Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Red Exile wrote: »
    I don't post too often but enjoy reading everyone's opinions. In relation to the hurling, I said after the Munster Chanpionships defeat to Waterford that we really didn't have the players and I was not convinced there is any other hurling messiah out there internal or external to make it all come right. JBM said it today in that interview when he said that possibly we don't have the calibre of player. I agree that possibly he needed to do tactics more, but in my view, tactics and blanket defence in particular is something teams do when they don't have the players good enough to do what they should be doing. At the end of the day, all tactics go out the window if players are not good enough and committed enough to beat their man. In conceding the first goal today, tactics or no tactics, it was simply awful defending. Where we are today is as a consequence of years of lack of success at underage level. I grew up in the sixties when it was a given that Cork almost yearly contested All Ireland finals in both codes. JBM owes Cork nothing but be careful of messiahs and people that have all the answers. I have no doubt that JBM is look forward to next year as being a year of peace and quiet without the hassle of trying to resurrect Cork Hurling. I do think however that he should have a role to play going forward at some level given his record and the respect he has. As regards the football, we should have the players given our underage successes to at least compete, it seems to be that this is a management issue. I think Cork football always had a psychology issue and it needed someone in the past like Billy Morgan who was a force of nature to deal with it. I think we could do with an outside manager, if all these Kerry fellas are concerned about us, maybe they might help us! Certainly, I think someone like Jack O'Connor could help to sort us out. Or how about Tomas O'Shea, certainly one for the future. Finally, I believe Cork will come good again, there are no simple answers but good planning, organisation and hard work.
    Good post

Jack o connor is with kerry under twenty one two years
    Then kerry senior third term
    No way would go cork no way would board pay he's expenses and great as he is wouldn't fit in cork
    We don't need outside manager
    O se wouldn't and should not as surely lessons learned cuthbhertt is no management goes in unless proven club inter county experience some level
    O se brilliant ucc freshers but need coach club team minor intercounty prove himself
    Again cork dont need outside manager and no point saying it as Cork will never get outside man and correctly so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭lenihankevin

As a kerryman living in cork I should be happy with this weekends results but strangely not...feel for ye cork fans...yere footballers on paper are miles ahead of how they actually play...management have a lot to answer for..feel like players are not happy and their football shows that. Happy players are good players!! Oh and ttm could you work on your grammar...find it impossible to understand your posts...maybe it's my kerry brain!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

Amprodude wrote: »
    Yeah but he spoke out last year too after the Tipp game and 11 months later we are back to square one again with another toasting in the field of play. We will be having the same conversation again next year. That panel needs to be cleared out now bar 4-5 of current players and new players needed ASAP.

20 players cleared out? Please please please list these 20 players you've seen play club championship then are better than the current panel members? It's ridiculous to make comments like that. We don't have the players full stop. There's not much knocking on the door through club performances and there certainly hasnt been a lot coming through from underage. This is close to the best we've got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Good post

Jack o connor is with kerry under twenty one two years
    Then kerry senior third term
    No way would go cork no way would board pay he's expenses and great as he is wouldn't fit in cork
    We don't need outside manager
    O se wouldn't and should not as surely lessons learned cuthbhertt is no management goes in unless proven club inter county experience some level
    O se brilliant ucc freshers but need coach club team minor intercounty prove himself
    Again cork dont need outside manager and no point saying it as Cork will never get outside man and correctly so

We should start thinking about getting outside help. We aren't graced by winning all Ireland's year in and out.

Figsy32 wrote: »
    20 players cleared out? Please please please list these 20 players you've seen play club championship then are better than the current panel members? It's ridiculous to make comments like that. We don't have the players full stop. There's not much knocking on the door through club performances and there certainly hasnt been a lot coming through from underage. This is close to the best we've got.

Not enough is being done with coaching structures underage. How is it they don't have problems in Tipp? Cork have a big hurling population and if you are telling me that's the best we have in the county then we are finished as a hurling County.

As a kerryman living in cork I should be happy with this weekends results but strangely not...feel for ye cork fans...yere footballers on paper are miles ahead of how they actually play...management have a lot to answer for..feel like players are not happy and their football shows that. Happy players are good players!! Oh and ttm could you work on your grammar...find it impossible to understand your posts...maybe it's my kerry brain!!

No they aren't. Cork football is been in a bad state for a long time. To win 1 All Ireland since 1990 is not good enough at all. It can be frustrating and you can never depend on our footballers to deliver. I have accepted that and our hurlers are now the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

Not enough is being done with coaching structures underage. How is it they don't have problems in Tipp? Cork have a big hurling population and if you are telling me that's the best we have in the county then we are finished as a hurling County.

I'd 100% agree the coaching structures are a mess and its the root cause of our problems. That's the reason that this panel isn't good enough and why there hasn't been any real infusion of youth. Look at our U21 side this year. Very poor performance against Waterford. Only 1 player on the senior panel (Spillane) who isn't on the match day 26 any longer.

I don't see how sacrificing 20 players solves anything. This is the best we have or close enough to it. Obviously there's probably a couple of lads not on the panel who people feel should be there but that's the same everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

Amprodude wrote:

You're obviously not very close to the Cork hurling scene. What was on display today IS the best available precisely because the underage coaching structures are miles behind the Tipps of the hurling world. And have been for over a decade now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭lenihankevin

Maybe you are right but I feel like ye are as a team less than the sum of yere parts...d o Connor, Colm I Neill goulding, Hurley are good scoring forwards yet never seem to fully show what they can do..in the replay kerry were happy to defend from the 45 back because they knew that ye don't give those players the kind of ball they need...i.e. quick long ball from the half back/midfield. Ah sure yerra ye will bate us next year for sure!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Alf Tupper

You really have an obsession with me more than posting at this stage and great see how quiet you were waterford lost munster final and humiliation under twenty one start studded team
    I don't see how your gloating with respect in waterford will loose kk and congratulations on win v Dublin but I said yes win that
    But don't get carried away in ye got best draw
    Would ye beat Galway
    I'd wonder
    Kk will knock ye out so common courtesy your remark here I'll repay same remark you give me when kk beat waterford two weeks
    Ye made hard work of Dublin
    Kk are waiting

Only repaying your dues lad and btw you didn't say we'd beat Dublin. You said that we wouldn't handle the favourite's tag.

Just fed up of your rubbish.

You couldn't wait to get on the Waterford discussion board after the Munster Final, having disappeared since we cleaned ye out twice in the League and Championship.. You reap what you sow!

Anyway, delighted to see ye had your full compliment of players today, with no injuries. Lorcan was flying, I can see now why he was the difference between us winning and losing twice against ye.

There's an open invitation anytime to you TTM on our board, not only when we get beaten, so man up, we have the smelling salts for you!.

We managed to handle the favourite's tag today despite all you s*ite talk on our site and talking us down after the Tipperary defeat.

I expect we won't see you and have to listen to your slightly veiled vitriol until Kilkenny beat us in the semi.

As I said after we destroyed in the League, we're already in bonus country so we'll handle whatever comes our way in the semi.

All the best.

btw, I'm genuinely sorry for the genuine Cork supporters, you deserved so much more than what has been served up to you over the past two days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Alf Tupper

sean mac wrote: »
    fair play to JBM for having the grace and courtesy to face the cameras and not react to that stupid ****ing question p.s. RTE this is not premiership soccer, would ye do it to a rugby manager?
    His example is in stark contrast to the football management who couldn't stay out of the media after the flash in the pan draw in killareny but are now gone to ground........a reflection on them

Jimmy Barry is an absolute gentleman and legend and fair paly to him for facing the camera and behaving with such grace after such a humiliating defeat.

Respect!

Alf Tupper wrote: »
    Jimmy Barry is an absolute gentleman and legend and fair paly to him for facing the camera and behaving with such grace after such a humiliating defeat.

Respect!

No medals were won by being a gentleman as much as it pains me to say this and especially about JBM but his nice guy approach must go if he remains with Cork. I would rather see him go now though, did his best but didn't have the tactics or resources to win an All Ireland.

Alf Tupper wrote: »
    Only repaying your dues lad and btw you didn't say we'd beat Dublin. You said that we wouldn't handle the favourite's tag.

Just fed up of your rubbish.

You couldn't wait to get on the Waterford discussion board after the Munster Final, having disappeared since we cleaned ye out twice in the League and Championship.. You reap what you sow!

Anyway, delighted to see ye had your full compliment of players today, with no injuries. Lorcan was flying, I can see now why he was the difference between us winning and losing twice against ye.

There's an open invitation anytime to you TTM on our board, not only when we get beaten, so man up, we have the smelling salts for you!.

We managed to handle the favourite's tag today despite all you s*ite talk on our site and talking us down after the Tipperary defeat.

I expect we won't see you and have to listen to your slightly veiled vitriol until Kilkenny beat us in the semi.

As I said after we destroyed in the League, we're already in bonus country so we'll handle whatever comes our way in the semi.

All the best.

btw, I'm genuinely sorry for the genuine Cork supporters, you deserved so much more than what has been served up to you over the past two days.
    Your wrong again
    I did actually say yes ye beat Dublin as you will find hurling thread and yere thread I said kk would beat ye and said kk are waiting
    I can repost you like
    Your pretty childish this stage to keep only waterford poster following me single handedly since may just cause never said believed hype waterford were great and you continue to taunt me for reaction
    You don't have any interest in cork clear day your looking reacting here
    I posted on waterford hurling long and well before may game
    You never posted much cork here
    You need to let it go serious
    Enjoy the gloating but kk are coming fast and yere season should ye loose win two draw too won't be too high that you think you have right look down noses cork
    As said you didn't post after yere under twenty team humiliation in lost game one to three on and tippeary second gear beat ye munster final
    Quite correct said yes ye don't handle expectation well but said should beat Dublin as they are not great
    I can't wait for the kk game myself
    There's not virtol me in i only ever gave view never thought waterford as great people thought
    There good but I never thought win all ireland
    And ye had one real test lost lost clare under twenty ones so doubts remain
    Only virtol is from yourselves three months on you continue to single out one poster and makes abusive sniping posts at
    You don't seem to be interested talking gaa looking more for wind up
    This clear see by many here id say as you continue come in here in my posts
    Maybes you ask you self this also
    Reason easier post waterford thread after defeat is with respect some get stroppy before game you gave opinion they don't like

There's no point me posting before kk game yere thread as I don't think ye win could give logic reason why but you some will go nuts as ye will think it's wind up it not just yere playing kk
    Once ye loose it can kind mellows out bit
    Most waterford fans are genuine but some think they look down noses others when what have ye won this year
    Bar league nothing
    Kk win all around them and more gracious
    Now I do know you will want go tit tat but considering week football hurling cork had i won't be with you so have last word all means
    Best of luck v kk ye'll need it but hopefully ye will be competitive and chances probably good as kk always level better in final than semi final

We should start thinking about getting outside help. We aren't graced by winning all Ireland's year in and out.

Getting outside coach no good when your not solving root problems
    Minor football been joke years due bad management
    Four crucial jobs up cork hurling
    Under twenty one both codes are good management
    Minor hurling football has been got right
    Senior football should be but don't be surprised if cuthbhertt wants second term
    Cusack right clubs cork have ask hard questions
    No no way should he get new term
    If does clubs must questions it
    If he gets new term cork football isn't been taken seriously

Brolly said what I said all year long cork football running game and in to contact it was madness
    He showed kerrigan two driscoll being turned over
    You can't blame them in they play games asked do
    You blame cork
    When cork running ball it's head down never look up brolly said
    That's coaching
    I said this all year cork have no actual football coach in they all do a bit here there

Hurling jbm I think will probably go when things settle
    Tomas mulchay there should be uproar if gets it as great hurling man but no record

Next eight weeks or so define cork hurling and football
    Board have to have to simply learn lessons past with management appointment

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Cusack had a right cut off the Don and his stooges and it is very hard to argue with him. A passionate man that knows Cork gaa very well. Not too sure about his school/teacher analogy ( Cuthbert won't be impressed:mad:) but I do think he is right on the money. Will the clubs act now or will the top table weather the storm and we will have more of the same next year.
    Clubs won't ruffle any feathers and bar will some cork media

Cork media have a duty for interest cork gaa ask tough questions

Cusack last year hit nail head he said Cork hammered clare but clare used exceptional team was propaganda you read echo after wards when no cork team should be hammered

Some very good writers recently echo who are asking questions be fair bit cork need more

This isn't a wtich hunt or doesn't have to be against any cork managment etc or board but In football all got do say look record he has championship poor only ever beaten tipp lucky to beat clare and sligo
    The results there all see questions must be asked

Ccb have be asked also if rock get minor job
    What success has he
    You got put lads in proven success

Hurling won't be sacked as be fair little talent to work off but jbm I think if feel outgrown team and I think he has will go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Getting outside coach no good when your not solving root problems
    Minor football been joke years due bad management
    Four crucial jobs up cork hurling
    Under twenty one both codes are good management
    Minor hurling football has been got right
    Senior football should be but don't be surprised if cuthbhertt wants second term
    Cusack right clubs cork have ask hard questions
    No no way should he get new term
    If does clubs must questions it
    If he gets new term cork football isn't been taken seriously

Brolly said what I said all year long cork football running game and in to contact it was madness
    He showed kerrigan two driscoll being turned over
    You can't blame them in they play games asked do
    You blame cork
    When cork running ball it's head down never look up brolly said
    That's coaching
    I said this all year cork have no actual football coach in they all do a bit here there

Hurling jbm I think will probably go when things settle
    Tomas mulchay there should be uproar if gets it as great hurling man but no record

Next eight weeks or so define cork hurling and football
    Board have to have to simply learn lessons past with management appointment

The only player that we have of any footballing class that we have is Colm O'Neill. Most of our players lack the basics when compared to the likes of Kerry. I think a big problem in Cork is where the same players are playing hurling and football with their clubs and fall between two stools. At the top level now you can only focus on one code.

As for saturday night it was embarrassing. the one leader we have went off injured and after that it was just a capitulation.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/period-of-reflection-to-precede-brian-cuthbert-move-344775.html

Huge huge worry imo hear from what I gather reading this

Usual board stuff period reflection let dust settle say nothing
    I'll guess what will happen
    He never resigned so he wants new term
    He simply refused interview as knew nothing could say back up he's game plan so case say nothing all blow over in cork

Three or four week go by we have few press releases
    Reviews on going but in mean time likes slocum teddy McCarthy Tompkins this world will be diplomatic in say awful year cork etc same time getting in their ptich support Brian in lost Walsh cahalane hurling lost spine all ireland team sheehan loss be talk town o connor sunday etc etc and referee mayo and kerry Christ above kerry draw worst thing happened as one off but ref be used as cost cork and that they deserve new term

We will hear cork period change cork needs stability now new management not good
    Next year cork kerry in kerry lot get hopeful for

I could be wrong but I think he wants another term and he will get it
    Board doing usual pr job nothing is discussed time passes by and then wait it county board meeting decision rushed through as gives time round up few yes men back there vote

Nothing to discuss in fairness in forget about draw kerry facts are cork crumbled under most defeat championship poor team selection playing lads out position we year one blanket been poor and attack was awful and we play running game

This has been cork problem all league bar late wins putting gloss on it
    Seriously like surely even cork managment fans can see not much ask for one management talk about defeat Saturday
    Cork media have ask questions here now why so
    Only may and I said it we had these two page interview on league final headline like Cork building potential new cocktail and he spoke about philosophy football etc etc what he wanted do etc etc

All league no problem interview
    Now we loose we have a closed shop approach
    Interview should bebeen given but unlike Gavin Dublin last year where he gave one and accepted he fault cork loss this management I fear won't
    Jbm gave interview no problem at all and spoke

The only player that we have of any footballing class that we have is Colm O'Neill. Most of our players lack the basics when compared to the likes of Kerry. I think a big problem in Cork is where the same players are playing hurling and football with their clubs and fall between two stools. At the top level now you can only focus on one code.

As for saturday night it was embarrassing. the one leader we have went off injured and after that it was just a capitulation.
    Totally incorrect imo

Hurley doc cadogan loughrey shields Collins kelly o rourke Brian Driscoll etc all have talent but most played out position

It says it all in two weeks when alan Connor goes full forward and brian driscoll goes corner back

Barry driscoll never half back but half forward way cork talking was the jack mccafery Karl lacey type
    No he was never that good half back
    Kerry didn't rate him ist day loads space
    Replay and v Kildare defence wise he was awful
    But you can't blame player when he asked do job simply can't do in defence was never he's strength

Hurling Walsh was poor and left side needs be developed
    Ellis o Neill cahalane wasn't bad as being made out be Brian Cormac Murphy Harnedy Kearney lehane horgan were cork best

Pat mulchay jerry Wallis be best men cork hurling now

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/cork-hurling-is-flatlining/

Murphy hit nail head cork fell down so far all grades that real investment needed but as he said won't happen in lock down to pairc with funds
    And he's right cork will not make improvements just run to stand still

Stadium isn't cause demise cork hurling but sheer neglect years under age is but stadium and centre mediocrity is going to copper fasten decline in stadium and monument it is all that matters to some

The greatest think cork would be if government pulled funding of cork stadium had be scaled back

Rock interesting see he's thought
    Will he preach now cork too negative and no one man responsible cork problem
    Cusack right Murphy wants cork win all ireland no one deny that
    Problem is always been is he'll only do things he's way doesn't have knowledge sport Cusack said to be involved things yet nearly every committee pick management
    He also too old school
    He won't appointment football hurling directory
    Cork hurling need own board cork football too so each fights own corner

It's sad sad day cork gaa but as much sad hurling lost possibly only good points is reviews if clubs push it cork gaa may happen as hurling won yesterday there by some in cork be moments thought given to football and old status quo remain hurling is king

However problems cork hurling and football are shared equally imo when both need radical change and investment

Donal o grady John Allen all ex great need speak out now
    Clubs have golden golden opportunity to stand be united
    Don't give in as Cork with government funding and Dublin also don't need drama new pairc so demand change and rather accept board decision challenge them where needed as once stadium built cork won't have chance questions things

Cork gaa wants no drama with the stadium being built

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭zetecescort

we badly need somebody outside the 04/05 panel to criticize the board to take this further. to easy for the board to dismiss Cusack as a cranky bollix and ignore him.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/duhallow-boss-reaping-his-rewards-212154.html
    Brilliant interview and I posted this before
    Here's lad doesn't talk the good talk he actually walked walk and always made any team limited players better than he got them

He with Cork football would win all ireland
    We don't know
    What we do know is defence with talent available be good and as all team proved wouldn't conceded huge scores or executed tackle so poorly and Cork would actually defend space

Certain players tried under couninhan recalled wouldn't be on panel
    Young players development skills new end
    Cork would actually attack as with limited forward drom and duhallow bar doc and clyda he's team still scored more cork senior team in big games in cork under English would link defence to attack

Every player played under him belived him
    He makes poor players good good players great
    Rarely team loose heavily
    He's great manager man management wise
    Took over clyda on their knees after three county losses and won county most same panel he reinventing team

Done great ucc many years ago unlucky not win sigerdon cup
    Management inter county waterford
    He's right he'll never get cork job

Some utter nonsense being spoken in not many want cork job or who better

Simply put it no one can be bad as currently management
    English definitely would take job if offered
    My dream management would be Cleary English and Flanagan if wants stay on if not load good trainers around
    Ross Corbett with limerick hurling under twenty one
    Michael desasy not sure still western Samoa rugby but said love coach gaa team
    Strength conditions he idea and working professional rugby environment he's huge experience

Kissane I rather took over minor as not put all eggs one basket and you don't want clyds or haven dominated set up either or west cork football won't be happy

Cork needs be united
    Maybe o brien selector
    Point is Cork aren't as said sunday games top four any more
    I said all week Galway would beaten cork
    Walsh would have outthought cork also

There's no reason why new management can't have cork as top four team one year
    Year two all ireland final
    Year three winning it
    Munster title home next year all ireland semi final key

Let's be realistic and not under sell ourselves
    Cork football fans are either saying player not there when loose to rubbish one fella said last week we beat any team bar Dublin when we win

There no balance
    Fact remains management hindrance cork football development but players there compared other counties once cork have right system place to be top four

Kerry Dublin Donegal are ahead
    Monaghan doing great but lack resources won't mean be around very long
    Mayo I just can't buy hype there that good now
    Galway main danger top four team as have talent and management

Cork should be above the rest

Hurling problem is like I feared said Cork new system was devised too late and it wasn't refined enough and gardiner said it cork sweeper good againat a sweeper team but no idea break down orthodox Galway

Pat mulchay said it in may cork can only devise system playing it time and again
    Jbm needs go as fully not ease with this system and look you wouldn't marry some one unless you truly loved them as you do your fooling yourself and no one else

Jbm doesn't like modern game tactics but it's here to stay
    Should walk he owes cork hurling nothing and much better place we were he came in but still way off top
    Cork limited stream talent available so only way is a system play
    Pat mulchay while doubts remain yes is still best candidates long shot in cork to take it up
    There's no one else
    O grady doesn't want management
    Allen wouldn't want back no tactics modern game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,688 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Thanks for posting that. Very enjoyable read and type of attitude we could do with.

Seems intelligent man too.

If my mother tongue is shaking the foundations of your state, it probably means you built your state on my land.

EVENFLOW

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/the-big-interview-brian-cuthbert-stirring-anew-cork-cocktail-327055.html

This interview in April
    I said it then that it was all talk as defence still poor and attack was one dimensions and midfield wasn't solved
    Of course the usual nonsense was said I'm harshly critsed management again football
    No no no I simply did not and I don't suddenly say ah I'll critse management sake it
    It's only cause same mistake repeated with no sign solving them

I only said what was clear as dawn breaks day huge issues team plan and set up actual coaching and this interview lot good points here he makes but again it's all talk when you look at performance

Yes kerry ist day draw but again I no doubt cork would not beat kerry stated four lads started replay
    Cork training since November Flanagan peaked them for that game
    Brolly said it
    Cork threw everything at kerry
    Kerry warm weather camp may so not full peak
    Any kerry fan tell you that

Referee robbed cork penalty and brolly right say it last night but he said game over only that
    I'm not convinced as geaney had last minute goal chance
    Kerry still time and would found way imo

Brolly said Cork no game plan
    He's right all day long we ran
    Now some naive fans said weather if dry would won replay
    Saturday proved it to be wrong as dry day cork ran and ran in to traffic
    Kerry allow it ist day as brolly said not second day
    Ask you self this would that running game beaten monaghan or Donegal Dublin better defence system than kerry
    No way in truth

If cork played cavan we would win but running game would be exposed by there blanket defence
    If cork player fermanagh the blanket defence would cause cork running game huge problem

Now players there cork play different styles
    Brian Driscoll John rourke made huge improvement came on
    Cork can be more kick creative

Kevin o Driscoll should be half back
    All complaints that cork tired etc cork robbed by ref let's not kid ourselves
    The selection team Saturday and I said it before game was not good and management too slow make changes and no change game plan from draw to reply showed there's logic say management not up to it

I never expected Kildare beat Cork
    Cork by playing lads best positions and having two new faces would refreshing team like kerry done replay beaten Kildare if we picked best team
    Kildare fully deserves the win
    Brolly was right though it was easy for Kildare and kerry will win it in second gear

I have unfortunately been correct with Cork football minor senior last two years and I firmly don't agree that cork can't turn this around fast to top four team if we get right management

Yes huge ground lost to kerry and junior winning all ireland final with minors and under twenty one certain and destined win one two years kerry have talent coming up with old confidence and swagger do not fear Cork

In munster at home well organised cork team could possibly beat them

Cork good management will build new leaders and mix young with the old
    I feel for donnacha hugely when he played corner where pace is exposed yet see like sheehan and last year sullivan lot mileage dictating games from the pivot

Cork intermediate hurling all ireland final only cork team in championship in august

Thanks for posting that. Very enjoyable read and type of attitude we could do with.

Seems intelligent man too.

He wanted minor job years ago couldn't event get an interview
    Not even an interview

Now compare that three years ago lot truth to now to cuthbhertt big interview in while some good points made lot other stuff is just talking the talk

He day one ist interview said he'd bring the joy back to cork
    Bring fans back etc etc
    He hasn't unfortunately
    You would think he would resign like few other managers this year jack sheddy creedon who actually less talent had success

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

In a dream world and I was given the job of reorganising cork gaa, first thing id do is change the competions.all clubs for the main competion would put into divisions based on geography (cant forget the size of the county)and ability in divisions of 8 to 10.next the league would be played on a home and away basis with each team being played twice, at the end top 4 would go into playoff for either winning/promotion or relegation .the next bit would be controversial, games would go ahead without intercounty players if they are involved-i can see people having a heartatteck over that.not sure id apply the system completely to underage but I think it has alot of merit if it was.it would give good games through the year on a planned basis, every team garunteed a do or die match or two at the end, ease the pressure on intercounty players , easier to organise and promote, less pressurd on players to come back from injury a head of schedule. Coaching in training is important but any coach will tell its competive games bring on players the most.much better suggestion than some old director of hurling, according to some we have one of them already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

He wanted minor job years ago couldn't event get an interview
    Not even an interview

Now compare that three years ago lot truth to now to cuthbhertt big interview in while some good points made lot other stuff is just talking the talk

He day one ist interview said he'd bring the joy back to cork
    Bring fans back etc etc
    He hasn't unfortunately
    You would think he would resign like few other managers this year jack sheddy creedon who actually less talent had success

I did hear last year that English had been approached before Cleary and Cuthbert got to the interview stage and was asked to take the football job but refused when he was told he would have no say in picking the selectors. I only heard it from one person and it was a Kerry person, but they would have serious Cork GAA connections and would be very much in the know.

The noises from the county board about reviewing/taking time all sound like like the stuff that would be used if the intent was to let the fuss and anger from the Kildare result die down to give Cuthbert every chance of an extension.

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    I did hear last year that English had been approached before Cleary and Cuthbert got to the interview stage and was asked to take the football job but refused when he was told he would have no say in picking the selectors. I only heard it from one person and it was a Kerry person, but they would have serious Cork GAA connections and would be very much in the know.

The noises from the county board about reviewing/taking time all sound like like the stuff that would be used if the intent was to let the fuss and anger from the Kildare result die down to give Cuthbert every chance of an extension.
    No your right most time but I can tell you one hundred ten per cent not true
    English was never approach at all
    Cleary made clear some if got job English going in coach with him
    Ask haven lads they will confirm
    English friends Cleary wouldn't went in over him

Only team approach English was limerick this winter again get him coach but he didn't have time coaching cork two cork clubs
    If he was offered cork job like said paper course he'd take it

You are right this reflection reviews process is only smoke screen just like limerick hurling after Ryan meeting clubs greatest bluff I heard one can imagine in only last twenty minutes and only three four club main club spoke all favour Ryan
    Course talk was review as said that every year and go back meet management decision be made then
    It's all propaganda limerick won't change manager next year

Cork football same
    Talk about reviews etc as if looked at it and usual giff every stone left unturned our review
    Then come back with nonsense like poor referee cost us kerry and were in transition and Cork football needs stability with key clincher being most team loose final go out weak after so he could quite easily get new term

Does he want it i think he does or he would walked after
    There's nothing to say he won't get another term
    He could hopefully he won't and few cork pundits need say thank commitment etc but Cork needs new voice
    Masters only one had balls call it as was yet some cork laughed sneered at him that he'd no right judge he's every right as he's cork football fan and if people want to say he's no right to judge than surely using same token Davis sexton sullivan no right coach no records

Bit English said on great management not great players etc is true
    Great player often make poor coaching
    Sullivan outstanding best ever imo cork half back like great o se but it seems sullivan doesn't understand coaching and like English point great players just think they do it other can

Sexton sullivan McCarthy all defenders yet cork tackle efficency is like watching ospreys in rugby pure hand bag stuff

Davis superb link player doesn't seem able to coach as Cork link play defence attack is simply non existent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

Cork intermediate hurling all ireland final only cork team in championship in august

A completely irrelevant match. What has mulcahy done to be classed as the man for the job?

Smith614 wrote: »
    A completely irrelevant match. What has mulcahy done to be classed as the man for the job?

Totally agree intermediate match but that point only team left says it all Cork in august most teams out
    With cit plays possession game reasonable success
    I did say doubts remain with him as limited cv
    Like I said only candidate imo available
    Who would you suggest
    Options are slim be fair