Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

It should, it did for me.
    While I had the company van (A Megavan (urgh) a few Foci and a Connect), I had a 1984 Mercedes W123 200 and later on a 1973 MKIII Cortina. Was insured with Carole Nash and they only require you to have the use of another car, no need to have it in your name.
    Check with Carole Nash if they still do business, there was a nasty upset about bikes a few years ago, but I think cars were not affected.
    Any issues, check the classic motor forum or check with me, a friend of mine knows all the ins and outs of running classics.
    You have to bear one thing in mid though. If you drive a company van and a classic car, you will not accrue no claims bonus. No problem while it lasts, but if you need a car a few years down the raod, some insurers could be iffy. I was able to get a letter from my employer's insurance stating I had X years of claims free driving and that was accepted.

edit:
    Looks like they're still around:
    http://ireland.carolenash.com/classic-car-insurance/

Nice one! The ncb will be grand for 2 years. I probably will have changed jobs again by then to be honest so wouldn't be too worried about my ncb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

This is fantastic :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

So, update on my box, it is leaking as I suspected so will need a repair, hoping that this combined with low oil is the problem and the insides are ok, will hear more later hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

So, update on my box, it is leaking...

I don't want to hear about the dodgy curry you had last night....

Seriously, it'll be repaired sooner than you know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Dont mean to be a fog lights bore, but ffs this morning was a joke. yeah, there was a fog down, but visibility was still ok and discretion should be used.

heading towards the Jack Lynch at around 6.50-7.00am, heavy enough motorway traffic, roughly 150m visibility and numerous cars 15-20m in front of me with rear fog light on burning the retinas clean out of my head.

then heading up the n25 outside Waterford, similar visibility and a 40ft artic just appears out of thin air. no rear fogs and 2 dirty dim tail lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

someone pulled up outside the club place I was working last night in an 07 RS4 and I swear I thought 3 lads in balaclavas were going to hop out to rob us, if there ever was a perfect getaway car it has to be that. turns out they were just going inside :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

So, update on my box, it is leaking as I suspected so will need a repair, hoping that this combined with low oil is the problem and the insides are ok, will hear more later hopefully.

You're not alone dude. I'm having overheating issues with the 5er. Hopefully it's just a pipe or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

CIP4 wrote: »
    How long do you have the pinto to put up 5k miles. I have a bit over 10k km on my Megane in 4 months which is probably a bit lower than I'd normally average. There's 130k km on it now (80k miles on it) at 4.5 years old.

I picked up on the evening of July 17, so that's 3 and a half months.

I think I've done 5200 miles in it, so that would be ~8370 KM (avg 78.22 per day)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Big Nasty wrote: »
    You're not alone dude. I'm having overheating issues with the 5er. Hopefully it's just a pipe or something.

Jaysis...

Is the colder weather just making a ****e of everyones cars of late... it's not even that cold!

Strange amount of issues posted here lately indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

This is Irv Gordon of East Patchogue, New York with his 1966 Volvo P1800S, which has over three million miles on the clock.

irv_gordon_on_the_road_to_reach_3_million_miles__big_30324.jpg

Keep the faith, gentlemen! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,921 ✭✭✭Wossack

they did a wheeler dealers on one of them - lovely looking yokes imo

Wossack wrote: »
    they did a wheeler dealers on one of them - lovely looking yokes imo

Oh yeah, gorgeous car. Timeless. :cool:

You put these Easydrift things over your tyres for easy drifting. I've seen it all now. :pac:

12002789_1043054572382144_1153538087341741389_n.jpg?oh=1cc60d2d14c60ed93319f0f65c64584a&oe=56969FEF

And now, in a back-to-the-future move incorporating some of the best bits from the Napier Deltic locomotive engine and the RG500 Gamma, we bring you: the EcoMotors opposed piston, opposed cylinder engine, admittedly looking suspiciously like an old Volkswagen air-cooled 1300 H4:

opoc.jpg

http://www.nanalyze.com/2014/10/ecomotors-reinvents-the-internal-combustion-engine/

http://thekneeslider.com/ecomotors-opoc-engine-slated-for-mass-production/

http://www.ecomotors.com/

All together now: Babba-DING-DING-DING-DING-DING... ding... ding... :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Quick question, GF had a parking ding, her fault and the other person will claim off her insurance.
    She already got a quotation for insurance renewal (only 40 buck up, not bad), so can she pay this now quickly before the other person claims?
    Or will it not affect her till next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

Quick question, GF had a parking ding, her fault and the other person will claim off her insurance.
    She already got a quotation for insurance renewal (only 40 buck up, not bad), so can she pay this now quickly before the other person claims?
    Or will it not affect her till next year

Is she not supposed to advise her insurers of anything likely to result in a claim within 24 hours? I think that is the small print on mine.

When does the current policy end?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

OSI wrote: »
    They're designed for skid training in lieu of an expensive, hard to fit and easy to break skid pan, not hooning around Leitrim.

That may be, but the name makes them sound like the drifting equivalent of training wheels on a kids bike :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Is she not supposed to advise her insurers of anything likely to result in a claim within 24 hours? I think that is the small print on mine.

When does the current policy end?

Runs out October methinks, we may be stuffed on this one.
    She's ringing them right now and I'm hoping like hell she signed up for no claims bonus protection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,071 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

Runs out October methinks, we may be stuffed on this one.
    She's ringing them right now and I'm hoping like hell she signed up for no claims bonus protection

Well if it comes to it she can always refund anything they pay out, I am assuming there won't be a whiplash claim :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

I was driving on the N7 and had the sensation that one of my wheels is going to fall off or something. Pulled over, took out the torque wrench and began torquing all the nuts. The 5 front driver side wheel nuts were all hand tight :pac: I was sorting out the brake pads a few nights ago and it got dark fairly quickly so I must have forgot to torque them in the dark after lowering the car on the ground.

Scary :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Big Nasty wrote: »

I suspect your fix might be a slight bit handier than mine though :pac:

I'll know the full story of mine Monday, there is a leak and it took 3 litres of oil, think the box itself is gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

An oil leak? Sure I've one of them meself! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Think I might put the Corolla up on donedeal over the weekend to see what kind of interest I'd get with it.. As much as I like the car, I'd prefer to have something else.. (diesel, maybe.. :rolleyes:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Think I might put the Corolla up on donedeal over the weekend to see what kind of interest I'd get with it.. As much as I like the car, I'd prefer to have something else.. (diesel, maybe.. )

I'll sell ya the focus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

I'll sell ya the focus.

Could you PM me the details with the Focus.. Im not pushed just yet on selling the Corolla, but want to see what interest there is in it. Dont think I would get anything as reliable as it again unless I bought another one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

Think I might put the Corolla up on donedeal over the weekend to see what kind of interest I'd get with it.. As much as I like the car, I'd prefer to have something else.. (diesel, maybe.. :rolleyes:)

Your mad for a golf or an A3 :pac: as I said before from having a golf I think they are the best car in the segment but be prepared to pay for a decent one no such thing as a decent cheap golf. As it would be terrible to sell you pristine low mileage Corolla and buy a cheap rough golf or A3 etc. just saying it so you can learn from my mistakes ive been there I'm not trying to put a damper on it or anything. Best of luck with it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

Looks like the bad luck continues! Driving along and fcukin bolt hit the car got some fright.Off or kicked up by pos truck in front. Dent and scratch on bonnet thought only hit windscreen FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Have a Focus 1.6 diesel on hire at the moment while I'm back in Ireland. Sweet jesus is it slow, have the rev the snot off of it to do anything.
    Quite economical though, although Europcar weren't economical when all of their feckin surcharges came into play. Booked the car in July for 100e, arrived at the airport and ended up paying 260e.
    Feck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Europcar shafted me years ago when I rented in Scotland, said I damaged the car. They had no attendant at the airport when I dropped it back and I had to leave the keys in a letterbox. It was parked in the corner of the car park, said there was damage all along side the near side of the car (which unless the wall fell on it would be hard) they then said all the offside was damaged,
    I asked for body shop receipts or photos of the damage. They just kept fobbing me off. I fought them for a while then decided it was ruining my weeks and just let it go, £500.
    Got full insurance with any rentals I got after that and vowed to avoid them in the future,