Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

seligehgit wrote: »
    Sky commentary mentioned Donie has received two black cards already this season so if he receives another he would miss a potential All Ireland final.

Ok thanks, that's a relief, for now anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Didn't see it. Tapped him like "Lets go".

yes just getting his attention.

The Donegal defensive were concentrating on him all the same. Between lads slipping and the ref not allowing the quick free the space he created inside was nearly exploited.

On another day COC might have been in.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Cant be but happy with that, I thought with the way the Tyrone game went that Donegal would take a similar approach.
    Parsons and Moran really shone and delighted for them both.
    Backs were my major concern and dealt pretty well with everything. Keane will be disgusted with himself.
    AOS was outstanding again, took a dog of abuse and should have had his man black carded with a deliberate hand trip. His power for the goal was something else.
    COC was quite enough I thought, but his work rate was high, his place kicks need to be improved.
    It was a good test, I think the game v Dublin could be one of the best games around, if they both play to their potential then it will be impossible to call. So many top players and match ups will make it intriguing.
    Management did well.
    Another step on the route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

Actually thought it was a clean game. No late hits, verbals etc. AOS was just marked tight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

Actually thought it was a clean game. No late hits, verbals etc. AOS was just marked tight.

There was quite a bit of verbals at half time whistle. The ref held back the Donegal players to avert any handbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

I said the same at the end of the first half. I was expecting a, not so much a dirty game, but definitely more of a ratty affair.

I'm really glad it wasn't. That sort of nonsense adds nothing. Both those teams have achieved a serious amount over the last number of years. To me anyway I thought there seemed to be a bit more respect between the sides yesterday. I don't think it was there in 2012, 2013 or in the league games (2013,2015).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭jenno86

Where can I see highlights of the game yesterday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

jenno86 wrote: »
    Where can I see highlights of the game yesterday?

The Sunday Game tonight. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,736 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Would love to watch the game over but highlights tonight will have to do:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Lads I see that tickets are on-sale for the semi already? Hardly fair considering yesterday match only over. Is this the usual way it's done? It's not even updated on the season ticket portal but available for general purchase?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,547 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Just a quick few notes on the game yesterday:

First time I had the chance to go to Croker in a couple of years due to busy summers, and had great seats in the Davin. Fair play to all the supporters who travelled, long journey for all involved and even during the Mayo and Donegal match, nearly all of the Monaghan fans and many of the Tyrone fans waited (until the rain came along anyways :D). As a Mayo man, I wasn't particularly excited about the Monaghan vs. Tyrone match as Ulster football is usually very defensive, and knowing this, I said I'd make things a bit more interesting and throw a nice sum on no goals to be scored on my phone (have to love Dublin and their 4G internet). A lot of confused faces around me wondering why I was shouting for both teams to take their points lol.

Then onto the big one. I didn't need to do anything more to get me excited for Mayo battling Donegal, but sure with the nice win I had from the previous match, I said I'd throw the winnings on a certain bet. Aidan O'Shea first goalscorer at 6/1. When he put that into the bottom corner, you would have heard me from Castlebar :D.

As far as the performance goes, it was everything I was hoping for and more. Tight at the back, powerful in the middle and lethal up front. Pat Holmes and Noel Connelly got their tactics and substitutions 100% spot on (what happened with Keane couldn't have been predicted) and you can give plenty of credit to the brilliant, deep squad we have, but the contribution of Holmes and Connelly to the team this year cannot be praised enough. We look as dangerous as I've ever seen us and I haven't seen a better defensive performance from the the current squad.

It was a great day to be a Mayo supporter and I fully believe we have all the tools to beat the Dubs, even if only by a point or two. Well done to all ye who travelled from Mayo, we were the largest (and loudest) group there as you'd expect, and the 30th of August can't come soon enough.

Maigh Eo Abú

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

Yeah tickets went up in the middle of the day with the hill only . Family tickets went on sale this evening . Let's match the dubs in numbers . Hon Mayo .

Anyone know if better tickets would be available from the office at MacHale Park or am I better off buying the shîte ones that's left online? Dont want to end up in the hill myself, as much as I'd love to see it covered in green and red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

Keep checking online . There were several options . I just took the cusak cause of the family option . Weren't great thou . Keep checking

Yeah all I can see are Cusack and Hogan upper and Hill tickets, and all the stand ones are in the corners :(. I'm going to drop into the ticket office in MacHale park tomorrow and see if they've better ones, I'll let ye know how that turns out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Will that red card be overturned? Bad enough form by Murphy going out of his way to get the lad sent off considering that the game was done at that stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Will that red card be overturned? Bad enough form by Murphy going out of his way to get the lad sent off considering that the game was done at that stage

Hardly. He hit him so...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,542 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

ultrapercy wrote: »
    Was the Clarke substitution tactical or injury ?

Anyone know this ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭jjdonegal

Despite what Murphy did or didn't do the ref made the right call. A striking offence is a straight red. Like it or lump it. Time of the game has absolutely no relevance.
    The same way Keegan got a deserved red last year in the 1st half.
    The same way Enright should have been gone with a 2nd yellow in Limerick against you in the semi.
    You have to make the correct calls imo and ignore the clock.

We seen a ref last weekend have a howler which ensured Fermanagh stayed competitive. I dont want to see that. Ref the game to the rule book is my opinion and if people dont like it then tough luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

jjdonegal wrote: »
    Despite what Murphy did or didn't do the ref made the right call. A striking offence is a straight red. Like it or lump it. Time of the game has absolutely no relevance.
    The same way Keegan got a deserved red last year in the 1st half.
    The same way Enright should have been gone with a 2nd yellow in Limerick against you in the semi.
    You have to make the correct calls imo and ignore the clock.

We seen a ref last weekend have a howler which ensured Fermanagh stayed competitive. I dont want to see that. Ref the game to the rule book is my opinion and if people dont like it then tough luck.

Baloney.
    Murphy is well able to give it and then acts like a b*tch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,542 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

What would be the grounds for an appeal ?
    He did strike him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭jjdonegal

Baloney.
    Murphy is well able to give it and then acts like a b*tch

So you think a striking offence now should be ignored because the game is over as a contest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,247 ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Anyone know this ?

Clarke picked up an injury when he was saving the goal shot in the first-half and he has an adductor injury

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Lads, it was a red all day long, Kevin should know better and he has been on the road long enough. He hit him and thats it. He has to live with the fact he won't be playing now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Neeson wrote: »
    Hardly. He hit him so...

You reckon he 'hit him', it wasn't even a slap. Murphy started it and then went crying to the umpire, not nice to see from him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

It's kicking off in the Donegal thread man it's great to have put them to the sword.

How bad an injury is clarkes as in recovery time?

ColeTrain wrote: »
    You reckon he 'hit him', it wasn't even a slap. Murphy started it and then went crying to the umpire, not nice to see from him.

It looked a fair thump on the jaw. I know Murphy had him on the collar but nothing was done about that and it's the type of scuffle that regularly happens. We can't start letting people away with hitting people on the face now along with all the other carry on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,413 ✭✭✭naughto

yop wrote: »
    Lads, it was a red all day long, Kevin should know better and he has been on the road long enough. He hit him and thats it. He has to live with the fact he won't be playing now.

I don't think he would be playing any way even if he didn't get red

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Neeson wrote: »
    It looked a fair thump on the jaw. I know Murphy had him on the collar but nothing was done about that and it's the type of scuffle that regularly happens. We can't start letting people away with hitting people on the face now along with all the other carry on.

Didn't look like anything like a thump to me. Murphy started the handbags, bad form then to try and get another player sent off.

ColeTrain wrote: »
    Didn't look like anything like a thump to me. Murphy started the handbags, bad form then to try and get another player sent off.

Fair enough. But he hit him or put his hand on his face or something so I don't know how it could be overturned really.