Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 189 - McGregor v Mendes *READ MOD WARNING IN 1st POST*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,888 ✭✭✭Easy Rod

Any official word on buy rate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,896 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Easy Rod wrote: »
    Any official word on buy rate?

Will be a few days before anything comes out.

Dana says it's through the roof but Dana is a spoofer so nobody knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,537 ✭✭✭xtal191

Hazys wrote: »
    I'll echo what others have said here, I don't think Aldo will ever fight Conor.

Aldo never came that close to finishing Chad in their last fight (well at least within the bell), Conor did it in 2 rounds and he spent the majority of it on his back. If they stood up for the fight it probably would have ended sooner. I think Conor is right in a way in saying Aldo is done and he is going to retire. I think his heart is gone from fighting. Dropping out of 5 fights says in a way he only wants to fight when he wants to fight not when he is told to fight. Yes, hes been the champ for years and he deserves some leeway but this is not boxing, you cant pick and choose when and where to fight or only fight when your 100% fit. Conor fought Poirier after busting up ligaments in his hand, that shows Conor loves to fight and has the heart for it, while Aldo, not so much. Some of his antics from drug tests to posting x-rays of old injuries, have the UFC very pissed off with Aldo and to most have an interim belt because he missed this fight seemed harsh but i think a lot of people are being too lenient on Aldo, he does deserve the criticism and the disputed status of his belt.

I was very nervous watching Conor last night as tbh we had no real clue of how good Conor actually is, but if Conor does end up fighting Aldo I don't think I'll be anywhere close as nervous as we now have a better idea of Conor's ceiling. We at least know his ceiling is as good or better than the top 2 in his division and Aldo is a favorable matchup from Conor as opposed to Mendes.

Eh Aldo knocked Mendes out in the first round the first time they fought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

Anybody else (whilst happy Mcgregor won) kinda somewhat sad, that the shine has been taken of the Lawlor fight. Not alot of press about it today and in my opiinion it was fight of the year....Id like to see updates of the two beasts they took an unreal beating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,328 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Jaysus the amount of UFC fighters that tweeted either 'Early stoppage' or 'Chad would win on a full fight camp' FML. That's it, Conor will NEVER get the respect he deserves over there. Chad admitted he was done and he...ah feck it I give up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

xtal191 wrote:

With a lucky knee in fairness. Until that lucky knee it was fairly even

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

xtal191 wrote: »

Thats why i said in their LAST fight.

The knee to the head was in a way a bit of a lucky knockout if there is such a thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭agriman27

xtal191 wrote: »

Aldo is an animal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,310 ✭✭✭madcabbage

As a UFC noob I have to say I'm absolutely hooked after last night! Still having nightmares about Robbie Lawlors lip though! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Rory was 3-1 up on all 3 judges scorecards going into the 5th. Gutted for him.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Thought the thread would be cleared of the nonsense by now..clearly not

Grandpa_e3efae_976974.gif
    Grandpa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

madcabbage wrote:
    As a UFC noob I have to say I'm absolutely hooked after last night! Still having nightmares about Robbie Lawlors lip though!

Few stitches be grand :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Looking forward to hearing from Faber now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

nm wrote: »
    Looking forward to hearing from Faber now

I'm picturing tumbleweed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,439 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Mod: Ignore trolls guys. Just report posts and move on.
    If anyone else makes claims about match fixing, you better back those claims up or you won't be allowed to post here again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,896 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

El Guapo! wrote: »
    Mod: Ignore trolls guys. Just report posts and move on.
    If anyone else makes claims about match fixing, you better back those claims up or you won't be allowed to post here again.

Pah, even the boards.ie Mods are on the Fertitta payroll!

(kidding, keep shooting down the clowns El Guapo)

DrPhilG wrote: »
    Pah, even the boards.ie Mods are on the Fertitta payroll!

(kidding, keep shooting down the clowns El Guapo)

I wish I was on the Fertitta payroll! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

Anybody else (whilst happy Mcgregor won) kinda somewhat sad, that the shine has been taken of the Lawlor fight. Not alot of press about it today and in my opiinion it was fight of the year....Id like to see updates of the two beasts they took an unreal beating.

yeah, this was a whole other ball game altogether. gutted for rory but lawler done his thing and the better man came out on top. Will be interesting to see how rory bounces back.

not much in the way of updates but lawler was pictured at the hospital checkin up on rory, sound lad. And rory is being treated for a broken foot and colapsed face (joke, its a shattered nose).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Well, it's almost as if jumping up on things has no bearing on a fight!! Who'd a thunk it??

To be fair, Chad was in a kiddie pool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭califano

darced wrote: »

+1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭califano

I wish I was on the Fertitta payroll! :D

Say that after the first punch on the nose you receive;):P

"I can go all ****ing day Joe, all day I can go"... Brilliant. What a guy.

I thought he looked particularly wound up before this fight. He didn't seem to have his usual ice cool approach to the fight and rushed the first exchanges and took a few shots as a result. Perhaps forcing it early was the plan though.

I see a lot of people were taunting McGregor for asking the referee to take the fight back to the feet during the second round.. Personally I don't think he was being serious and it may have been a way of saying to Mendes - You're not hurting me, this is a nothing exchange to me.

As for the referee stopping early, I don't think only being seconds from the end of the round is relevant at all. If the fight needs to be stopped, it needs to be stopped whether that's 3 seconds or 3 minutes from the end of the round.

Been eating up all the videos and interviews for the past few months and the fight really lived up to expectation. Delighted for McGregor, gets the belt and the payday and deserves every bit of it. Anyone know what he'll be looking to take home from his cut of the PPV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Just rewatched the whole main card on HD and full awake.

Yep, just as good.

Days like this is why you're a sport fan. Epic. I actually slept through the gunner and Dennis fights last night, and they were fantastic. Gunner dismantled pratcher!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Just watched it again and in the second round Mendes takes him down at 4.12, keeps him down and goes for the submission at 0.48, they're back n their feet at 0.38, McGregor hits him with some good shots and Mendes is barely defending himself, Mendes goes for another takedown and fails at 0.25, McGregor hits him with some more good shots and from 0.16 or so Mendes has stopped defending himself.

The ref had no option but to blow it before the round ended as McGregor was just lining them right up on him, Mendes was done.

Gareth A Davies posted something on Facebook about McGregor breaking the jinx for Irish & British fighters.
    I commented that he wasn't British so why was he trying to claim him.
    The muppet blocked me and deleted my post. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Some party shots of Conor...I'm sure more will come out in time

11419032_118997798439603_1749348526_n.jpg

11372063_1458788557776106_1178780166_n.jpg

11296629_925623790809796_892460028_n.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Gareth A Davies posted something on Facebook about McGregor breaking the jinx for Irish & British fighters.

He wasn't trying to claim him, he said Irish & British.

I'd block you too if I were him tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Strangest thing of the night was Gunnar Nelson smiling in the background after Conor's fight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

The tables have turned on the Mod :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭MiskyBoyy

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Strangest thing of the night was Gunnar Nelson smiling in the background after Conor's fight

I didn't see that. Any links or can you see it in the main fight stream? :)