Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

So after two days it appears my car was only air locked and has recovered fully :)
    No problems since bleeding it, no mixing etc so I'm happy enough to say case closed.

(Fingers crossed)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

YbFocus wrote: »
    So after two days it appears my car was only air locked and has recovered fully :)
    No problems since bleeding it, no mixing etc so I'm happy enough to say case closed.

(Fingers crossed)...

Phew! Great to hear! Had similar issues with mine when I did a coolant flush. Has been grand ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

BMW I8 for parts if anyone is interested:

https://nashville.craigslist.org/pts/5239383089.html

00q0q_adIIn4pA0NN_600x450.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Ahh ffs, first I sleep in and now I notice what appears to be a 6 inch nail lodged into the sidewall of my rear tyre! Not gone down though..... safe to leave it until I drive somewhere to get it changed? Already drove 20 miles and it was probably lodged in it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Dear god, is there anything salvageable on that car? $13k seems a bit optimistic for a charred mess.
    He should try to sell it as modern art.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

BMW I8 for parts if anyone is interested:

https://nashville.craigslist.org/pts/5239383089.html
    "Parts"

Yeah, one melted part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Engine not reaching the 90 degrees (or whatever it should be in Merc) temperature and blowing hot air only on windows - any ideas?

Thermostat open is a guess (and I hope it is just thermostat).

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Home from Daltons. Nice guys. Didn't introduce myself, but still got a nice bit of chat out of them. A few nice cars in the yard too. I headed straight for the 2 old tractors first, I'm a culchie deep down. Driving a tdi is a dead giveaway. Only noticed the coffee machine on the way out. Seems alright for tyres too. I'll be back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

People on this forum seem to have had a lot of bad luck with their cars this month. Hope next months a bit luckier for everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Mines been flawless yet I want rid.

Because madness :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Hang on....you bought it originally and pumped mad money into it, sold it, bought it back again a few weeks later, pumped more money into it and now want to sell it again?

You're doing your best at giving some stranger a big present for all of their birthdays and Christmases you've missed :pac:

Ahh ffs, first I sleep in and now I notice what appears to be a 6 inch nail lodged into the sidewall of my rear tyre! Not gone down though..... safe to leave it until I drive somewhere to get it changed? Already drove 20 miles and it was probably lodged in it.

I wouldn't drive that another meter in its present condition.
    As for patching, this may be fixable with an inside patch, but I'm sure there will be ten people telling me otherwise.
    My own view, if there's a bigger hole, a tear or a bulge, it's toast, but if its only has a small hole, it should be OK. Had kormoran tires once, they had paper sidewalls and they got patched a few times. Once they got punctured by a branch from a bush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Hang on....you bought it originally and pumped mad money into it, sold it, bought it back again a few weeks later, pumped more money into it and now want to sell it again?

You're doing your best at giving some stranger a big present for all of their birthdays and Christmases you've missed :pac:

What can i say, im a cool guy :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Mines been flawless yet I want rid.

Because madness :p

Same here, but for other reasons, I guess. :P

Question, I got LED parking lights (front) in Halfords (yes, I know) for my CMax.
    They lasted 2 weeks and one of them has blown. Shouldn't they last a bit longer? I was fed up with forever exchanging dims, since my Ford seems to eat them for breakfast, do they usually last longer than regular bulbs and which ones can I get that are a bit better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Question, I got LED parking lights (front) in Halfords (yes, I know) for my CMax.
    They lasted 2 weeks and one of them has blown. Shouldn't they last a bit longer? I was fed up with forever exchanging dims, since my Ford seems to eat them for breakfast, do they usually last longer than regular bulbs and which ones can I get that are a bit better?

How dare you asking a question when my wasn't answered yet:D

Had the same issue with good old Scenic and couldn't figure it out. Bulb was blown as soon as I drove out of parking spot.

I guess you checked all connections for water etc anyway.

Wiggled it about, and you could hear the nail hitting off the inside of the rim!! Pulled it out and it was a proper 6 inch steel nail! New michelin on the way 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Osram ledriving are the only euro engineered option. Maybe Philips have some. Osrams w5w ones have proper circuitry in them rather than a random resistor badly hand soldered to a pretend "cree" led by an itinerant worker in shenzen.

Have to take half the front of my car to do parking lights so the Osrams were worth the bit extra to avoid doing it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Initial gearbox diagnosis, not good :( Fault codes in gears 3 and 4 which confirms the whine I've been hearing when it shifts into 3/4. Car is being dropped in the morning for an oil level check see if that could be the cause.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

My Panda was in for a service this month and the garage spotted that a seal was gone on the gearbox. Part was cheap but labour a bitch. I found the receipt from when I bought the car. 3 days left on engine & gearbox warranty! Score! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Superb job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Shít dude, when did that happen?! I must have missed that...

But the job looks a good 'un on it, no telling what was before anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

OSI wrote: »
    If it's any consolation to the karma of the forum. The GTI had it's beautiful form restored:

Before:

€900 after:

Side skirts and door trims replaced back and front, quarter panel pulled and filled and the quarter panel and door resprayed.

Where was that done? Looks great now. My Panda has something similar on the rear driver side passenger door. Need to get it sorted. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

People on this forum seem to have had a lot of bad luck with their cars this month. Hope next months a bit luckier for everyone.

Buggeryballacks. Looks like I have a sticking rear brake-caliper. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Initial gearbox diagnosis, not good :( Fault codes in gears 3 and 4 which confirms the whine I've been hearing when it shifts into 3/4. Car is being dropped in the morning for an oil level check see if that could be the cause.

**** man that is crap news, feckin very sorry to hear.
    What do they reckon needs to be done if not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,204 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Was the fluid ever changed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

YbFocus wrote: »
    **** man that is crap news, feckin very sorry to hear.
    What do they reckon needs to be done if not?

If it can't be solved with oil, a rebuild or secondhand/new box.
    jimgoose wrote: »
    Was the fluid ever changed?

Not in my ownership, it's not part of the BMW schedule either and there's no service history with the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭megafan

OSI wrote:
    Back in May. Herself caught it off a pillar in one of those ridiculous underground car parks in Dublin that you'd struggle to get a Micra round. Massively impressed with the job I have to say, looks better than the day I bought it.

Fcuk, it wasn't that long ago, was it? :eek: Times flying!