Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Friday 5.6.15

Rest

Saturday 6.6.15

8.15miles@7.55min/miles in 64min 26secs(including 6 mile progression)

After a night of sleep on par with Ososlo, plenty of this lately for other reasons, i was lacking energy starting out doing this. The wind was near biblical proportions out so i was looking foward to the 6 mile progression even less. A slow mile warm up then into the progression miles, as last week the goal was to complete each mile 15secs at least quicker than the last, splits worked out as follows:

8.22, 8.06, 7.46, 7.26, 7.09, 6.44.

Happy with that, i done 4 progession miles last week but found this 6 easier and more enjoyable. The wind didnt effect me thankfully at all throughout the run.

Sunday 7.6.15

4miles@8.39min/miles in 34mins 40secs

Just few easy miles to round out the week, legs good after yesterday and showed no ill effects. 30 miles and change for the week, happy with that, same for next few weeks and maybe a 5k in early July to erase the demons. We'll see how things are going. Body feels good at the minute, long may that continue.

Monday 8.6.15

Rest, christening preparation for weekend.

Tuesday 9.6.15

See above.

Wednesday 10.6.15

AM 5miles@8.49min/miles in 44min 07secs

With the little ladies christening on Sunday today was only opportunity to do a double, 5 easy miles in the heat. Nothing else to report.

PM Club training 3-2-1 session.

3x400s, 2x800s, 1x1k @ 5k pace with warm up/cool down. Most of the lads are running the Braveheart 5k on Friday night in Trim so they wanted an easy session. Looked easy on paper but we shortened the recoveries to 60secs for the 400s and 90secs for the 800s and 1k. Easy me hoop after that, with the heat made it tough going. Splits were as follows:

400s-91,91,93
    800s-3.08,3.07,3.07
    1k-3.55

The 1k was faster than it should of been but it was well controlled and the last rep for the evening so i'll forgive myself this once. 5 miles total, 10 miles for the day.

Thursday 11.6.15

4miles@9.24min/miles in 37min 48secs

Why did i run that last 1k last night so fast, hammers in absolute shreds today, 4 recovery miles around the local GAA pitch was all i was good for and nothing else. Will have to see how the rest of the week unfolds if i get much else in.

Friday 12.6.15

7miles@8.32min/miles in 59min 45secs

Can remember jack about this so obviously nothing of note occured during it. Easy pace.

Saturday and Sunday 13.6.16 & 14.6.15

Rest, little princess more important than running i'm afraid.

Monday 15.6.15

7.05miles @8.27min/miles in 59min 35secs

Got a signal on the watch and pressed start and switched back to time, ran this by feel & nothing else. Happy when i checked the mile splits, all within 4 seconds of each other. Warm out.

Tuesday 16.6.15 & Wednesday 17.6.15

Two kiddies both days, zero window for a
    run either day.

Thursday 18.6.15

7miles@8.05min/miles in 56min 36secs(including 10x150 strides)

The strides made the pace faster on this, warm again and saturated in sweat by time i was finished. Flies are fecking annoying when you sweat so much!!

Friday 19.6.15

6miles@8.43min/miles in 52min 17secs

Easy run, warm again & more flies for company!! Feel like a fresh cow-****e this weather!!

Saturday 20.6.15

6x800m@ 5k pace with 2mins jog recoveries inbetween with warm up & cool down.

Had been dreading this all morning as it was again very warm out, i dont like the heat, i'm a pasty Irishman at the end of the day. Got out at lunchtime, and did a few miles or so warm up, had read on BON's log earlier this week where ultrapercy advised not to blow yourself out of the water for the session by running the first rep to hard. So with this in mind i started the session, goal being between 3.06-3.14 courtesy of McMillan. Reps were as follows:

3.12, 3.10, 3.09, 3.09, 3.09, 3.08.

Delighted with those, taking the first rep somewhat easy set me up for the rest of the session and although i had to dig deep on the last one, it proved to be my quickest, 8.05 miles in total. Good session and no flies, must have been running to fast for them!! To finish, Happy Fathers Day to all fellow Boardsies who read this, its the only day of the year shes suppose to treat you like a King lads, make the most of it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Great session. Well done :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

+1 nicely done

Thanks Kate, like your shiny new toy!!

Tom Joad wrote: »
    +1 nicely done

Hows the ear J?

Sunday 21.6.16

3miles@9.37min/miles in 28min 52 secs.

Recovery run, up to the local GAA pitch for this, great to have such a facilty only 5 mins away from me, even though i'm living in a parish in Meath thats purely hurling. I have chopped & changed the past few weeks in relation to a goal race, am nailing my flag to the mast from here on in to the Maynooth 5km on the 13th of September. Will start a P&D plan from tomorrow in the lead up to this.

Wont make every club session in the lead up, but plan on running a few 5ks coming up to the goal race. Figured over the past few years my body cant cope with big mileage, 5k training suits me down to the ground i hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

tang1 wrote: »
    Sunday 21.6.16

3miles@9.37min/miles in 28min 52 secs.

Recovery run, up to the local GAA pitch for this, great to have such a facilty only 5 mins away from me, even though i'm living in a parish in Meath thats purely hurling. I have chopped & changed the past few weeks in relation to a goal race, am nailing my flag to the mast from here on in to the Maynooth 5km on the 13th of September. Will start a P&D plan from tomorrow in the lead up to this.

Wont make every club session in the lead up, but plan on running a few 5ks coming up to the goal race. Figured over the past few years my body cant cope with big mileage, 5k training suits me down to the ground i hope.

they have hurling in Meath? wait, do they even have football in Meath these days? ;) (sorry, couldn't resist)

Good luck with the plan, hope you get there injury free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Hows the ear J?

Ear is grand thanks B, Unfortunately I've either picked up a bug from the kids or the antibiotics don't agree with me but should be back out running tomorrow.

annapr wrote: »
    they have hurling in Meath? wait, do they even have football in Meath these days? ;) (sorry, couldn't resist).

Lucky i'm not from Meath or i could have been awful insulted by that remark!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

they have hurling in Meath? wait, do they even have football in Meath these days? ;) (sorry, couldn't resist)

Good luck with the plan, hope you get there injury free.

They were nt rough enough on the pitch with out giving them sticks???? Don't mind me, I'm still not over the 1996 All Ireland!

SamforMayo wrote: »
    They were nt rough enough on the pitch with out giving them sticks???? Don't mind me, I'm still not over the 1996 All Ireland!

I was in Kinnegad the evening of the infamous drawn game after playing a match, Mayo were due to stop in Harrys of Kinnegad for food, but word obviously made its way across the county border to Meath that they were stopping. The Mayo team bus came through the town and had bottles of p!ss and all sorts thrown at it, they had to keep going as it was much to dangerous to stop. Disgraceful stuff to say it mildly.

jayzis, I thought that kind of thing only happened to northern teams going through certain towns around the 12th...

...so where are you from B... Westmeath?

jayzis, I thought that kind of thing only happened to northern teams going through certain towns around the 12th...

...so where are you from B... Westmeath?

Only i seen it with my own eyes Anna i wouldn't have believed it if i was told. Yeah, Westmeath man alright. And i know we'll NEVER win an All Ireland.

Ya, they were nt gracious in victory either. We are well used to loosing but usually you can have the crack with the other side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

SamforMayo wrote: »
    They were nt rough enough on the pitch with out giving them sticks????

You can say that again. We are still haunted by their rough house tactics in the semi final that year :mad:

menoscemo wrote: »
    You can say that again. We are still haunted by their rough house tactics in the semi final that year :mad:

Ye learned from the masters so.......

"We will have to be much more mean-spirited when we play in Croke Park again," remarked Tyrone joint-manager Eugene McKenna in a reference to what he clearly deemed to have been an over-physical approach by Meath.

"Meath won the All-Ireland, we lost the semi-final - that's what the year shows. We were too disciplined against Meath. If we had to do it again with the same referee (Michael Curley), we definitely wouldn't be as disciplined," recalled Canavan.

"What we didn't expect was that there would be a different interpretation of the rules than there was in Ulster. I got sent off for two harmless fouls against Derry and I doubt very much if either of them would have earned a booking against Meath."

Yep we learned a few lessons that day alright ;)

I still wouldn't say we have ever been as dirty as that shower though.

menoscemo wrote: »
    "We will have to be much more mean-spirited when we play in Croke Park again," remarked Tyrone joint-manager Eugene McKenna in a reference to what he clearly deemed to have been an over-physical approach by Meath.

"Meath won the All-Ireland, we lost the semi-final - that's what the year shows. We were too disciplined against Meath. If we had to do it again with the same referee (Michael Curley), we definitely wouldn't be as disciplined," recalled Canavan.

"What we didn't expect was that there would be a different interpretation of the rules than there was in Ulster. I got sent off for two harmless fouls against Derry and I doubt very much if either of them would have earned a booking against Meath."

Yep we learned a few lessons that day alright ;)

I still wouldn't say we have ever been as dirty as that shower though.

a close second maybe? ;)

We have only ever been a small team; Donegal on the other hand :pac:

Monday 22.6.15

Rest, had hoped i'd be spending a week running around the beautiful surrounds of Lisdoonvarna/The Burren/Doolin but that will have to wait till next month. The misus went home to Donegal instead with the wee one and left the Chief & me in Co Meath to listen to how much Meath will beat Westmeath by on Sunday, we'll see about that one!!

Tuesday 23.6.15

6.10miles@8.40min/miles in 52min 54secs

Easy run, legs bit tired and sore? Maybe Saturdays 800s are still in them a bit. Warm again.

Wednesday 24.6.15

Rest, no oppurtunity to run minding the young lad.

Thursday 25.6.15

6miles@8.34min/miles in 51min 26secs

First run along the Royal Canal this year, really should avail of running here more often, miles of grass for running, can only be good for the body. Went from Ferns Lock to Kilcock and back, real slog to be honest. It was very warm even though it was 9am and body felt tired, swinging my arms was even hard work. Just one of those runs i suppose, wont read to much into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Went from Ferns Lock to Kilcock and back, real slog to be honest. It was very warm even though it was 9am and body felt tired, swinging my arms was even hard work. Just one of those runs i suppose, wont read to much into it.

Sounds like you were killed with the heat...:pac:

belcarra wrote: »
    Sounds like you were killed with the heat...:pac:

They should come to
    Mayo. The only way you would be killed with the heat here is putting turf on the fire!

I'd say there won't be much running done in Westmeath this evening!!! Great result.

Have chosen my running gear for the week for running through the Royal County!! Go on the Lake County!!

Enjoy Tang! I love an upset! Poor old Meath, could nt happen to a nicer team!

Have chosen my running gear for the week for running through the Royal County!! Go on the Lake County!!

:pac: a week? Months, I'd say!

Friday 26.6.15

6.1miles@8.01 min/miles in 48min 56secs

Standard enough run, threw in a few faster miles in the middle, speed endurance still lacking greatly i'm afraid.

Saturday 27.6.15

6.05miles@8.51min/miles in 53min 31secs

Probably the scariest run i have ever had in my life. I left this till late afternoon cause of the heat, first 2 miles were blah enough. Got to end of mile 3 and i was in a heap, dizzy, could not catch my breath and overheating like a bad Lada. I composed myself and turned around for home, got to end of mile 4, bad wobble, legs nearly gave way and i nearly ended up in the ditch.

Stopped again, now i sweat an unhuman amount normally, but this was unreal, 4 miles done at easy pace and my singlet & shorts were soaked through with sweat. My runners were full of sweat that was running down my legs into the runners & i was gasping for breath. Sat on a wall here for good 15 mins and gingerly made it another mile and stopped for another breather. Dizzy again & struggled the last mile home. Was in bits for the evening, plenty of fluids taken. I wasn't dehydrated starting out and had eaten only a few hours before. Second run in 3 days this has happened.

Sunday 28.6.15

4.05miles@ 8.44min/miles in 35mins 21secs

After yesterdays run, i kept close to home for this & went for the GAA pitch. Again bit dizzy on this but nothing like yesterday, a visit to the Dr may be in order if this happens again, its not right. I dont think its the heat either, i've ran in far warmer weather and not suffered. Great to see Westmeath end there Meath hoodoo today, i'll not get to excited though and say they will win Leinster, the Dubs will beat them by at least 15 points in the final. Not being a defeatist, just a realist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

Blood test wouldn't go amiss tang, you could be a bit low on iron or something.