Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

OSI wrote: »
    Back in May. Herself caught it off a pillar in one of those ridiculous underground car parks in Dublin that you'd struggle to get a Micra round. Massively impressed with the job I have to say, looks better than the day I bought it.

Reminds he of the time my dad made sh!t of the boot on my golf when he was putting a trailer onto it. Still not sure how he did so much damage to it. I left it for 2 months but got it fixed in the end as it stood out like such a sore tumb as there was no other marks on it. Where as when you have a few marks on a car like my Megane no one particularly stands out.

Great job 900 is a bit of a sickener but what can you do sh!t happens.

Drove around Dublin city center this morning for the first time in ages and was following a clearly out dated sat-nav. I made many many fcuk ups and pissed off many many motorists :o

This is me any time the dash cam thread has a new notification.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Just had some lads come in saying they were admiring my car, stuff like that makes it all worthwhile, we shall rebuild!

received_742464985858348_zpsbi6kenqq.gif

Just had some lads come in saying they were admiring my car, stuff like that makes it all worthwhile, we shall rebuild!

received_742464985858348_zpsbi6kenqq.gif

Noticed you've been having a bad week of it dude. She's worth saving in fairness. Hopefully sooner rather than later :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

Approached this on my way to work yesterday.. Some people have too much time on their hands...

Noticed you've been having a bad week of it dude. She's worth saving in fairness. Hopefully sooner rather than later :)

I have had a pretty ****e week to be fair! List of things that needs to be done since like 5 days ago:

Engine Oil Leak to be found and Repaired
    Bodywork Repaired
    Transmission Service/Rebuild/New
    Rear Tail Cluster
    Tax

Then fuel :pac: She's worth it though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

Oil / coolant leaks are the fcukin worst :mad:

I have had a pretty ****e week to be fair! List of things that needs to be done since like 5 days ago:

Bodywork Repaired
    Transmission Service/Rebuild/New
    Rear Tail Cluster
    Tax

Then fuel :pac: She's worth it though!

Ah jaysus. Beans on toast for October so :P The cluster had to be changed too? Thought it was just a bit of bumper damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

job seeker wrote: »
    Approached this on my way to work yesterday.. Some people have too much time on their hands...

That's normal out my way

Ah jaysus. Beans on toast for October so :P The cluster had to be changed too? Thought it was just a bit of bumper damage.

It's just as well I've started full time work and doing between 40-50 hours :pac: The cluster escaped the wall but was bust before hand anyway, the bulb holder had cracked. Had two new clusters sorted on Adverts but haven't heard anything from the guy...

Autosport wrote: »
    That's normal out my way

In Leitrim is not normal... .. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

"Crossroads wide
    Let her slide
    And diff with pride"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Ah well that's the other side of the country to me but as long as they don't harm/ hurt anyone it doesn't bother me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

People on this forum seem to have had a lot of bad luck with their cars this month. Hope next months a bit luckier for everyone.

Daily car: went in the ditch at the weekend, thanks to fog and muck on the road. Bumper in sh*te, valance bent and will need to be straightened. Headlight wont fit and needs replacement wings. Ps cooler removed and bypassed as it was mangled. So so angry this had to happen. I like my daily hack a lot and I want it right, the way I want it. Now this is another mess to deal with

Weekend car: should have been using it at the weekend huhuhuhuhu..... But no. Gearbox leaking. Marvellous. Ps pump is whining like a whingey teen so I may see to that too

F*ck this f*cking c*nt of a sh*tty year and all its c*ntin bolloxology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Some people don't have the money for an entry fee. :pac:

This was in Leitrim (Carrick on Shannon) last Sunday.

11951954_1055641464455602_1756286867506938050_n.jpg?oh=ec1de0d7741dd64183dcbf2eb97a53ac&oe=568EAEF5
    Photo by yours truly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Call me boring but I never understood blackening a crossroads. If I could afford an 86 or s14 or whatever I wouldn't dream of dogging it like that.

Maybe it's more fun when you're doing it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

It's just as well I've started full time work and doing between 40-50 hours :pac: The cluster escaped the wall but was bust before hand anyway, the bulb holder had cracked. Had two new clusters sorted on Adverts but haven't heard anything from the guy...

You may see if they will let you do 7 days a week or 24 hour shifts or something :pac: I was just thinking its lucky your not full time in college part time in work this year as it would be even more hardship then.

CIP4 wrote: »
    You may see if they will let you do 7 days a week or 24 hour shifts or something :pac: I was just thinking its lucky your not full time in college part time in work this year as it would be even more hardship then.

YepYep, would've really crippled me then! Happy I have the year off now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Call me boring but I never understood blackening a crossroads. If I could afford an 86 or s14 or whatever I wouldn't dream of dogging it like that.

Maybe it's more fun when you're doing it?

No skill to it either, putting your foot down and steering into a never ending circle.

Drifting, now that's what you should be doing with your 86/s14 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Just had some lads come in saying they were admiring my car, stuff like that makes it all worthwhile, we shall rebuild!...

Gentlemen, we have the technology. :D

YbFocus wrote: »
    No skill to it either, putting your foot down and steering into a never ending circle...

Ah, it's complicated enough - you have to steer t'other-way-about from the way you're circling, like! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

jimgoose wrote: »
    Ah, it's complicated enough - you have to steer t'other-way-about from the way you're circling, like! :D

It's that stuff that drives me mad, I have all the time in the world for a chap sliding a few corners with a bit of skill but this going around circles ****e is pathetic :)

YbFocus wrote: »
    It's that stuff that drives me mad, I have all the time in the world for a chap sliding a few corners with a bit of skill but this going around circles ****e is pathetic :)

But the shmoke an' the boo, laaaaad!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I have such a suspicion that the nail was deliberately driven into my tyre, I can't shake it off. A 6 inch steel nail driven 5 inches into the side of the tyre, I find it hard to understand how that could come up off the road and into the sidewall. If it was on the threads I could understand, but as it's on the sidewall, and pushed in further than where it would be in contact with the road, that's what's got me.

Would it take much force to drive said nail into the sidewall? There's cameras near where it was parked lastnight, so I might try to get a quick look at the cctv if I can.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I have such a suspicion that the nail was deliberately driven into my tyre, I can't shake it off. A 6 inch steel nail driven 5 inches into the side of the tyre, I find it hard to understand how that could come up off the road and into the sidewall. If it was on the threads I could understand, but as it's on the sidewall, and pushed in further than where it would be in contact with the road, that's what's got me.

Would it take much force to drive said nail into the sidewall? There's cameras near where it was parked lastnight, so I might try to get a quick look at the cctv if I can.......

Well if you had a hammer it wouldn't take too long, but you would never push it in with your bare hands.

On another note, I came across this (I don't know if you'd call it) sleeper today. A 1970 Bristol. 6.6 liter v8 engine putting out circa 350 horsepower. I'll put better pics and a discription up when I get time. Fully restored 3 years ago, the engine looked savage. The nose on it was something else, so long. The owner tried to turn the engine over, but to no avail. He assured us that there was some roar from it when it starts. It's for sale if anyones interested. Think he said a ballpark figure of 110k euro!!!

GvidoR wrote: »
    Some people don't have the money for an entry fee. :pac:

This was in Leitrim (Carrick on Shannon) last Sunday.

11951954_1055641464455602_1756286867506938050_n.jpg?oh=ec1de0d7741dd64183dcbf2eb97a53ac&oe=568EAEF5
    Photo by yours truly.

Ah King of the cone was on.. Was intending to go to that but was working... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Think he said a ballpark figure of 110k euro!!!

Is that all, hold on and I get my check book.

Sure it's a steal hai

On another note, I came across this (I don't know if you'd call it) sleeper today. A 1970 Bristol. 6.6 liter v8 engine putting out circa 350 horsepower. I'll put better pics and a discription up when I get time. Fully restored 3 years ago, the engine looked savage. The nose on it was something else, so long. The owner tried to turn the engine over, but to no avail. He assured us that there was some roar from it when it starts. It's for sale if anyones interested. Think he said a ballpark figure of 110k euro!!!

Ah 110k for a car that didn't turn over... "we wanted a 10 second car, not a 10 minute car"...