Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland Team Talk/Gossip/Rumour Thread IV

awec wrote: »
    It does seem completely pointless to wait.

I'm trying to think of some conceivable reason but I got nothing. All they'd need to do is put an article on their website. I can't think of anything stopping then doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭blackwarrior

It does seem completely pointless to wait.

I'm not sure when this Tuesday announcement date first cropped up (only a couple of days ago I think). In recent weeks, Schmidt was always telling the non-travelling players on Sunday, and I assumed that the public announcement was going to be today. Seems strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭leonard7

heard on the grapevine that Bowe hasn't made the cut. However, its a rumour albeit from a good source. It would be a ballsy move and just waiting to see if it's true or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,734 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

Tin foil hat back on again but...squad registration deadline is today, maybe just making sure all the other teams are set in stone first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭Thanos

leonard7 wrote: »
    heard on the grapevine that Bowe hasn't made the cut. However, its a rumour albeit from a good source. It would be a ballsy move and just waiting to see if it's true or not.

I think that would be a really strange one if true, big fast player able to get past a defender and can win ball in the air for you. Not impossible but....................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

MJohnston wrote: »
    Tin foil hat back on again but...squad registration deadline is today, maybe just making sure all the other teams are set in stone first?

Or getting a good handle on injuries and rehab timelines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭thevinylword

Would be stunned if Jackson didn't go, risky risky move if true

• Administrators Posts: 55,127 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Leaving Bowe behind would be absolutely mental.

I can't see it. He'd have been playing loads these past few weeks if he looked like being cut, I can't see Schmidt just suddenly dropping the guy who is on paper the best winger in the country and a huge bank of credit out of the squad entirely without giving him a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

One test where he's taken off before the hour and then a start for Ulster where he's taken off at half time in a planned substitution.

Nothing indicates he's not absolutely on the plane.

With that said, if his RWC showing is similar to his 6N showing (pretty mundane by his standards), his spot is under real pressure for the 6N.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭leonard7

awec i agree and hence don't believe the rumour. I hope its not true. Just thought i'd share it as it was from a reputable source and in fairness i think his place should be up for discussion just as much as other wingers. It is definitely the hardest spot to get into. I mean gilroy who has had a great season could only make 24th man for one warm up game. Really tells all there is to know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Buer wrote: »
    Official announcement at lunch time tomorrow. I'm sure we'll hear the first leaks by end of the afternoon.

Today is the deadline though ref Gerry in IT.

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Today is the deadline though ref Gerry in IT.

It is, but IRFU aren't planning to publicly announce the 31 until tomorrow.

... around lunchtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

Heard similar. Only thing I have heard actually.

Thread title changed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

.ak wrote: »
    It is, but IRFU aren't planning to publicly announce the 31 until tomorrow.

... around lunchtime.

Hadn't heard that... sounds awful stupid to me (not shooting the messenger btw).

Surely it will be out before then... esp since lads know right now. In fact the group gathering in Carton today are solely the 31 so unless they have a 10m high fence around the place and no staff on site then they've no chance of it being kept qt until tomorrow.

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Hadn't heard that... sounds awful stupid to me (not shooting the messenger btw).

Surely it will be out before then... esp since lads know right now. In fact the group gathering in Carton today are solely the 31 so unless they have a 10m high fence around the place and no staff on site then they've no chance of it being kept qt until tomorrow.

It's been mentioned a few times in the media the official reveal is tomorrow.

But yeh, should be leaked at some stage you'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Baxtardo

Is it a bank holiday up Norf? That could have something to do with why the announcement is tomorrow. Who knows though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭wittycynic

Would be a shocking decision insofar as no one would expect it. Difficult to believe as he is, on the basis of ability and proven record, comfortably the best winger we have. He also possesses many attributes that we known Joe values highly: very reliable defensively, very competent in the air and under high balls, hits rucks well, very physical.

But his performances for Ireland, as of late, have been mediocre and pretty unimaginative.

If we were picking on form alone Zeebs and Davey K would be our starting wings, but with Trimble just back from injury, and given Earls and Fitzgerald's mixed performances at 11, I'd be hard pressed to believe that any of those latter three have displaced Bowe from being chosen as a travelling wing in our WC squad.

Baxtardo wrote: »
    Is it a bank holiday up Norf? That could have something to do with why the announcement is tomorrow. Who knows though.

It is aye, could be delayed to suit the nordy journos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭blackwarrior

Yeah, like we never played a 6N game on St Patrick's Day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

The lazy ba$tards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,734 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

Sure they'll all be pulling overtime at the minute anyway because of Mike Nesbitt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,019 ✭✭✭✭bilston

My issue with that is why would he only be given one game to prove himself? Every other back three player (bar Trimble) got more than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,981 ✭✭✭connachta

Bowe isn't out of the squad, he's the 3rd SH:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭damianmcr

Baxtardo wrote: »
    But this is the one fecking day this Nordie isnt in work and could have watched it live.

We are always last!!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,627 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Crikey, Brian O'Driscoll's website is like a designer threw up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

bilston wrote: »
    My issue with that is why would he only be given one game to prove himself? Every other back three player (bar Trimble) got more than that.

I think (and I think I've posted this before) that many people fundamentally misunderstand what the propose of warm up games are.

They are not really opportunities for players to prove form over other players. They are opportunities to get game time and prove fitness.

Let's say (for arguments sake) that Bowe didn't have a great 6N, wasn't particularly good for Ulster in the second half of the season and has been performing poorly in training (let's say his gym numbers are 10% down on last yr and 5% below the others competing for his position).

If that's the case, it doesn't matter what he does against a second string Scottish side....it probably doesn't change the coaches opinion of where he is right now.

Just to be clear, I'm not even sure I believe it myself about Bowe. But if it is true, I doubt running in some tries in warm up matches would have made a difference.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

bilston wrote: »

No one was given a game or even two to prove or not prove themselves. What we saw on the pitch is only a tiny part of the picture determining selection. If selection expectation is based on what we saw in the last 3 games then it will be very out of kilter with the true selections.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

I've been told this too! Not sure if I'd believe it though...source is reliable enough though so I dunno..

The warm ups are definitely used for players to prove themselves. Otherwise we wouldn't have seen players tried in different positions and different combinations tried. If it was just about game time and fitness the majority of the team would have remained unchanged each match.