Is the Western World anti-man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

I think he was blaming feminists that claim to support equality when in reality they do not.

You just need to understand feminism as a womens rights movement not an equality movement. That lines up better with reality.

I think a lot of the laws that appear to be anti men are a product of christen culture in the western world and how Christianity views women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

I'm not blaming them, but if they cared about gender-neutral equality then this law would piss them off, and it doesn't.

My point is, they bleat on and on and on about how women are soooooo oppressed, yet they stay utterly silent when it's demonstrably proven, in black and white on the statute books, that there are also laws which give women an unfair upper hand. So the "men = privileged, women = oppressors" paradigm they peddle is demonstrably bullsh!t.

Your conclusion does not follow from your premise - you are saying that because there is a least one outdated sexist law still on the books, male privilege does not exist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Actually, this thread from last night perfectly sums up the anti-male bias in the West:

Maybe I'm just jaded by it all at this stage, but I was not (and am not) even a little surprised as almost every film I see these days has female on male violence as the punchline of a joke. Even kids animation is not immune to it. Sure when three women can strip an 18 year old naked, torture him, burn his genitals with a curling iron and all walk away with community service, surely that gives some indication of how little men are respected in society today, as I really think if three grown men stripped an 18 year old girl, beat her and burnt her genitalia , it woild be seen a hell of a lot differently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,738 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Kev W wrote: »

I never said that. You seemed to claim that the existence of rape crisis centres was evidence that rape culture doesn't exist. I made the counterargument that the opposite is true, because the primary result of rape culture is - guess what? - rape.

Rape culture is a culture where we accept its ok to Rape! You are a massive spoofer who twists everything to suit a arguement I look forward to many more intelligent posts from you.

Maybe I'm just jaded by it all at this stage, but I was not (and am not) even a little surprised as almost every film I see these days has female on male violence as the punchline of a joke. Even kids animation is not immune to it. Sure when three women can strip an 18 year old naked, torture him, burn his genitals with a curling iron and all walk away with community service, surely that gives some indication of how little men are respected in society today, as I really think if three grown men stripped an 18 year old girl, beat her and burnt her genitalia , it woild be seen a hell of a lot differently.

I think the 3 women present were under the mind control of the 1 man present.
    That was the claim as I recall anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

psinno wrote: »
    I think the 3 women present were under the mind control of the 1 man present.
    That was the claim as I recall anyway.

Oh I am aware of what the claim was.
    Would three men ever be thought to have been under the mind control of one woman though?

Checks White Male privilage.....nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,800 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

psinno wrote: »
    You just need to understand feminism as a womens rights movement not an equality movement. That lines up better with reality.

Then feminists need to STFU about how the mens' rights movement is unnecessary because feminism is adequate for both genders. They cannot have their cake and eat it without justifiably pissing people off.

B0jangles wrote: »
    Your conclusion does not follow from your premise - you are saying that because there is a least one outdated sexist law still on the books, male privilege does not exist?

No, I think the entire concept of privilege as used by feminists is bullsh!t used to delegitimise mens' grievances about sexism.

Men and women both have privileges they shouldn't have. The binary, absolutist "men are privileged, women are oppressed" approach taken by feminists is complete sh!te.

Then feminists need to STFU about how the mens' rights movement is unnecessary because feminism is adequate for both genders. They cannot have their cake and eat it without justifiably pissing people off.

There's a feminist joke coming.......

So a feminist isn't a real feminist unless they're fighting to make things easier for men?

Unless they're lying about their movement being an adequate gender equality movement for both genders, then yes.

Of course I know it is a lie, I'm merely using these examples to expose it as such. Before someone comes in and claims that feminism cares about both genders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

True, but that's not anti-man. It's more like women not being seen as fully adult.

Yes, a lot of it is anti-men, but if you ever try to discuss this openly and honestly, you get shot down. Want to know something horrible? I once mentioned to people on two separate occasions about a lot of the issues facing men (including no legal protection if a woman rapes a man, not many shelters for men who are sufferers of domestic abuse, etc. etc) and you know what they told me? It's perfectly OK, because it's happening to men. I genuinely wish I was joking, I really do.

And then you have that recent case of a woman pouring a flammable liquid on a man's crotch, who she perceived of cheating on her, and then set it on fire. You know what you hear back? Fair play to the woman. Teach him right. Then you have a disgusting radio station, iRadio, who encouraged people to call in with funny lines and puns about the horrific attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭abbir

mariaalice wrote: »
    You are right that is sexist and discriminate against males, I would like to think the Garda dealing with issues like this have a bit of cop on if the teenagers were in a relationship, its different if they are not in an established relationship because of the ages involved.

Why is it different if it is in an established relationship? If two people are underage and both of them willingly consent to sexual contact together, should the law not treat them both the same (male and female) regardless of if they are in an established relationship?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭orubiru

kylith wrote: »

Originally Posted by Kev W - "I was only mildly poking fun about your assumption. I know most taxi drivers are male.
    However the fact that you can feel so safe in a male stranger's car that you can dismiss any feeling of unease in that situation as paranoia is an excellent example of male privelege"

This.

I'm not sure how you can agree that it's "male privilege".

The vast majority of people get into a Taxi and feel safe. So the majority of PEOPLE enjoy this privilege.

It's not a male privilege if pretty much everyone enjoys the benefit of safely getting a taxi and feeling safe about it.

Where do men who do feel unease in that situation fit into the picture? They are not benefiting from the privilege so how is it a "male" privilege?

100 people. 50 belong to Group A. 50 belong to Group B.
    10 from Group A have been assaulted in a taxi, by the driver.
    2 from Group B have been assaulted in a taxi, by the driver.
    88 people have never been assaulted in a tax, by the driver.

40 people from Group A have never been assaulted, may not fear assault AND may frequently use a taxi service. We are still OK to publicly describe feeling safe in a Taxi and an exclusive "Group B Privilege"?

I wonder how those folks from Group B who have been victims would feel being told that they have the privilege of feeling safe in a taxi?

Surely you can at least accept that this "excellent example of male privilege" is somewhat fluid as there will surely be men who lose their privilege? As there will also surely be women who feel perfectly safe getting a Taxi the privilege should not be seen as being exclusive to men?

You can't conclude that defining it as a "male privilege" is somewhat inaccurate and/or misleading?

Surely you would feel uncomfortable telling a man who has been raped by a taxi driver that "feeling safe in a taxi is an excellent example of male privilege"?

The only conclusion I can come to here, over and over again, is that we cannot possibly classify privileges.

We can't really get away with saying that "Situation X is a clear Group A privilege" when we know full well that members of Group A do not enjoy this privilege and that members of other groups do enjoy the privilege.

True, but that's not anti-man. It's more like women not being seen fully as adults.

But the effect of it is to punish men unfairly in some cases, or show women unfair lenience in others. So while the premise of it may or may not come from a misogynist standpoint, the actual tangible effects of it amount to sexism against men. And that needs to be condemned.

Regarding lack of female taxi drivers - I believe a lot of this stems from a pretty horrific murder back in the 90s (maybe early 2000s, I can't remember), in which a female taxi driver was stabbed to death in Galway. I know this was why it was the case there anyway.

True, but that's not anti-man. It's more like women not being seen as fully adult.

It is about having both the rights and responsibilities of equality not just the former.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

Rape culture is a culture where we accept its ok to Rape! You are a massive spoofer who twists everything to suit a arguement I look forward to many more intelligent posts from you.

I think you've misunderstood what rape culture means. That rape culture exists isn't to say that for example "Irish culture is a rape culture". It's a culture within our culture, in the sense of "sports culture" or "geek culture". It's not saying that society views rape as acceptable but that there are those within society that do and that aspects of our media and our law can be seen by these people to prop up that belief.

Regarding lack of female taxi drivers - I believe a lot of this stems from a pretty horrific murder back in the 90s (maybe early 2000s, I can't remember), in which a female taxi driver was stabbed to death in Galway. I know this was why it was the case there anyway.

It always seems to me like its a job that a Woman wouldn't enjoy, same goes for delivery drivers, I think I have only had food delivered by a Woman once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

mariaalice wrote: »
    I think a lot of the laws that appear to be anti men are a product of christen culture in the western world and how Christianity views women.
    Are you suggesting that feminist groups campaigning alongside Christian groups on issues such as prostitution means that feminism has been turned into a Christian movement? Otherwise you really can't pass the buck there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Maybe I'm just jaded by it all at this stage, but I was not (and am not) even a little surprised as almost every film I see these days has female on male violence as the punchline of a joke. Even kids animation is not immune to it.
    Now I could be wrong here, and I'm certainly open to being corrected, but I get the feeling that those scenes were most probably written, storyboarded, directed, filmed, edited, produced, and distributed almost entirely by men, and shown on TV channels or in cinemas owned and run by men. Where is the anti-male feminist bias there? If anything it shows that men think that female on male violence is a joke and that the male victims of violence by women is a punchline!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Why are you comparing statistics for childless women to statistics for men? I'm not disputing your numbers (though a source would be nice), it just feels like an odd discrepancy. If both groups are with or without children does that effect the statistics?
    I gave a source, try clicking on the word Source. Here it is again.. That's from the National Women's council of Ireland's report BTW.
    As for the vague statistics on rape you dismissed, do you have a source on which to base your dismissal? I can only assume that you're claiming that whatever the actual statistics are are incorrect. What do you base that on?
    The Koss study(and I use the term broadly) was the one that kicked this "one in four" stuff off back in the 1980's and the methodology was so full of holes it would pass fair muster as a colander. It has since been repeated so often it has become a "fact", even a meme.

US gov led studies(PDF) into the reported incidence of sexual violence* in the wider US shows at worst 5 in a 1000 women in 1995(the rates of what they term "completed rape" actually dropped from nearly 4 to under 2 per 1000 women from 1995-2010). These are averages taken over two year periods. So how do we get that figure up to one of 250 per 1000 women? Unless we want to believe that US colleges are rape centers of a level that would suggest sending in the national guard to control it. Interestingly, the colleges themselves by law have to compile and provide reported crime stats on campus - Example 1/Example 2 - and their stats reflect the wider national stats the government study found, not within an asses roar of "one in four".

Let's take another government study(PDF) that seems to back the high figure up. As an exercise take out all other criteria of sexual victimisation and just look at the stats for completed rapes. This comes to just under 2% of those surveyed. 2% is still far too many BTW.

However even looking at that 2% of would be defined in the common mind as "obvious rape" the report states;

"In each incident report, respondents were asked, “Do you consider this incident to be a rape?”. For the 86 incidents categorized as a completed rape, 46.5 percent (n = 40) of the women answered “yes,” 48.8 percent (n = 42) answered “no,” and 4.7 percent (n = 4) answered “don’t know.”".

So of the women in the study whose experience was considered to be clear cut, no question rape, nearly half of them didn't consider it to be. Now of course sexual assault is a minefield of horrible emotional upset and people can easily blot out an incident or pass it off at the time, but when half of a survey of people who apparently fit the bill of full on rape state that they don't consider it such other questions have to be asked. In the original "1 in 4" Koss study this figure was even higher. 73% of those women didn't consider it rape(and 40 odd per cent of them continued sleeping with the same guy).

Overall the stats for the USA where most of this stuff originates and is repeated verbatim as "the Truth(™)" elsewhere and especially among your third wave feminists show a figure far more in keeping with at the extreme 1 in 30, which is too damned high, but an asses roar away from 1 in 3/4/5/6. Oh and rape stats have been consistently dropping in the US of A in the last decades(DNA and the like making if far easier to trace and convict).

Now when this gets debated the response of the naysayers to hard stats usually runs along the lines of 1) one rape is too many. No really? You don't say? 2) What number would you think acceptable? Passive aggressive nonsense designed to deflect and of course avoid comment on their skewed makeyuppy stats, 3) Sexism!!, great argument, not. I've even seen "rape enabler". Yep. 4) That's only reported crimes. Yep it is but they're the only reliable statistics we can hope to run with, otherwise we're just pulling figures out of the air for emotional effect.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭B0jangles

I'm not blaming them, but if they cared about gender-neutral equality then this law would piss them off, and it doesn't.

My point is, they bleat on and on and on about how women are soooooo oppressed, yet they stay utterly silent when it's demonstrably proven, in black and white on the statute books, that there are also laws which give women an unfair upper hand. So the "men = privileged, women = oppressors" paradigm they peddle is demonstrably bullsh!t.
    No, I think the entire concept of privilege as used by feminists is bullsh!t used to delegitimise mens' grievances about sexism.

Men and women both have privileges they shouldn't have. The binary, absolutist "men are privileged, women are oppressed" approach taken by feminists is complete sh!te.

Attack of the straw feminists!

http://www.harkavagrant.com/?id=341

But seriously, none of feminists I know subscribe to the simplistic viewpoint you describe.

I think you've misunderstood what rape culture means. That rape culture exists isn't to say that for example "Irish culture is a rape culture". It's a culture within our culture, in the sense of "sports culture" or "geek culture". It's not saying that society views rape as acceptable but that there are those within society that do and that aspects of our media and our law can be seen by these people to prop up that belief.

So a rape minority then?The way feminists bleat about rape culture they try make it out that the whole western world believes it is acceptable. I notice how you and the other poster ignored the 3 other facts and used rape centres as a reason to say we do have a culture of rape, if we in anyway had a rape culture we wouldn't have centres full of well trained people to help the vicitims, I await your reply full of spoofery :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭zeffabelli

I wish both would stfu.

Both are evangelical Protestant off shoots.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

Anti-man and anti-heterosexual, I would add. If you're a woman or gay (or both), you're immediately put on a pedestal, made to feel like you've overcame some kind of barrier to be where you are today. How can you compete with that?

zeffabelli wrote: »
    I wish both would stfu.

Both are evangelical Protestant off shoots.

This, ladies and gentlemen, is how you win a thread. :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

kylith wrote: »
    Now I could be wrong here, and I'm certainly open to being corrected, but I get the feeling that those scenes were most probably written, storyboarded, directed, filmed, edited, produced, and distributed almost entirely by men, and shown on TV channels or in cinemas owned and run by men. Where is the anti-male feminist bias there? If anything it shows that men think that female on male violence is a joke and that the male victims of violence by women is a punchline!
    Please stop trying to shirk responsiblity for women in the media and society. Other than the fact that the media generally follows demand, in which women are more than well represented (especially for daytime TV), they are equally capable of producing such misandrist content.

All this washing of one's hands because somehow men completely control everything and women are just along for the ride is a bit pathetic.