Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2015 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭jjdonegal

ah yes, the good old GAA mentality that automatically every person on a yellow who creates a foul, automatically has to be sent off.

nothing about the fact that the first yellow he got, wasnt actually a yellow card offence in the first place so maybe just maybe, the ref felt (and correctly so) that he didnt deserved to be sent off for it.

Fair enough. It's clear from the previous post from the Kerry lad that I dont have evough of a football brain to debate on here considering I thought JOD got a soft penalty but with my limited brain power I thought it was a yellow. Its an opinion.
    Personally think Kerry get as much luck with refs as other teams. No more or no less. Some people clearly disagree and good luck to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,150 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

Stinicker wrote: »
    There was no dubious decisions last year in favour of Kerry and anyone with half a footballing idea could see clearly that J'OD's penalty against Cork was very well deserved.

In your view then there must be a heck of a lot of ex players and managers who don't have even half a footballing idea! Either that or maybe, just maybe, that statement is a little bit of an exaggeration to promote your own view of things!
    I think most people with at least half a footballing idea agree that there were a number of dubious decisions last year in favour of Kerry and there are plenty of the view that the penalty against Cork was no penalty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

Totally agree.
    As a Mayo man living in Kerry we are looked at with a certain amount of sympathy here.
    We are no threat to them.
    We are "harmless"

That would change drastically if we beat Kerry in a final.

In fairness, that is nonsense and if this is the way you think, no wonder some of your posts are as they are. "No threat".."Harmless"..what sort of people are you talking to? :mad:

Sympathy? I have no sympathy for Mayo. Last year going into the semi final (like any sane Kerry football fan) I would have had a lot of respect and fear of this Mayo team. People don't like using the word "fear" but a little bit of fear is no bad thing, it focuses the mind. This Mayo team since 2012, have proven that they are capable of beating anyone and have been consistently in contention for Sam.
    After the replay, I had no "sympathy" whatsoever for Mayo. You can't win big championship games being cleaned out in midfield all day. When the game was there to be won in extra time, they were well beaten. I saw none of the ravenous hunger to end the massive famine that I expected from Mayo.
    THIS and not the referee, should have been the focus of a real analysis from Mayo fans. Instead there was an awful lot of whinging, some of it about very non-influential issues, some of it justified in fairness, but none of it useful. The Mayo GAA blog for example has been the outlet for some highly dubious rants and remarks towards Kerry in particular. Not just since last year but for a long while. There was a report on a minor game a few years ago where the report referred snidely to the Kerry players as "princelings" amongst other things. Awful scutter of the highest order.

Thus, I'd have to go along with some of the sentiments that a lot of Mayo fans would not leave a good impression on me with their behaviour over the last few years, BUT...

I know so many great real Gaelic Football men (and a few women!) from Mayo, I know that Mayo is as much a Gaelic Football county as anywhere else, the club scene is so strong, the people care so much about the game, the game is such a big part of Mayo life..along with the respect I have for players like Keith Higgins, Lee Keegan and along with the massive respect I have for the Mayo coach..that I would think that it would only be a positive thing for Gaelic Football if Mayo did finally end the famine. And if Mayo face anyone but Kerry in the final they will have my support for that reason.

I would also think that the county may detach from Ireland and slip away Atlantis-like into the Atlantic were this to happen, such would be the extent of the partying the week after!:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

It was a penalty and maybe just maybe if Cork weren't such sore losers and continuous whingers then maybe they'd be more successful like Kerry. I have heard so much moaning and whingeing out of Mayo also, I really do hope Mayo make it to the final this and year and we have another Mayo V Kerry Final, never in all my life have I feared Mayo and they will crumble in the final if they make it, especially if the adversary is the Green and Gold of the Kingdom of Kerry. At 68 minutes gone in Croke Park and Mayo leading by 5 points last year I had no fear because I knew Kerry are Kerry and well Mayo, well they are Mayo. Similarly below in Limerick Mayo led by 8 points and should be cruising for Victory but Kerry are Kerry and Mayo well they always melt in the face of Kerry.

If they do finally beat Kerry then it will be a red letter day but I don't see it happening. Kerry have Tommy Walsh, Darren O'Sullivan and Gooch, three invaluable geniuses and exponents of the game. I don't think people realize just how much Kerry have improved since winning the All-Ireland last year and we are growing stronger and stronger, this is a Kerry team which will be around for a long time yet and I expect Kerry to win between 2 and 3 more All-Ireland titles this decade. We even had our first Minor All-Ireland in twenty years last year so much is the conveyor belt flowing in the Kingdom, the economy has improved alot down here too and many young lads have returned home and the economic driving factor is helping revive interest also.

It was a penalty and maybe just maybe if Cork weren't such sore losers and continuous whingers then maybe they'd be more successful like Kerry. I have heard so much moaning and whingeing out of Mayo also, I really do hope Mayo make it to the final this and year and we have another Mayo V Kerry Final, never in all my life have I feared Mayo and they will crumble in the final if they make it, especially if the adversary is the Green and Gold of the Kingdom of Kerry. At 68 minutes gone in Croke Park and Mayo leading by 5 points last year I had no fear because I knew Kerry are Kerry and well Mayo, well they are Mayo. Similarly below in Limerick Mayo led by 8 points and should be cruising for Victory but Kerry are Kerry and Mayo well they always melt in the face of Kerry.

If they do finally beat Kerry then it will be a red letter day but I don't see it happening. Kerry have Tommy Walsh, Darren O'Sullivan and Gooch, three invaluable geniuses and exponents of the game. I don't think people realize just how much Kerry have improved since winning the All-Ireland last year and we are growing stronger and stronger, this is a Kerry team which will be around for a long time yet and I expect Kerry to win between 2 and 3 more All-Ireland titles this decade. We even had our first Minor All-Ireland in twenty years last year so much is the conveyor belt flowing in the Kingdom, the economy has improved alot down here too and many young lads have returned home and the economic driving factor is helping revive interest also.

All utter nonsense in bold IMO.

Kerry were beat out the gate in 1996 deservedly by Mayo, maybe you were alive for that?

I, along with a lot of others, was worried the game was gone last year in Croker before the late rally. How you could have been confident of Donaghy turning the game given he hadn't played all year I don't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

All utter nonsense in bold IMO.

Kerry were beat out the gate in 1996 deservedly by Mayo, maybe you were alive for that?

I, along with a lot of others, was worried the game was gone last year in Croker before the late rally. How you could have been confident of Donaghy turning the game given he hadn't played all year I don't know.

As a Tyrone man I'd love nothing more than Mayo to win it if we can't. Excellent team, great players, been knocking on the door for years and finally look to have a team capable of winning it on the big day.

every time Mayo have lost a final in my time watching it they've lost to a better team and there's no shame in that. This time however I think they have it in them to go all the way and they dismantled Donegal with such ease on Saturday with such a clever game plan (which they never seemed to have before) that I think they're a match for anyone left in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,814 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

I hope whoever wins does so with absolute 'puke' football, with the help of lots of controversial refereeing decisions and some shady dark arts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,799 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Totally agree.
    As a Mayo man living in Kerry we are looked at with a certain amount of sympathy here.
    We are no threat to them.
    We are "harmless"

That would change drastically if we beat Kerry in a final.

Like, you must genuinely spend your time talking to simpletons with some of the garbage I've seen you assert as the conventional wisdom in Kerry over the years.

This takes the biscuit, almost deserves a rolleyes smiley.

Jayop wrote: »
    As a Tyrone man I'd love nothing more than Mayo to win it if we can't. Excellent team, great players, been knocking on the door for years and finally look to have a team capable of winning it on the big day.

every time Mayo have lost a final in my time watching it they've lost to a better team and there's no shame in that. This time however I think they have it in them to go all the way and they dismantled Donegal with such ease on Saturday with such a clever game plan (which they never seemed to have before) that I think they're a match for anyone left in it.

What's your take on the backlash from "hairgate" etc Saturday Jay? You may have given it already, sorry don't have time or inclination to trawl through threads.

Semi is going to be a good game. Looking forward to meeting some lads from Tyrone. Some of the best Gaelic football men I ever met come from Tyrone. Hate some of the nonsense that has infiltrated the good respect that's there between the counties going back over the years.

I hope whoever wins does so with absolute 'puke' football, with the help of lots of controversial refereeing decisions and some shady dark arts.

You're up for Tyrone then! ;)
    What's your take on the backlash from "hairgate" etc Saturday Jay? You may have given it already, sorry don't have time or inclination to trawl through threads.

Semi is going to be a good game. Looking forward to meeting some lads from Tyrone. Some of the best Gaelic football men I ever met come from Tyrone. Hate some of the nonsense that has infiltrated the good respect that's there between the counties going back over the years.

I'm talking about it in the Sunday Game thread. The dive was terrible, but not half as bad in my opinion as all the nonsense spoken about since and the revisionism of the game which basically is saying every tyrone player was diving constantly and Monaghan were angels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭harpsman

They were plenty underhand then too. Ill list examples if you want

The Tyrones went out of their way to offer tea & sandwiches and this sort of thing before a couple of league games in Omagh when the bad feeling that was there was at a height.

I thought that showed fantastic class on their part and I don't know how well it's known.

harpsman wrote: »
    They were plenty underhand then too. Ill list examples if you want

Monaghan incidents or Tyrone incidents?

Either way, I watched the game and I know what I saw. IMO Tyrone kept a lid on everything for 60 minutes and didn't react to quite a lot of provocation, but when they did they let themselves down. If it wasn't for the McCann incident I'd be much more staunch in my defence of the team but it's hard to get too excited after that.

keane2097 wrote: »
    The Tyrones went out of their way to offer tea & sandwiches and this sort of thing before a couple of league games in Omagh when the bad feeling that was there was at a height.

I thought that showed fantastic class on their part and I don't know how well it's known.

The funny thing is, anyone form Tyrone I know doesn't have the same 'hate' for Dublin that the rest of the country seem to have. There was bad blood around the middle of the last decade which culminated in the battle of omagh. The very best days I've ever had at games were the 2 Dublin matches in 2005. The craic in the stands those days was second to none. Plenty of slagging between the two sets but absolutely no bad blood around where I was.

My only gripe with the Dubs is the booing of free takers in every game. I hate that and normally when you do it the other teams fans will react and do it too.

Apart from that you've great support.

The funny thing is, anyone form Tyrone I know doesn't have the same 'hate' for Dublin that the rest of the country seem to have. There was bad blood around the middle of the last decade which culminated in the battle of omagh. The very best days I've ever had at games were the 2 Dublin matches in 2005. The craic in the stands those days was second to none. Plenty of slagging between the two sets but absolutely no bad blood around where I was.

My only gripe with the Dubs is the booing of free takers in every game. I hate that and normally when you do it the other teams fans will react and do it too.

Apart from that you've great support.

I'm Kerry ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

After the replay, I had no "sympathy" whatsoever for Mayo. You can't win big championship games being cleaned out in midfield all day. When the game was there to be won in extra time, they were well beaten. I saw none of the ravenous hunger to end the massive famine that I expected from Mayo.
    THIS and not the referee, should have been the focus of a real analysis from Mayo fans. Instead there was an awful lot of whinging, some of it about very non-influential issues, some of it justified in fairness, but none of it useful. The Mayo GAA blog for example has been the outlet for some highly dubious rants and remarks towards Kerry in particular. Not just since last year but for a long while. There was a report on a minor game a few years ago where the report referred snidely to the Kerry players as "princelings" amongst other things. Awful scutter of the highest order.

Thus, I'd have to go along with some of the sentiments that a lot of Mayo fans would not leave a good impression on me with their behaviour over the last few years, BUT...

As a Mayo fan, I thought the refereeing in last year's replay was poor to say the least. But do I think it was what lost Mayo the game? No. We had our chances in both games but sadly for us it wasn't to be. We learn what we can and move on.

You are right in that plenty of Mayo fans were whinging about the referee and the venue and what not. Some even linked the whole Limerick saga to a conspiracy involving HQ and the county board receiving an extension on a loan. Cringe worthy stuff and yes it got embarrassing very quickly. Bit IMO it's the vocal minority (the Mayo GAA Blog by its nature would attract those types but the majority of its commentators are IMO fair and balanced) who are at it and not representative of the fans as a whole.

I've always had good time for the Kerry fans and hope to continue the banter in Croke Park and other places for years to come.

I'm Kerry ;)

Ah well that's different, I hate all ye lads! ;)

Nah, I saw Dublin in your location so put 2+2 together.

Even Kerry like, I don't have a big issue with. I will say that the atmosphere in the hill in 2003 wasn't pretty when your fans realised you were going to be beat. There was a bot of smack talking going on.

That said it's been a great rivalry and you'd know how good it's been by the reaction in Tralee of your players winning a R4 qualifier. Quite unreal the celebrations from a county that's won 37 AI's but it showed what it meant to your boys to get one over us in the championship.

Also, the respect shown that day in Tralee was by all accounts amazing towards Harte in the aftermath of the daughter being killed. Kerry people waiting back after the game to show respect to him will last long in the memory.

I found it funny on Saturday people saying how small time Tyrone were by celebrating beating Monaghan when that game is still fresh in the memory.

Ah well that's different, I hate all ye lads! ;)

Nah, I saw Dublin in your location so put 2+2 together.

Even Kerry like, I don't have a big issue with. I will say that the atmosphere in the hill in 2003 wasn't pretty when your fans realised you were going to be beat. There was a bot of smack talking going on.

That said it's been a great rivalry and you'd know how good it's been by the reaction in Tralee of your players winning a R4 qualifier. Quite unreal the celebrations from a county that's won 37 AI's but it showed what it meant to your boys to get one over us in the championship.

Also, the respect shown that day in Tralee was by all accounts amazing towards Harte in the aftermath of the daughter being killed. Kerry people waiting back after the game to show respect to him will last long in the memory.

I found it funny on Saturday people saying how small time Tyrone were by celebrating beating Monaghan when that game is still fresh in the memory.

I wasn't there in 03 but no doubting that people in Kerry went absolutely ape when Tyrone came on the scene. There was a lot of casting about for someone to blame and some serious crybabying.

I never got the fuss about the celebrations in 2012. Anyone who says Tyrone weren't a monkey on our back for ten years is having a laugh. 99% of Kerry people would easily admit it I'd say, so beating them in that game meant a lot. It didn't make up for losing in 08 (wouldn't mind 05 much) but it was a big moment for a lot of people no doubt.

Complaining about celebrating winning an AI QF seems bizarre, who was saying that?

I wasn't there in 03 but no doubting that people in Kerry went absolutely ape when Tyrone came on the scene. There was a lot of casting about for someone to blame and some serious crybabying.

I never got the fuss about the celebrations in 2012. Anyone who says Tyrone weren't a monkey on our back for ten years is having a laugh. 99% of Kerry people would easily admit it I'd say, so beating them in that game meant a lot. It didn't make up for losing in 08 (wouldn't mind 05 much) but it was a big moment for a lot of people no doubt.

Complaining about celebrating winning an AI QF seems bizarre, who was saying that?

I looked back and there was less saying than I remembered but these two were.
    Bret Hart wrote: »
    Have Tyrone won the AI ? You'd think they had by the celebrations,very much small time.
    Ace2007 wrote: »
    Cavanagh dons't seem to bad now - jumping around -

Yeah I've nothing against a team celebrating a win in a big game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭aveytare

Celebrating winning a quarter-final is normal enough if a team hasn't won an All-Ireland in a while. I remember the Donegal players celebrating as if they'd won the all-ireland when they beat Kerry in 2012 and it didn't do them any harm. Same with Kerry celebrating beating Tyrone that year, they'd be a miserable bunch if they hadn't. I know people say Tyrone were crap but there was a serious amount of pressure on Kerry so it was probably relief more than anything else.

aveytare wrote: »
    Celebrating winning a quarter-final is normal enough if a team hasn't won an All-Ireland in a while. I remember the Donegal players celebrating as if they'd won the all-ireland when they beat Kerry in 2012 and it didn't do them any harm. Same with Kerry celebrating beating Tyrone that year, they'd be a miserable bunch if they hadn't. I know people say Tyrone were crap but there was a serious amount of pressure on Kerry so it was probably relief more than anything else.

I don't even think Kerry were celebrating the fact they progressed to the quarters as much as getting the Tyrone monkey off their back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

There was no dubious decisions last year in favour of Kerry and anyone with half a footballing idea could see clearly that J'OD's penalty against Cork was very well deserved. Kerry hardly ever benefit from the referee and 9 times out of 10 we are playing against 16 men on the field especially if it is Dublin as the opponents, a team who get everything from referees, even having a referee living and working in Dublin who referees heir training sessions, then that same referee gets to referee both Dublin's recent All-Ireland Finals, what a sick joke, even Sebb Blatter and FIFA would hardly try a stunt like that.

Hard to argue with Stinicker.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

I don't even think Kerry were celebrating the fact they progressed to the quarters as much as getting the Tyrone monkey off their back.

I think people it's exaggerated how much Kerry celebrated that victory. Galvin was very pumped up afterwards but it wasn't as if the whole team went mad. People say they went on as if they won an all-ireland but I don't think that's the case.

I think people exaggerate a bit how much Kerry celebrated that victory. Galvin was very pumped up afterwards and but it wasn't as if the whole team went mad. People suggest they celebrated as if they won an all-ireland but I don't think that's the case.

Yep.

Man I was so butt hurt after that game. That one and the Dublin defeat 2 years ago caused me to lose my **** big time. Not only beat, but beat up a stick in both games.

Bad times. :(

Yep.

Man I was so butt hurt after that game. That one and the Dublin defeat 2 years ago caused me to lose my **** big time. Not only beat, but beat up a stick in both games.

Bad times. :(

Do you mean the Dublin match in 2011?

I wasn't too disappointed because it was just an awkward time. In 2011 the golden oldies were on their last legs and in 2012 Tyrone had a weird mix of players in their first season, players on the verge of retirement, and players in the middle who just weren't all that.

Still it's always disappointing to be knocked out of the championship. Last year was worse though because it looked as if the young lads weren't gonna produce.

Sorry, yeah 2011. 2013 was Mayo.

It wasn't even that we were beat by Dublin that day, it was 7 points but it was more like 17 the way both teams played.

Yeah completely steamrolled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Kalyke

i hope Dublin beat Mayo, if Mayo won the All Ireland it would be the most insufferable event in irish sport, we would never hear the end of it. their fans have built themselves up into this very dislikeable parody in the last 5 or 6 years that more and more people are starting to see every year.

losing to them in a final is just unthinkable.

Wow..what an anti GAA comment...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Sorry, yeah 2011. 2013 was Mayo.

It wasn't even that we were beat by Dublin that day, it was 7 points but it was more like 17 the way both teams played.
    Yeah completely steamrolled.

Damnit Joe Mcquillan reffed that day too .. I'm sure the crying masses wil have something to say about that too

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Damnit Joe Mcquillan reffed that day too .. I'm sure the crying masses wil have something to say about that too

I remember thinking we didn't get the rub of the green but you rarely do when your being beaten so comprehensively.