Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Farming General

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

trixi2011 wrote: »
    Had the same problem here during the week when moving heifers the prick of a bull ended up pushing 5 heiger through a sheep wire fence and breaking 6 posts . Have been told before the best cure is to give the bull a hidding woundnnt do it personaly tho

Have done that before, prob not the cure, but great satisfaction for man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Had the same problem here during the week when moving heifers the prick of a bull ended up pushing 5 heiger through a sheep wire fence and breaking 6 posts . Have been told before the best cure is to give the bull a hidding woundnnt do it personaly tho

Wouldn't do that either, a frightened bull can be more dangerous than any I think. Had a bull a few years back acting the same, cows wouldn't walk on till a few of the older ladies pushed past him on the road due to the build up pain in the hole. U could try giving him nuts in yard at milking or something so he'd associate coming in with it but that may be awkward to do safely and I don't like them coming in to the parlour either. I just got shot of that bull once season was over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭howdee

Young bull out with the cows for the first time lastnight, bringing the cows in this morning the little prick was at the front not letting any cow pass him on the roadway. Suppose no one has a cure for this? Does my feckin head in, hate having Bulls with the cows.

Had a simmential here years back with the cows who had a similar attitude, he would round the cows up and hold the in a corner of a paddock, then he would run to the gate and stop them leaving the paddock. The last straw was when we were in a rush to get out of the yard one day and didn't notice that he held them on the cow road for the whole day. Well when we came home and noticed it that evening I can tell you he got such a beating from the ould lad that he never misbehaved again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Young bull out with the cows for the first time lastnight, bringing the cows in this morning the little prick was at the front not letting any cow pass him on the roadway. Suppose no one has a cure for this? Does my feckin head in, hate having Bulls with the cows.

Same here the other day put 3m of chain in his nose, sorted the bollix

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Got rid of a bull last year for doing the same. I was late one evening and had a match later on so i was in a hurry but he had the cows stopped and nothing getting past.

So i freaked out and went looking for something to hit him with to get him moved on but there was no stick or anything in the cab. The only thing was an extendable socket bar for changing blades on the mower.

So i pick it up and jumped the wire and ran up to him with the bar extended, just to show him who's boss.

WHACK, a good belt from close up.

BOING, the socket bar bounces up and slams right into my nose.

Blood everywhere. Took a good scelp off the side of my nose:o

I am much more patient now, though:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

A mate believes in the chain option. No good if hes not standing on it with his back feet ;)

A few minutes with a reel and a bit of meal and it should be possible to pick him off and leave in a paddock. Let him off with cows a on their way back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

time for him to go if hes stopping them on you, the troublesome ones always start like that, next week hel leave them out of field and stop at entrance stopin you, had a lucky escape from two, caught one in the eye and only for it i wouldnt be here id say
    i found in the second year they turn like this nearly always in july, get a year and a half out of a bull and straight in the fattening pen when there acting like that or after there second season regardless,
    Frisians seem to turn fairly fast would dream of hitting them, they have a good memory

Same here the other day put 3m of chain in his nose, sorted the bollix

So much for that plan. Got 3 days out of it. He'll be a happy meal by this time tomorrow. We only have him 4 weeks but I ain't taking any chances

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

chains are grand if hes walking after you, once he stands on it running if hes powerful enough hel blow it out of his noise, youd want to be good at the long jump then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Dad was watching a programme on utv last week.
    It was something about animals around the world..anyway there was a piece done in Nepal the man he was showing had 8/10 cows through school/college with them.
    The dung was collected put in a barrel mixes with water and it produced gas. They used this gas then to cook with.
    The cows urine was also collected and this was spread on the vegetables. It was a fertiliser aswell as insect repellent.
    He's doing fair well and only 10 cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,779 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

It was something about animals around the world..anyway there was a piece done in Nepal the man he was showing had 8/10 cows through school/college with them.
    The dung was collected put in a barrel mixes with water and it produced gas. They used this gas then to cook with.
    The cows urine was also collected and this was spread on the vegetables. It was a fertiliser aswell as insect repellent.
    ye some one was telling me that there was a use for everything no waste at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

You thinking of changing system? ! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

just do it wrote: »
    You thinking of changing system? ! :D

Lol nope. Feckin take about 5/6 cows milk for the yr to put any one through uni here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Lol nope. Feckin take about 5/6 cows milk for the yr to put any one through uni here

Not on that Nepalese man's income. This state is very kind to those on the bread line ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

chains are grand if hes walking after you, once he stands on it running if hes powerful enough hel blow it out of his noise, youd want to be good at the long jump then

A good while ago a new bull of my neighbours leapt a wall in a fit and managed to land his back leg on the chain , binding it into the claw some way or another . In running over a mile on a public road he managed to wear the toes to the quick ( piddling blood) and tearing away at the nose with each stride. Eventually a herd of cows was left out to him and he was brought back to another mans yard just as the nose gave way.

Worst experience we had at home was getting a bull in for testing. Walked out with my dad into middle of field go get this AA . Fukr was circling us in an instant so we had to get to the wire literally back to back roaring and slapping out at him. He couldn't make up his mind which of us to go for. Would have done a lad on his own .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭sandydan

i know a west cork man who pelted bull with stones from top of fence as he was preventing cows from leaving roadway into milking parlour yard ,
    after milking, when bull got out onto field he tried to attack him even though he was sitting on Ford 4000 , cows and bull were brought back into yard and bull and worst sow sent to factory, only safe option me thinks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

What are peoples views on spreading rates of fert on paddocks at this time of year ? I was always tought to keep rates up intill after the seedhead stops emerging to keep as quality right and take advantage of high growth rates to take some quality surplus silage ? Keen to know what other peoples views/stagies are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,779 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

no milk statement again this on the on 16th, also no milk results on my one since 7th of june -got texts of results alright but they are not showing on line

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

What are peoples views on spreading rates of fert on paddocks at this time of year ? I was always tought to keep rates up intill after the seedhead stops emerging to keep as quality right and take advantage of high growth rates to take some quality surplus silage ? Keen to know what other peoples views/stagies are

you will find that the dairy lads here will only respond too their little group, what you are saying above makes sense and in practice works as long as you want all those extra bales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

I cut back depending on growth, also like to build covers if a drought is forecoming june-july, i cant cut many bales (too steep)

1 bag of urea on whole farm before rain last week. We will be feeding bales within 10 days if more rain doesn't come. Great response from urea so far. I'd agree on keeping it out but won't go for 3 wks again and pray for rain in the mean time

Some forecast for tomorrow and we have 40 acres to be baled, can't have it every way ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭orm0nd

1 bag of urea on whole farm before rain last week. We will be feeding bales within 10 days if more rain doesn't come. Great response from urea so far. I'd agree on keeping it out but won't go for 3 wks again and pray for rain in the mean time

Some forecast for tomorrow and we have 40 acres to be baled, can't have it every way ;)

on very free draining soil here & no rain worthwhile since bank holiday monday deluge

poor results from fert spread, checked forecast on line and very little rain forecast ,

knocked a field for bales this morning , if ther's any rain within 50 miles it will surely find us :D:D

about 10 days grass left before we need to take action

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭howdee

Have about 15 acres to go for bales but I'm holding out as I'd say I might have to graze them yet, grass is flying it it my boggy paddocks but has started to burn up on the hill as I call it. Will introduce silage in 5 days if no panic rain comes to slow them down. Have a yard full of bales if I'm stuck anyway but would prefer to not have to feed them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Spreading a bag of can after cows, tend to keep doing this until autumn when rotation starts to lengthen will switch back to urea depends on what weather is like then later as if wet ground gets high covers late In year and prolonged wet spell happens you could end up looking at balls of a paddock to try and graze in wet springs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,714 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

On the back of all milk price cuts and less than optimistic short term future for milk how are lads plans changing for rest of year??.have committed to building extra cubicles and calving shed here ,need them before next winter to cater for extra cows nos so going to plough on with that .
    1 going to grow as much grass as possible for rest of year and bale as much surplus as possible to substitute some meal at back end and next spring.
    2 cutting meal back from cows as of today .2 kg to to 26 kg milk ,0.35 per kg milk over that and Max feed 6 kg.my divas need their grub!!
    3 pulling bull and stopping Ai 15 July ,scanning mud to late August and cull any empties
    4 split calves into 2 groups,2 kg to small bunch and 0 to big group till late September .will all be on mostly after grass .
    5 urea product of choice from here in where possible .have about 60 k gallons slurry left .will pump it all into tower ,dilute with water and spread with trailing shoes tank on milk block from mid August to give a kick in back end.
    6 hide the cheque book,knuckle down and produce as much high solids milk as cheaply as possible for rest of year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

mahoney_j wrote: »
    On the back of all milk price cuts and less than optimistic short term future for milk how are lads plans changing for rest of year??

Following the mantra that in a recession it is the little things that count, I have decided the following:

1. The cows are going to have their hoofs trimmed more often.
    2. Mrs Kowtow is going to have her hoofs trimmed less often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

1. No more farm investment
    2. Milk on late once financially viable
    3. If i have any money left at the end of the year buy more cows (might find some money behind the couch!!) This is the time to expand if incalf heifer prices are low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

mahoney_j wrote: »
    On the back of all milk price cuts and less than optimistic short term future for milk how are lads plans changing for rest of year??.have committed to building extra cubicles and calving shed here ,need them before next winter to cater for extra cows nos so going to plough on with that .
    1 going to grow as much grass as possible for rest of year and bale as much surplus as possible to substitute some meal at back end and next spring.
    2 cutting meal back from cows as of today .2 kg to to 26 kg milk ,0.35 per kg milk over that and Max feed 6 kg.my divas need their grub!!
    3 pulling bull and stopping Ai 15 July ,scanning mud to late August and cull any empties
    4 split calves into 2 groups,2 kg to small bunch and 0 to big group till late September .will all be on mostly after grass .
    5 urea product of choice from here in where possible .have about 60 k gallons slurry left .will pump it all into tower ,dilute with water and spread with trailing shoes tank on milk block from mid August to give a kick in back end.
    6 hide the cheque book,knuckle down and produce as much high solids milk as cheaply as possible for rest of year

Good post MJ, in a similar situation here re building, but have decided to split the job over two yrs. Have more reclaimation to do on outside block, so will still drive on with that. Will also continue to spread compounds and lime. Planning for more cows here nxt yr so will continue to make plenty surplus bales and carry a big bank of feed over the winter again.
    Can't see any quick improvement in milk prices either, world feed prices look like staying low for the foreseeable future, so I think milk will stay the same. Low 30's is the best I can imagine after we come out of this trough.
    One thing about bad milk price is its a great time to learn, can't wait for my nxt few dg meetings to see what the smart lads are gonna do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

leg wax wrote: »
    you will find that the dairy lads here will only respond too their little group, what you are saying above makes sense and in practice works as long as you want all those extra bales.

Meowww, doing 2 bags of 18 6 12 this week sulpher next round and probaly 18 6 12 again after that depending on the response.growing the 55s I need at the minute but reckon I have suffered in spring and autumn for want of p and k plus will ramp up another few next year so I want to maximise growth in the future.soil tests this year showed huge drop in p and k less so.a buddy of mine always says that nitrates had a huge role in the fodder crisis and im beginning to think hes right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,063 ✭✭✭Markcheese

keep going wrote: »
    Meowww, doing 2 bags of 18 6 12 this week sulpher next round and probaly 18 6 12 again after that depending on the response.growing the 55s I need at the minute but reckon I have suffered in spring and autumn for want of p and k plus will ramp up another few next year so I want to maximise growth in the future.soil tests this year showed huge drop in p and k less so.a buddy of mine always says that nitrates had a huge role in the fodder crisis and im beginning to think hes right.

As in too much nitrogen not enough everything else or people not spreading because of nitrates directive ?

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦