Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

U2 Innocence & Experience Tour 2015 (Dublin and Belfast gigs confirmed, post #275)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,404 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

So if I sign up to u2 membership (50 dollars I think) I'll get a better chance of getting Irish tickets. ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,269 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

PTH2009 wrote: »
    So if I sign up to u2 membership (50 dollars I think) I'll get a better chance of getting Irish tickets. ??

yea, but not sure if you missed the boat as everyone already got emailed their pre-access code

also, i lapsed my membership - -probably for no more than 6 months, just never got round to renewing it, and had to go back to the end of the que when it came to getting pre-access codes. wasn't to happy about that considering I've been a member since the Propaganda days.

Actually, I wonder what they would be worth nowadays? I've got pretty much all of them up in my attic along with original vinal releases of all albums since Achtung Baby... still sealed, never opened. Anyone else got the Red Vinal?

Seve OB wrote: »
    yea, but not sure if you missed the boat as everyone already got emailed their pre-access code

also, i lapsed my membership - -probably for no more than 6 months, just never got round to renewing it, and had to go back to the end of the que when it came to getting pre-access codes. wasn't to happy about that considering I've been a member since the Propaganda days.

Actually, I wonder what they would be worth nowadays? I've got pretty much all of them up in my attic along with original vinal releases of all albums since Achtung Baby... still sealed, never opened. Anyone else got the Red Vinal?
    Balls. No point in wasting money if I won't get a code. General sale it will be

According to reports no dublin shows just Belfast shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭mark13

https://twitter.com/mcd_productions/status/641374209109848064

Bringing It Home

U2’s iNNOCENCE + eXPERIENCE European Tour 2015 will finish with six home shows in Ireland - two shows in Belfast on 18th & 19th November and four shows in Dublin on 23rd + 24th, 27th + 28th November.

It’s a year since the band released Songs Of Innocence, an album exploring their earliest experiences of growing up in Dublin influenced by 70’s rock and punk and early 80’s electronica - and now they’ll be performing those songs to a home crowd for the first time.

Tickets for the Irish shows go on sale at 9am on Monday 14th September, will be limited to 2 per purchaser and are priced from £30 to £165 for Belfast and from €30 to €185 in Dublin, plus charges.

Tickets can be bought at the venue box offices and online.
    Paid subscribers to U2.com will be emailed details of presales.

€2 million raised from these concerts will go to Music Generation, Ireland’s National Music Education Programme which currently provides high quality subsidised music tuition to some 26,000 children and young people. Music Generation was originally set up with €5m funding from U2’s 2009 shows at Croke Park, along with a further €2m raised by The Ireland Funds.

'In the 18 years that I have worked with U2, the home shows are always very special.’ said Arthur Fogel, CEO Global Touring Live Nation Ent. ‘These shows promise to be brilliant.’

'Finding venues to take this show is actually quite tricky,’ added The Edge. ‘We’re grateful to our overworked crew who finally cracked the reconfiguring to fit these venues.'

The Dublin and Belfast dates are:

Wed, 18th and Thurs, 19th November - Belfast – SSE Arena

Mon 23rd, Tues 24th, Fri 27th & Sat 28th November - Dublin – 3Arena

http://www.u2.com/news/title/bringing-it-home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,451 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

From Joe.ie

The band released a statement tonight confirming they'll play 3Arena in Dublin on November 23, 24, 27 and 28 and Belfast's SSE Arena on November 18 and 19 as part of their iNNOCENCE & eXPERIENCE Tour.

Tickets for the Irish shows go on sale at 9am on Monday September 14, will be limited to 2 per purchaser and are priced from €30 to €185 in Dublin and £30 to £165 for Belfast, plus charges.

Tickets can be bought at the 3Arena and SSE Arena box offices and online, with floor tickets being sold with the Paperless Ticket system, to ensure fans have access to tickets at face value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,257 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

For 3 Arena Dublin tickets priced from €30 to €185

http://www.u2.com/news/title/bringing-it-home

its offical

SSE Arena Belfast 18/19 Nov
    3 Arena Dublin 23/24/27/28 Nov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,420 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Dublin 23, 24, 27 and 28 November.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,347 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Huge range of ticket prices, what does €30 get you compared to €185? Nice to see that they are donating all the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭but1er

Well if its all about the show I'll be buying the cheapest ticket sit in the back row and take it all in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

MadYaker wrote: »
    Huge range of ticket prices, what does €30 get you compared to €185? Nice to see that they are donating all the money.

I would expect to be sitting on a band members lap for the upper price range.

Are they not "just" donating 2 million?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,150 ✭✭✭✭cena

Well it sellout fast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭the_barfly1

I'd expect that the 25th and 26th would probably be added to that considering there's nothing else happening those days. It is the end of the European leg of the tour after all and the demand will be there.
    Looks like I'll be celebrating my birthday in The Point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

cena wrote: »
    Well it sellout fast

Yes, all dates will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

They have played the tour so far in two night bursts. I don't think they ever did 3 nights in a row. That'd rule the 25th and 26th out. However I'd be shocked if they didn't add more Dublin shows. They did 8 in NY. I think the same in London. Demand will be as strong or stronger for these shows.

just looked that up after i posted. Spot on. Well the point is booked almost solid from the 29th, and free from the 21st so thats just the 8 days that are available. Are there any other big sheds of comparable size in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,347 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I think I read a quote from Bono where he said that doing 6+ plus shows in a row in the same venue was "like going to work" as in the band didn't really enjoy and they got a bit bored by night 5 or 6. If the band are bored on stage it's going to be a boring gig.

I wouldn't pay too much heed to Bono quotes, he says so much that he usually contradicts himself. I think he meant the 6 in a row though, hence the breaking it up by playing 2 at a time.

Barfly, yeah it looks pretty tight schedule wise so maybe they won't add any more. Unless they put it on ice and did 4 more shows in December. 7th - 10th seems free as does 13th and 14th.

At a guess I'd say they'd stretch it to 3 in a row and do the 22nd-24th, and 26th-28th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Do Three customers get first bite like other 3 Arena gigs?

Only ever seen U2 in croker.

Always wanted to see them in a smaller indoor venue. Should be excellent gigs.

signed up to u2.com just now and didnt get a presale code :(:(:(. ah well i get a book anyway

going to try and get seated tickets for the monday or the tuesday shows but would consider any seated tickets for any date.

I wouldn't pay too much heed to Bono quotes, he says so much that he usually contradicts himself. I think he meant the 6 in a row though, hence the breaking it up by playing 2 at a time.

Barfly, yeah it looks pretty tight schedule wise so maybe they won't add any more. Unless they put it on ice and did 4 more shows in December. 7th - 10th seems free as does 13th and 14th.

Would be bad business to load out, store and load in again unless they were taking the show elsewhere in between, but then again, stranger things have happened.
    Very pleasantly surprised with the ticket prices, I'm guessing €30 is the limited student price, which is good news! Can't imagine standard general admission prices being too much more expensive.

MadYaker wrote: »

€185 I'd say would be some sort of VIP ticket with access to the Audi bar or whatever they call it these days. Can't imagine them charging that for any other type of ticket in the Three arena. €115 was the most expensive seats I've ever seen I think.

€30 is a cracking price for a seat though, even if it is the back row.

The ticket prices have been a sticky subject on this tour. The €30 tickets are the "restricted view", but some of them have been grand from reports. I guess they would be the nearest to the side walls either side of the stage in the 3Arena.

€185 will be the lowest tier in the middle. No special treatment. Just to "counter" the cheaper(normal!)priced standing tickets.

London for example sold out of all standing and reasonably priced tickets in seconds. The pricey ones were still available hours, and even days and weeks after the initial sale.

The ticket prices have been a sticky subject on this tour. The €30 tickets are the "restricted view", but some of them have been grand from reports. I guess they would be the nearest to the side walls either side of the stage in the 3Arena.

€185 will be the lowest tier in the middle. No special treatment. Just to "counter" the cheaper(normal!)priced standing tickets.

London for example sold out of all standing and reasonably priced tickets in seconds. The pricey ones were still available hours, and even days and weeks after the initial sale.

2x tickets per card holder too which combats touts a small bit.

12901s_a.gif

this is an all seated chart so ignore the blue and yellow sections.

the 30 euro seats will prob be the back rows of Blocks P and H (for fleetwood mac there were 55/75 euro options there)

the rest of the seats will prob be the 185 price with the standing about 160.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,451 ✭✭✭✭Exclamation Marc

I can't see standing being €160. Not a chance for general standing.

I'd imagine it'd be similar to the price structure for the Glasgow gigs.
    Tickets for standing in Glasgow were £60. Tier 3 tickets ranged from £33-£100 and tier 1 and 2 seated ranged from £33 - £180.

35d2593.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,739 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

I like the way its only 2 tickets per person and all tickets are non transferrable and id is required.
    I hope this is actually implemented as it will deter touting and reduce the demand for tickets so genuine fans can go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,071 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

I presume anyone on 3 will have early access to tickets before general release once there signed up through 3 rewards?

I like the way its only 2 tickets per person and all tickets are non transferrable and id is required.
    I hope this is actually implemented as it will deter touting and reduce the demand for tickets so genuine fans can go.
    read on u2.com fourm thing that 40% of tickets are reserved for hangers on/family/friends etc.

So if i but tickets on my dads credit card can i collect the tickets with my ID ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,739 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

PTH2009 wrote: »
    read on u2.com fourm thing that 40% of tickets are reserved for hangers on/family/friends etc.

That's complete rubbish I'd say.
    40% of tickets is over 5,000 tickets a night ,no way its that high.
    1,000 would be alot.

Most seats will be 192 euro inc booking fee,that's very saucy.

I'd rather see the band indoors in a stripped down format than stick an indoor stage setup in a stadium like they did at Slane.

Same here. I am going for the songs, not the damn stage set-up. U2's performance at Live Aid is what made me a fan and that was just four lads on a stage. I hope these 3 Arena gigs will be stripped down a little, with maybe a few songs sung acoustically. My favourite performance of Stuck In.. was done acoustically for example (on Letterman). One or two songs in that vain would be sweet.