Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

pluszap wrote: »
    Hope the rumour about christy cooney name being mentioned for manager is not true

Heard the same rumour a couple of weeks ago, I'd say its bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭zetecescort

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Outstanding piece of conviction and honesty to actually do what very few cork media do and call it as it is bar sweeny independent
    Like I said all along committee are joke and it was preached here real change taken in board level which makes me laugh as I said to that post no change absoultey none at board level when as shannon said frank every committe and he doesn't even have say things as shannon said he's presence enough to influence decision and he knows that two well

Shannon unlikely get vip box new pairc now but fair play to he's articles
    Like Paul kimmage real journalism

I simply cannot wait for shannon piece on school controversy
    He said he'll address that in a few weeks
    Like counting the days to Xmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Pos087

Unfortunately not a hope of this happening. The last 2 CB meetings the Shamrocks delagate was very critical of the running of cork Gaa the first time he was pretty much told sit down and shut up. The next time he was told not given the backing of any other club in the county. So imo the clubs have a lot to answer for. They are the ones with the power but are like little children that have been bullied into toeing the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

I see Declan Dalton sent off in the east cork u21 final at the weekend. Does that mean he misses imokilly's match v Sars? Big loss if so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭youngbob

pluszap wrote: »
    Hope the rumour about christy cooney name being mentioned for manager is not true

that rumour is pure nonsense. Everyone in Youghal will tell you their success came on the back of the previous selectors Peter Quagelly Micky Downing & Peter Coady. Cooney & Spillane jumped on their efforts and Cooney had the Echo to blow his trumpet at every win they had. Even CCB wouldn't have the neck to put him in charge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

DuffleBag wrote: »
    I see Declan Dalton sent off in the east cork u21 final at the weekend. Does that mean he misses imokilly's match v Sars? Big loss if so.
    No he can play for imokilly. He was sent off playing u21 so must miss county 1/4 final u21 v Avondhu champions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭N20

Smith614 wrote: »
    No he can play for imokilly. He was sent off playing u21 so must miss county 1/4 final u21 v Avondhu champions.

Mallow disposed of Charleville tonight in Ballyhea

Cold and miserable the winter is in I'm afraid.

It seems Charleville didnt turn up, they were higly rated - Darragh Fitzgibbon was their stand out player and Jack Barry got on a lot of ball.

Loads of frees, indiscipline from both defences and whistle happy ref.

Sean Hayes clinical from placed balls but didnt do too much from open play otherwise - Mallow had a comfortable lead and worked reasonably well - lots of hand passing - seemed the hungrier team

I missed first quarter ( with that road ever be free of road works ) so dont know who got 2 goals for Mallow - but essentially Charleville never really closed gap after that

Disappointing game overall

Mallow play Fermoy in final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Corcaigh Abu1

Pat Mulcahey ruled himself out of contention for the hurling job
    Pat Ryan wasnt so clear about it. He could still be interested.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/hurling/pat-mulcahy-and-pat-ryan-out-of-cork-manager-race-351537.html

N20 wrote: »
    Mallow disposed of Charleville tonight in Ballyhea

Cold and miserable the winter is in I'm afraid.

It seems Charleville didnt turn up, they were higly rated - Darragh Fitzgibbon was their stand out player and Jack Barry got on a lot of ball.

Loads of frees, indiscipline from both defences and whistle happy ref.

Sean Hayes clinical from placed balls but didnt do too much from open play otherwise - Mallow had a comfortable lead and worked reasonably well - lots of hand passing - seemed the hungrier team

I missed first quarter ( with that road ever be free of road works ) so dont know who got 2 goals for Mallow - but essentially Charleville never really closed gap after that

Disappointing game overall

Mallow play Fermoy in final
    I wouldn't read too much in to both teams playing below par as charville are in minor final and have huge intermediate game coming up
    Hopefully charville win there game at intermediate as nothing against east cork side but charville after last year be nice they won

Mallow beat Cloyne sunday and apparently Hayes was magnificent and done well
    He's definitely potential cork under twenty one
    Two days later play under twenty one game it's hard to perform to same level

It's a pity mulchay rules himself out as would seem better option most
    We should hope that Kingston wants it as cork in serous bother other wise
    Tomas mulchay wants the job and wouldn't think he was clear on Sunday game
    Pat Ryan has potential but sars form munster isn't great and I'd huge fear he's pick few sars lads cork aren't good enough

I think under age was he's place
    Last year he said in paper Michael cussen should been cork team as playing well club
    That's a worry with me from Ryan
    Ryan failed see cussen numerous chances didn't performance cork

Options look slim
    Shannon was right cunningjham would be ideal with cork and should be approached
    Would he leave Dublin
    Unlikely but if he was offered everything he wanted with three year term build he's team with one year Dublin left he'd go

He would most likely have coughlan with him and possibly Noel furlong
    It's a shame cunningjham won't even get moment thought for the job
    Kingston is good but cunningjham is better looking on he's more expirenced record
    Cadogan out for Douglas or doubt sunday so should balance things up with lehane out
    I have no problem with Douglas hurling but hope midelton win as would put Wallis name to fore and would probably mean midelton best chance cork in munster
    Newcestown going well this year again and Luke meade is in great form as usual
    It's a loss they are missing Trevor horgan who is good player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭pluszap

Cork GAA chiefs have drawn up a shortlist of four names to replace departed senior football manager, Brian Cuthbert.

The new Rebel football manager will be one of four nominees for the position - John Cleary, Ned English, Ephie Fitzgerald and Ronan McCarthy.

ACCORDING TO IRISH EXAMINER ON THURSDAY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

danganabu wrote: »
    Ah yeah Nash is the least of Corks problems and is more than adequate, just would agree with the inital statement that he is over rated by many, mainly on the back of his previouis goal scoring record/threat. With regards to the actual basic skills of a keeper he is average to good but no more.

Danganabu you're concern for the plight of Cork GAA is very touching as you have shown with you're mouthing off on other threads.If i were you though i'd be more worried about Tipp.4 all Irelands since 1971.That's a poor record for a county of Tipps tradition and heritage.Not to mention the fact that you're current team (taking into account the success they have had at underage) is seriously mentally brittle as they have shown time and time again at the business end of the championship over the last few years.Dont be worrying about us with the right managerial appointments we will be a force again in both codes again sooner rather than later.;)

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Pos087 wrote: »
    Ttm what you make of ucc hurling this year.

Who have joined and who have left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

John Horgan in the Echo saying that Ronan McCarthy now favourite and that Cleary wont do interview process...also Ned English and Ephie Fitzgerald in the frame ...mind you in an interview 3 years ago English said that it was too late for him now .....John Cleary is the only man that should get this job ...I have no faith in the others .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭slingerz

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    John Horgan in the Echo saying that Ronan McCarthy now favourite and that Cleary wont do interview process...also Ned English and Ephie Fitzgerald in the frame ...mind you in an interview 3 years ago English said that it was too late for him now .....John Cleary is the only man that should get this job ...I have no faith in the others .

They are the shortlisted candidiates according to the examiner.

I would have no faith in McCarthy being any better than Cuthbert he has no track record whatsoever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

wtf is this nonsense. The job is there for Cleary if he wants it? Is he really too arrogant to sit an interview? Total and utter numpty if true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

wtf is this nonsense. The job is there for Cleary if he wants it? Is he really too arrogant to sit an interview? Total and utter numpty if true.

I'd imagine he's still annoyed over the carry-on the last time out and is reluctant to put up with more nonsense this time around again.

I did hear of another applicant who applied for the football manager's job the last time around and received no response whatsoever back - not a PFO letter, not a phone call or even a text. This was a former Cork All-Ireland winning footballer. Sometimes you'd wonder if the lads on the county board are actively trying to destroy the GAA in Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭wackokid

Hang on a minute. Somebody's got to steer the ship.
    Can't have prospective managers writing their own rules for appointment.
    Rightly or wrongly, if there is an interview for one, there's an interview for all.
    I also heard about that ex All Ireland winner applying for the post last time but I don't believe it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Your comment is nonsense the dogs in the street know that John Cleary is the man that should get this job ...he sat for the interview 2 years ago ...hes the only one of those names that knows the requirements to be a manager in todays game but our beloved CCB have no intention in giving any manager that much scope ...other county boards just go after the best man to do the job ...we are up **** creek again if Cleary does not get this ....hes playing hard ball with these people ....he will go in on his terms not theres ....I just hope the 3 former players will know the right thing to do .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭Gael85

Was McCarthy a selector under Cuthbert?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

I wouldn't read too much in to both teams playing below par as charville are in minor final and have huge intermediate game coming up
    Hopefully charville win there game at intermediate as nothing against east cork side but charville after last year be nice they won

Mallow beat Cloyne sunday and apparently Hayes was magnificent and done well
    He's definitely potential cork under twenty one
    Two days later play under twenty one game it's hard to perform to same level

It's a pity mulchay rules himself out as would seem better option most
    We should hope that Kingston wants it as cork in serous bother other wise
    Tomas mulchay wants the job and wouldn't think he was clear on Sunday game
    Pat Ryan has potential but sars form munster isn't great and I'd huge fear he's pick few sars lads cork aren't good enough

I think under age was he's place
    Last year he said in paper Michael cussen should been cork team as playing well club
    That's a worry with me from Ryan
    Ryan failed see cussen numerous chances didn't performance cork

Options look slim
    Shannon was right cunningjham would be ideal with cork and should be approached
    Would he leave Dublin
    Unlikely but if he was offered everything he wanted with three year term build he's team with one year Dublin left he'd go

He would most likely have coughlan with him and possibly Noel furlong
    It's a shame cunningjham won't even get moment thought for the job
    Kingston is good but cunningjham is better looking on he's more expirenced record
    Cadogan out for Douglas or doubt sunday so should balance things up with lehane out
    I have no problem with Douglas hurling but hope midelton win as would put Wallis name to fore and would probably mean midelton best chance cork in munster
    Newcestown going well this year again and Luke meade is in great form as usual
    It's a loss they are missing Trevor horgan who is good player
    Charleville have 9 or 10 minors on their u21 team and Darren Casey a cork u21 was also missing. Wouldn't expect them to beat a much physically stronger mallow team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Gael85 wrote: »
    Was McCarthy a selector under Cuthbert?

Yeah but had to step back last year because of time pressure with work, which makes it a bit odd he's able to throw his hat in this year for the far busier job of manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Pos087

Jippo wrote: »
    There is a man who ye should be going for --- and guess ye could get --- and I'm very glad ye didn't go for him!

2 seconds I get my crystal ball and read your mind.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,014 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

So its Dublin again for our ladies, they beat Armagh 2-16 v 2-05
    Very good first performance but lost their way in the second somewhat.
    Revenge will be in the air for them.
    Seriously looking foward to the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭zetecescort

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    So its Dublin again for our ladies, they beat Armagh 2-16 v 2-05
    Very good first performance but lost their way in the second somewhat.
    Revenge will be in the air for them.
    Seriously looking foward to the final.

Big turnover of players since last year, not sure revenge will be much of a factor. Not doubt their young players will try to run the legs off us around the middle of the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭pluszap

Jerry wallace said on county sound radio after midleton watch that he wants cork hurling manager job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭N20

Smith614 wrote: »
    Charleville have 9 or 10 minors on their u21 team and Darren Casey a cork u21 was also missing. Wouldn't expect them to beat a much physically stronger mallow team.

Fermoy no match for Mallow this eve finished up Mallow 2 21 Fermoy 11

Fr O Neills must have 9 or 10 minors as well so it will be an interesting clash next day