Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 189 - McGregor v Mendes *READ MOD WARNING IN 1st POST*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

El Guapo! wrote: »
    Yes he said Irish and British. But what has Britain got to do with it?
    He's well known for blocking anyone who goes against what he says. He can't take criticism and is a tool of the highest order.

Completely agree.

He might as well have said Irish and Ethiopian for all the relevance British has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,359 ✭✭✭jon1981

Davei141 wrote: »
    It was a bit concerning how easy Chad got him down at times.

To be fair Mendes has a solid wrestling career and had a lot of contests!
    Mendes wrestled for Cal Poly in San Luis Obispo, CA. He finished his career with an overall record of 64-14 and twice earned NCAA All-American honors. As a senior, Mendes finished the year with a 30-1 record; he placed 2nd in the 2008 NCAA championships at 141 lb., falling to Ohio State's J Jaggers in the title match.[8] That year, Mendes was Pac-10 Wrestler of the Year.[9] Mendes also received All-American honors in 2006, finishing 6th at 125 lb at the NCAA Championships.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,816 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Had some friends around (half casual fans, half clueless) for the night. After bitching and moaning about the boring undercard, the main card made up for it.

Woke up and had my breakfast at 5 this afternoon, such was the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,896 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

People are saying that Chad got him down too easy, I can't agree.

Conor stuffed 2 or 3 attempts, and got back up from a few others.

Compare that to GSP vs Hardy for example. A similar situation of a striker facing his first top calibre wrestler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭califano

Aldo is never going to retire with the pot that awaits him for even turning up. He could do a Roberto Duran and be 1 Milli richer, 2 with sundries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

It was a bit concerning how easy Chad got him down at times and could keep him there, although Conors scrambling was brilliant. I thought Chad was going to have to work really hard at the start to get him down and keep down but there wasn't a lot of resistance. I'll put that down to the late opponent switch though.

Meh, we all knew he'd get him down, it was just interesting to see how or what he'd do down there. Watching it again I thought Mendes take downs were really clever, he used his height disadvantage to an advantage, sneaking in under Conor's long jabs.

I think Conor could've used his height to defend them a bit better, but he seemed too relaxed and was happy enough to go to deck with him so long as he got his guard in.

At the end of the 2nd tho you could see Conor respecting the take down a bit more, and he was able to defend it pretty easily once he wanted to defend a bit more. The last 40seconds were a great display of his efficiency and accuracy, changing stances and defending then switching to offence so fluidly whilst drained. Fairly impressive IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

How long til they update the rankings? Do we expect to see McGregor in the p4p rankings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

stephenl15 wrote: »
    How long til they update the rankings? Do we expect to see McGregor in the p4p rankings?

Only champions of the division get into p4p rankings. Edit: it seems not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭brevity

Hazys wrote: »
    Awesome

2PyBTlI.jpg

Gladiators.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

Watching the fight companion video from last night. Still entertaining to watch Schaub and Callen discuss the fight knowing the result. Seems being tense and nervous as f**k wasn't exclusive to the Irish.

.ak wrote: »
    Meh, we all knew he'd get him down, it was just interesting to see how or what he'd do down there. Watching it again I thought Mendes take downs were really clever, he used his height disadvantage to an advantage, sneaking in under Conor's long jabs.

I think Conor could've used his height to defend them a bit better, but he seemed too relaxed and was happy enough to go to deck with him so long as he got his guard in.

At the end of the 2nd tho you could see Conor respecting the take down a bit more, and he was able to defend it pretty easily once he wanted to defend a bit more. The last 40seconds were a great display of his efficiency and accuracy, changing stances and defending then switching to offence so fluidly whilst drained. Fairly impressive IMO

Part in bold is what i am saying, i was just expecting Chad to have to really work for those takedowns especially early, but there wasn't much resistance.

Yeah, I agree. I guess what I mean is he has the ability to stop it or defend if he wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

Keno wrote: »

Reminds me of that Lauzon pic, but even worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭dickwod1

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Well how many Cage Warriors belt holders have gone on to win a UFC belt?

There's only 1, Conor McGregor ;)

Michael Bisping had the belt in CW, never contended for the belt in the UFC
    Dan Hardy never had the belt in CW, Fought for the belt in the UFC V GSP and lost
    Joanna Jedrzejczyk fought in CW no belt, Won the belt in the UFC, I suppose she broke the jinx for the Polish and British fighters. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,328 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Lads, have a look at the JRE Fight Companion. Schaub says he'll never doubt Conor again but Bryan Callen's reaction is just brilliant!

Skip to 2:30:00 for Conor fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Got spoiled for me in work, left phone at home purposely so I stumble upon a spoiler.:mad::mad::mad:

So had to watch it knowing Conor had won.Chad put up a good fight! Conor must have lethal power.

I had Conor losing both rounds up until he got the finish.Can't find Judges score card anywhere.

WTF wit Conor asking to be stood up? Mendes was working not a flurry of elbows but every one he threw was intended to hurt Conor.

Conor needs work on his take down defense, every FW out there will want to put him on his back after last night he was exposed but what a chin Conor has.

Frustrating reading some other forums saying Conor was gifted a under prepared wrestler with a huge reach disadvantage.

I think Chad deserves another crack at Conor. tbf he took it on two weeks notice and doubt he had any camp with all media stuff and getting his weight down.

I'm all for Mcgregor Mendes II

They don't make them like Robbie Lawler any more, the 1st fight I seen was Lawler V Tiki. Kust flicking through SKY and there it was.Loved it ever since

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Joe24

It's has been said already but that main card was incredible.

Lawlor McDonald was an amazing display of heart, defiance and skill. They just kept going until one couldn't do it anymore. Disappointed for Rory but he made himself a star with that that performance imo. Robbie Lawlor is a beast!

There's lots of mentions around that Mendes was stopped early. No expert but if you look at Mendes after he got knocked down, he is on his knees and elbows with his hands covering his head. Is covering up like that not the equivalent of submitting?

My untrained eye didn't see much "intelligent defending" (or whatever the term is) from Chad Mendes. The fact that there was only a few seconds left is surely irrelevant? If it was the same scenario with 3 minutes left in the round, I reckon Herb Dean would be stopping it in exactly the same way he did with 3 seconds left. It all happens very fast and it's difficult to say what the right call would be. But Herb Dean is an excellent referee and I think he got it right. I'm probably biased though.

Many congratulations to Conor McGregor. He took a fair bit of punishment in that fight and still got through it. Would love to see them fight again with Mendes getting a full camp because he did seem very tired in the last minute. That's not to take anything away from McGregor. The Aldo fight should do mega business.

Anyways, great card. Flying knees for everybody!

I might be able to get into this if it wasn't at Ridiculous'O'Clock. I just can't hack a 5 hour show starting so late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I don't really post here because, well I'm scared of you lot...

But just to take on the point of Mendes and the short camp. I really don't think that had any impact on last night, he was gassed from the kicks to the body. Any fighter at the top of their game could go 2 rounds after 2 weeks training camp. The short camp would only have affected him later in the fight. Also remeber Conor only had 2 weeks to prepare for a completely different fighter.

How Conor got up and went at Mendes at the end of the second round showed champion mentality, a lesser fighter would have just seen the round out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭creeper1

I might be able to get into this if it wasn't at Ridiculous'O'Clock. I just can't hack a 5 hour show starting so late.

Well it may come to Dublin again and then you will be able to see it at a time convenient to yourself.

However when it is in Las Vegas you are talking late nights.

Just go to Vegas next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

dave1982 wrote: »
    WTF wit Conor asking to be stood up? Mendes was working not a flurry of elbows but every one he threw was intended to hurt Conor.

Mendes already said McGregor kept asking him after the elbows if that was all he had in him. I'm sure talking to the ref asking when they could get back up and back to fighting was just more of that.

What interested me was the lack of protection Conor was putting up against Mendes' standing punching game. I'm not sure it that was to keep his hands low for a takedown defense or if he was trying to lure him into keeping the fight on their feet. Almost offering free shots to Chad to stay on their feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,439 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

This thread is for discussion of the event, not Conor's sister or anything of the sort. Keep it out of this forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭masti123

Howya lads, excuse my ignorance but I had a few quid on McGregor TKO/KO, I heard it wasn't a TKO, but a default stoppage. Can anyone confirm this? thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,804 ✭✭✭JJayoo

sheehy83 wrote: »
    but Bryan Callen's reaction is just brilliant!

Callen is an absolute gobsh1te he hasn't a clue about MMA and has to overact to everything to get the attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,982 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

masti123 wrote: »
    Howya lads, excuse my ignorance but I had a few quid on McGregor TKO/KO, I heard it wasn't a TKO, but a default stoppage. Can anyone confirm this? thanks

it was a tko

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭Easy Rod

masti123 wrote: »

It was a tko, congrats.

Throw me a few quid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

Easy Rod wrote: »
    It was a tko, congrats.

Throw me a few quid?

so this also counts as a knockout right? had conor second round ko....left it late

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

dickwod1 wrote: »
    There's only 1, Conor McGregor ;)

Michael Bisping had the belt in CW, never contended for the belt in the UFC
    Dan Hardy never had the belt in CW, Fought for the belt in the UFC V GSP and lost
    Joanna Jedrzejczyk fought in CW no belt, Won the belt in the UFC, I suppose she broke the jinx for the Polish and British fighters. :rolleyes:

exactly ;)

If only i could be cryogenically frozen and woken up Jan 2nd for McGregor Aldo. This is going to be a longggg build up!