Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Way more Glanbia suppliers on here than Kerry. I can only think of 4 Kerry suppliers posting here off the top of my head.

Is that a Kerry joke!
    Do they have phones and computers in Kerry.
    Maybe they're too busy getting the cows down off the mountains.
    Or they haven't got time to be on the internet.

Sorry Kerry guys couldn't resist.;):D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,133 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Sure what the **** do ye expect jay.
    In all fairness new entrants have it alot handier than my parents and alot of ppls parents had starting out. Your not the only one that's expanding and has a SL to pay.

Fed up of this moaning now tbh

Fair playing field would be nice and some transparency from Glanbia instead of saying one thing and turning around and doing the opposite would be nice , being down 6-7 grand this year because of a gentleman's agreement between two co-ops about not taking each others suppliers has left us nicely out of pocket...
    If their had been as much as a suggestion that glanbia where going to require minimum shareholding at the time I signed up to them I wouldn't of went near them with my milk made a serious mistake on my part by signing up with them and has left us seriously out of pocket,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,732 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

In all fairness new entrants have it alot handier than my parents and alot of ppls parents had starting out. Your not the only one that's expanding and has a SL to pay.

Tbf he's dealing with reality of situation and not moaning about it .he has identified a way out ,more power to him .not a Glanbia supplier but if I was I'd quite rightly be pussed off as a supplier and shareholder for last few weeks with price cut and quota irreguralities

Sure what harm is he doing. I'd rather someone came on here and explained their problems to all rather than bottling them up and suffering in silence.
    There was good times years ago too it wasn't all in black and white.
    On many farms there was the farmer and labourers, now it's just the farmer and if he's lucky a dog or a cat for company.
    The way milk price is going and forecasts from people on here. Boards could be an outlet lifeline for a lot on here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Fair playing field would be nice and some transparency from Glanbia instead of saying one thing and turning around and doing the opposite would be nice , being down 6-7 grand this year because of a gentleman's agreement between two co-ops about not taking each others suppliers has left us nicely out of pocket...
    If their had been as much as a suggestion that glanbia where going to require minimum shareholding at the time I signed up to them I wouldn't of went near them with my milk made a serious mistake on my part by signing up with them and has left us seriously out of pocket,

But your getting that money back when you get shared up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,133 ✭✭✭jaymla627

But your getting that money back when you get shared up

The money being paid out for shares basically cancels out the gains from monies being payed back on back-dated milk, doubled production this year from last so it's a break - even excerise buying shares, but a supplier who didn't increase/stayed around the same litres is getting nicely caught

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

heard the new plant built for dairygold has similar problem to that in belview

any reason why they dont build the plants as gea recommends??

bill to repair belview is frighting

leasing the ground or ill health were the only 2 avenues to get out of msa

24 cents will result in early drying off so reduced supply over xmas, we calved later due to super levy so well be keeping a few busy over xmas, it will prob alter a lot of breeding programs for spring and the supply forecasts might as well be thrown out the window

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,817 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Is that a Kerry joke!
    Do they have phones and computers in Kerry.
    Maybe they're too busy getting the cows down off the mountains.
    Or they haven't got time to be on the internet.

Sorry Kerry guys couldn't resist.;):D:D
    asked a lad yesterday what price he got for his september milk , said he would tell me when he gets his milk statement, in fairness he did text me the price today but I think there should be a bigger drive to get all milk suppliers on line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

whelan2 wrote: »
    asked a lad yesterday what price he got for his september milk , said he would tell me when he gets his milk statement, in fairness he did text me the price today but I think there should be a bigger drive to get all milk suppliers on line.

I like getting mine the old fashioned way and ain't changing until I have no choice. Got 32.4cent. And to be honest very happy with that the way things are 30% fixed

I knew what I was getting last friday. Milk test results on line by dinner time most days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭degetme

Kerry supplier here
    sept milk
    prot 3.89
    fat4.26
    scc 136
    milk price recived 33.561
    milk price without fixed price 31.883
    base price 26.432

is there any wya to get the top 10% glanbia price each month and the lowest 10% ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

I knew what I was getting last friday. Milk test results on line by dinner time most days

Ah yeah Whelan I know you get it sooner that way. I'm not in that much of a rush once it turns up I'm happy

Glanbia supplier
    milk price 26.67/litre before deductions/levies after 26.26c plus 0.95 co-op bonus
    Test for month Bf 3.85 pr3.67
    Quality tests Tbc 2 and 3
    Cell count geometric mean 93 ( higher this year)
    Base price 22.81 (24 inc vat)

Glanbia supplier
    milk price 26.67/litre
    have you any fixed price?

No and I don't begrudge anyone that has. It's just the decision I made.
    Why is the fixed milk scheme only offered when price is higher?

Glanbia supplier
    milk price 26.67/litre before deductions/levies after 26.26c plus 0.95 co-op bonus

Are you breeding fir more solids?

Bf 4.78
    Pr 4.05
    32.15 cpl
    400 kgs ms sold to date
    This date last yr we were at 347 kgs/cow sold

Are you breeding fir more solids?

Yes generally down through the years ai but now am getting high ebi bulls as calves from a large herd. They were averaging 24litres/day for sept.
    Last calf I got has an ebi 336. -37 milk 0.32 bf 0.2 pr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

3.78 p
    4.02 b
    27.75 milk price inc vat
    base 24

wouldnt like to be on a base price, glad i crossed down all those pure holstein

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

keep going wrote: »
    Just proves that the farmers are just as dumb as the management that they didnt jump on it .I remember when the carbery scheme was ran last year telling people id fix half my milk at that price(32or33base I think) if I could and getting laughed at.as for belview is it not like building a shed for twice the number jof cows you have, it kills you at the time but over the long term could be the best move you ever made.im sure theres a rake of problems in glanbia but you have to realise that the shareholders own the business and you are now second fiddle.if any of the companies I have shares in was giving a preferential deals to the ex owners id be pissed off

What per cent of the milk is sold to the plc

In today's journal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

milkprofit wrote: »
    What per cent of the milk is sold to the plc

Dont know but I thought it was 100 percent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Dawggone wrote: »
    All the fighting talk that was on here when French farmers were marching on Paris/Bruxelles has evaporated...along with the arrogance of the "survival of the low cost" bull.....

When reality comes knocking on the door...:):)

That should get yeez going.

:) IIRC the grass based ( hype!) systems were going to rule the world when the high cost European systems suffocated on their own shyte!

Now I'm just winding ye up....

Ok phuck it, I'll bite:)

Ye nearly convinced me on the ho input route and really got me questioning the grass based spring system. I always believed that cows need to be fed rather than survive.

The grass system is often ridiculed as giving the cows enough to survive rather than kick on. This is the nonsense peddled by vested interests, people whom don't want to understand and those consumed by the vanity of litres.

I've spent the 3 days each week of the last 2 weeks on the road looking at all the common sense systems available, every thing from total confined to Oad spring calving.

The curious thing is that in the grass based farmed the price only got a cursory mention where as profit was where the game was at. On the other hand the hi input farmers, and may I add top farmers and stock men were totally consumed with price. Profit wasn't a concern rather trying to manufacture a cash flow to keep going.

In one unfortunate case the ego and total love for his cows wasn't allowing the guy even consider his options.

Another farm while having a rotary and all the accommodation for 800 cows to be managed in doors or out these guys went totally grass based and even Oad.

I couldn't see the reason for Oad save the labour but he said that the pressure from the vested interests was phenomenal. They all said "so you're going from 11000 litres to 5000 litres how will you survive?"

As the farmer said for good luck they had researched it well and had the confidence to follow through as they'd be in their knees ATM. Their price now is 18p/litre

For all the Teagasc badgers out there the only place they could get reliable non industry biased info was in Moorepark. Some had visited Moorepark more than I had.

There's no doubt these guys with the non complicated systems will survive and prosper, I would however worry for the others tbh.

Incase of doubt I saw no under fed cows on any farm but saw lots of dry cows on some these are never counted in the calc for litres per cow. The replacement level in the two systems ranged from 15% to 50%, now that's some difference in profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wats the craic

In today's journal

are you jumping ship lad if so welcome to the family ....

going to a meeting tonight and will consider my options

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Ok phuck it, I'll bite:)

Ye nearly convinced me on the ho input route and really got me questioning the grass based spring system. I always believed that cows need to be fed rather than survive.

The grass system is often ridiculed as giving the cows enough to survive rather than kick on. This is the nonsense peddled by vested interests, people whom don't want to understand and those consumed by the vanity of litres.

I've spent the 3 days each week of the last 2 weeks on the road looking at all the common sense systems available, every thing from total confined to Oad spring calving.

The curious thing is that in the grass based farmed the price only got a cursory mention where as profit was where the game was at. On the other hand the hi input farmers, and may I add top farmers and stock men were totally consumed with price. Profit wasn't a concern rather trying to manufacture a cash flow to keep going.

In one unfortunate case the ego and total love for his cows wasn't allowing the guy even consider his options.

Another farm while having a rotary and all the accommodation for 800 cows to be managed in doors or out these guys went totally grass based and even Oad.

I couldn't see the reason for Oad save the labour but he said that the pressure from the vested interests was phenomenal. They all said "so you're going from 11000 litres to 5000 litres how will you survive?"

As the farmer said for good luck they had researched it well and had the confidence to follow through as they'd be in their knees ATM. Their price now is 18p/litre

For all the Teagasc badgers out there the only place they could get reliable non industry biased info was in Moorepark. Some had visited Moorepark more than I had.

There's no doubt these guys with the non complicated systems will survive and prosper, I would however worry for the others tbh.

Incase of doubt I saw no under fed cows on any farm but saw lots of dry cows on some these are never counted in the calc for litres per cow. The replacement level in the two systems ranged from 15% to 50%, now that's some difference in profit.

LOL!!
    Good man Frazzled!

I couldn't argue with one word in your post. In fact I endorse everything you say.
    I think that any dairy farmer not utilizing grass in IRE/UK is bound to fold sooner or later. There may be exceptions to the above, but not many....

The point I was trying to make was, when French farmers were marching on Paris and Bruxelles the tone on this thread was that the cheaper grass based systems would fill the gap as the european farmers folded. Things have changed of late on this thread as the Irish dairy industry was explored a little more in depth...
    I will be doing my accounts in Jan and I will post my CoP on here. Last year my CoP was 27cpl without any wages being paid. That equates favourably with Irish farmers...
    The difference between Irish systems and French is nought. Whether you grow 16t/ha of grass or 22t/ha of maize is very little, if any.

Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Base 25.5c/l received 31.149c/l including vat net.
    3.9p 4.27 bf. Dairygold. 55 points on scorecard for month

Top 10% received 33.12 @ 4.04p and 4.70 bf
    Bottom 10% received 27.98 @ 3.52p and 3.98 bf
    Could be a big difference within those top and bottom 10 % as well as the neighbour was over 9 % solids last month which would put him further ahead again

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

Lads whats stopping anyone from leaving glanbia? ok the msa, so what who cares? what are glanbia going to do, sue us for money we dont have?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Lads whats stopping anyone from leaving glanbia? ok the msa, so what who cares? what are glanbia going to do, sue us for money we dont have?

Yes