Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I've heard a few times when you buy parts off eBay a lot of them don't quite fit properly.

Maybe you're right I should just trust buyer ratings.

I've bought parts, specific tools, 2nd hand bits and pieces and even my current wheels from eBay.
    It is 100% safe :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

YbFocus wrote: »
    I've bought parts, specific tools, 2nd hand bits and pieces and even my current wheels from eBay.
    It is 100% safe :)

Yup. eBay's the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,917 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I've heard a few times when you buy parts off eBay a lot of them don't quite fit properly.

Maybe you're right I should just trust buyer ratings.

The only seller I'd trust 100% from the get-go is BMW. Although I'd also trust them to not be cheap but at least you know what you're getting is correct each and every time.

I've found in the past though when it comes to car stuff that if I buy cheap I buy twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

EBay it is so :)

I'll sit down and research later. Thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

The only seller I'd trust 100% from the get-go is BMW. Although I'd also trust them to not be cheap but at least you know what you're getting is correct each and every time.

I've found in the past though when it comes to car stuff that if I buy cheap I buy twice.

Generally I'd agree but I got my kidney grills off an American site I found recommended on a bmw forum and couldn't be happier with them and got my badges off adverts and there perfect.

So I'm slowly startIing to change my mind.

My cousin bought 2 BMW bikes, a Xsara Picasso and nearly everything in his house from eBay. No issues so far :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Do Garda have unmarked Audi A6's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,921 ✭✭✭Wossack

it wouldnt surprise me if they'd one in the fleet alright

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

My cousin bought 2 BMW bikes, a Xsara Picasso and nearly everything in his house from eBay. No issues so far :)

Conclusive proof: Ebay is 100% trustworthy! :D:P:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Sigh. Didn't spot this last night:

20150929_152052_zpsveup1qxu.jpg

Ah crap :(

Ah crap :(

This is what I get for going out of my way to help someone!

No good deed goes unpunished!

Yep, know it too well! Might as well get the whole rear done at this stage and get the rust sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Yep, know it too well! Might as well get the whole rear done at this stage and get the rust sorted.

That could get v expensive very fast though!

It could, but I might as well get the rust done before it gets worse, only solace is I know the shop owner and some of the employees.

Who's your bodywork dude, Norm?

jimgoose wrote: »

Kenny's!

jimgoose wrote: »

I think it's Herr Halfort Rattalkann......

:pac::pac::pac: Ah Jaysis...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Fine car tinkerin weather. Have the engine ready to be lifted out of the 156 and most of it's donor vehicle stripped too. Great to be filthy again pacman.gif.

€250 ish to repair both panels, not too bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

€8.05 for a T60 torx 1/2 socket on Micksgarage. Rip off central to be honest. I couldn't find the bit anywhere else, even in my local hardware store :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

Well, generally speaking, i wouldn't be keen on getting rid of DPF, at the same time, if I can get rid of it and avoid any headaches with it, then it might be the more economical option.

Not entirely sure why it's decided to give me the error, though. It's just after coming off a week where it did about 2,500km, a lot of town/dublin driving, but also a fair whack of R and N roads and a couple of 20 minute motorway spins (Drogheda to Leitrim to Westmeath to Kildare, to Dublin to Dundalk, etc. long spins).

I'd have thought a DPF would love that.

Maybe it is to do with the Elloys (eolys?) fluid. I'll bring it over to mechanic and get him to take a look. Whatever about checking oil or brake fluid, I wouldn't have a notion where or how to check for that!?

(rambles off to Google...)

EDIT: First thing Google showed was a car on a ramp. I'll leave it to the mechanic! :o

Sorry I meant eolys fluid (the phone autocorrects it). I'd be very confident that that warning is to do with low eolys fluid as I don't think the car gives an explicit warning more of the one you got. Basically the fluid mixs with the diesel to allow it to regen. As for long drives you could drive it for 24 hours straight but with no eolys fluid it's not going to regen. So without it after a short period of time the dpf will block and cause trouble.

You really need to get it checked and topped up as I know people who have damaged dpfs by not having it. Most cars don't use eolys fluid but yours does. So bring it to an mechanic and if he doesn't know what it is bring it to another that does.

There is zero need to remove the dpf with your long drives but you need the eolys fluid or your at nothing once it has that and long trips your laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

GvidoR wrote: »
    Do Garda have unmarked Audi A6's?

Saw a black A6 pulling people over for driving in the bus lane on the N4 a few weeks ago, blue lights hidden in the grille. Lovely machine.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Bringing my car down to George Dalton tomorrow for a bit of beauty treatment. Replace broken ariel and base, the black bit that goes under the front bumper, new light for passenger door, and the bit on the back wiper that directs the sprawling onto the window. Thankfully George knew all the bits I needed from my cryptic descriptions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

Lads any idea where I can get a nice bar to slip over my breaker bar? I'm not looking forward to this crankshaft nut :pac:

beertons wrote: »
    Bringing my car down to George Dalton tomorrow for a bit of beauty treatment. Replace broken ariel and base, the black bit that goes under the front bumper, new light for passenger door, and the bit on the back wiper that directs the sprawling onto the window. Thankfully George knew all the bits I needed from my cryptic descriptions.

He's very good I've only been there once but he sorted an injector leak for me at time. I need to bring mine to him soon to get gearbox oil done But rying to get the opportunity to bring it is the problem.

Anyone see this post of fb seems to be a regular occurrence on motorways these days more than just Garda there too excise, customs, rsa, taxi regulator.

9 vehicles seized one person arrested.

9B28D0B7-0F60-4FCE-9383-B2ED9E785F55_zpsaa2qzdyj.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭mancity1

Hi guys looking for opinions here. Have built up a lot of car care stuff over the years (wax,polish,shampoo , screenwash and any kind of new product and numerous wiper blades for cars that I sold and never fitted. Realistically I will never use them all up what do ye do. Keep them for I dunno sentimental reasons, sell them in one lot or something else?