Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Farming General

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Had a young lad in who used to do a bit of tractor work for us came back from spreading slurry saying tractor was beeping and was stalling, pipe for opening ram had burst and your lad had the f**king thing in constant pumping never copped either, took 100 litres of oil to top tractor back up luckily pumps where okay you'd wonder sometimes agriculture dosent attract the brightest sparks at the best of times and with the price of machinery/mess ups milking a few mistakes by employees end up costing thousands

One word to solve all of your problems. Contractor :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,780 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

What was he doing with jeep moving heifers?
    We don't go near any stock with jeep. Walk down and open the gaps and they'll come flying out the gap to ye
    our cattle will normally follow the jeep when moving them, different folks different strokes:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

But a good lad is worth his weight in gold. I've a lad that days for me here and there and I'd be lost without him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

We don't go near any stock with jeep. Walk down and open the gaps and they'll come flying out the gap to ye
    whelan2 wrote: »
    our cattle will normally follow the jeep when moving them, different folks different strokes:)
    I don't have a jeep:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

7 bulls with them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

Sent a guy spraying under wires this morning. He went one direction I went the other on the quad. Brand new 3 nozzle boom fitted to Kobuta atv, 100m boom in shyte.

Let him off with jeep to move heifers after dinner and he returned with the back side panel of my pickup in shyte. Wasn't quick enough to open gap and heifers chasing after him. Pulled up and they ploughed into him.

Ffs, lads saying you shouldn't be doing the €10/hr work yourself.......my hole

How many mistakes have you made in the last couple of weeks?? I'm sure something has went wrong for you/ broken down. **** happens, nobody's perfect. Get over it

I had a boss one time who was giving out non stop if something went wrong I.e cows broke out/ fence come down. Had him milking with me one day and he was forgetting to feed cows and missing cows for milking. That put a stop to his mouthing for awhile when I pointed it out!
    If you want everything to be perfect all the time do it yourself and don't employ anybody!!

Feckthis wrote: »
    How many mistakes have you made in the last couple of weeks?? I'm sure something has went wrong for you/ broken down. **** happens, nobody's perfect. Get over it

I had a boss one time who was giving out non stop if something went wrong I.e cows broke out/ fence come down. Had him milking with me one day and he was forgetting to feed cows and missing cows for milking. That put a stop to his mouthing for awhile when I pointed it out!
    If you want everything to be perfect all the time do it yourself and don't employ anybody!!

Wtf, "get over it" you say and continue to agree with me.

If you've nothing to say then that's exactly what you should say ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Ah now I've worked with loads of lads and all o ever broke/damaged was a cover on rear lights of a loader -easy fixed and bent a mudguard.
    Did a bit of damage at home with breaking glass in tractors and bent a few gates. Them I got a bollicking for alright

Wtf, "get over it" you say and continue to agree with me.

If you've nothing to say then that's exactly what you should say ;)

Read it gain frazz I didn't agree with you at all.

Your point?

Your point?

You should probably take some of that in or soon enough you won't get anybody to do abit of work for you. Just saying like ;)

Must surely be one of the most presumptuous posts I've read in a while :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Sent a guy spraying under wires this morning. He went one direction I went the other on the quad. Brand new 3 nozzle boom fitted to Kobuta atv, 100m boom in shyte.

Let him off with jeep to move heifers after dinner and he returned with the back side panel of my pickup in shyte. Wasn't quick enough to open gap and heifers chasing after him. Pulled up and they ploughed into him.

Ffs, lads saying you shouldn't be doing the €10/hr work yourself.......my hole

Some of the best stockmen have there jeep in pound ****e most of the time.

At least now youll look like a farmer when your driving around. Hope the heifer didnt hurt herself.

:D:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Have to say im totally with frazz on this one

in ireland more than most countries in fact, if you tolerate **** you'll get **** because a lot of irish people dont give a **** about something when its not coming from their wallet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,780 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Panch18 wrote: »
    Have to say im totally with frazz on this one

in ireland more than most countries in fact, if you tolerate **** you'll get **** because a lot of irish people dont give a **** about something when its not coming from their wallet
    think also the fact its also very hard to get people to work on a farm we put up with more than we should

Frazz

What was the lads attitude? Upset and sorry or shoulder shrugger?

Feckthis

You're right there are ass**** out there but from what I know of Frazz he ain't in that category. We all make mistakes but 2 incidents like that in a few short hours is either real clumsiness or close on negligence. I'd guess he arrived claiming he was well able for the job :rolleyes:

just do it wrote: »
    Frazz

What was the lads attitude? Upset and sorry or shoulder shrugger?

Rang me immediately, completely contrite. Offered to pay but I declined.

MF got it in one he's a complete stock man, its a dog and stick he needs aswell as a boot up the hole :):)

This man has lost the lowest % of calves on this farm ever, so I'll put up with a few dents but I was horsing all the worse as I couldn't say a word as his strengths far outweigh his weakness'

I thought he was a new guy on trial!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

At least you got an admission of guilt.
    The fairies have been responsible for a bit of denting here over the years .
    Some believe if they can get it parked up back in the shed without being seen then some form of a statute of limitation will have passed by the next day and all responsibility can be denied :)

At least you got an admission of guilt.
    The fairies have been responsible for a bit of denting here over the years .
    Some believe if they can get it parked up back in the shed without being seen then some form of a statute of limitation will have passed by the next day and all responsibility can be denied :)

Fell asleep driving home from Dublin years ago about half a mile from home. Boss spotted concrete on the side of the car as I'd grazed a wall. I said I had it parked and some bollix scratched it and he asked do concrete trucks deliver on Sundays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

In a way I get pleasure from wearing out a machine at least you have got value from it, but breaking it through carelessness drives me mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

Had young lad mowing today

Came in, in tears as he broke a stake when cutting the headlands :D

Checked the diaries
    Fenced the field in 1999 He told me he would pay for the stake when i went back he had the post driver on the tractor:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

dzer2 wrote: »

Checked the diaries
    Fenced the field in 1999 He told me he would pay for the stake when i went back he had the post driver on the tractor:eek:

Wouldn't want to know what he'd be if he cut theml mower bed like I did 3 wks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

Checked the diaries

A good un .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

Wouldn't want to know what he'd be if he cut theml mower bed like I did 3 wks ago.

He was putting a bale of silage during the winter and he had it too high and struck the sheeting on the end of the shed. Made me change it before the mother seen it. The boys do a good bit of work here and feel they should be treated like adults. So they were told that if they make a mistake or do a bit of harm then come and tell us

Checked the diaries

Hire him full time asap!

He was putting a bale of silage during the winter and he had it too high and struck the sheeting on the end of the shed. Made me change it before the mother seen it. The boys do a good bit of work here and feel they should be treated like adults. So they were told that if they make a mistake or do a bit of harm then come and tell us

Human instinct is to hide it though isn't it? I know I've been guilty of hoping for the "status of limitations" as another poster put it. You get a bit more honest with age and maturity.

Got caught nicely yesterday. Went to the local garage to get milk and met a lad on the forecourt and got talking for a while. I got a call about an hour later and I was wondering what I'd left behind... wallet... keys... Then she asked did I buy diesel, it took me a few seconds to remember but yes, I had and I'd completely forgotten it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Young bull out with the cows for the first time lastnight, bringing the cows in this morning the little prick was at the front not letting any cow pass him on the roadway. Suppose no one has a cure for this? Does my feckin head in, hate having Bulls with the cows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Young bull out with the cows for the first time lastnight, bringing the cows in this morning the little prick was at the front not letting any cow pass him on the roadway. Suppose no one has a cure for this? Does my feckin head in, hate having Bulls with the cows.

Had the same problem here during the week when moving heifers the prick of a bull ended up pushing 5 heiger through a sheep wire fence and breaking 6 posts . Have been told before the best cure is to give the bull a hidding woundnnt do it personaly tho