplied each month for December ,Jan and Feb .

Is that due to reduced supply from other coops mj? In past my milk from Dec and jan has often gone up to Nenagh or over to ballyragget but now we can process our own at peak without having to send it to ye in may and June dunno Wat the story is with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Ye're easy risen :):)

Well don't be rising people.
    You'd think from some of your posts that you own Glanbia.:D
    There's a lot after happening in Glanbia inc milk price that'd rise the dead.

Totally agree Milkprofit. But there are three different enterprises here, so how would I allocate the wage cost?

If I include 6 wages including my own (and not including OH and lady in the office) my CoP is 42cpl...but that's a pointless figure.

1 workers salary/100 cows.... Not including your wage or person in office
    What Cop would that give you?

1 workers salary/100 cows.... Not including your wage or the missus.
    What Cop would that give you?

30.3cpl.

How does that compare?

BTW, she who lives by figures, and is educated in sums did the maths. :)

(She's not on here!)

Edit.
    That includes a land charge. Does not include calf or cull cow sales or sfp.

If 20% of your milk, is that correct?

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Well don't be rising people.
    You'd think from some of your posts that you own Glanbia.:D
    There's a lot after happening in Glanbia inc milk price that'd rise the dead.

Cool your jets for a minute. Tell me what can be achieved by venting?

I stand to lose quiet a bit with every cent drop, so down off your horse. You Dm'd for an explanation re Belview and I gave you an honest FACTUAL appraisal, you replied thanking me and accepting it, if you didn't why not have the courage to do so.

You'd swear I was writing the cheque as I said I'm losing also.

Would they handle another 150m litres?

LOL!!
    Good man Frazzled!

I couldn't argue with one word in your post. In fact I endorse everything you say.
    I think that any dairy farmer not utilizing grass in IRE/UK is bound to fold sooner or later. There may be exceptions to the above, but not many....

The point I was trying to make was, when French farmers were marching on Paris and Bruxelles the tone on this thread was that the cheaper grass based systems would fill the gap as the european farmers folded. Things have changed of late on this thread as the Irish dairy industry was explored a little more in depth...
    I will be doing my accounts in Jan and I will post my CoP on here. Last year my CoP was 27cpl without any wages being paid. That equates favourably with Irish farmers...
    The difference between Irish systems and French is nought. Whether you grow 16t/ha of grass or 22t/ha of maize is very little, if any.

Thanks.

Agree, tone has changed totally now that the reality you spoke of has dawned. As I've said there'll be blood on the floor come spring time. The price being paid at the moment isn't sustainable and is needed next spring.

Where do lads think the money's going to come from with Fonterra holding product to dump later.

Irish Co ops are under water holding their breath in the hope that the cows will be fried off soon to stop them bleeding. The monies subbing milk price is draining them

So you're moving too?

:):):)

Sorry to butt in...but where does that put Harvest 2020?
    Belview and co selling into commodity markets?
    Whats the business plan?

I'm on record here as being totally against lumping premium product onto world commodity markets like NZ's Fonterra. Poor (and lazy) model IMO.

So you're moving too?

:):):)

Lol that's how rumours start

Imagine the head aches:(

Sorry to butt in...but where does that put Harvest 2020?
    Belview and co selling into commodity markets?
    Whats the business plan?

I'm on record here as being totally against lumping premium product onto world commodity markets like NZ's Fonterra. Poor (and lazy) model IMO.

I agree and it's going to take some time. The 150m litres was a reference to MJs post about a co op he knows looking for milk. 125m litres was the amount over forecast processed by GII despite as some would have you believe

Harvest 2020 will be smashed at farm level and the next decision is it to be refused or do we build another drier and export powder.

That's a decision to be made by us as farmers