Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Deaf student

I was shocked to see Cork abysmal and lethargic performamance yesterday as they were cleaned out. Knew Cork were gone after 55 mins as they couldn't close it in.

I recalled back then that John Cleary applied for that job given his u21 track record but i was puzzled that CCB rejected him and plumped for Cuthbert.

Was it that of dual players that CCB wanted to protect Cork hurling ??? Never heard of Cuthbert until he was appointed to that job as i sort of vaguely heard of his name re his role in Cork young developmemt squads/ planning etc.

Why did CCB pick him instead of Cleary?

Missed Brolly, what did he say about Cork performance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

HQ, Munster Council and Cork CB are throwing massive money at Frank's Monument - after next season, we'll have he next 3 Cork v Kerry clashes in PUC. They'll all need to get bums on seats and other than bringing Ed Sheerin to play. They'll want a successful management team. Tipp have imploded too with dualism an issue so we are unlikely to lose to minnows in Munster.

If he looks for another term then would Cork CB regard the draw as sufficient progress to grant another term ?

Frank will still try to call the shots but Ryan won't be involved - they'll probably go with the same selection formula - Frank, Ger and Tracey ( the latter 2 would be solid IMO and the Nodding Dogs (delegates) will take more care and maybe get Castlehaven and Nemo men on the committee _ I hope so anyway but you can't predict. As long as Frank is involved, expect a f....'k-up.
    You have changed sides again have you? Your now against the set up
    I didn't think this was coming against Kildare but knew was v Dublin
    You preached here last week stop negativity and had aducity to tell me I loosing the plot and to take break here cause you simply didn't agree what was being said
    You also accused thread being negative
    Will you now acknowledge realism is only way forward cork football and only on field play management are right be judged
    Your right ccb main ones at fault not management but management picked selection committee so they didn't help themselves be fair either as too inexperienced

You now surely see why I wasn't been negative just pointing out reality

Even you surely acknowledge kerry game drawn game was not true gauge as kerry made four changes replay
    By the way it didn't rain either so no excuse

I was shocked to see Cork abysmal and lethargic performamance yesterday as they were cleaned out. Knew Cork were gone after 55 mins as they couldn't close it in.

I recalled back then that John Cleary applied for that job given his u21 track record but i was puzzled that CCB rejected him and plumped for Cuthbert.

Was it that of dual players that CCB wanted to protect Cork hurling ??? Never heard of Cuthbert until he was appointed to that job as i sort of vaguely heard of his name re his role in Cork young developmemt squads/ planning etc.

Why did CCB pick him instead of Cleary?

Cuthbhertt was part development squads and is excellent administration and planning be fair and said it before should been in that but coaching not strongest point
    Dualism was a factor but also cuthbhertt groomed job in after minor selector couninhan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭The White Feather

I really hope the hurlers can rouse my spirits tomorrow or else it will be a thoroughly depressing weekend for Cork GAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,521 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

It was in sky so no Brolly.

The jist of what the panel said was that Cork lacked leaders on the pitch, looked lethargic and didn't track the runners or make much running themselves.

Kildare were just more clinical with their finishing

Cuthbhertt was part development squads and is excellent administration and planning be fair and said it before should been in that but coaching not strongest point
    Dualism was a factor but also cuthbhertt groomed job in after minor selector couninhan

Thanks for clarification re groomed job which i didn't know.

I have nothing against Cuthbert as you said coaching wasn't his forte. Why did CCB/Murphy pick him in the first place if they knew that Cuthbert coaching wasn't his area of expertise. Cork CCB shouldn't be playing politics instead of gaa.

I saw Cuthbert was sort of upset at times in the second half as he wears it on the sleeve. Think he will quit unless i'm wrong.

Gary I genuinely love your enthusiasm and energy you bring and your passionate cork man but seriously trying say this nicest possible way your post is miles off logic cork would won if no black card and o connor and would won well
    Some optimism there

Everyone agree whether they blame different things one thing all agree on is Cork deserved loose so your excuses aren't justified imo

Last week you said it rained and affected game plan
    Not drop rain tonight no excuse
    Whether cork win more possession wouldn't mattered because two half forwards can run all day long can't kick fast ball or create and problem is Cork no supply

Your way off loughrey best defender
    He's not out best man marker never was and burned by defender and don't blame him i blame management picking him there
    He is outstanding half back though

If dorman goal went in, if cork beat kerry ist day, if didn't rain, if and buts let's control controllable

Again I ask you why has blanket defence conceded huge score again in every league challenge championship game this year?
    Why can't cork score play lot? Why do cork do long spell out scoring like waterford McGrath cup and tippeary, tippeary last year kerry this year twice and last Dublin twice and mayo?
    Why gould brought on had poor game deane not played
    Why did outstanding Brian o Driscoll get played corner back
    Kevin outstanding three games why played out position centre forward
    Why did cork make no change bar enforced one up half time
    Why didn't Brian start
    Why didn't dorman stay on
    Why doesn't donnacha play at eleven in the pocket like sheehan and sullivan for kerry

There the question you should ask as to be fair all these problems have been all year

Not if and but we would won well bar black card
    No we wouldn't in Kildare better like said half time Cork had changed things win
    They didn't
    Kevin o Driscoll like Hayes sending off last year are not dirty players at all but frustration shows in them with ill discipline sending off
    Cork deserved to loose unfortunately it sad me to say
    Why do cork fold under pressure
    Imo no belief in the system
    Even allowing for qualifier there's no excuse loose by that much to a division three team
    Cork had enough of a panel to win this game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Kerry are laughing at cork tonight

I wouldn't think they are to be honest. I fancied Kildare because of a number of factors none of them were to to with the squad as both seem to have other options outside of their current squads. It was mainly for physiological and motivation reasons..

I don't think Cork had much to gain from a win in this game.

Kildare have already been beaten by Dublin and could have gone into a game against Dublin (other results aside) only needing to do better than last time to have shown progress.

You could argue Kildare had nothing to lose.

Cork were there for the taking, it was a huge scalp for them and fair play.
    I think down the line some will say it was a false dawn for them as cork were so poor, but it was their win. I'm delighted for Kildare and it has brightened the championship and its good for Leinster football. They have some great posters in their forum.

From a Cork perspective I don't think it's that damming. They appeared like a team low on confidence going into this game, it was always a banana skin game for Cork. If they won they'd have beaten a division 2/3 team hammered by Dublin. If they lost they would remain in a bad place.

Cork needed something refreshing last year and now too imho.

Cork were playing a team from a footballing county that could make their season by winning. Yet Corks potential reward for victory was significantly less.

Fair play to Kildare, but Cork have great players all you need is a manager, much better than the other way around. I think this game was won in the Kildare players minds and lost in the Cork players minds. Second day in a row when there was no decent ball inside. The right management team wound address lots of what we saw from cork over the past couple of games imho.

It was in sky so no Brolly.

The jist of what the panel said was that Cork lacked leaders on the pitch, looked lethargic and didn't track the runners or make much running themselves.

Kildare were just more clinical with their finishing[/Q

Thanks a mil.:)

Thanks for clarification re groomed job which i didn't know.

I have nothing against Cuthbert as you said coaching wasn't his forte. Why did CCB/Murphy pick him in the first place if they knew that Cuthbert coaching wasn't his area of expertise. Cork CCB shouldn't be playing politics instead of gaa.

I saw Cuthbert was sort of upset at times in the second half as he wears it on the sleeve. Think he will quit unless i'm wrong.
    Same reasons cunningjham never got hurling job and Denis Walsh writer gave podcast news talk saying Cork politics
    Same other got other jobs no record and better qualified didn't
    Cuthbhertt has should be involved cork gaa we need people like him but not coaching
    It's in words horses for courses
    Good administration not coaching imo

Same reasons cunningjham never got hurling job and Denis Walsh writer gave podcast news talk saying Cork politics
    Same other got other jobs no record and better qualified didn't
    Cuthbhertt has should be involved cork gaa we need people like him but not coaching
    It's in words horses for courses
    Good administration not coaching imo

Thanks a mil.

D Walsh's case reminded me so much of CCB's politics which i detested it so much. It had made Cork hurling a huge laughing stock, that said it really showed their hand that they (CCB) have no real interest in chasing trophies or lack of their winning mentality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭The White Feather

This has at least cheered me up for tomorrow and hopefully a good omen!
    All-Ireland winning Cork hurler wins 100-mile ultra marathon in the UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

Stoner wrote: »
    I wouldn't think they are to be honest. I fancied Kildare because of a number of factors none of them were to to with the squad as both seem to have other options outside of their current squads. It was mainly for physiological and motivation reasons..

I don't think Cork had much to gain from a win in this game.

Kildare have already been beaten by Dublin and could have gone into a game against Dublin (other results aside) only needing to do better than last time to have shown progress.

You could argue Kildare had nothing to lose.

Cork were there for the taking, it was a huge scalp for them and fair play.
    I think down the line some will say it was a false dawn for them as cork were so poor, but it was their win. I'm delighted for Kildare and it has brightened the championship and its good for Leinster football. They have some great posters in their forum.

From a Cork perspective I don't think it's that damming. They appeared like a team low on confidence going into this game, it was always a banana skin game for Cork. If they won they'd have beaten a division 2/3 team hammered by Dublin. If they lost they would remain in a bad place.

Cork needed something refreshing last year and now too imho.

Cork were playing a team from a footballing county that could make their season by winning. Yet Corks potential reward for victory was significantly less.

Fair play to Kildare, but Cork have great players all you need is a manager, much better than the other way around. I think this game was won in the Kildare players minds and lost in the Cork players minds. Second day in a row when there was no decent ball inside. The right management team wound address lots of what we saw from cork over the past couple of games imho.

You read the situation perfectly.

It was going to take an exceptional effort for Cork to get their heads right after all the energy and effort expended in Killarney. A week was unlikely to enough in normal circumstances, a fact already acknowleded but was never enough in these exceptional circumstances. I regarded it as a 50/50 game at best but deep down, I was desperately worried.

Whilst it's early to judge the season - it seems unlikely that the current management has the tactical nous so necessary for success in the modern game.

http://www.the42.ie/alan-oconnor-cork-4-2236075-Jul2015/

Best of luck to alan in he's recovery

It was going to take an exceptional effort for Cork to get their heads right after all the energy and effort expended in Killarney. A week was unlikely to enough in normal circumstances, a fact already acknowleded but was never enough in these exceptional circumstances. I regarded it as a 50/50 game at best but deep down, I was desperately worried.

Whilst it's early to judge the season - it seems unlikely that the current management has the tactical nous so necessary for success in the modern game.
    Ah lad seriously

You said not to judge after kerry
    You said not to judge after drawn game
    Not judge after tonight
    When do you want to judge
    You do realise this early exit means we can train in November again and were now in august nearly
    To simply put it that's three month

Cork have to review this in next week or two and put new management in place as they want own selector and takes time
    If cork get right team this can be turned around cork being competitive quickly
    Unfortunately we lost ground kerry last two years playing catch-up their

Gary I genuinely love your enthusiasm and energy you bring and your passionate cork man but seriously trying say this nicest possible way your post is miles off logic cork would won if no black card and o connor and would won well
    Some optimism there

Everyone agree whether they blame different things one thing all agree on is Cork deserved loose so your excuses aren't justified imo

Last week you said it rained and affected game plan
    Not drop rain tonight no excuse
    Whether cork win more possession wouldn't mattered because two half forwards can run all day long can't kick fast ball or create and problem is Cork no supply

Your way off loughrey best defender
    He's not out best man marker never was and burned by defender and don't blame him i blame management picking him there
    He is outstanding half back though

If dorman goal went in, if cork beat kerry ist day, if didn't rain, if and buts let's control controllable

Again I ask you why has blanket defence conceded huge score again in every league challenge championship game this year?
    Why can't cork score play lot? Why do cork do long spell out scoring like waterford McGrath cup and tippeary, tippeary last year kerry this year twice and last Dublin twice and mayo?
    Why gould brought on had poor game deane not played
    Why did outstanding Brian o Driscoll get played corner back
    Kevin outstanding three games why played out position centre forward
    Why did cork make no change bar enforced one up half time
    Why didn't Brian start
    Why didn't dorman stay on
    Why doesn't donnacha play at eleven in the pocket like sheehan and sullivan for kerry

There the question you should ask as to be fair all these problems have been all year

Not if and but we would won well bar black card
    No we wouldn't in Kildare better like said half time Cork had changed things win
    They didn't
    Kevin o Driscoll like Hayes sending off last year are not dirty players at all but frustration shows in them with ill discipline sending off
    Cork deserved to loose unfortunately it sad me to say
    Why do cork fold under pressure
    Imo no belief in the system
    Even allowing for qualifier there's no excuse loose by that much to a division three team
    Cork had enough of a panel to win this game

I was joking about AOC's injury and Loughrey's black costing us. They didn't help but we were flat as a pancake and the 7 day syndrome certainly got us.

I didn't want to judge before the Munster Final and the improvement the first day compelled me to hold fire until our season ended. However, I have to agree with you that our tactics probably aren't good enough and the decision to drop Hurley was inane.

I hope that Cuthbert doesn't seek another term and if he does then I'll post my views.

Our season is over - we didn't get the rub of the green and so be it. Huge thanks to all the players and management for a massive effort - topped the league table and robbed of the Munster Title (thanks Paudie, Your're always welcome in Kerry) - We'll reclaim Sam in '16

Where do you now stands current situation
    Has this year been successful or not
    Try not to deviate if and buts keep it simple
    Would you give management new term
    Who would you get in

Would yourself accept defence was poor all year and today another example and attack from play never function way it can? Would you agree cork play individual rather than a team to

All eyes on the hurling now tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

TTM, just curious as you seem to be a knowledgable GAA man.. What do you think the footballers were capable of over the past 10 or so years if they played to their full potential? I think it's beyond doubt that with the players we've had we've underachieved. With better coaching and management do you think Cork would have won more than the one All-Ireland we made very hard work of in 2010?

I know this may seem like a pointless question but as a not-so-knowledgeable GAA man I always like hearing the opinion of those who know more. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Who are the county board and how do you get onto it and what has to be done to sort it

TTM, just curious as you seem to be a knowledgable GAA man.. What do you think the footballers were capable of over the past 10 or so years if they played to their full potential? I think it's beyond doubt that with the players we've had we've underachieved. With better coaching and management do you think Cork would have won more than the one All-Ireland we made very hard work of in 2010?

I know this may seem like a pointless question but as a not-so-knowledgeable GAA man I always like hearing the opinion of those who know more. :)
    If this team panel players were got two years ago cork with proper coaching would be top four at least and would won munster
    With good management we can be better but huge worry is we lost huge ground to kerry and when we were could been ahead them before loosing two years given some their players edge over cork something hasn't under twenty one and taken edge cork players

I posted article by o rourke two days ago
    It proves you must have record management
    Players need something belief in
    This set up could worked day one if appointment of proven selection team but Davis and sexton and sullivan wonderful football men but huge ask expect them learn against expirence in Horan o Neill gavin Buckley mcguimness fitzmaurice
    Ryan solid manager nothing great but way more expirenced than Cork and out thought cork

Yes cork were bit tired
    Yes kerry took bit out them
    Fair point but no no simply no excuse for play half back Driscoll corner deane getting no game over gould o rourke not starting hurley being dropped etc
    Soon cork team named we were never going be great in that team had no balance

Do we blame players
    I don't as driscoll isn't corner back
    Barry isn't half back
    Dorman good but defence too attack minded and confidence shot being dropped too many times
    Look him under Morgan ucc great player
    Cronin isn't half back but corner
    Gould tried hard but too many times proved not best cork have
    Kerrigan runner and only work if you have other players kick
    Two o Driscoll game lads not creative
    Kevin should been half back not half forward
    Donnacha boxes in corner which wrong
    Colm o Neill get little ball

You see when you break down overall hard blame players as this team lacked balance
    It's not be being wise after in i said this many times about team
    Brian Driscoll should be ten Kevin seven
    Some coaching aspects here basic are poor kicking spatial awareness game management subs etc team selection and unfortunately that's management job

Sullivan sexton etc may had future coaching but ran before walked and could set them coaching wise back now
    Cuthbhertt should get administration role new stadium as he has strength and Cork need new coaching set up

Hurling key key game now
    Like limerick hurling defeat though real real question like how Ryan got three year term should be asked how management got job and hard questions should be asked board and made sure cork never ever again make hurling football appointment with no proven record
    Management appointment are not hard in truth you just look at the football records
    It really that simple
    Most times I'm rarely wrong judge any management any county in there's no great skill to it just look records don't believe all hype
    I said here during week fermanagh beat westmeath and I don't know much on fermanagh but what do know is Pete McGrath two time all ireland down winning manager is very good get best he's team
    I also all year said watch Galway Kevin Walsh
    Galway two years will win connaught possible all ireland
    There coming team with outstanding manager who proven

Regarding all ireland five years ago good management tactically would steam rolled cork all ireland and wouldn't struggled over limerick and poor down team in final
    We would won handy
    Couninhan was tactical manager but for he faults cork were competitive under him
    And no we should not get Conor back as we need tactical master mind compete football terms in tactical evolution football now is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

Until I hear Cuthbert is gone I wont believe it, I hope he does go as it has been a disaster and that's accepting he tried his best. If the ccb were serious about wehre cork go now they would ask conor counihan, billy and eamon ryan to select the next manger and his coach and selectors. But of course we will have frank, ger lane and some other green velvet table chappie with a few lads from the clubs to select -NONE of whom are qualified for this.
    The last 3 years have been disastrous for cork football, if things go wrong again it will be a lost decade. When I consider the following players who were not involved : kevin Crowley, Vaughan, sean kiely, sean dineen, alan Cronin, maceoin and look at who was involved last night I have to really wonder what the **** was going on, we ended up with 3 town players and 3 from caheragh on the field last night no direpsect but only brian o driscoll and ohallorha are up to this level, dormans form from dominant ucc and cork u21 to bit part nervous wreck under cutrhbert is unreal to me.
    The talent is in cork to be a top 4 team, but until we get the right man in charge we are ****ed, as said don't be surprised if frank et al try to brazen this out by getting another year for this inept management team. If Cuthbert does the right thing and leaves and presuming we wont go outside the county then john cleary as manager with paudie kissane as coach is the right start for 2016

sean mac wrote: »
    Until I hear Cuthbert is gone I wont believe it, I hope he does go as it has been a disaster and that's accepting he tried his best. If the ccb were serious about wehre cork go now they would ask conor counihan, billy and eamon ryan to select the next manger and his coach and selectors. But of course we will have frank, ger lane and some other green velvet table chappie with a few lads from the clubs to select -NONE of whom are qualified for this.
    The last 3 years have been disastrous for cork football, if things go wrong again it will be a lost decade. When I consider the following players who were not involved : kevin Crowley, Vaughan, sean kiely, sean dineen, alan Cronin, maceoin and look at who was involved last night I have to really wonder what the **** was going on, we ended up with 3 town players and 3 from caheragh on the field last night no direpsect but only brian o driscoll and ohallorha are up to this level, dormans form from dominant ucc and cork u21 to bit part nervous wreck under cutrhbert is unreal to me.
    The talent is in cork to be a top 4 team, but until we get the right man in charge we are ****ed, as said don't be surprised if frank et al try to brazen this out by getting another year for this inept management team. If Cuthbert does the right thing and leaves and presuming we wont go outside the county then john cleary as manager with paudie kissane as coach is the right start for 2016
    Totally agree

What about those that might seem your views could be harsh like we're too negative

And what do you make of we were bad ref beating kerry
    Some I talk to said he should get another term
    I can't believe that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭keano25

Just one thing from last night that I haven't seen posted best of luck to Alan O’Connor who suffered a suspected cruciate injury. He was an absolute warrior 3 weeks ago in Killarney.

Can't help but think the GAA have something to answer over these quick turnaround fixtures in the upsurge of cruciate injuries.

Hope to see Alan back next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,280 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

hard luck yesterday lads. colm oneill is a savage player absolutely brilliant imo.

cork will be back strong and hard as we all know they are a class act on their day.

good luck in the hurling and fair play for cork boardsies being very gracious in defeat.

Where do you now stands current situation
    Has this year been successful or not
    Try not to deviate if and buts keep it simple
    Would you give management new term
    Who would you get in

Would yourself accept defence was poor all year and today another example and attack from play never function way it can? Would you agree cork play individual rather than a team to

These are very interesting and valid questions, TTM.

At the start of the season, if you had asked me what I'd consider to be successful then I'd have settled for comfortably avoiding relegation and a mid table position. I'd have looked for a decent performance in Killarney obviously hoping for a win (no point going there otherwise) - I'd have looked for refining our defensive/sweeper system and an effective counter attack strategy. I'd also have been satisified if I was told AOC would return and Pat Flanagan would join.

Overall, my expectations have been surpassed. Cuthbert has gone from being totally out of his depth, year 1 to doing a fairly decent job in year two.

I'd be very disappointed about the league final and hope that those lessons have been learned.

In hindsight - we needed a fast start v Kildare to raise our spirits and deflate theirs. Unfortunately two early pt chances fell to Collins and KOD - 2 unreliable kickers. Hurley, O Neill or O Rourke would probably have slotted those. A HF line of Collins, KOD and COD will yield about 1 pt per game. Kerrigan is not an attacking threat from too deep. We focused on defence and had 2 scorers - CON and Donncha. AOC and Loughrey were obviously serious losses but the biggest factors were the I week turnaround and not enough focus on attack.

I'd have to see who would be interested in the job before deciding on another term. The level of committment is so great that there may be few takers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Gael85

Kevin Crowley
    Cathal Vaughan
    Sean Kiely
    Sean Dineen
    Alan Cronin
    Dan McEoin
    John O'Rourke
    Ian Maguire

Are them lads injured?

I wouldn't be quite as critial of Cuthbert this season, as you, Sean - I never expected him to do so well in the drawn game. However, it's hard to argue that we've made progress - 2013 and 2014 were terrible. At least this season, we did some things well.

If Cuthbert does step down then we should get a 3 man group to recommend a manager - Morgan, Ryan and Counihan all have the wherewithall to access and interview candidates - the idea of Bob Ryan, Frank Murphy and 3 random delegates doing this job is joke shop stuff. Imagine asking candidates what their position on dualism was ?

Frank Murphy will go sometime but what are the chances of getting a competent administrator who will confine himself to administration and let detailed tasks to those that are competent to perform them ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

These are very interesting and valid questions, TTM.

At the start of the season, if you had asked me what I'd consider to be successful then I'd have settled for comfortably avoiding relegation and a mid table position. I'd have looked for a decent performance in Killarney obviously hoping for a win (no point going there otherwise) - I'd have looked for refining our defensive/sweeper system and an effective counter attack strategy. I'd also have been satisified if I was told AOC would return and Pat Flanagan would join.

Overall, my expectations have been surpassed. Cuthbert has gone from being totally out of his depth, year 1 to doing a fairly decent job in year two.

I'd be very disappointed about the league final and hope that those lessons have been learned.

In hindsight - we needed a fast start v Kildare to raise our spirits and deflate theirs. Unfortunately two early pt chances fell to Collins and KOD - 2 unreliable kickers.
    Hurley, O Neill or O Rourke would probably have slotted those. A HF line of Collins, KOD and COD will yield about 1 pt per game. Kerrigan is not an attacking threat from too deep. We focused on defence and had 2 scorers - CON and Donncha. AOC and Loughrey were obviously serious losses but the biggest factors were the I week turnaround and not enough focus on attack.

I'd have to see who would be interested in the job before deciding on another term. The level of committment is so great that there may be few takers.

As someone who gave the management set up a chance I cant see how this can be turned around, luck may have deserted them the first game against kerry but each time they have collapsed takes its toll on everyone's belief including themselves.collapses in cork football are nothing new but often it has only been for a period or a half but bar the first dublin league game it has been total.i contend that the style of football played in the county(alot of soloing, hand passing and little concentration on long range kick passing) is not helping our progress especially in view of the massed defence s being employed these days.but also crossing my mind were the early years of alex ferguson management career at man utd, if they had lost the semi final of the first fa cup fergie was gone and look how that turned out.i always gave conor counihan more credit for what he done that has often been given here, he built a team according to a game plan and stuck to it .and ultimately delivered and personally im not sure anyone else would have given us an all ireland in that period, it isnt a recent phenomenon the lack of sucess in cork football. I feel for Brian as his body language gives a lot away but I dont think continuing on would be in anyones interest

Gael85 wrote: »
    Kevin Crowley
    Cathal Vaughan
    Sean Kiely
    Sean Dineen
    Alan Cronin
    Dan McEoin
    John O'Rourke
    Ian Maguire

Are them lads injured?

Crowley and Vaughan have been plagued by injury and of they get fully fit, will be great prospects IMO.

Sean Kiely was drafted into the squad for the Mayo QF last season but obviously hasn't made the progess hoped for - he is gone from the squad - it'll be interesting to see his club form.

Alan Cronin is a terrrific footballer but he is very small - not many of his size can compete in the IC land of giants.

Maguire (back) and O Rourke (shoulder) have missed most of the season. O Rourke came on last evening. Bizarre having Maguire and not using him but also strange not starting BOD - I'd love to hear the rationale on these 2.

Sean Dinneen was brough onto the squad last season but got no game time - same with Ml O Laoire - I dn't know if they are IC material.

Dan McEoin was in the development squad last season but didn't get in the main squad this season. CON and Goulding were rated ahead of him - seems to lack a bit of pace for IC but worth a look IMO. Has got fitter since his minor days and is a class scorer at club level.