The Weird, Wacky and Awesome World of the NFL - General Banter thread V2

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,627 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

I continue to be amazed by the slap on the wrist nature of the punishments for performance enhancing drugs in the NFL. They really just don't care what these guys are on.

Compare that to the vilification of Mo Farrah, who hasn't even faced any serious allegations of drug use let alone been found guilty of anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

wow the leagues out for blood

Or headlines.

Or maybe it's coincidence they waited until NBA free agency to announce this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

phatkev wrote: »
    Richardsons for weed, the silly twat

And as we all know, that is at least twice as serious as punching a woman out cold in an elevator. On the condition of course, that there is only video evidence of you dragging her unconscious body along the ground, rather than of the punch itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Billy86 wrote: »
    And as we all know, that is at least twice as serious as punching a woman out cold in an elevator. On the condition of course, that there is only video evidence of you dragging her unconscious body along the ground, rather than of the punch itself.

"For the integrity of the game."

The NFL - where integrity takes on a different meaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Pretty crazy when you see some of the teams on the below list.

Lions, Bengals and Chiefs really stand out when you consider that the Lions had Barry Sanders playing at a MVP level for most of the 90's and the Bengals have been knocked out at the Wild Card stage in 5 of the last 6 seasons.

0b23d0af8152a3384e7421179d3f4779.png

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,829 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Changing this year fir the titans though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

Changing this year fir the titans though :)

13 years ago instead of 12? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I'd say Dolphins, Kansas and Bengals are most likely.

You can probably make a case for each QB being better than the other two, even despite the crap Dalton gets hit with.

I'd fancy Dolphins to get one, but AFC East is going to be so tough this year, and still includes the Pats, so I'd nearly have to edge for the Chiefs.

They have a nasty D, and if the OL is improved, Smith, Charles and Maclin should provide them with enough to make the playoffs and win a game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭poldebruin

Strange that neither Tampa Bay nor Oakland have won a playoff game since the year they met in the Superbowl, 12 years ago.

NFL are going ban hammer crazy with substance abuse at the moment.

Wonder is this a bit like unravelling string, and they're going to have a bit of an epidemic on their hands if they keep on digging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

I for one am shocked that 6'4 265lb Blocks of solid muscle who run a 40 yard dash in under 5 seconds are on peds, shocked I say

The Seahawks must be getting worried about their chances of being able to field a team this season with the PED crackdown :pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,829 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

titans.. clean as a whistle :D

maybe we're so bad because we're the only clean team??? :pac:

titans.. clean as a whistle :D

maybe we're so bad because we're the only clean team??? :pac:

That could actually be legitimate :pac:

Just let them all juice at this stage. Might as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Knex. wrote: »
    NFL are going ban hammer crazy with substance abuse at the moment.

Wonder is this a bit like unravelling string, and they're going to have a bit of an epidemic on their hands if they keep on digging.

Not a chance they're going to digging for fear of what they'll find.

They'll do stuff like this in the off season though to save face so they can still roll out the press releases about "keeping the game clean" and to act as a minor deterrent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Putin

Paully D wrote: »
    The Seahawks must be getting worried about their chances of being able to field a team this season with the PED crackdown :pac:

They'll be grand. The NFL have more pressing and serious concerns, like the very minor issue of the psi level in a football.

Putin wrote: »
    They'll be grand. The NFL have more pressing and serious concerns, like the very minor issue of the psi level in a football.

Now don't be like that, it's all about the integrity of the game.

PED use? Ah shure that's probably just an honest mistake really.

Must pats fans bring everything back to deflate gate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Yes, and twice at that. :D

I'll think you'll find that Putin is a Saints fan. I was responding to his post which is my entitlement. But even if Putin didn't comment, I like any other poster, is entitled to express an opinion and draw a comparison on a particular topic. Hopefully we won't end up in a situation, needing to have posts censored in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭NotASheeple

I don't know what your issue is. A poster should be able to contrast the stupidity and pettiness over a minor issue, with the brush it under the carpet mentality of a major unspoken issue. It was a short and valid point. Oh and I'm a Packers fan btw.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,285 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

I was just thinking, it's been nearly two days on this thread without someone taking a minor jokey comment and turning it into a drawn out, semantic argument about free speech and the pats. Thank God ye are back on top of that lads! :D

dont have an issue with it per say is it just seem that daily theres a "player x got y weeks when brady got 4 weeks.... integrity" comment and i really dont see the point when everyone agrees that the penalty was wayyyyy overkill. it does not bother me at all i just find it peculiar that a fan base that at one stage wanted the entire thing to be banned from boards keeps bringing it up.

and also my bad in this particular case i didn't realise it was a saints fan brought it up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭NotYourYear20

I was just thinking, it's been nearly two days on this thread without someone taking a minor jokey comment and turning it into a drawn out, semantic argument about free speech and the pats. Thank God ye are back on top of that lads! :D

You know, the thread was ticking along just nicely. Some people drew some brief parallels between certain issues and NFL hypocrisy. The comments seemed relevant and I'm don't know why there's even a problem.

Maybe we should just leave the moderating to the Moderators. If ask you me, there's too much sniping going on lately and some seem to be trying to police the thread. That for me is a lot more irritating and annoying than posts, from a certain teams fans.

You know, the thread was ticking along just nicely. Some people drew some brief parallels between certain issues and NFL hypocrisy. The comments seemed relevant and I'm don't know why there's even a problem.

Maybe we should just leave the moderating to the Moderators. If ask you me, there's too much sniping going on lately and some seem to be trying to police the thread. That for me is a lot more irritating and annoying than posts, from a certain teams fans.

ya i didn't try and moderate anything i merely asked a question

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭NotYourYear20

ya i didn't try and moderate anything i merely asked a question

That's probably open to an individuals interpretation.

ya ditto with your last post perhaps we should just drop this

68 days left lads. Keep calm :D

Paully D wrote: »
    68 days left lads. Keep calm :D

If Ireland ever develop a space programme, you just know it will be Paully D that'll be doing the count down to take off. knowing Paully, it probably go something like this.

"Just the 18 months to go now lads for the big launch."

"Feck, nearly there now, 12 months to go."

"Just around the corner, T minus 10 weeks and counting."

Definitely set up, but man that had to hurt anyway!

https://twitter.com/JJWatt/status/615550499018928128