If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Today 31.5.15

4.9miles including 3.1 miles in 21.03. Abysmal, shameful performance. Ashamed of myself for running that. Nothing more to add, no more races till i'm somewhat race ready, only kidding myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

tang1 wrote: »
    Today 31.5.15

4.9miles including 3.1 miles in 21.03. Abysmal, shameful performance. Ashamed of myself for running that. Nothing more to add, no more races till i'm somewhat race ready, only kidding myself.

Hmmm. Seems like deja vu for me....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Today 31.5.15

You weren't happy then???

No, i think i know your next reply that i was on holidays for two weeks and prior to that i had i had a calf niggle. Thats all true but i know i'm capable of so much more and at the very slowest i should be running under 20.30. I'll never be the fastest but i know today was a terrible performance & one i'd rather forget. It was a fantastic race otherwise and one i plan on running next year to better a sh!te run from today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Sorry to hear you had a bad day, B. To steal a quote posted by Adrian on another log:

"Bad workouts and races -- we all have them and we always will. Accept that the body has an ebb and flow that we don't quite understand. Some days you just feel 'off.' As hard as it is to accept a bad workout or race when there are valid reasons, it's doubly challenging when there appears to be no reason at all. I used to worry about this, but now I just shrug it off as the quirkiness of the body and mind. Don't invest in it or over think it. Move on." -Greg McMillan

Maybe you were just being quirky :)

annapr wrote: »
    Sorry to hear you had a bad day, B. To steal a quote posted by Adrian on another log:

"Bad workouts and races -- we all have them and we always will. Accept that the body has an ebb and flow that we don't quite understand. Some days you just feel 'off.' As hard as it is to accept a bad workout or race when there are valid reasons, it's doubly challenging when there appears to be no reason at all. I used to worry about this, but now I just shrug it off as the quirkiness of the body and mind. Don't invest in it or over think it. Move on." -Greg McMillan

Maybe you were just being quirky :)

Thanks Anna, its forgotten about now, wont be happening again though. I was having heart failure Monday when i couldn't find 'Anna Murphy' in the half results!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

annapr wrote: »

That's a great quote. It should be pinned on the wall of every club dressing-room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Just catching up here Tang - fair play to you for moving on so quickly, I personally think you're being a little harsh on yourself ( and maybe even a tad unrealistic) having been out for so long but it sounds like you're getting the head down now anyway.

There are no shortcuts!

Duanington wrote: »
    Just catching up here Tang - fair play to you for moving on so quickly, I personally think you're being a little harsh on yourself ( and maybe even a tad unrealistic) having been out for so long but it sounds like you're getting the head down now anyway.

There are no shortcuts!

Cheers D, i appreciate the comments. I dont think i was harsh on myself, i was happy enough to sugar coat race results up till now as i had an excuse to fall back on coming back from two bad years injury wise. I know my body is stronger now & over those injuries so i should be moving forward not backwards. I was 20 secs down Sunday from an earlier 5k this year in tougher conditions.

Your second point about being a tad unrealistic well you can go shove that where the sun dont shine ok!!! Ah no your on the button there alright, i have no speed work in my legs for a good 6 weeks so how i was expecting to run a good race Sunday was just crazy and unrealistic as you said. No short cuts is right.The head will be down alright from now on and the next 5k race i post here will be close to if not sub 20 mins, that i guarantee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

Hi Tang,

haven't read your whole log so only going on comments of the last page but I want to say fair play for the attitude turnaround. I would agree with you not to sugar coat things but at the same time you can't be too negative.

If you can learn something from an honest assessment and use it as motivation to drive you then a bad result can be a positive thing.

The problem usually comes when we let failure or fear of failure debilitates us to the point where we are afraid to give it our all. Likewise sugar coating things will only serve keep us in a our comfortable surroundings and not push the envelop.

As Edison used to say "I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work"

The last race one failure closer to sucess.

Hi Tang,

haven't read your whole log so only going on comments of the last page but I want to say fair play for the attitude turnaround. I would agree with you not to sugar coat things but at the same time you can't be too negative.

If you can learn something from an honest assessment and use it as motivation to drive you then a bad result can be a positive thing.

The problem usually comes when we let failure or fear of failure debilitates us to the point where we are afraid to give it our all. Likewise sugar coating things will only serve keep us in a our comfortable surroundings and not push the envelop.

As Edison used to say "I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work"

The last race one failure closer to sucess.

Thanks for the advice, Sundays race is history now, forgotten about and will be used as fuel for the next 5k race i run. As Duanington said, no short cuts, and there wont be from here on in. Not putting pressure on myself, just have to train harder & more sensibly than what i have been doing.

How's the club going for you Barry?

I've only made one session, with being on holidays & the club take the month of May off cause of the Mullingar Road League being on Wednesday night. Back at it this evening at 7pm though.

Ah right. Will you be doing team stuff with the club?

At present i wouldn't be quick enough to help team wise, i dont know if they even enter events as a team to be honest. Something i'll ask about.

Edit: Club won three individual prizes at the Mullingar Road League, Mens O55, Ladies O45 and Junior Ladies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Tang, are you annoyed with yourself because you didn't run as fast as you wanted or because you didn't give it 100% effort?

If it's the latter then you have every right to be annoyed but if not then i would argue that there is no reason to be pissed off with yourself. If you gave it 100% then take it as a marker and move on. Adjust your training to improve for net time and give 100% again, that's all you can do.

I have learned to be happy with myself if I feel I have paced a race right and given it 100%. If the time is not as good as i might have hoped then so be it. Vhasing times on a watch is not a good way to run a race IMO.

menoscemo wrote: »
    Tang, are you annoyed with yourself because you didn't run as fast as you wanted or because you didn't give it 100% effort?

If it's the latter then you have every right to be annoyed but if not then i would argue that there is no reason to be pissed off with yourself. If you gave it 100% then take it as a marker and move on. Adjust your training to improve for net time and give 100% again, that's all you can do.

I have learned to be happy with myself if I feel I have paced a race right and given it 100%. If the time is not as good as i might have hoped then so be it. Vhasing times on a watch is not a good way to run a race IMO.

Cause there wasn't 100% effort & i gave up on myself menoscemo, i gave up basically and its longtime since i done that in a race. Thats the reason i was so annoyed Sunday, when things got tough i was found wanting and didnt dig in as i would normally. Regarding chasing times i wouldn't do that, i'd normally have a realistic goal time going into a race depending on how my training was going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Cause there wasn't 100% effort & i gave up on myself menoscemo, i gave up basically and its longtime since i done that in a race. Thats the reason i was so annoyed Sunday, when things got tough i was found wanting and didnt dig in as i would normally. Regarding chasing times i wouldn't do that, i'd normally have a realistic goal time going into a race depending on how my training was going.

I understand you annoyance in that case!! Unfortunately it does sometimes happen but it doesn't mean it has to become a pattern; in fact it should focus you for the next one.

menoscemo wrote: »
    I understand you annoyance in that case!! Unfortunately it does sometimes happen but it doesn't mean it has to become a pattern; in fact it should focus you for the next one.

Thats the plan anyway, certainly will focus me for the next one, cheers for the input.

Monday 1.6.15

4.05miles@9.13min/miles in 37min 18secs

Recovery run in the wind and the rain that blew out the previous days poor performance out of the legs. Legs not overly sore in any sense, just shows the effort level that was put in the day previous.

Tuesday 2.6.15

Rest

Wednesday 3.6.15

Club session 400, 800, 1k, 1k, 800, 400 with warm up and cool down.

Club session back after May break, 6 of us showed and the others wanted to take it handy after a solid month of racing for them. Two lads there that i hadn't previously met, one is sub 36 min/ sub 17min for 10k/5k and the other is an over 50 who ran 24.30 for 5miles in his day. So both fine runners, i was 3rd or 4th on all the reps with the two lads above being 1-2 over all. The times for my reps are as follows:

400s- 92,90.
    800s-3.07,3,09.
    1ks-4.00,4.00.

Apart from last 400 being a tad to quick i was more than happy with this, no giving in this evening. Total miles for evening 5.85.

Today 4.6.15

AM 3.26mile@9.32min/miles in 31min 04secs

Legs in bits this morning, so dropped the Chief to pre-school and done a run ala TJ, headed for the local GAA pitch and the soft ground to give the legs some respite. Lovely morning for a run and first time felt a bit of warmt on a morning run, is summer here??

PM 5.04miles@8.34min/miles in 43min 08secs

Easy run this evening and legs were still a little sore on the first mile but came to life after that, cruised along after and wanted to go longer but sense prevailed. Might do a double like this once a week if i can after the weekly session, feel the benefits in doing this in the legs now. Will see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Nice session! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Nice session! :)

Not bad for a bullock :)

TbL

Not bad for a bullock :)

TbL

I haven't been put out to pasture yet by the Boss, but they are offering big discounts on vasectomies on the Bargain Alerts thread!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

I haven't been put out to pasture yet by the Boss, but they are offering big discounts on vasectomies on the Bargain Alerts thread!!

Sure your mate Career Move will do it for free, she'll even throw in a free swimming lesson :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Yeah, nice session!

Sure your mate Career Move will do it for free, she'll even throw in a free swimming lesson :)

TbL

Hahaha you must be joking! I don't do freebies :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

You still looking for a race in 2 weeks time B?

I'm not, but your going to tell you have one though aren't you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

I'm not, but your going to tell you have one though aren't you?

Yep, Castleconnell 10k and 5k on the 21st just a few miles outside the city. Tasty enough course with chiptiming and all that jazz. Usually has good numbers, not far off 800 when I done it the last time.

Ah cheers for that E, i'm not going to bother racing at all in June after trashing a few things out with one of the more experienced lads in the club Wednesday evening, thanks for keeping an eye out.