Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA Discussion Thread 3 ***Updated Mod Note Post 1***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭skaface

Brian Gavin has been banned from refereeing for 30 days but it won't come into affect until he has a hearing so he's going to referee at the weekend.

It's a pity because he tends to let a lot go and Kilkenny are very could at technical fouls that are just enough so that you'd still think "ah it wasn't much of a foul though". Given we've got a lot of scores from frees that could count against us, as much as I don't like being negative.

What is he being suspended from refereeing for,30_days ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭HatchetMan7

skaface wrote: »
    What is he being suspended from refereeing for,30_days ??[/quote

He's the chairman of a junior club and I think he verbally abused the ref at one of their junior games. The ref in question is the treasurer of the county board I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭HatchetMan7

I wonder do inter county refs watch previous games of the two teams he is going ref. Maybe trying to pick out repeat fouls that players commit that you wouldn't pick up in normal time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

I wonder do inter county refs watch previous games of the two teams he is going ref. Maybe trying to pick out repeat fouls that players commit that you wouldn't pick up in normal time.

I wouldn't like to think so. I'd say they watch their own games back alright to see where they can improve but I'd hate to see them looking for individuals and having a preconceived idea that they foul a lot going into a game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

skaface wrote:
    What is he being suspended from refereeing for,30_days ??

For verbally abusing a ref from the sideline during a junior football club game in Offaly. Oh the irony of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

Road-Hog wrote:
    Can anyone understand why a significant portion of Kk 'fans' have it totally in for the Deise lads and would begrudge them a 'Celtic Cross' and why do they have an almost unsatisfiabe 'lust' for all Ireland title after title year in year out....would think the novelty would wear off a bit after 2-3 in a row??

You can but admire their title 'lust'.
    Re the other bit, I think they have become a bit of a Cork (by that I mean they have acquired a hurling superiority complex) but without the 'gracious in victory' part which I would like to think we had most of the time.
    An yes, before anyone fires back, we know we lost that hurling swagger in Cork a long time ago.
    Best of luck Sunday - t'would be fantastic to see a W'ford win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Re the other bit, I think they have become a bit of a Cork (by that I mean they have acquired a hurling superiority complex) but without the 'gracious in victory' part which I would like to think we had most of the time.
    An yes, before anyone fires back, we know we lost that hurling swagger in Cork a long time ago.

Always admired cork....great craic

But kk fans while not all...but a sizeable minority from my experience are incredibly spiteful and bitter esp when losing and give some horrendous comments towards opposition players (seen this with them v cork,tipp and most noticeably v Waterford)

While no near a majority it is a very vocal and sizeable minority that let their fellow fans down...but I've never heard them complain on it

At what point does banter cross in bitterness and unsporting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭redlead

Cork are by far the soundest of the big three fans. They are good banter at games and show respect in victory and defeat. I have a lot of time for them.

Tipp have an arrogance that they seem to wear as a badge of honour. Pretty much have no respect for non big three counties but at least they will admit it.

Kilkenny hurling people are incredibly insular. They could tell you what colour pjjamas Michael Rice wears but would often struggle to name the star players of other counties teams. They also like to pretend they like to see the "lesser counties" do well but clearly don't actually mean it. Mainly I'm often surprised how little a lot of them actually know about hurling.

All of the above is a gross and outrageous generalisation of course but the lead up to this game is bloody slow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Martin567

Cork, gracious in either victory or defeat!!!:confused:

Not in my experience.

Martin567 wrote: »
    Cork, gracious in either victory or defeat!!!:confused:

Not in my experience.

While not overly gracious....not bitter/spiteful in defeat

Enough of this....how are Waterford going to approach Sunday??
    Like againest tipp and keep it tight or like againest Dublin (could be over at halftime :( )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭3ships

Despite half of our bench looking for a wing back jersey it was not until Daragh Fives returned that management felt comfortable enough to release Austin Gleeson further up the pitch. Defensive restructuring is not something they were eager to do, waiting a seemingly unreasonable amount of time to remove Noel Connors who had been operating on one leg for 20 minutes or so.
    Then came more defensive switches than had been evident all of the season to date. Daniels came into the wing, done well. Daragh Fives after getting used to his first start of the year then filled the void, settling at full Back. Previously a Waterford wing back's walk to the fill the number 3 jersey is akin to the walk to the gallows. Not so for Daragh who hurled a lot of ball without ever being 100% sharp, still a solid presence. His return is vital. So is Noel Connors this Sunday. The defence coped reasonably well against Dublin given the reshuffle and at times you just have to hand it to Schutte, Dotsy and Sutcliffe who had possibly their best Championship outing. No shame on them.

I expect the same starting fifteen for Kilkenny. It has established solidity and with a threat which wasn't always on view in the Munster Final. There is only so much you can mitigate against, the Kilkenny forwards are formidable. Work rate, bodies funnelling back is standard fare. I like the idea of Gleeson and Moran bombing on from deep. Either Bennett or Dunford operating behind the centre back. Brick and Dillon doing the dirty work and Maurice Shanahan continuing what is really a break through season in terms of becoming the top forward we always knew he was. The subs will be important of course. Daniels and Barrett may be needed to put out fires, Curran to start them.

A cursory glance at both teams suggest there is not much between the 2 sides. After that Kilkenny hold most of the advantages. The manager, the medals, the routine, Croke Park, the geographic convienience and the ref. We have good form, an effective formation but also some wonderful skill.
    I wouldn't be without hope. I won't take any notice of the rumours of player availability Noreside, unless of course JJ is out of retirement, they'll be ready. I think we will be too.

I expected us to beat Cork and then Dublin, but not win the league. Winning a trophy was extremely important for this team, it brings confidence and tangible reward for effort. The most relevant test of the team so far has been the Munster Final. A lot of people called it failure, it didn't feel like it, I thought we competed on a lot of levels even matching the famed scoring chances stat. Ultimately it could be said that the like of Niall O Meara was the difference. Still to go to Tipp on Munster Final day and match intensity is as close as it gets to standing up to the Cats in Croke Park.

Sunday will be like Omaha beach. Question is will Kilkenny go for the early onslaught like before. Push on Larkin Colin Fennelly and Aylward or will Cody tend to have a look at us first and let Reid and Hogan snipe away. Can't wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,642 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

If we have a bad start than its going to be a long match but half of this squad grew up beating kilkenny teams (2011/2013 minor teams, college teams etc) so they will be no fear from us

Still think kilkenny will be too strong for us but u never knw on the day what will happen. If we do win it will be as good as an all Ireland lol

Not giving in about the tickets yet still waiting for good ones to arrive lol

I just hope we don't collapse like Limerick did this year after giving one hell of a game to kilkenny in last years all ireland semi final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Tramore84

Always admired cork....great craic

But kk fans while not all...but a sizeable minority from my experience are incredibly spiteful and bitter esp when losing and give some horrendous comments towards opposition players (seen this with them v cork,tipp and most noticeably v Waterford)

While no near a majority it is a very vocal and sizeable minority that let their fellow fans down...but I've never heard them complain on it

At what point does banter cross in bitterness and unsporting

It depends who we are playing tbh. The big 3 have a superiority complex mostly because they have won 80 odd AI titles between them...I have found most hurling fans knowlegable no matter what county they are from. Tipp fans annoy me more than most though - only time we were given verbals leaving ground after losing was by Tipp fans down in the 'pairc'. Think they had drink taken though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Toblerone1978

Folks, I've one 304 ticket for sale for Sunday's match. I can email the ticket to the interested party, it's in PDF format. Or if the person is based in KK city, I'm sure we can work something out.

Face value, €40 please. Preferably by paypal.

PM me if you're interested.

Gavin's appeal brought forward as per the Gaas request. We may have a different ref yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 kruger73

Folks,
    I have 4 premium seats available for the semi final. Located in the Davin (can't imagine premium will be full so you will be free to sit in Cusack or Hogan if you so wish).
    PM me for details.

Gavin's appeal brought forward as per the Gaas request. We may have a different ref yet.

Ban rescinded. The GAA have decided ye are free to roar as much abuse on Sunday as you please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Cake Man

Would the lads have done any training session(s) this week or last in Croke Park to get a feel for it?

Cake Man wrote: »
    Would the lads have done any training session(s) this week or last in Croke Park to get a feel for it?

Shanahan and I think possibly Curran were up there taking frees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭redlead

. Or if the person is based in KK city, I'm sure we can work something out.

yerra, KK isn't a city! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,447 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Stephen O’Keeffe

Ballygunner

Shane Fives

Tourin

Barry Coughlan

Ballygunner

Noel Connors

Passage

Tadhg de Búrca

Clashmore Kinsalebeg

Austin Gleeson

Mount S ion

Philip Mahony

Ballygunner

Jamie Barron

Fourmilewater

Darragh Fives

Tourin

Kevin Moran

De La Salle

Shane Bennett

Ballysaggart

Jake Dillon

De La Salle

Maurice Shanahan

Lismore

Michael Walsh

Stradbally

Colin Dunford

Colligan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭paddy13

I am so looking forward to the match now! Have great faith in this bunch of players and management. I know that they'll give it everything and I am hopeful of a result that can bring us into September. COME ON THE DEISE!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭Deise Hurler

Team as predicted. We have to play at least 2 in the full forward line. Kilkennys full back line is there weakest area. Paul Murphy definetly the best corner back in the country but Holden and Pendergast have plenty of ??? about them. Hopefully every time Colin Dunford gets the ball he runs at the full back line as he has pace to burn and big defenders never like that. As well as that his shooting is his weak point so would love to see him attack Pendergast and Holden whenever he gets the chance. Kilkennys starting 15 is strong but there bench ain't so. Could be important, especially if they are carrying these rumoured injuries. We definetly are in with a shout. Roll on Sunday. Can't wait.

Any chance someone could post the two teams...please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭seananigans

Any chance someone could post the two teams...please

1. Stephen O’Keeffe Ballygunner
    2. Shane Fives Tourin
    3. Barry Coughlan Ballygunner
    4. Noel Connors Passage
    5. Tadhg de Búrca Clashmore Kinsalebeg
    6. Austin Gleeson Mount S ion
    7. Philip Mahony Ballygunner
    8. Jamie Barron Fourmilewater
    17 Darragh Fives Tourin
    10. Kevin Moran De La Salle
    22. Shane Bennett Ballysaggart
    12. Jake Dillon De La Salle
    21. Maurice Shanahan Lismore
    14. Michael Walsh Stradbally
    15. Colin Dunford Colligan

Kilkenny (SHC v Waterford) - Eoin Murphy; Paul Murphy, Joey Holden, Shane Prendergast; Padraig Walsh, Kieran Joyce, Cillian Buckley; Michael Fennelly, Conor Fogarty; Walter Walsh, Richie Hogan, TJ Reid; Ger Aylward, Colin Fennelly, Eoin Larkin.

Subs: Richie Reid, Michael Walsh, Robert Lennon, Diarmuid Cody, Lester Ryan, Joe Lyng, John Power, Jonjo Farrell, Matthew Ruth, Mark Kelly, Conor Martin.

Dara fives to pick up Holden??
    Has he the required fitness even for the full 70....a bit disappointed not to see paddy curren start...he make an appearance

Can't believe bookies have Waterford at such poor odds....there will be less than 5 points in it....what odds for a draw....replay in thurles....imagine it :D

Either way...for the first time since the all Ireland....I'm hoping they perform...as even if they lose (hope not)...they'll be there or thereabouts for the next few years....it would be a complete injustice to themselves to freeze (they won't IMO)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

Has he the required fitness even for the full 70....a bit disappointed not to see paddy curren start...he make an appearance

Can't believe bookies have Waterford at such poor odds....there will be less than 5 points in it....what odds for a draw....replay in thurles....imagine it :D

Either way...for the first time since the all Ireland....I'm hoping they perform...as even if they lose (hope not)...they'll be there or thereabouts for the next few years....it would be a complete injustice to themselves to freeze (they won't IMO)
    why the obsession with Fives fitness ,he has being training as good as any in the squad ,and to think lads are fitter than them because they played a match weeks ago ,i dont get it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭seananigans

freeze my hole those days are over, time to push on and earn our place, te big three will never respect until we force our place lets start on sunday

why the obsession with Fives fitness ,he has being training as good as any in the squad ,and to think lads are fitter than them because they played a match weeks ago ,i dont get it

Mainly due to being back from a series's of long term injuries
    As IMO Eddie Barrett struggled a bit with intensity againest tipp and he wasn't long back

When was the last time Waterford knocked one of the top three out??
    Tipp 08??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭blue note

Mainly due to being back from a series's of long term injuries
    As IMO Eddie Barrett struggled a bit with intensity againest tipp and he wasn't long back

When was the last time Waterford knocked one of the top three out??
    Tipp 08??

Who are the top 3?