Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 189 - McGregor v Mendes *READ MOD WARNING IN 1st POST*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

Schaub was really rooting for Thatch. Saying don't go to sleep on his striking or something like that. Was brilliant when Gunnar dropped him.

He mentioned he was friends with Thatch though, so that blinkered him a bit. Was funny listening, just before Gunnar landed his combo. Schaub talking up Thatch and then:

Schaub: "Thatch has incredible Muay Thai....oooooooohhhhhh!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭wylie

Great fight delighted for Conor, He generates some power in them lefts, every fight I've seen once he lands a couple they are all in shock. Lot of respect for mendes he gave all he could. Would be different fight maybe if Mendes had more time.
    Bring on aldo.

I think i noticed a bit of tension between Conor and Dana in the ring after the fight, Plus Lorenzo went to shake conors hand and conor ignored him. Conor seemed very pissed off with the media obligations and touring. Also in the post press conference Conor commented to a question about spending time with dana or something like that. Conor made a point in saying "when ever I'm with Dana its for business and thats it, He's a business man and i'm a business man. Just thought it was weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

wylie wrote: »
    I think i noticed a bit of tension between Conor and Dana in the ring after the fight, Plus Lorenzo went to shake conors hand and conor ignored him. Conor seemed very pissed off with the media obligations and touring. Also in the post press conference Conor commented to a question about spending time with dana or something like that. Conor made a point in saying "when ever I'm with Dana its for business and thats it, He's a business man and i'm a business man. Just thought it was weird.

Nothing in it at all IMO. McGregor was just too emotional to read anything into, he was in a world of his own. He probably won't have even noticed Lorenzo there in all honesty. Dana and Conor were hugging and hi-fiving at the conclusion of the press conference too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

Also in the post press conference Conor commented to a question about spending time with dana or something like that. Conor made a point in saying "when ever I'm with Dana its for business and thats it, He's a business man and i'm a business man. Just thought it was weird.

if they were all pally pally people would insinuate favoritism maybe? could be distancing himself from unnecessary speculation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,982 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Great fight delighted for Conor, He generates some power in them lefts, every fight I've seen once he lands a couple they are all in shock. Lot of respect for mendes he gave all he could. Would be different fight maybe if Mendes had more time.
    Bring on aldo.

Can you explain that one for me as i'm at a loss, if it was the 4th or 5th round then you could understand it, but this is a top level fighter with a top team, who said himself he's constantly training. It was Conor's body kicks that fcuked him up

Sure he took the fight on 2wks notice but do you really think that he wasn't training for this fight long before that, knowing Aldo's tendencys to pull out of fights

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

people keep mentioning how bad conor was on the ground, i dunno, all he was hit with was glancing elbows that didnt seem to hurt him, he got out of a submission attempt, mendes tired himself out and when they finally got back up, conor was full of beans and finished it quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭wylie

scudzilla wrote: »
    Can you explain that one for me as i'm at a loss, if it was the 4th or 5th round then you could understand it, but this is a top level fighter with a top team, who said himself he's constantly training. It was Conor's body kicks that fcuked him up

Sure he took the fight on 2wks notice but do you really think that he wasn't training for this fight long before that, knowing Aldo's tendencys to pull out of fights

Yes Mendes is a top level fighter training all year round and yes i believe chad mentioned on UFC Embedded that he new he would eventually fight conor, and always maintains training in case he gets the call, but having a few months to concentrate on your opponents unique weakness have to be better. I not saying he would win, just saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

yeah there's no way mendes was tired cause of his short camp, he was getting heavy hits to the body right from the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

Who's that fella posting his Conor McGregor poem on every single link on facebook?

Is that one of you? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,768 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Jesus you think an Irish man winning a world title would make you the main headline in the sports news on RTE. but no, they manage to squeeze in Conor's win behind the Munster and Leinster football final, some transfer in the English Premiership, and tennis

They're unreal in RTE sometimes, tonight they showed a clip of the Armagh game with about all of 40 people standing on the terrace at the top of their sports news with McGregor the last piece down. I dont think they get it at all.
    froog wrote: »
    people keep mentioning how bad conor was on the ground, i dunno, all he was hit with was glancing elbows that didnt seem to hurt him, he got out of a submission attempt, mendes tired himself out and when they finally got back up, conor was full of beans and finished it quickly.

I just watched it again and towards the end of Mendes keeping him on the mat in the second Conor got about 6 or 7 elbows to the crown of Mendes' head. Mendes had shouted that they were illegal but Herb Dean said no, fight on and Conor got at least another two in before Chad went for a submission and Conor used his right arm to prevent it happening. At that stage when Chad got up he had just suffered 6 or 7 elbows to the back of the head and he looked pretty dizzy for it. Allowing Conor to get up was the worst possible move for him as he was exhausted from controlling Conor most of the round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Pinkman wrote: »
    The lack of coverage by RTE is pathetic. A 1 or 2 minute clip at the end of the RTE 6.1 news. One of the biggest victories in irish sport history and next to no coverage of it.

And they will be "Expecting" him to appear on the Late Late Show in the next couple of weeks. It would be hilarious if he did Graham Norton instead :pac:

Apologies if this has been posted here before but I think it's worth sharing :)

pQ5cdmX.png

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Yohan/744772958879571?fref=photo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭chupacabra

nm wrote: »
    I'd love to know what they said to each other here -

http://imgur.com/nWe3Yig

I watched and listened to this over and over again (as i was also curious). It seems Mendes says "Great fight man" and Conor says "You, you're a legend for taking this fight." Then he says "I really appreciate you taking this on short notice".

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Muahahaha wrote: »
    They're unreal in RTE sometimes, tonight they showed a clip of the Armagh game with about all of 40 people standing on the terrace at the top of their sports news with McGregor the last piece down. I dont think they get it at all.

Do they have the rights to show any footage of the fight?

It happens alot with niche sports that if they don't have the rights to the footage the event appears way down on the news list.

Even for supposedly big sports like rugby it used to be the case that for the Summer Internationals, played in June in Nz or Sa or Oz and on Sky only, they'd only be footnotes on RTE as they didn't have the rights to the footage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

So

We have condoms, we have divorce, we have same sex marriages..... People still the the 'aul ones' control what we get?
    FFs lads, it's time to let that one go.

RTÉ don't have the rights, and in fairness why would they?
    Fight was at 5am, the big players had turned it into a pay per view fest.

Conor is doing what he does. But this is not Italia 90, I think you are getting tied up in UFC American coverage. 'There will be a party on the Emerald Island, the whole country is watching'... It's balls lads and you know it. I like UFC/MMA. But Ireland has not longer been waiting for an MMA superstar than they have been for badminton.

I still have my suspicions about how much money is playing in deciding fights. The longer Conor goes on winning (and not fighting Aldo) the more they will make at each gate. When you are talking millions of dollars, some one has to be pulling strings.
    They will keep building up Aldo fight. And there will be no end of people steeping up top fight Conor. The payday against Conor is just too much. But if someone humbles Conor, the gravy train ends.

I'm not calling shenanigans on all UFC. But this 'Conor' thing is shooting UFC to new heights. Good business involves maximizing outputs from your assets. Mendes as No.2 was stale, he was not the man who fought Aldo. Either this division never had any talent, or we are witnessing good business....

Remember, no sport has not had it's share of fixing, don't think that UFC is some righteous power house, where 'man to man' means you have too much pride to throw a fight :D

Fixed or not, the whole thing is entertaining :D

edit: I don't think Mendes threw the fight, but I think there was always a plan Aldo pull out. McGreggor said it himself, he took 2 takes on every media coverage in case it was Mendes or Aldo. I'm not sure of the dates of his media, but if it was before the rib x-rays, then it's fishy business

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Talk of fixing goes out the window when you actually watch the fight. Mendes was in their to win it.

Anybody who doesnt think that was a real fight clearly has an agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

sheehy83 wrote: »
    Jaysus the amount of UFC fighters that tweeted either 'Early stoppage' or 'Chad would win on a full fight camp' FML. That's it, Conor will NEVER get the respect he deserves over there. Chad admitted he was done and he...ah feck it I give up.

yea? saps. id say they're such pains to be around. mcgregor wouldn't mix with them anyway, we'd all feel the same way. that faber chap, id say 5 mins around him would be enough of the jeery pr*** and tbh he was the one doing the aggravating, mcgregor just touched him on the head as good gesture of hello etc course he started jeering him by touching his ribs. not a good idea.

i didn't like the early stoppage, its a risk to let it on, i thought he'd go another round after 1 minute break to catch air but full camp or 2 weeks, make no difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭VEN

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Do they have the rights to show any footage of the fight?

It happens alot with niche sports that if they don't have the rights to the footage the event appears way down on the news list.

Even for supposedly big sports like rugby it used to be the case that for the Summer Internationals, played in June in Nz or Sa or Oz and on Sky only, they'd only be footnotes on RTE as they didn't have the rights to the footage.

on 3e tonight at 9.30pm i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Vim Fuego

A random tale from last night. I had great seats, absolutely delighted with them despite the expense. Worth it.

The two seats in front of me were empty for the entire night until the 4th round of Robbie/Rory when two young Irish lads stroll in. One of them turned around to me and says jokingly "crap seats huh?", expecting a high five in return or something.

I couldn't help myself - "where the f**k were you all night? Someone who likes the sport could have had those seats". Bit rude on my part I know but how the hell can you spend that money on a seat, miss the card of the year and not even bother to show up to watch your other fellow countrymen compete? Epic facepalm moment.

Yer man turned back around to his mate, gave out about me (fair enough) and said something about "living the life". Big whiff of celtic tiger about it I thought. Of course he was back wheeling around for high fives after the main event.

TLDR: I am a rude person, don't understand the motivations of others in relation to attending the cage boxing for 20 minutes. No real point to the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

Ah yer not rude -just honest. I detest seeing wasted seats/tickets and stuff like that but at the end of the day the seats were his to use when and if he wanted. Don't be too hard on yerself.

PS: Anyone who wants to see a genuine questionable stoppage ought to be watching the TUF Finale...;)

Vim Fuego wrote: »
    The two seats in front of me were empty for the entire night until the 4th round of Robbie/Rory when two young Irish lads stroll in. One of them turned around to me and says jokingly "crap seats huh?", expecting a high five in return or something.

Who knows. Maybe they had spotted the seats from further back and waited, waited to see if someone came to fill them but when they didn't, they chanced their arm.

Maybe, maybe not. But just a thought!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,896 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Well said.

I was disgusted by the lack of support for the rest of the Irish.

I know there were likely a load of new fans at the Dublin event, but that was sold out and packed put before Paddy Holohan set foot in the cage.

I expected better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Vim Fuego

Ditto. Quite surprised about that but Dana said that only 2500 tickets were sold in Ireland (in the post fight presser). Didn't seem like that few on the night of course and it doesn't account for irish people living here but a lower number than I expected.

Yeah after Dublin though, weird to see empty prelims

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭johnpro

Just getting a chance to post now as I'm emotionally drained, i was going to go to the ultimate fighter but just had to stay in the hotel bar! don't know where to start....the weigh in was electric, speaking to so many fans from different countries and they just couldn't get over the level of support from the Irish crowd.

As for the card itself it was very disappointing to not have more people there to support seery and pendred but I thought Neil showed great heart (he walked out to the weigh in and cage with my flag as he forgot his :) ) but cathal was hard to watch ill need to watch it when I'm home but he seemed to retreat the entire fight??

Once Matt browns fight happened the atmosphere just picked up and kept going from there I think it was the most incredible fight card I've ever seen, I'd 3 mates with me and this was their first event, they were completely blown away by the experience.

I seriously hope everyone on the main card recieved a chunky bonus for such a great night of fights...I was on my feet for the entire robbie and Rory fight the place was going mental.

Felt physically sick with nerves for the main event, we were all screaming for Conor to keep his hands up and stop showboating but sure what the hell do I know about striking, I was just concerned i'd have a heart attack before it ended! :) I knew chad would take him down but didn't think he'd keep him there as well as he did. When the fight was stopped the place literally exploded! There was so many grown men crying (I was among them) and the craic in the MGM after was unreal and zero trouble with security...all good natured singing chanting! Anyone questioning the legitimacy of the win/stoppage just shouldn't be taken seriously as its obvious they have zero knowledge or experience of the sport.

Overall one of the best weeks of my life and can't wait to come back in jan for the aldo fight (assuming it goes ahead)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭RoryMac

darced wrote: »
    Its a niche sport lets be honest nobody really cares about MMA or boxing for that matter,Andy Lee was fighting for a world title and not a peep from the media.

Katie was the olympics so she got the coverage,I dont remember her getting much after her latest success either.

Give it time McGregor could take us mainstream yet.
    I've seen a few McGregor stories on the Sky Sports app in the last few weeks including a summary of last night's fight pretty soon after it finished.

Never seen them mention UFC/MMA before so gives a good indication of how big a draw McGregor has become

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,896 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

McGregor and Faber coaching the next TUF!

Won't fight each other though.

DrPhilG wrote: »
    McGregor and Faber coaching the next TUF!

Won't fight each other though.

I am so excited!! How hilarious this shall be.....crap about them not fighting tho I didn't catch that part (booo).

Nearly choked on my beer!! Curious as to the point in this if there not fighting?? Would love Conor to wind up Faber but he should get the right to punch him in the chin aswell :) Delighted if its Ireland against USA!! I'd there any way the timing of this would coincide with the proposed jan fight card?? Looks like he'll be extending his stay in the mac mansion so!

Delighted if its Ireland against USA!!

He said 8 fighters from Europe and 8 from America......:)

Amazingfun wrote: »
    He said 8 fighters from Europe and 8 from America......:)

Wonder how they'll select the european guys??