Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Were building for the future.Ah well there's always next year.Do not pay attention to any of that talk and unlike Limerick last year don't be contented with a hard luck story and spend the whole year celebrating that hard luck story.The time is now.Cork footballers in 1973, Galway footballers in 1998, Tyrone footballers in 2003, and the Cork hurlers in 1999 all of those teams won all Irelands at very early stages in their life cycle.The Waterford team from 1998 to 2008 best chance of an all Ireland came in 1998 at the first time of asking when they seized up against an average Kilkenny team.I don't buy into this Kilkenny are invincible talk.They can be beaten and i think every Waterford player need's to be of the mentality that we are going to beat Kilkenny by hook or crook tomorrow.Good luck to Waterford i wish them all the best tomorrow and in the final.;)

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,132 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Ah Realt Dearg, give yerselves some credit. "Come on you supercats" is a great tune, ye were pioneering a new genre with that one.

Who are you kidding, this was our Everest:
    https://youtu.be/YNtvqzmsS6k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

Who are you kidding, this was our Everest:
    https://youtu.be/YNtvqzmsS6k

For the sake of my ears I'll give that one a miss. Not a big fan of these songs in general.

Looking forward to tomorrow can't wait for the ball to be thrown in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,132 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

For the sake of my ears I'll give that one a miss. Not a big fan of these songs in general.

Looking forward to tomorrow can't wait for the ball to be thrown in.

Not a fan? How could you not be a fan of such musical brilliance as Kilkenny have produced...
    https://youtu.be/I1Sy3iq18Go

Yeah, match can't come soon enough actually

Not a fan? How could you not be a fan of such musical brilliance as Kilkenny have produced...
    https://youtu.be/I1Sy3iq18Go

Yeah, match can't come soon enough actually

I hate the High Kings purely because the first time I heard them they were all really cheery singing away through my misery at half time in 2008.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Sir montygom

hardybuck wrote: »
    I hate to speak negatively but here are my fears about tomorrow.

I've a bad feeling Shanahan will be smothered out of the game. Himself, Gleeson and Bennett to be horsed out of it physically and mentally. Struggle to win possession and puck outs. After that I'm very concerned about where scores are coming from.

I think the backs will do their usual and be very combative, but ultimately I don't think we'll have enough up front.

I hope I'm wrong but this is my concern.

If waterford can keep out goals for the first twenty minutes and settle into the game they will be in with a great chance......im thinking kk will burst out of the traps and go for early goals and try stop any momentum building up in the waterford team......my fear is kilkenny's experience of big matches in croke park will stand to them and this waterford team could feel the tension early on and get caught cold and leak goals.........could be a lot of goals in this match as id expect wd would need a couple to see them over the line.

i don't think kk will try horse their way through as they are too cute and a silly pull or tackle could see a man sent off and give wd a confidence boost......if the cats get off to a flyer its curtains im afraid.....looking forward to 3.30....{throw in}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭skaface

Best of luck to Derek & the lads tomorrow
    See ye all in Croker, Deise Abu !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,447 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Jaysis me back is in bits, not sure I'll be able to tog out later if Derek gives to call to the lower Cusack. Think I'll leave the boots at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Take no prisoners

So match day has arrived. Haven't stopped thinking about this game since we got over the line against the Dubs. Jesus we owe KK a defeat in championship. I looked back at the 2009 and 2011 games the other day. We really weren't at the races in either despite the relatively respectable scoreline. When we got a bit of momentum, KK just upped their intensity and finished us off. Similarly in 2013 in extra time, they had the legs on us and when the need was greatest, upped it and the bit of class from Hogan in the last few minutes got them the win. Probably 2004 was the last time coming into a game where I thought we had a realistic chance of giving them a right good game. Early goals killed us that day despite a valiant fightback and probably a lack of luck. So today I head up to Croker from my Midlands abode with hope but also belief. I believe we can beat them today. We won't be lacking in fitness, our bench can turn the game with 15 minutes to go and we have the correct set up I believe to keep us competitive early on and withstand what they throw at us. Having trained under Derek a long time ago, he'll have them mentally right. All those players will truly believe they can do it. He has an exceptional way of instilling belief in players. Then there's the occasion. Croke park is another level to Thurles but I think here the Munster final, although on a lower scale, will stand to the really young lads. I think the occasion did affect us a bit v Tipp and hope Derek has them in the right mindset so that they don't get swept up by what surrounds them this time.

I believe we will beat them today. Everything needs to go in our favour though-good start, break even on the key match - ups, take our goal chances. I also think a bit of luck wouldn't go amiss. But I'm not leaving it to chance which is why i'll make my first visit to the local church since Easter. As the Sawdoctors say, to win just once (2 injured swans), that would be enough....UP THE DÉISE!!!

KevIRL wrote: »
    Jaysis me back is in bits, not sure I'll be able to tog out later if Derek gives to call to the lower Cusack. Think I'll leave the boots at home

Kilkenny will be the first side to have an official chiropractor on the sideline ;)

Up the Déise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭seananigans

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iRtMxmHkT9I

lads , this gives me goosebumps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,410 ✭✭✭randd1

So match day has arrived. Haven't stopped thinking about this game since we got over the line against the Dubs. Jesus we owe KK a defeat in championship. I looked back at the 2009 and 2011 games the other day. We really weren't at the races in either despite the relatively respectable scoreline. When we got a bit of momentum, KK just upped their intensity and finished us off. Similarly in 2013 in extra time, they had the legs on us and when the need was greatest, upped it and the bit of class from Hogan in the last few minutes got them the win. Probably 2004 was the last time coming into a game where I thought we had a realistic chance of giving them a right good game. Early goals killed us that day despite a valiant fightback and probably a lack of luck. So today I head up to Croker from my Midlands abode with hope but also belief. I believe we can beat them today. We won't be lacking in fitness, our bench can turn the game with 15 minutes to go and we have the correct set up I believe to keep us competitive early on and withstand what they throw at us. Having trained under Derek a long time ago, he'll have them mentally right. All those players will truly believe they can do it. He has an exceptional way of instilling belief in players. Then there's the occasion. Croke park is another level to Thurles but I think here the Munster final, although on a lower scale, will stand to the really young lads. I think the occasion did affect us a bit v Tipp and hope Derek has them in the right mindset so that they don't get swept up by what surrounds them this time.

I believe we will beat them today. Everything needs to go in our favour though-good start, break even on the key match - ups, take our goal chances. I also think a bit of luck wouldn't go amiss. But I'm not leaving it to chance which is why i'll make my first visit to the local church since Easter. As the Sawdoctors say, to win just once (2 injured swans), that would be enough....UP THE DÉISE!!!

2007 was ye're best chance to beat Kilkenny only for ye completely switched off against Limerick, especially as ye had beaten Kilkenny in the league final that year. That was the one year I felt Waterford could topple us when we were going well.

Anyways best of luck today lads, I lived in Waterford for a few years, good hurling people and I wouldn't begrudge ye a win. In saying that, h'on the Black & Amber, woohoo!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Up in Dublin good and early got tickets for 10e adult and 3e for kids via the club, best 26e we will spend all year!!

Up the Déise hope we can do it !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Take no prisoners

randd1 wrote: »
    2007 was ye're best chance to beat Kilkenny only for ye completely switched off against Limerick, especially as ye had beaten Kilkenny in the league final that year. That was the one year I felt Waterford could topple us when we were going well.

Anyways best of luck today lads, I lived in Waterford for a few years, good hurling people and I wouldn't begrudge ye a win. In saying that, h'on the Black & Amber, woohoo!!!

Yeah may the beat team win and may they be wearing white and blue ha ha. I suppose I was referring to direct head to heads vs KK. 2007 was when we were at our peak as a force but the way ye played against Limerick in the final would have still been hard to see us beating ye. I actually think 1998 was probably the one v KK that we really left behind. On the train with the flag, Jersey and headband and just shovelled a brekkie into me. Sermon at mass was all about belief. I believe. Come on lads let's do this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,642 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Going to be a bad day

Stuck in a traffic jam in naas and there's a few Waterford flags on the ground on the roads up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Going to be a bad day

Stuck in a traffic jam in naas and there's a few Waterford flags on the ground on the roads up

What are you doing driving through naas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,680 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Going to be a bad day

I think Naas is bye-passed these days

We went through Naas, was handy. The traffic jam I'd say is where the two motorways meet as you bypass Naas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Saying on the KK thread Richie Hogan failed a late fitness test and won't start. Won't believe anything until throw in though.

Absolutely vital we start well, if KK go 5 or 6 up at any point it'll be game over you'd feel. In their faces, hassle and harry the shít outa them and we might just have a chance. Have to take everything going and hope for a bit of luck too.
    It can be done but it'll take a massive effort.

Best of luck to the lads and management today.

Up the Déise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,642 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Memories of 2011 with the minor going Into extra time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,950 ✭✭✭nkay1985

I'm not going to lie, I'm a tad nervous now! Come on the lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

nkay1985 wrote: »
    I'm not going to lie, I'm a tad nervous now! Come on the lads!

I'm a ball of nerves myself, you go up?
    I'm watching it on the box.

STIG83 wrote: »
    I'm a ball of nerves myself, you go up?
    I'm watching it on the box.

Couldn't boy, I'm on call for work. Have three hours off it for the match but couldn't go up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 739 ✭✭✭robopaddy2

Ok half time and well in this still. Just watched replay of goal coughlan had no business going for it. Took de burca out. Sickener i hope its not the difference. Weathered the early storm well but cant depend on maurice for scores. Couple forwards non existent. Need to use bench soon

Very disappointing second half. Just weren't able to compete. Fair play to Kilkenny. They were so ferocious, just didn't allow our lads to play. Also so disappointing to shoot ourselves in the foot so often. We must have gifted Kilkenny four points at least with our passing from goal and the backs.

Lots of positives though. Thought we fronted up physically. Others too but now it's time for dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭ovalu

nkay1985 wrote: »
    Very disappointing second half. Just weren't able to compete. Fair play to Kilkenny. They were so ferocious, just didn't allow our lads to play. Also so disappointing to shoot ourselves in the foot so often. We must have gifted Kilkenny four points at least with our passing from goal and the backs.

Lots of positives though. Thought we fronted up physically. Others too but now it's time for dinner.

Good year, a lot of positives, disappointing end. Derek needs to move away from his De la Salle school bias and see the bigger picture, everyone tried hard but Barry Coughlan the worst player I have ever seen play for waterford, Jake Dillon and Philip Mahony also only starting due to where they went to school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭MfMan

For experienced players, neither Kevin Moran or Brick were at their best either, didn't exert the influence they're capable of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Rebel norrie

Need to score goals to win these big games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭Pretty fast

Unlucky lads. I was really hoping ye'd do the business today. Munster will be difficult next year but if you get out of that and into the quarters/semi's again I'll be shouting mad again for ye. Of course naturally I want Limerick to win Liam next year but ye'll always be my team if we're knocked out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

MfMan wrote: »
    For experienced players, neither Kevin Moran or Brick were at their best either, didn't exert the influence they're capable of.

I'd agree but they were not allowed to either in kk were tactically on the ball and knew they were key players for waterford and had to be watched