Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Edwardius wrote: »
    Saw a black A6 pulling people over for driving in the bus lane on the N4 a few weeks ago, blue lights hidden in the grille. Lovely machine.

Two A6's (131 and 141 reg) flew past me last night, so that's what got me thinking.

mancity1 wrote: »
    Hi guys looking for opinions here. Have built up a lot of car care stuff over the years (wax,polish,shampoo , screenwash and any kind of new product and numerous wiper blades for cars that I sold and never fitted. Realistically I will never use them all up what do ye do. Keep them for I dunno sentimental reasons, sell them in one lot or something else?

Bring them to a boards meet (whenever that will be), get to see some cars, posters in real life and share that stuff. :)

Obviously keep them if you think you will use them though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭mancity1

GvidoR wrote: »
    Bring them to a boards meet (whenever that will be), get to see some cars, posters in real life and share that stuff. :)

Obviously keep them if you think you will use them though.

I know kinda fallen out of love and lack of time with the whole car cleaning thing. Have a good bit of stuff here unopened that I cant even remember buying

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Edwardius wrote: »
    Saw a black A6 pulling people over for driving in the bus lane on the N4 a few weeks ago, blue lights hidden in the grille. Lovely machine.

Pulling people for driving in the bus lane? What's next? Enforcing lane usage on roundabouts? Pulling over "fasht lane" hoggers?
    Wonders will never cease. Amazeballs!
    Zardos Has Spoken!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

CIP4 wrote: »
    Anyone see this post of fb seems to be a regular occurrence on motorways these days more than just Garda there too excise, customs, rsa, taxi regulator.

9 vehicles seized one person arrested.

]

They couldn't do it on the M9 as half of it is already closed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

€250 ish to repair both panels, not too bad.

That's not two bad at all for both panels. I still haven't fixed up the megane since the time I reversed into a low pole when I only had it a month I broke the reflector there like 30 quid so god only bows how much a Renault one cost although it broke its still on the car it didn't fall of. Tbh the body work could do with a few bob spent on it in general. I'm kind of unsure what to do with it really. If I decide next summer to keep it for at least another year I'll spend the money on it I think. It needs a timing belt earlish next year too.

It's a kind of tough decision to make especially when I start on decent money next summer the temptation to buy something will be there but at the same time I'd like to keep it till summer 2017 to feel I got my money's worth out of it plus I'll have moved up the ladder by that time in work. The way I see it by next summer 2016 it will have been serviced, gearbox oil change, new timing belt, probably new tyres would kind of be madness to turn around and sell it then.

Zardos Has Spoken!

Who? :P

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭beertons

He's very good I've only been there once but he sorted an injector leak for me at time. I need to bring mine to him soon to get gearbox oil done it Ms trying to get the opportunity to bring it is the problem.

I've been meaning to get this stuff done for a while. And I've heard so much about the guy on here, I reckon he'd give me the most honest price. If ya get me. Said the trip should take no more than 35 minutes. Might see if I can do it in 25 for the craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Where is the best and cheapest place to get an alternator reconditioned?

Damn alternator went in the car. Can't go any where battery is dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Where is the best and cheapest place to get an alternator reconditioned?

There's a crowd in Sligo that do them. When mine was acting up, the dealer sent it to Sligo town to get it sorted.

Not vague at all hah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Did anyone see the N7 video of a van being forced off of the road by two cars? Then three lads jump out of the van and do a runner.
    Cant post the vid cause I'm on the phone but I'm wondering does anyone have a clue what it was about?
    The video is in the dashcam thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I think the land cruiser, astra and transit were all together.
    The van was stolen i guess.
    I don't think they forced them off the road, I think they were all mickeyacting

Sorry I meant eolys fluid (the phone autocorrects it). I'd be very confident that that warning is to do with low eolys fluid as I don't think the car gives an explicit warning more of the one you got. Basically the fluid mixs with the diesel to allow it to regen. As for long drives you could drive it for 24 hours straight but with no eolys fluid it's not going to regen. So without it after a short period of time the dpf will block and cause trouble.

You really need to get it checked and topped up as I know people who have damaged dpfs by not having it. Most cars don't use eolys fluid but yours does. So bring it to an mechanic and if he doesn't know what it is bring it to another that does.

There is zero need to remove the dpf with your long drives but you need the eolys fluid or your at nothing once it has that and long trips your laughing.

Cheers, so. I'll bring it to mechanic but it'll be next week before gets a look at it. Can a DPF be manually emptied (opened and dumped out, kinda thing? or am i simplifying it a bit?).

Anyone see this post of fb seems to be a regular occurrence on motorways these days more than just Garda there too excise, customs, rsa, taxi regulator.

9 vehicles seized one person arrested.

Wish they'd feck off with that shite. I'm fully in favour of checkpoints, but at this stage I'm almost hoping someone will cause a pile-up just to get them (Gardai, Revenue, etc.) off them.

I've never encountered a checkpoint on a motorway, but people use the motorway to get places quickly. No one needs the aggro of a feckin' checkpoint holding things up. :mad::(

Jesus Colm you have a seriously high post count. I remember when I hit 3,000 I thought I was great. I think I got an extra star under my username when i hit the 3,000 mark.

Nathin to do and all day to do it :P :pac:

He posts a lot of cars everyday in the bangernomics thread so I suppose if you done that everyday you wouldn't be long bringing post count higher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It's mainly drivel :)

There's another one racked up...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

Cheers, so. I'll bring it to mechanic but it'll be next week before gets a look at it. Can a DPF be manually emptied (opened and dumped out, kinda thing? or am i simplifying it a bit?).

No they wouldn't generally what they would do if the dpf warning came on any mechanic with decent diagnostics can force a regeneration of the dpf. But yours doesn't sound like its at that stage. Top it up with eolys and take it for a good long run and the car should do the rest. If you keep getting that message after that then you need to get it further checked out. But tbh I'd be surprised if it's not lack of eolys fluid causing the warning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

Wish they'd feck off with that shite. I'm fully in favour of checkpoints, but at this stage I'm almost hoping someone will cause a pile-up just to get them (Gardai, Revenue, etc.) off them.

I've never encountered a checkpoint on a motorway, but people use the motorway to get places quickly. No one needs the aggro of a feckin' checkpoint holding things up. :mad::(

I was going home from work one morning took the slip road at browns barn heading towards kildare on the m7 come around the bend and had to hit the brakes and come to a stop.

Customs had set up a checkpoint just as the slip lane merged onto the motorway.

Gob****es yea let's just put a checkpoint on a bend and right were traffic merges. How they thought traffic was meant to merge seamlessly onto the motorway going from 0 to 100 in a split second is beyond me.

In the middle of updating my online education portfolio. Half tempted to put one of the pics I posted in the pic thread as my backdrop :pac: Think it would come under "Personal interests"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Anyone see this post of fb seems to be a regular occurrence on motorways these days more than just Garda there too excise, customs, rsa, taxi regulator...

They used to do a lot of that kind of thing on the South Ring Road in Cork up to a couple of years ago, usually just West of the Bandon Road roundabout.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

jimgoose wrote: »
    They used to do a lot of that kind of thing on the South Ring Road in Cork up to a couple of years ago, usually just West of the Bandon Road roundabout.

They're filling their quota while the weather is nice. Come winter and the rain, you won't see them till late next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I really hope I'm not too late with sorting my gearbox, this week has really made me have a sad.

What's wrong with the gearbox?

They're filling their quota while the weather is nice. Come winter and the rain, you won't see them till late next year.

Hah. A checkpoint is a rare mare around here.

What's wrong with the gearbox?

Has been shifting sluggishly, holding gear when it should change, accelerating a bit hard out of a corner can cause it to go into Failsafe mode and lock into 4th gear, whine on changing into 3rd/4th and in general while accelerating. All the owners forums suggest it's low oil and I think that might be true as when I hosed the underneath down 2 weeks ago the gearbox was very oily.

Yeah, I think so too. Even if it isn't that low fresh full-synth ATF will probably do wonders for it.

It wouldn't be so bad if it hadn't all hit at once, Gearbox to be sorted, small engine leak to be found, tax to be paid and body to be sorted :(

I hear that. Sometimes motorcars are a load of arse-biscuits. There, I said it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I hear that. Sometimes motorcars are a load of arse-biscuits. There, I said it! :D

I dont know... I like the idea of putting my mechanics kids through school or renovating their kitchen. Gives a me a sense of self worth